All member reviews for American Horror Story

Common Sense Media says

Dark, twisted adult drama is designed to shock and disturb.
 

Users say

(out of 127 reviews)
age 15+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byslasher23 August 16, 2014
 
Season 1:Bloody a violent a scary.sexual content a brief nudity.language a some drug iffy 17 Season 2:Graphic disturbing a violent a gory a scary.some strong sexual content a some nudity a strong language off 17 Season 3:Violent a gory.sexual content a brief nudity.language.some drug iffy 17
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlink41 February 2, 2014
 

Awesome but mature

This is a great show but it is very mature. There's a lot of bad language and slightly graphic sex, though no 'parts' are shown. It's pretty scary and a lot of the imagery is kind of disturbing. Definitely not okay for young kids. I say maybe 14+ depending on the child.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMovie lover xx January 7, 2014
 

The Positives and Negatives of an Amazing Show

I've just finished both of the first season (and all of the third season so far) I've read a lot of the reviews just mentioning the sex, drugs, gore and violence, yes they are there almost all the time there are some positive role models, for example Kit (Evan Peters) in Asylum Wrongly accused of murdering women, had two wives who both died, was wrongly locked away in a mental asylum, almost sent to death, canned, whipped and locked up however even through all that he remained a good person, I'm pretty sure he's the only main character that didn't kill anyone. He took a young woman's 20 lashes as well as his own after the two were found having sex (explicit but not graphic and they loved each other he went on to marry her later so it wasn't just some fling) and even after he had been released and the people he cared about had died he made sure he went back to help the nun whom accused him and whipped him mercilessly, Kit is an extremely good role model and teaches to forgive. I cannot think of a decent role model in season 1 however in season 3 from the 9 episodes I've seen so far Zoe (Tassia Farmiga) seems like a good role model who would put herself in danger to help her friends even though there not always there for her and feels genuine compassion for some characters even when no one else does. It also gives out some positive messages- Season 1; Stand up for yourself; Be there for the ones you love; Never give up when times are tough. Season 2; (I found there were quite a lot of strong female characters who stood up for themselves, it really gives off a good message to young girls, they don't need to be have a man to be successful as demonstrated by Lana) Don't let others tell you who you are, only you decide who you are; Don''t ever let a man make you feel worth any less than him; Forgive; Never give up; Don't have sex in an abandoned asylum; You can achieve your dreams if you work hard enough. Season 3; Stick by your friends; Be loyal to those you care about; Don't be racist (or sexist or homophobic or anything like that, those two weren't shown in AHS but I thought I'd add them anyway); keep an open mind. Even though it has the good role models and positive messages there is a hell of a lot of language, drinking smoking, some drugs, sex (never graphic but almost always explicit), violence, torture, human experiments, disfigurement, mutilation, self-harm and suicide (in season 1 Violet self-harms and later commits suicide but overdosing on pills, also kind of dreams/imagines slitting her neck to end it all, also Tate admits he used to self-harm but tries to get Violet to stop, also in season 1 a woman shoots her husband then herself, season 2 a man shoots himself leading to a car crash then again in season 3 another person shoot them self), some cannibalism,rape, and then some. In terms of scariness (I am someone who personally can't deal with jump scares or normal horror movies however I cope with these fine, although they sometimes shake me up a little and shock me) There are no jump scares in any of them, and if things do suddenly appear you were expecting it and were meant to be expecting it. All the horror is done in a way I think a lot of horror movies (especially newer ones) disregard, even though they use the shock factor with the gore and violence you get a feeling of genuine horror, they use an extremely good plot with great characters and superb acting so don't rely on cheap theatrics to scare you. tl;dr? Here's a quick summary of all so far- SEASON 1: The Murder House- Fairly scary. Not much violence however a lot of sex, the whole storyline is based on an affair and a miscarriage. Ghost/spirits are almost always there, gay sex, kinkiness, rape, and of course murder (via gun, neck snapping, knife, shovel, drowning, some creature in the basement that you never really find out what exactly it is (it's implied to be a baby that was abandoned years ago, pretty sure it is one of the spirits trapped in the house), car hit and run and some other things. SEASON 2: Asylum- Scariest season by far. Sadistic ex-nazi doctor, evil nuns, aliens, mental patients and (this is what really got me) a killer called Bloody Face who abducts women, skins them alive, makes furniture out of the skin and bones (some of the furniture is seen like a bowl made from what appeared to be a human skull and a lamp with the lampshade made out of human skin), decapitates them and wears their faces as masks. Dead bodies are seen, some rape, a horrible, horrible torture takes place in which a woman's legs are cut off and her skin is burnt and she becomes very disfigured and mutilated, someone's arm is ripped of, people are shot, and murdered in many ways, another hit and run (not graphic again and a lot of remorse is shown) SEASON 3: Coven- Least scary. Only disturbing thing about it is the way Madame Delphine LaLaurie treats her black slaves and is extremely racist, she also tortures her own daughters when she finds them planning to kill her, acid is thrown over somebody's face (blinding them, witches are burnt at the stake, someone cuts off their own tongue, more murder using knives and sex, gang rape of an intoxicated girl, a Frankenstein type monster is created and some more however no where near as disturbing/scary as the first 2 seasons. I think it is pretty suitable for mature 14 year old or, if not mature 16/17 but it really all depends on your child, what you know they can handle and if they're going to take some good from it and appreciate that it is actually a great show. I hope my review helped :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byaryenne December 13, 2013
 

Mature audience only

This is not for children. If your teen is mature and interested in viewing, it should be ok. But there is nothing about this show that improves your life or makes it worth watching.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byalekon July 30, 2012
 

17 & up

I just finished the 1st season of this series, and I gotta say there are a few scenes which were slightly disturbing for me. I, being a fan of this sort of series, tend to like horror, however, a few scenes were just disgusting and gross, not for kids for sure.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byChambear November 16, 2011
 

A Bold Step Forward in the Horror Genre

American Horror Story starts off with a family from Boston who moves to Los Angeles after a tragic miscarriage during delivering their second child, as well as a bleak affair with a young woman. The family consists of Ben, Vivien, and Violet, as well as the young, distressed teen Tate, alongside an older woman named Constance, and Moira, the elderly, mysterious maid. The show displays a great variety of influences ranging from the films Halloween, The Shining, as well as Paranormal Activity. The show is quite dark in nature, and the house has a very bleak and tragic story from its past occupants. The show's pilot is the worst episode in terms of content. The pilot features cussing such as s--t and c--ksucker at a moderate, but not constant level, with no f-words. The pilot also features little to no blood, and no gore. The pilot really comes down to sexual dilemmas. There is a scene of sex between Vivien and the mysterious Rubber Man (a strange, unknown character clad in bondage clothing) with no nudity and is very short, and also features an even shorter, but more graphic scene of the younger version of Moira the maid pleasuring herself, and shows Ben seconds later doing the same with only buttocks shown for a few seconds. There is also flirting and an attempted, but not shown rape scene later in the series. Another important note is that the first episode is the only really bad episode in the series. The series so far (I have only seen about 4 other episodes) features no nudity or sex, some blood, and little to no language of the beginning pilot's caliber. There are some controversial messages such as of abortion and homosexuality, but shows to be an interesting step for horror for ages 16 and up who can muster a few scares.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byteodorar September 1, 2015
 

I have 12 years and really enjoyded it

i loved it and watch all the seasons in like 2 weeks it is such a good show it doesn't have that much jumpscares but in some of the seasons the story is just scary but deffenetly recomend it for teens
Teen, 14 years old Written bydrew_human August 24, 2015
 

I love the season 1 and 3

Okay, I watched kind of all seasons. I didn't watch all the 2nd because I didn't like it. I don't usually see horror shows or movies, but in this show, it didn't scare me. If someone want to see, I recommend. I didn't like so much the 4th and I didn't like the 2nd. And the series contains many scenes of sex and violence. But the series are amazing.. Waiting for season 5 U_U
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byemilys2558 August 15, 2015
 

American Horror Story is amazing!

American Horror Story while creepy and disturbing isn't too scary. I myself am 15 and I love it. I even watch it in the dark in the middle of the night and am not scared at all. There are a lot of deaths and gruesome scenes, but overall it's a great show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bythePrettyDead August 13, 2015
 

Intriguing

Well, AHS is supposedly a 'horror' story, though it's not really scary. It's just a little creepy. It contains sexual content, including rape and blow jobs. Personally, I look away from the screen when a blow job comes along, 'cause honestly, it's disgusting. There is not extreme nudity. It shows only the full behind. Some swear words and horrible violence are included. I must add that there is also self-harm, which I totally hate. But otherwise, the story is fun and intriguing and it's good for people aged 15 and up. It's still good for a 14 year old, but that depends on how the person takes things.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byollybitchhh August 6, 2015
 

Suitable for teenagers.

I'm a huge American Horror Story fan. However, I believe ages ratings for the show depend on seasons. Murder House, the first season, I think should be a 15+; the same for Asylum, the second season; and Freakshow, the fourth season. The third season, Coven is extremely mild and doesn't show much extreme horror elements however it stills shows sexual content along with cuss words. Parents need to know that some kids these days watch pornography at the age of 9 or something and kids nowadays can cope with horror elements. If you're a young teenager or parent who has a young teenager, I recommend American Horror Story Coven (Season Three) for it is the most weakest in horror, sex, violence and cuss words.
Teen, 13 years old Written byHorrorFanaticBoy July 28, 2015
 

American Horror Story: Freak Show

Being a huge fan of the drama "American Horror Story", I couldn't wait to start season 4. Now this was the hardest season to "handle" in my opinion. Since most parents I know are most worried about the sexual parts of shows/movies, I'll start with that. There isn't a lot of sexual stuff in season 4 looking at the other seasons, but there are 3 things I have seen so far. One of them would be Jimmy fingering a girl with his messed up hand. Know I would like to say you don't see anything it is still pretty shocking. Now the second part is one of the characters basically being a prostitute. The scene happens with the character having intercourse with a man (nothing shown) and then her husband coming in saying, "That's my wife!" and snapping his neck. Now the last sexual thing I saw was the same lady has three breasts. They are never flaunted in a sexual matter I believe, but they're still there. Now to the worst part of season 4, the violence. Now in the show there is a frightening clown that goes around killing people. He then "kidnaps" 2 victims in the first episode and keeps them in his house/car. He then trys to make the kid he has smile I guess, but he gets mad cause he can't and pulls out a severed head. Besides all this though I do believe it has a good message. This message would be that just because someone looks different doesn't mean they are different. In the show a lot of people call the circus crew "Freaks" but then one character, Jimmy, says we are just like you. This is why I believe it has a good message. That wraps up my review and I hope I helped you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byhonest_television July 18, 2015
 

not a problem

im a parent of two, both 13. i let them watch this show because they promise me that they will skip the bad parts. if your child can handle the twisted plots, then they should be fine. it's a very superb show and its crafted perfectly
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoonlight☽ July 17, 2015
 
This is one of my favourite shows. Its dark and twisted, dramatic and the humour is very dark and dry. Some viewers may find disturbing as the show can be quite gory and there are some sexual scenes, but I recommend it highly to people who likely horror. (there is also a lot of drinking, smoking and drug use).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byethansdelrey July 15, 2015
 

Great Show!

This show is one of my faves. It is very violent, bloody, sexual and has alot of drugs and cussing. Some backsides, but no bare chests or frontal nudity. The 1st season involves themes of suicide and adultery and is very disturbing. The 2nd is the most violent in my opinion. Season 3 has a ton of unrealistic violence/gore, sex and drug use, but it is the least explicit and graphic season. Season 4 shocks the most with disturbing sex scenes, very graphic violence and shocking imagery that will stay in your head for a while. Can't wait for season 5 tho, it's a great show. But, honestly, 16+ all-in-all. It all depends on how much your child can handle tbh.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymagician72 July 12, 2015
 

Too mush SEX and too mush VIOLENCE

Good but disturbing tv show has lots of sex
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bylexi July 2, 2015
 

depends on who you are

Im 14 and i absolutley love the show, its not as bloody as you may think but does contain alot of frightning scenes, so it really depends on the person for whether or not you should watch the show, there is a lot of sex in almost every episode though and sometimes its a little bad and there are quite a few rape scenes but once you get past that its a really intense and scary show amd i think its fine for 14 and up if you can handle the frightning scenes
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySonoma209 June 4, 2015
 

A young child's review

This is an amazing show with messages about society that I think are important. For this is honestly think you just need to know your kid, they need to understand that the show is not meant to be realistic and that there are no real role models in which to follow (the point of the whole series basically). I'm a 13 year old and I have seen every season of this show, I do not repeat any actions and understand that all behavior is not realistic. Know your kid, don't limit them, this show opened new doors onto my personality and helped me see a new side of myself, let them access that.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byjust stating facts May 18, 2015
 
Lets be honest now a days rarely any teens are not watching the American Horror Story series. Most parents say no because of the sex well let me tell you what i think What is the point of hiding a teen from sex if one day they will be exposed to it. The more you hold them back the more they want to explore. American Horror Story contains very basic things in the matter of sex. Also drinking well drinking isn't bad at all honestly everyone knows what drinking means. And language well your kids know what those words are and Im sure you say them too.
Teen, 14 years old Written byHmb2008 May 9, 2015
 

If you can handle mature subjects I suggest watching AHS

I have seen all four seasons at least once. I really don't see why common sense media says that it's not for kids. It's obviously not for young kids but a lot of people in my grade (7) have seen it. It can be gory but it is american HORROR story so if you can't handle that then I don't know why you would consider to watch it to begin with. All seasons deal with murder, drugs, swearing, and sex. Season 1 and 4 deal with suicide, season 2 deals with extreme torture and rape (the most disturbing of all seasons). The only nudity ever seen is butts. Season 3 also has disturbing torture. IMPORTANT: if you are a parent reading this and going to allow your kids to watch HAS makes sure that they know that the things the very likable characters do is not ok. DANDY AND TATE ARE BAES, but they are psychopathic murderers too so make sure your kids understand morals
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex

Pages