All member reviews for Bates Motel

Common Sense Media says

Dark drama updates a horror classic with blood and violence.

Users say

(out of 32 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Parent Written byMissCollier March 17, 2013

RAPE SCENE WAS INTOLERABLE FOR ANY AGE

DO NOT WATCH THIS SHOW UNLESS YOU SUPPORT VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN. THE RAPE SCENE WAS UNNECESSARY AND OBNOXIOUS. IT IS INTOLERABLE AND ONLY CONTRIBUTES TO OUR CULTURAL ABILITY TO IGNORE THIS TYPE OF BEHAVIOR AS INSIGNIFICANT OR TOLERABLE. I HAD TO TURN IT OFF MID WAY THROUGH THE RAPE SCENE HAVING BEEN A RAPE VICTIM MYSELF. THIS TV SHOW IS SHAMELESS AND INEXCUSABLE.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byRango813 March 19, 2013

Really Good Show, but FOR MATURE TEENAGERS ONLY!!

Bates Motel is officially my new favorite show. That isn't to say it's the best thing I've ever seen on television, in terms of how good it is and content wise. But it is very, very, very good. For those of you who don't know, Bates Motel is a prequel to the 1960 horror classic Psycho. It is set in modern times, but a prequel nonetheless. The show focuses on Norman Bates as a teenager living with his mom, Norma. The show starts with Norman and Norma moving to White Pine Bay six months after Norman's dad died in a tragic incident (hmm…). The first episode is mainly set-up for the next 9 episodes, but it does manage to keep us on our toes. If your child has seen Psycho, which has little to no violence besides the shower scene, and expresses their desire to see this, I strongly suggest a pre-viewing on parents' parts. This is probably the edgiest TV-14 I have ever seen. Nowadays, Criminal Minds and NCIS are about my limits on TV-14 violence, but this took it to a whole new dimension. This next part will have MAJOR spoilers for the first episode, and it might get graphic, so bear with me. The episode is about an hour long, and about 25 minutes in is when the action really starts. Earlier, a man came over and confronted Norma and Norman about the property, which was apparently owned by a distant relative of his. Later, he returns drunk and brutally, brutally rapes Norma while Norman is out of the house. This is accompanied by about 20 seconds of Norma just screaming; it is a very disturbing scene. Luckily, Norman comes back and hits him over the head, which knocks him out. The mother-son duo then proceed to get the emergency kit (Norman) while Norma stabs the man to death multiple times. The rest of the episode is basically blood, blood, more blood, with some suspense as well. It also shows Norman trying to cope with the murder. (Okay, there's not as much blood as others like The Walking Dead or AHS) I think that the creepiest part of the show was not the rape or the murder, but that SMILE at the end. The episode ends with Norma hugging Norman and saying something like "I love you Norman." Norman responds, "I love you too, Mom" and he just looks straight into the camera and does one of the creepiest smiles I have ever seen. Not only that, but Freddie Highmore does a really good job at portraying Norman. At first, he seems kind of shy, but then quickly gets trapped in a web of murders. By the end of the episode, I looked into his eyes and saw something along the lines of evil and insanity blossoming...*shudders*. I'm 13 and I found this show highly disturbing, especially to kids who are 12. But, it is also a very good show in a creepy way. 13 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byPoonboy777 April 21, 2013

A Modern Take On A Truly Astonishing Psychological Thriller

Bates Motel is a riveting new drama with multivariate psychological themes and elements. It is a modern take on a true horror classic. Parents can expect to see infrequent violent altercations between characters and mild language, much expected from other A&E network dramas. There are some adult themes depicted in the show but there are also positive messages on family dynamics and boundaries within peer relationships. Bates Motel is full of high energy, unexpected turns and superb acting by the lovely veteran actor Vera Farmiga and the young, up and coming Freddie Highmore. Bates is a fabulous new thrilling drama with a fascinating plot and is appropriate for the viewer 15 years of age and older, and it is sure to keep the fan craving and anticipating more with each new episode.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byyuri13 October 25, 2014

Should be Rated TV-MA

Violence: 8/10-Many violent scenes, most can be quite disturbing. Sex: 8/10 Voltage-sex between mother and son, rape, graphic sex without nudity and some scenes that masturbation is implied. Language: 5/10-Throughout the season there is constant use of b ** ch and other mild profanity such as c ** p and s ** t. One or two uses of f ** k although They can easily be missed As They are said quietly. Drinking, drugs, & smoking: 7/10-Frequent reference to drugs, marijuana is viewed and used several times. Rated R: For strong sexual and violent content, some drug and alcohol abuse and some language-some Involving teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJereDaBear March 22, 2013

Should be rated TV-MA.

Before I start my rant about how this shouldn't be TV-14 and should be TV-MA, I'd like to say that I watch Dexter and Game Of Thrones, I'm no prude. I see graphic sex and horrid rape scenes (THAT I FAST FORWARD) frequently on my two favorite television shows. I'd like to say that this is too much to handle for even the most mature 14 year old. *SPOILER ALERT* There is a very disturbing rape scene within the first twenty minutes of the first episode. It's not visually graphic, but it is enough to disturb any sane, morally conscience human. For 30 seconds you hear her scream and cry out for help... you also hear the rapist grunting and making noises of pleasure. (Thankfully, Norman comes to save the day and hits him over the head with an old iron that weighs 5 pounds. Norma then stabs the rapist repeatedly until his demise. He gets what he deserves.) Norman also finds an old book in the motel that shows how to capture and sedate a woman, (God knows what else is in that book) there is very graphic anime drawings. In my most humble opinion, I must say that this show is not for kids. Parents should not allow there 14 year old children to watch this, If your more mature 16 year old would like to watch it, I strongly urge you to screen it first. Fellow teenagers, if you think you're mature enough to view such content that I just described, go ahead and watch it. (But you should probably fast forward the rape scene.) But, if your questioning it, just ask your parent or guardian to screen it for you and let them decide. Now for the review! Is it any good? Not really. The plot is very sub-par, it started out just fine, but when a certain character is introduced and basically threatens the motel, it becomes extremely predictable. Not to mention a very cliche kitchen scene at a high school party. There is little, too almost no character development at all. Perhaps the writers were just trying to shove as much as they could into the pilot? Don't get me wrong, Vera Farmiga & Freddie Highmores acting is phenomenal. But that doesn't excuse the bad writing. Maybe, I'm being too judgmental, considering this is the first episode of the series, time will tell. In my most humble opinion, I think the acting alone is a reason to watch it. But, the writing alone is a reason to skip it. Personally, I'm going to watch a few more episodes before I make my final decision. Hope this review helped, Jeremiah
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written bycrusader666 February 23, 2014

Exciting program, but definitely NOT for kids!

I am not now nor I have ever been a parent and I used to cringe when my parents said "you can't watch this" or "you can't watch that." Be that as it may, although the violent scenes are not super gory (thus far), during the rape scene in Season 1, Episode 1, I cringed at the thought that some people on this forum said this program is okay for 16-year-old children to view. Quite frankly, that type of graphic scene should be reserved for an R-rated movie, so maybe I am becoming more prudish in my old age. Consensual sex and modified drug/alcohol use in TV programs aren't a major problem for me; however, the rape scene I feel would be rather disturbing (or should be) to a teenager. All children mature differently, so it might be okay for some 16-year-olds, but not for others. This is where the parent or guardian has a responsibility to monitor what minors watch on TV and at least have a "discussion" afterwards to make sure the teen watching this type of program understands the harm done in an act of rape. I realize this review is written after viewing just the premier episode, so my opinion may change as I watch more episodes. The acting, writing and music is good, so I look forward to watching the entire Season 1; however, I am just not sure this is the type of program teens should be watching.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byMarleyRF97 January 14, 2014

A Very Good Show With Some Intense Plot Moments

Bates Motel is one of the best television shows I have seen in awhile. I watch it with my younger sister who is 14 and occasionally our mother. It is a very intriguing and refreshing take on a prequel to Alfred Hitchcock's film Psycho. There is quite a bit of killing throughout the episodes, but nothing my mature 14 year old sister can't handle. Norman has seen a lot in his life and he is only a teenager. Some things could trigger reactions in people who have had a trauma happen to them especially involving domestic violence or sexual assault. There is a lot of violence throughout the season, and for those of you who have seen Psycho, it can be very unsettling at times, because you know how Norman is going to turn out, you just don't know when or why. There is some sexual content between teens (An implied hookup, etc.) and SPOILERS FROM HERE ON: An intense scene involving an attempted rape in the first episode. It involves a drunk man breaking into their house and assaulting Norma. Visually, you only see Norma's hands as she is handcuffed, but it is still a very disturbing 20-30 seconds, and you hear her screaming for help. Norman shows up and hits the man over the head, and Norma kills him while Norman is out of the room. This entire scene is in the pilot and very brutal. My sister did watch it, and she was okay. She understood what had happened. The plot throughout season one involves human trafficking and sex slaves, although nothing sexual is really ever shown that involves that, other than some flashes of drawings in a notebook. Nothing is really graphic there. It is only shown onscreen once, but it is implied that Norman kills various people. This can be upsetting to less mature people, because he does not remember it- he blacks out and turns into a different person, and his mother hides it from him. NO MORE SPOILERS: Overall, this show has a great, deep plot, and is very good. My 14 year old sister is very mature and watches shows such as The Walking Dead and Supernatural, and she is fine watching this show. I recommend this show to anyone 16 and up or mature 14 and 15 year olds.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymormonstandards December 22, 2013

Absolutely disgusting, should be banned

I am 15 and this made me feel sick to my stomach, you see a women be raped in the first episode and its disturbing, i cant believe this is allowed on television.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byNyxxie April 30, 2014

Entertaining, violent guilty pleasure.

First of all, if you've been researching this show at all, you know that the first episode is all about a shockingly violent rape and murder. The rape is seen almost fully onscreen. Nothing sensitive is shown, but you know EXACTLY what is going on. Her screaming, his grunting, the table rocking, pants on the ground. I am not a sensitive person to this but it made me look away to be honest. The rape scene was entirely necessary to add to this plot and I was highly annoyed when I saw people mad about it. Guess what? Rape happens. It's violent, uncomfortable, ugly, and shocking, and I salute the creators for having the balls to portray not only the reality of this but also the emotional baggage Norma carries from this for the rest of the series. In my opinion, it should've been TV-MA, because rape is very triggering for some people. I understand the outcry about this graphic rape but it doesn't make bates motel unwatchable or worse. In fact, I think it makes the show better. The directors went balls out and showed just what goes on after someone goes through this. Bates motel is about psycho. People should assume it's going to be gory, violent, and intense. So if you watch it with expectations that it's gonna be happy and feel good then you're stupid or misguided. You people need to grow up and face the reality or just not watch the show if you don't like it. Anyway, Bates motel is definitely a mature thriller. I think it's brilliant, with fast paced action, secrets, lies, twists at every end, and too many dead people to count on one hand.. It's a perfect guilty pleasure. If you don't mind the first episode's gratuitous psychological violence, I would definitely say WATCH IT!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byeb4iley February 13, 2014

Intense but very good

In my opinion, this show is very well-written with a gripping plot. There are definitely some disturbing scenes, especially the rape scene in the first episode, but I think that teens who are able to separate fiction and reality should really be able to handle it. You have to keep in mind that there has to be a believable explanation for Norman's insanity and for his mother's actions, and the writers are just trying to generate a plausible reason. There is never an excessive amount of violence in my mind, but I would advise parents who are worried about sexual content in a show to watch it before their teen.
Teen, 14 years old Written byemir October 31, 2015

Great tv-series. OK for teenagers.

I'm watching this show since I was 12. My favorite one. And miss colline, what the f*** *?! There is just a rape scene that lasts about 10 seconds. No nudity or anything. Every child above 12 probably seen a scene like that before. By the way, this show has also important messages. Some violence with little blood. Definitely ok for 14 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byHaitham Bayazeed April 29, 2013

HB Review: Bates Motel

It is good, but some scenes makes you want to quit watching, I personally tried these scenes and passed a long time then I returned to watching this series, but overall it is good, some episodes are great, some are fair, but overall, good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byQueenClarity April 12, 2013

I Love This Show, But It Should Be Rated TV-MA

Ever since this show started, I was absolutely in love with it. "Psycho" was one of my favorite movies and this is a modern day prequel series of "Psycho" which makes it even better. Every episode has an amazing story line to it with dozens of plot twists, mysteries, drama and thrills, BUT I believe this show should be rated TV-MA S D V L instead of TV-14. The reason for that is because there is violence in every episode, gore, a very disturbing rape scene, explicit uncensored language, near death situations, sex scenes, a pornographic notebook, a sex slave locked in a character's basement, drugs, strip clubs, murder, blood, and an illegal job one of the characters have. I don't want to get into detail because spoiling isn't my thing, but the things that I listed above are the main things you need to look out for if you're going to watch it. I suggest people who are starting to watch it to watch the Pilot episode first and if you think its inappropriate and you feel like you can't handle it, don't watch further episodes. Overall in my opinion I think this is a great show! I can't wait for new episodes to premiere and for season 2! :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTotally_Blushingxxx July 5, 2014

its pretty good

I'm 13 and I love this show. I love the suspense and action and mystery. It is one of my favorites. I love the movie it's based off of too. It's great for older teens or maybe some more kids my age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCkarly April 22, 2016

Not for kids 15+

I'm 14 years old and very mature but this show is a little much for me it has an extremely good plot and is very interesting but some scenes are just too gruesome like in the first episode Norma's was brutally raped and you could hear her scream for 20 seconds later she stabs her rapist multiple times
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bydalektable May 25, 2014

Wow

I've just started this show, and so far, it's been really good. The relationship between Norman and his mother seemed to border on possibly becoming incest, which is a tad disconcerting, and the rape scene was obviously infuriating. Despite those, the plot is fascinating and I do generally like the main characters. Worth a shot, whether you've seen Psycho or not.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byAlyaa_M August 11, 2016

NOPE!

Sensitive and not for kids under 16.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMichael Sladek June 4, 2016

Outstanding Show with dedicated acting and plotlines of the decade

First of all, people (parents) need to stop going ape shit on the first episode's rape scene. EVERY series must have their worst to come scene in the pilot episode to show the viewers what the worst thing will look like and the rape was 20 seconds maximun with NO nudity. Anyways, this show has an amazing view on Psycho and the unsettlig relationnship between Norma and Norman. Vera Farmiga is an academy award nominee and a phenomanel actress and she is very underestimated, sadly. Her portrayal is incredible and Freddie Highmore does a fantastic job playing the mental Norman Bates. Season four contains the best suspense, acting, and an emotional ending that has you on its heels for season 5. This show contains no worse words than shit, which are still seldom and the sex is very rare (one sex scene in each season) and violence is common but no gore. Mature thirteen year olds (14 yr olds mostly) should be able to watch this and enjoy it comfortably. This show is underrated and it deserves much more credit and awards for acting and camera effects. Thank you if you made this far in reading.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byAshleyme May 16, 2016

Please don't go off track

Please don't go off track with bates motel, and have Norman running free like a lunatic. I can't continue to watch it if this is the route that bates is taking. What about Dilan and the husband, and the nut house for Norman?????? Please don't change it to a horror movie.
Teen, 16 years old Written byFordflex12 April 28, 2016
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages