All member reviews for Awkward.

Common Sense Media says

Stellar teen comedy has sex, language, and mature themes.

Users say

(out of 41 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Adult Written byTaylorg93 August 31, 2011

People need to stop reviewing shows they don't actually watch!

People that have never seen the show need to stop writing reviews! Its an excellent show with lots of positive messages and if you didn't know that, then you obviously didn't see any other episode than the first. For example, She has the bullies weight journal, but decides to return it because she learned to be the better person. and BTW teenagers that were raised properly actually listen to you if you are on their level! I have seen shows and movies with sex, drugs and violence since I was 10, and I am not a rebellious teen! I don't drink, have sex with random strangers, or do any other activity that you would call bad.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent of a 5 year old Written byMuffinsMummy October 5, 2012

Awesome show - but check it out first

Firstly, I'd like to point out that my husband and I watch this WITHOUT our daughter! :o) I do think it's a show for sensible teenagers or young-at-heart adults, NOT for younger children. As with any show targeted at this vulnerable age group, I believe the parent/s should check out a few episodes first and make their own mind up with regard to their own child, but personally I would have no problem with a 15 year old watching this. It's a brilliant show - well-written, clever, genuinely funny (without having to resort to gutter/toilet-humour), and yes, even has positive messages for teenager viewers. Yes, there's a fair bit of sex (especially in early episodes), and I was a little surprised at the way this is clearly presented as the norm. But here's something that (surprisingly) noone else has mentioned: the casual encounters are generally not portrayed as a positive thing - on the contrary, Jenna comes to regret having raced into things with Matty, and the teens in the show who ARE portrayed as more promiscuous are definitely not intended to be our favourite characters (I'm looking at you, Ricky Schwartz). There is definitely a lack of adult role models, although it is interesting to note that as the series progresses, some of these characters (especially Jenna's mother) become less one-dimensional. Similarly, the Mean-Girls-style bully at school is given a bit of back story that opens a little window of empathy for her in the mind of the viewer. We still don't condone Sadie's behaviour of course, but her motivations do become a little clearer to us. On the whole, I think this is a great show, which should nevertheless be approached with a bit of caution by more conservative parents, or parents of younger teens.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byBishop Loves Gir September 14, 2011

Stop hatin if you aren't watchin'!

Awkward has recived bad reviews.People say its crude and weird.DUH!TS CALLED AWKWARD.!I enjoy the show.Its great for kids who are bllied.They feel like they are not alone.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygkdavis August 20, 2011

Akward is Okay

It's entertaining I'm sseventeen and for abstinance but I watch it. I think it's okay for mature teens who are educated about sex and the baggage that comes along with it. For parents you may want to make sure your child knows that sex isn't a casual thing and should be taken seriously.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 7 and 9 year old Written byjoannab August 13, 2011

Not for kids

Not good role models or messages for teens. Reminded me of Porky's or Revenge of the Nerds (forbidden when I was a kid) without the nudity.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMomzilla December 29, 2015

It's Actually Has Good Messages

It's actually not that bad, to my surprise. I think it is okay for 13 year olds, but if you only watch the first episode you'll think it's inappropriate. Throughout the series there are many positive messages and jokes. (Like the "Asian mafia") All in all it is a great show for 13 year olds. Although it deals with some mature subjects like bullying and sex, at the end it gives positive messages. You should let your child watch this if you think they are mature enough.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byiamcaek October 2, 2011

Being 'Awkward' is Endearing.

Awkward is an awesome, witty, humorous, and poignant show. High school is long gone for me, but I wish I had this show around when I was a high school student. The positive message it has for insecure teenagers is amazing, and really brings to light the sometimes inane feelings young adults possess in certain situations. Who hasn't wanted to "off" themselves when they were a teenager due to the multiple anxieties of work, school, family, friends, boyfriends/girlfriends? There's a lot of pressure to be a certain way in high school, and I think the show accurately portrays that. Of course, I wouldn't recommend this show as a "family" show. I think it's geared towards tweens (14+) and adults (18+). There is cursing (though it's censored), sex (though you never actually see anyone nekkid), and drinking (though it's in the cliched red cups). But the show doesn't necessarily promote any of those ideas onto their viewers. If you're ever having a bad day, watch this show. You won't regret it - unless you don't have a heart. ;)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byvifnduicptiave July 29, 2011

Awkward. is a great new comedy, but only for 14+

Awkward. is a funny, realistic look into a teenage girl's world. Although the sex scene at the beginnig of the pilot was somewhat explicit (it should still be appropriate for fourteen year olds), most of the other references are innuendo or wittily worded so that if you're not mature enough to get the joke, you'll write it off as slang or an inside joke, but if you do get it, then it's hilarious. I think that the TV-14 rating on the show is very appropriate, because teenagers really aren't as affected by the media as some may think, so therefore teens watching this will be entertained, but not turned into sex-crazed maniacs. As for the alcohol and drugs, it's mostly all talk, and most kids know better, although that's not the message portrayed in the show. The language and social situations are mostly better or the same as what they'd see at school (although some scenes are somewhat exaggerated), so it's nothing to really worry about. Now, under all that "bad stuff," the main character has good intentions and she's a very nice, understanding person. She just doesn't think things through. And all the adults have good intentions, too; they're just very quirky for comedic effect.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe book dork<3 August 17, 2011

Awkward. is just that

I'm 13 and know I absolutely shouldn't watch this show but I do. When you get around the sexual content, it's actually extremely appropriate. It teaches things like don't have sex before you know someone, being an outcast isn't totally terrible, letting lose a little isn't bad, taking chances can be good, that kind of thing. I just think TV needs more of shows like this. Not sexual and all, but where they provide us with subtly put lessons instead of full out like Disney or overly dramatic like Degrassi. We need more balance. I think Awkward. is basically just a little over the top with it's sexy-ness. Besides that, it's fine.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byWanderlust14 June 18, 2016

Coming from a Teen with morals and values

I do enjoy watching Awkward as a 16-year-old teen. Though it has a lot of sex and drugs scene I know that I personally will not be influenced by the characters behavior. Awkward has many relatable contents but it is still a TV show! The show does not show how actions have consequences. It promotes drugs,sex, and bad parenting. My peers are EXTREMELY easily influenced. With songs and Tv nowadays showing having no morals and values is cool, teens these days think that's how life is supposed to be. If your teen is easily influenced and does not understand the difference between Tv and reality, I suggest you should ban them from watching this show. It promotes sex extensively and does not show any consequences to any characters actions. The show does have great messages sometimes but the sex and drugs blind it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byaddie_love November 22, 2013

My favorite show!(:

This show is absolutely great. There's a lot of sexual comments and actions and also some strong language but it's not meant for younger kids. In the latest episodes drug use is very prominent. Jenna and her new boyfriend, Colin, smoke weed and take Ritalin and ecstasy. It's a really funny and great show for teens and up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLOVELOVESMILE November 1, 2013

Now I know why the show is called ":Awkward"

I have not met a teenager that has this many problems. Everytime I change it on MTV Awkward theres something weird. Like have sex,cheating on someone, or a girl with an east infection?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byi rate things August 17, 2013

Comedy? or a deep Message?

AWKWARD is very funny, but it has deep themes that are difficult for younger audiences to understand. Themes include suicide, parental guidance, pregnancy, support systems, sex, and much more. Because the characters are so young in this show, it might seem scandalous to some viewers. All in all, it is a great show!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 3, 2012

Really Funny, but

I think sex is a problem, two of the main characters, Matty and Jenna have sex quite a lot in the 1st season, and for Christmas Jenna's dad gives her a box of condoms, yikes... Can't really say there are many good role-models but they do bleep out bad the language... The show is basically Twilight, two boys fighting over a clutzy, awkward girl. The teenagers also underage drink. (New Years party)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byWannaBeKardashian October 2, 2011

Watch it before you review it.

Too many people are judging this show by other reviews. I have watched this programme so here is my review; Awkward is one of the best teenage tv shows i have ever watched, the first series has recently ended and it has been AMAZING and i cannot wait for series 2, being 14, i don't relate to it that much but i can understand what she's going through. After receiving a mean 'carefrontation letter, Jenna tries to change the way she is to get a boy It's pretty accurate. Sex: There is quite a lot of it but when there is you only see the peoples faces and they groan a little but that's it! NOTHING is shown. Drinking/Drugs: There is absolutely nothing shown, in one recent episode, Jenna (the main character) throws a party because she's been told that she needs to grow up. Obviously there is drinking but the only parts that are shown are when she's a little drunk and she's talking to the guy she likes and another guy that likes her.. but it's all flashbacks. Violence:NONE! Language:All bad language is bleeped out. Getting tired of people judging this show from false reviews..Hope mine helped!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bySky Could Be Blue August 23, 2011

Shameful

MTV should be ashamed of themselves. It's disgusting--not edgy or original. The plot was a real turn off and it's horribly acted (like all MTV shows). I haven't been this disappointed since the American Skins debuted.
Teen, 13 years old Written bylittlemisshannahxxx October 6, 2011

Great realistic portrayal of the honest life of an awkward teen girl, perfect for teen girls.

I love this show! It covers real and tough issues, some that i've gone through. Even though it is inappropriate at through a lot of it, that's reality. That's REALLY what happens in junior high and high schools. It has the eff word, it just makes a bleep sound, but you can see the characters' lips, obvious of what they are saying. Sadie is extremely mean, but it shows that she is truly insecure on the inside, although that doesn't make it okay. My mom was very cautious before letting me watch it, but she realized that I am growing up and deserve freedom, as well as the fact that it tackles real issues. Parents say, "Well i don't care if you see and hear that kind of thing at school; You will not hear or see it in my house. I can control it here, but not there." They are right, they can control if you see it in your house, partially. If you don't give your kid freedom, they will feel the need to rebel, and go watch that show or movie online or at a friend's house. When you tie up a tiger really close, its not just going to sit there and think "oh I'm so happy to be tied up!" It will do everything to get off of that tight leash. But, if you don't tie a tiger up at all, it will cause destruction. Make sure you give your child enough freedom for their age so that they don't feel the need to rebel, but they aren't doing bad things with you knowing. I have a friend, her mom is SO strict. She is on SUCH a tight leash, so she does rebel. She watches the shows and movies her mom tells her not to, she's snuck out a couple times, and can't wait to go to college someday and makeout with whoever she wants to, drink when she wants, and have FREEDOM. Anyway, if you have a teen, especially a teen girl, that it interested in the show, I recomend that you let her watch it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byniyagurl14 November 12, 2011

Fun filled teen drama?

This show is very funny and teaches young girls why they shouldn't just do stuff with guys. But there aren't many consequences shown.
Teen, 17 years old Written byneuneph September 7, 2011

extremely funny and for once not too childish

Kid, 10 years old August 31, 2011

awkward

i say that kids under 14 are not allowed to watch this
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex

Pages