All member reviews for Arrow

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Dark superhero tale raises discussion points for teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 34 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byLiana B October 21, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

About arrow

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byWayward Girl December 4, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Oh My Gosh, ARROW Is SO GOOD!

I was not looking forward for this show AT ALL when I saw the promos. It looked like a lame ripoff of Batman, and i still have to admit that the "Billionaire Turned Vigilante" routine is getting old. But still, Arrow is worth it!! It's action-packed, with great characters, good plots, and even has some romance. It's a really interesting show, with mystery and intrigue, and I think tweens and teenagers and adults will love it. It's a superhero show, so of course there's going to be violence, and then as far as smexy stuff goes, it's mild: passionate kisses and characters waking up together is as far as it goes. It's a great thriller for everyone.The boys will be interested in this show because of the action, and the girls, I mean, c'mon. Have you seen Stephen Amell? He's gorgeous. Yeah, this show is a total win-win. I can't wait to see where it goes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byTotally500 October 21, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Arrow hits a home run

very good series my kind of show to watch this fall
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 year old Written byRedSnakeGaming October 7, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good Superhero Show Great for Kids

I think that this is a very good television series for any kid really. It hardly has any nudity but there is some violence but nothing too graphic. Overall this is a good superhero television series
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byLizzybeth October 26, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Love this show!

A violent, but great show that my brother and I enjoy watching together. This is a superhero who's ends justify the means, but his intentions are right. He is the typical comic book playboy turned hero, but better.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byyellowblossomflower January 8, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great!

I think this is a great show! It's full of action, suspense, humour, and a little bit of romance! I first found this when I was done watching a show called Torchwood, heard that Arrow had John Barrowman in it, and I instantly hooked up. I don't recommend this to kids under 13, though, because there is A LOT of violence in it, especially in the first season. The second season doesn't have as much, as the main character. Oliver Queen, decides that violence isn't the best answer. There isn't much sexual references bedsides some heavy kissing, but other than that, it's completely awesome! I would highly recommend this show if you love adventure, action packed shows!
Parent Written byBeckyDee April 12, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Lots of action, few *if any* consequenses

Warning: Read if you want details to help make decision about whether child should watch, don't read if you don't want spoilers. Ok, I'm three seasons into this show and have watched it evolve from Season 1 where Arrow is a full-on vigilante and kills most all who have "failed this City!" to where he comes back in Season 2 and decides he's not a murderer and wants justice more than sheer blood lust. That's a good thing. The not-so-good thing is that the show ups the violence in Seasons 2 and 3 by introducing villains who have no problem slaughtering people (now sometimes innocents who are collateral damage as they got in the way of the not-so-innocent targets) and hanging them upside down in warehouses to let the blood drain out of them. All shown, not implied. As the show progresses, so does the violence, a mother is gouged with a sword straight through center mass *in front of her children* and dies, eyes boggled wide open, as she falls to the ground next to them (they're all tied up). Another female character who is a vigilante gets brutally slain unexpectedly and falls off of a building onto a dumpster which breaks her back when she lands on the ground *directly at the feet of her sister*. Again, all shown in graphic detail, repeatedly if you count the "previously on Arrow" segments at the beginning of each show. So, that's the violence part. Then there is the romantic issue...it's not that they show sex so much as the way relationships start, stop, and start up again, then stop, and start (you get the point). The females on this show are strong physically, but when it comes to men, they pretty much will put up with anything and take anyone back...there are no consequences to cheating, lying, etc. It's not the end of the world if you let your teenager watch with you, but be prepared to explain some pretty irrational romantic behaviors and to endure some bone-crunching blood-letting that is shown in more graphic detail as the show progresses. If you have a tween, the Flash *might* be a better option. I say *might* because we're only on Season 1 of that show, and who knows, since it's an Arrow spin-off, it may go the same direction with violence as it progresses. Hopefully it won't. An important P.S.) I wish there was a click-on option on CSM under "What should other families know" that highlights body issues being a problem on a show... example, one of the main female characters loses a dramatic amount of weight in between Seasons 1 and 2 and has had significant plastic surgery that caused her to look very different... so much so that my teen asked me, "Is that the same actress?" as she looked so tiny and changed. It was sad to see such a beautiful person change herself so much, presumably because of pressure from producers that we've read/heard about for actors to be thinner. (Making an assumption here, so forgive me for doing so.) On the positive side, she regains some weight in season 3 and looks a lot healthier. There are more examples I could list, but that's the one that was the most startling. So, heads-up to parents of tweens and teenagers, there are some stereotypical Hollywood/fashion industry body-type issues in this show, unfortunately.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bylaura926 February 1, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Love the show! Approving DC Comics Spinoff!

I'm an avid DC Comics fan, and just started watching this show a few months ago. The actors have great chemistry and are amazing actors, but there is some violence and language. Some people are drunk, and others are boyfriend/girlfriend, and there is minimal consumerism. This CW show should be fine for most teenagers, and if you are superhero fan, watch the show!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byN1nja June 8, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazing show, lacking some values

I absolutely love this show, and admittedly have watched it with my 13yr old brother. I think that it is really fun to watch, but, I also realize that it lacks a lot of values and role models. Felicity Smoke and Diggle are the only two that can really be said to have normal moral lives. Oliver Queen(Arrow) develops affairs with basically every woman he meets and after escaping the island has only one idea of how to get justice. The show has many characters with drinking and or drug problems, fortunately though, these characters are often punished and these actions are never shown in a positive light. In season one, Oliver kills, kills, and kills again thinking he is doing the city well. Whereas his motives are not negative, perhaps there are other ways to go about justice. In real life, one should not go outside of the law like Arrow does; however, in context to the show, lots of these criminals are unseen or unbeatable by law enforcers, making that a lesser of the negative features in the show. By the second season, Oliver begins to realize his murdering rampage was wrong and develops a batmanesc moral code keeping him from murdering the people he hunts. The entire show follows Oliver's journey on the island which has positive and negative messages. Throughout this journey Oliver starts to become a man, rather than the childish rich kid he was before, he learns to commit himself and to survive. Unfortunately, Oliver also has many violent encounters and has to also learn negative traits: he develops the ability to kill a man without thinking twice, and he learns when to leave a man behind. Along with his character growth, much of the island shows gruesome scenes of torture and violence. Overall, this show is fantastic, but lacks some values that may be desired in families. I would say that this show is for "mature" children 13/14+ that understand that lots of the things in this are wrong, I would not show this program to any child that may decide these actions are acceptable. Also, I would say that children under 15 should probably clear their minds(play something mindless, watch something stupid, read, ect) before sleeping after watching some episodes of this show. I also think that the negative messages in this show could invoke family discussions.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old October 5, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Arrow

Really good can't wait for next season. Some contents about drugs and an iffy area of town. Good but kinda violent. Awesome.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycait luvs bbc December 30, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Action Tv Show

The show is great, if you like superheroes, romance, and action this is the perfect show for you. There is a lot of violence because pretty much each show in the first season he kills someone, but he does change his mind in the second season. be aware of what you can handle. The show has a lot of plot twist, but sometimes is predictable. It is great for teens and parents and both will enjoy the heart pumping drama that will leave you hanging for the next one
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old November 13, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Arrow Rocks

Arrow is a dark but awesome show. The hand to hand combat is amazing and not that bloody.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written bytmrobinson January 3, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Indoctrination Aspects

The acting and special effects are top grade and well thought out. The characters are not stagnant: the develop and even flip flop on perspectives. What is also well thought out is the indoctrination. Language: it seems like a profane word or phrase is selected to be repeated for a single episode - this pattern is repeated in many episodes. Like many shows, with the exception of a brief underwear bed scene in the pilot (that is flashed back on occasion in subsequent episodes) the writers waited until about 3/4 through the first season before introducing a sex scene (not the actual act itself, but all initial trappings). On the following season, you are hit with a sex scene up front in episode one (this timing is common to some books that like to weave a story in a series and then plug some porn into the story line). Fornication is not even questioned. Shacking up instead of manning up and marrying is taken for granted across much of the series. Yes, there is violence, but moral desensitization to a lack of integrity seems to be the subliminal message that runs through the series. "Family" is played up in a positive sense, only to discover that the most prominent family heads in the series are anything but sexually faithful. The one exception to this is Walter Steele; he is depicted as a man of integrity (he does divorce his wife who covered up his kidnapping and her previous husband's murder). Again, the effects and such are top notch, but should we overlook the immorality that is purposefully grafted into the story line merely because we like to be entertained? Detective Lance sums up the pro-vigilantism of the series by asking, "What good are our laws if they do not protect human lives?" If you think that law enforcement bears not the sword in vain, but should be a terror to evil doers, you might like the concept of the Arrow: when he appears, the body count of bad guys biting the dust skyrockets.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPakistanPEGI December 20, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

16 and up

Despite the truth it is a DC comic hero's show but contains some material which is only for older teens and adults. Real Violence Bad Language(hell,damn,crap,bitch,bastard) Sexual Themes Drug abusing and drinking
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 29, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
One of my favourite shows. Interesting, awesome and some drama, this show delivers.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth July 25, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

KING OF IT'S CHANNEL!

Arrow has violent scenes in every episodes (sometimes includes a death), One of the best shows of all time. Cant wait for season 3 and the flash. Slightly darker than "Smallville" but a great television series.It is impossible to watch the pilot and not be interested in the rest of the series.
Teen, 13 years old Written byGreenwood arrow May 6, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Arrow review

As long as killing doesn't scare them there is no problem nothing on this tv show is worse than something like COD or GTA so if they have those then this is perfect. The show is well executed and shot and performed they clearly hit the bullseye ! The only reason it is a 15 is because of the ideas of disobeying the law and murder not something the government are too fond of.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written byKvasir March 10, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The best series everrrr

It's an amazing series, really! It contains A LOT of killing (because that is kinda what it's about) and /SPOILER ALERT/ you also see him being tortured by being slit with knives. /NOT SPOILER ALERT ANYMORE/ so I think you can show it to 12 year olds if your kid isn't that kind that can't look at blood and I don't think you should show it to 10 and younger.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byNeveralone4 January 12, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A good show appropriate for ages 12+

Overall has a good message.Violence is high in value ,but that's the point of fighting crime and I don't really remember seeing much blood or scary images.There are some inappropriate scenes which you can just skip ,but its mostly about Oliver and his team saving Starling city.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySaad1Khan November 13, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex

Pages