All member reviews for American Horror Story

Common Sense Media says

Dark, twisted adult drama is designed to shock and disturb.

Users say

(out of 148 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byollybitchhh August 6, 2015

Suitable for teenagers.

I'm a huge American Horror Story fan. However, I believe ages ratings for the show depend on seasons. Murder House, the first season, I think should be a 15+; the same for Asylum, the second season; and Freakshow, the fourth season. The third season, Coven is extremely mild and doesn't show much extreme horror elements however it stills shows sexual content along with cuss words. Parents need to know that some kids these days watch pornography at the age of 9 or something and kids nowadays can cope with horror elements. If you're a young teenager or parent who has a young teenager, I recommend American Horror Story Coven (Season Three) for it is the most weakest in horror, sex, violence and cuss words.
Adult Written byReviewer12345678910 April 23, 2015

Mature But Really Good

This show can be incredibly graphic both with violence and sex. Definetly not for younger teens, but older and horror-loving teens will love it. Part of the scare factor of the show is the psychological aspect that goes with the violence and sex. Viewers need to be old enough to understand that part, which helps to put the seemingly over-the-top graphic violence and sex into perspective of the plot and show. A part of what makes it scary is the reality of some of the aspects; it is not just supernatural and cheap scares. Some of the situations depicted have a distinct 'this could happen to me' feeling, and this leads viewers to question their own realities as well. The best way to decide if it's okay for your kids is to watch it ourself. It is a fact that American Horror Story is a violent psycho-sexual horror show. It is up to each parent to decide how much is too much.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bybands4life February 17, 2015

AHS Review

American Horror Story: Murder House - 14+ This is the creepiest season by far. It deals with self harm, adultery, teen drug use, and all that other jazz. Its really sexual too, so, if you don't want your kid to be exposed to that stuff, don't watch it with them. The only nudity in this season is butts. Expect lots of cussing. American Horror Story: Asylum - 15+ This is favorite season, and it is terrifying. The sex is less frequent, but the scenes are more intense, and you see the sides of breasts. It's pretty violent, but not as violent as the first. American Horror Show: Coven - 13+ This season is the goriest and one of the most sexual, but its so teen oriented, and the gore is so unrealistic, that it's age appropriate. It all depends on the maturity of your child. It's one of my favorite seasons. American Horror Story: Freak Show - 17+ This is really great, but it's kind of boring compared to the other seasons. It's the most violent and sexual season by far. Again, butt In short, this show is my favorite show on tv at the moment, and it's overall best for 14+, but it depends on how mature they are.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byMegH01 October 8, 2014

Please Read!!!

People on here are saying that it's for "adults only" and that's honestly not true. The show is inappropriate in a lot of ways, and I agree that it is most definitely NOT for children. But it is okay for most teenagers. If you could hear what kids talk about in school and what they watch at home behind their parents backs, then this would be absolutely NO PROBLEM.
Kid, 10 years old October 6, 2014

AMERICAN HORROR STORY

my favorite show ever. ive seen all 3 season and i cant wait until freakshow the show has some gory scenes but i enjoy how they bring atmosphere and realism to the series. They story is great so its not slasher film horror. if you or your kids cant realise/ understand its amazing makeup and atmosphere (not to be mean) then u shouldn't watch it. it depends on the viewers. i am ten i do not get nightmares or anything. it depends. there are triggers like suicide and self harm so.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byslasher23 August 16, 2014
Season 1:Bloody a violent a scary.sexual content a brief nudity.language a some drug iffy 17 Season 2:Graphic disturbing a violent a gory a scary.some strong sexual content a some nudity a strong language off 17 Season 3:Violent a gory.sexual content a brief nudity.language.some drug iffy 17
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlink41 February 2, 2014

Awesome but mature

This is a great show but it is very mature. There's a lot of bad language and slightly graphic sex, though no 'parts' are shown. It's pretty scary and a lot of the imagery is kind of disturbing. Definitely not okay for young kids. I say maybe 14+ depending on the child.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMovie lover xx January 7, 2014

The Positives and Negatives of an Amazing Show

I've just finished both of the first season (and all of the third season so far) I've read a lot of the reviews just mentioning the sex, drugs, gore and violence, yes they are there almost all the time there are some positive role models, for example Kit (Evan Peters) in Asylum Wrongly accused of murdering women, had two wives who both died, was wrongly locked away in a mental asylum, almost sent to death, canned, whipped and locked up however even through all that he remained a good person, I'm pretty sure he's the only main character that didn't kill anyone. He took a young woman's 20 lashes as well as his own after the two were found having sex (explicit but not graphic and they loved each other he went on to marry her later so it wasn't just some fling) and even after he had been released and the people he cared about had died he made sure he went back to help the nun whom accused him and whipped him mercilessly, Kit is an extremely good role model and teaches to forgive. I cannot think of a decent role model in season 1 however in season 3 from the 9 episodes I've seen so far Zoe (Tassia Farmiga) seems like a good role model who would put herself in danger to help her friends even though there not always there for her and feels genuine compassion for some characters even when no one else does. It also gives out some positive messages- Season 1; Stand up for yourself; Be there for the ones you love; Never give up when times are tough. Season 2; (I found there were quite a lot of strong female characters who stood up for themselves, it really gives off a good message to young girls, they don't need to be have a man to be successful as demonstrated by Lana) Don't let others tell you who you are, only you decide who you are; Don''t ever let a man make you feel worth any less than him; Forgive; Never give up; Don't have sex in an abandoned asylum; You can achieve your dreams if you work hard enough. Season 3; Stick by your friends; Be loyal to those you care about; Don't be racist (or sexist or homophobic or anything like that, those two weren't shown in AHS but I thought I'd add them anyway); keep an open mind. Even though it has the good role models and positive messages there is a hell of a lot of language, drinking smoking, some drugs, sex (never graphic but almost always explicit), violence, torture, human experiments, disfigurement, mutilation, self-harm and suicide (in season 1 Violet self-harms and later commits suicide but overdosing on pills, also kind of dreams/imagines slitting her neck to end it all, also Tate admits he used to self-harm but tries to get Violet to stop, also in season 1 a woman shoots her husband then herself, season 2 a man shoots himself leading to a car crash then again in season 3 another person shoot them self), some cannibalism,rape, and then some. In terms of scariness (I am someone who personally can't deal with jump scares or normal horror movies however I cope with these fine, although they sometimes shake me up a little and shock me) There are no jump scares in any of them, and if things do suddenly appear you were expecting it and were meant to be expecting it. All the horror is done in a way I think a lot of horror movies (especially newer ones) disregard, even though they use the shock factor with the gore and violence you get a feeling of genuine horror, they use an extremely good plot with great characters and superb acting so don't rely on cheap theatrics to scare you. tl;dr? Here's a quick summary of all so far- SEASON 1: The Murder House- Fairly scary. Not much violence however a lot of sex, the whole storyline is based on an affair and a miscarriage. Ghost/spirits are almost always there, gay sex, kinkiness, rape, and of course murder (via gun, neck snapping, knife, shovel, drowning, some creature in the basement that you never really find out what exactly it is (it's implied to be a baby that was abandoned years ago, pretty sure it is one of the spirits trapped in the house), car hit and run and some other things. SEASON 2: Asylum- Scariest season by far. Sadistic ex-nazi doctor, evil nuns, aliens, mental patients and (this is what really got me) a killer called Bloody Face who abducts women, skins them alive, makes furniture out of the skin and bones (some of the furniture is seen like a bowl made from what appeared to be a human skull and a lamp with the lampshade made out of human skin), decapitates them and wears their faces as masks. Dead bodies are seen, some rape, a horrible, horrible torture takes place in which a woman's legs are cut off and her skin is burnt and she becomes very disfigured and mutilated, someone's arm is ripped of, people are shot, and murdered in many ways, another hit and run (not graphic again and a lot of remorse is shown) SEASON 3: Coven- Least scary. Only disturbing thing about it is the way Madame Delphine LaLaurie treats her black slaves and is extremely racist, she also tortures her own daughters when she finds them planning to kill her, acid is thrown over somebody's face (blinding them, witches are burnt at the stake, someone cuts off their own tongue, more murder using knives and sex, gang rape of an intoxicated girl, a Frankenstein type monster is created and some more however no where near as disturbing/scary as the first 2 seasons. I think it is pretty suitable for mature 14 year old or, if not mature 16/17 but it really all depends on your child, what you know they can handle and if they're going to take some good from it and appreciate that it is actually a great show. I hope my review helped :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byaryenne December 13, 2013

Mature audience only

This is not for children. If your teen is mature and interested in viewing, it should be ok. But there is nothing about this show that improves your life or makes it worth watching.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byalekon July 30, 2012

17 & up

I just finished the 1st season of this series, and I gotta say there are a few scenes which were slightly disturbing for me. I, being a fan of this sort of series, tend to like horror, however, a few scenes were just disgusting and gross, not for kids for sure.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byChambear November 16, 2011

A Bold Step Forward in the Horror Genre

American Horror Story starts off with a family from Boston who moves to Los Angeles after a tragic miscarriage during delivering their second child, as well as a bleak affair with a young woman. The family consists of Ben, Vivien, and Violet, as well as the young, distressed teen Tate, alongside an older woman named Constance, and Moira, the elderly, mysterious maid. The show displays a great variety of influences ranging from the films Halloween, The Shining, as well as Paranormal Activity. The show is quite dark in nature, and the house has a very bleak and tragic story from its past occupants. The show's pilot is the worst episode in terms of content. The pilot features cussing such as s--t and c--ksucker at a moderate, but not constant level, with no f-words. The pilot also features little to no blood, and no gore. The pilot really comes down to sexual dilemmas. There is a scene of sex between Vivien and the mysterious Rubber Man (a strange, unknown character clad in bondage clothing) with no nudity and is very short, and also features an even shorter, but more graphic scene of the younger version of Moira the maid pleasuring herself, and shows Ben seconds later doing the same with only buttocks shown for a few seconds. There is also flirting and an attempted, but not shown rape scene later in the series. Another important note is that the first episode is the only really bad episode in the series. The series so far (I have only seen about 4 other episodes) features no nudity or sex, some blood, and little to no language of the beginning pilot's caliber. There are some controversial messages such as of abortion and homosexuality, but shows to be an interesting step for horror for ages 16 and up who can muster a few scares.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byLydia Martin January 31, 2016

Addictive!

While lacking in role models and having a highly large amount of violence and sex, this show embraces it and uses innovative methods to creep us out season, after season! SEASON 1: Sexual Content is high but at the age of 15, teens understand what's right and whats wrong and it can also teach us what NOT to do. Violent is extremely high and can be very upsetting to even the older audience but if a 15 year old can handle mature themes like Rape and mental disabilities they should be fine. SEASON 2: Sexual content is not as frequently shown as in season 1 but can be very disturbing such as in a later episode a man is seeing performing anal sex on a dead corpse (yes... necrophilia) and may put off viewers. Horror is more extreme in season 2 as it is set in a more realistic atmosphere. An episode in season 2 features an exorcism that is VERY similar to that of the Exorcist movie. While language is no where near as high as the exorcist it can come across as widely disturbing. Parents please note that season 2 is focused in an insane asylum which in itself can upset some viewers. SEASON 3: In my opinion season 3 seems like it was designed for a younger audience. While still having some strong sexual references and very gory moments there is a kind of campy, teenage horror flick feel to it. Season 3 may appeal to ages 14, in my opinion. But beware there are some mature themes such as racism and there are a few very extreme torture scenes. SEASON 4: Freak show is definitely the most bizarre and crazy season as sexual actions take a peculiar, almost terrifying appeal. We see a creepy orgy and also some sort of strange sex slave scenes with spikes and dog leashes and such. Violence is definitely gets higher and very graphic (throat slits and even legs getting chopped off) But I really liked the theme of discrimination and how to tackle it, I thought that was a nice touch. SEASON 5: Viewer discretion is highly advised. Sexual content reaches a level of being almost pornographic and violence continues to get more bizarre and graphic. A VERY DISTURBING scene shows a drug addict getting very violently raped with a demon who wears a metallic drill bit dildo (its very violent, sexual and scary) In every episode either alcohol, cocaine, heroin (& more) is consumed. sometimes very graphic.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGeorgiagrace27 January 17, 2016

Amazing, but mainly revolves around sex/violence

I love the show, it's probably my favourite, and I've been watching it on Netflix for about 3 months now, I'm 3 seasons in. I would say that even though I'm 13 myself, I would recommend age 15+ because of its high amount of sexual and violent content. All sexual scenes are fairly non-explicit, rarely catching glances of buttocks, and no extreme nudity. Also, it contains extremely strong language from c**t to s**t to c**k sucker, and one scene where Evan peters exclaims to the two gay previous members of the house that 'they couldn't steal the s**t from they're own a**' So, I would reccomend that you either get your parents permission - or just try and keep it a secret. But I would say that it's highly graphic even for an 18 - and that especially seasons 1, 2 and 5 should he watched under parental supervision, just sayin! Hope this helped
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byJacobcking January 13, 2016

Not For Kids

So, I am only thirteen and I have seen many things worse than this show. It is one of my favorite shows of all time. Here's the thing. From the first to third season, there is full back nudity including butts, and sometimes you can see parts of a women's chest. From the fourth season onward, there is full frontal nudity. The whole show is also very, very, very gorey. The most recent season is the most bloody, this is because it features things like cannibals and vampires. So, if you have a child or teenager that can handle this show, let them go right ahead.
Parent Written bynewtftmcgee December 17, 2015
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byJaynieLiz November 30, 2015

Mature Content

I really like this show, but it does contain inappropriate things (mostly sex).
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byMsLaraCroftx November 23, 2015

Great Show!

This is a very good show, but it is also very disturbing. It has a lot of plot that will leave you on the edge of your seat, but has a lot of horror elements. It has some sex, but nothing is really shown. It has some swearing, and lots of violence.
Teen, 14 years old Written bychiester45 November 14, 2015

Disturbing yet powerful

American Horror Story is an anthology series, so there cannot be a definite guide to the amount of violence and sex in it. However, there is plentiful amounts. Between the various seasons--Murder House, Asylum, Coven, Freak Show, and the newest season, still airing, Hotel--the amount of "mature" content varies greatly. However, with every season, there are many, many scenes containing violence, sex, language, drug use, and so on. From teenagers smoking to old witches on the verge of death sniffing cocaine, and to tearing honeymooners' limbs off and creating homunculi in compensation for lost children, this show is definitely >not< for children. But enough about content. The themes of the show are still powerful, amplified by the content displayed. From cracks in Catholicism to racism and fidelity, the seasons tell with many issues. And it does it extremely well----that added on top of intricate, complex characters and stories of alien abduction and ghost hauntings, American Horror Story is one of the better, if not the best, television series on air, though all of those can be argued. 9.0/10
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byHAI October 27, 2015

Watch Out

This show is very scary and is full of horror but it implies it in the name. The show has bits of bad parts in season 1-3 but in season 4 is gets alittle to inappropriate and in season 5 it's 18+ it gets really bad and i couldn't even watch the first 5 minutes it so bad .
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byreviews27 October 27, 2015

Age rating depends on seasons...

Each season is a different story a the seasons don't link so they can be watched without having seen other seasons. The first season, Murder House, deals with quite disturbing themes; there is a lot of violence (murder is in the title) and there is some disturbing sexual scenes/themes. For me I felt this was the most disturbing and scary season. I'd say 16/17+ The second season, Asylum, is still quite disturbing and I'd give the same 16+ rating. The third season, Coven, is a lot less disturbing and has the least horror of all of the current seasons, there is still quite a lot of violence but I feel more mature young teens wouldn't be too disturbed by this season, however note that there still are some sexual elements. I'd give this season a lower rating of 13/14+ The fourth season, Freak Show, gets more scary again and more violent too, I'd give this a 15+ The current season, Hotel, although only 3 episodes in there hvae been quite a lot of sexual and violent scenes and I think I'd give this season about 16+ There is swearing in all seasons. For those interested each season does deal with themes; Murder House is about infidelity. Asylum is about sanity and control. Coven is about oppression. Freak Show is about discrimination. And Hotel is about "addiction, still having hope of the past, vengeance, love and hate."
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages