Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Bates Motel

Common Sense says

Dark drama updates a horror classic with blood and violence.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 15 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 40 reviews
Adult Written byyuri13 October 25, 2014

Should be Rated TV-MA

Violence: 8/10-Many violent scenes, most can be quite disturbing. Sex: 8/10 Voltage-sex between mother and son, rape, graphic sex without nudity and some scenes that masturbation is implied. Language: 5/10-Throughout the season there is constant use of b ** ch and other mild profanity such as c ** p and s ** t. One or two uses of f ** k although They can easily be missed As They are said quietly. Drinking, drugs, & smoking: 7/10-Frequent reference to drugs, marijuana is viewed and used several times. Rated R: For strong sexual and violent content, some drug and alcohol abuse and some language-some Involving teens.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bymaria s. April 6, 2017

BatesMotel

really good! quite scary but age appropriate for tweens.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written byMissCollier March 17, 2013

RAPE SCENE WAS INTOLERABLE FOR ANY AGE

DO NOT WATCH THIS SHOW UNLESS YOU SUPPORT VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN. THE RAPE SCENE WAS UNNECESSARY AND OBNOXIOUS. IT IS INTOLERABLE AND ONLY CONTRIBUTES TO OUR CULTURAL ABILITY TO IGNORE THIS TYPE OF BEHAVIOR AS INSIGNIFICANT OR TOLERABLE. I HAD TO TURN IT OFF MID WAY THROUGH THE RAPE SCENE HAVING BEEN A RAPE VICTIM MYSELF. THIS TV SHOW IS SHAMELESS AND INEXCUSABLE.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMia34 December 29, 2018

Weird but pretty good

Some scenes are a no no for kids the rape scene is not for kids at all but most of all nothing too bad basically PG-16

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 18+ year old Written bymexidog November 8, 2018

it’s good....but..

i liked the show, it was really well done and it was an interesting take on a classic character. that being said, im not sure why it’s not tv-ma. 20 minutes into the first episode there’s a horribly graphic (and completely unnecessary) rape scene. it ends with the victim stabbing the guy repeatedly (he deserved it) while sobbing. it was unexpected, shocking, and incredibly disturbing. sexual violence (all against women, if i remember correctly) is very prevalent throughout the show, and so is incest. (spoiler alert) norman has a brother that discovers he is the son of norma’s brother-a result of assault. in a later season (i cant remember which one) a flashback scene depicts norma being raped by her abusive husband while norman is hiding under the bed, holding her hand. i’ve never been assaulted but even that made me physically sick. don’t trust the rating on this one and tread carefully-the sexual violence is a huge part of the show, which is incredibly disappointing to me. victims of assault, beware.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Parent Written byBianca L. April 13, 2018

Pretty good!

This show is exactly what you would want in a thriller/mystery/drama. However, it is quite violent. Be careful with your kids on this one, make sure the show doesn't send the wrong message to them. Other than the violence, it's a complex and great story.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byKayla N. March 10, 2018

Love this show.

It has pretty gory scenes of murders and rape. I was around 16 when I first started watching it and I was fine. amazing show with really good acting.
Parent of a 13 and 16 year old Written byKim M. January 5, 2018

Should be R..and I’m not a strict mom

The rape scene in the first episode is so disturbing and I can’t believe anyone would want to watch that and definitely kids under18 shouldn’t be!!! This show condones violence against women. Please don’t watch it or let your teens watch it...they already see enough violence with the porn they sneak

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent Written bySeattle Mom March 26, 2017

Not for kids or teens

Super intriguing thriller but definitely not for kids. My son at nearly age 14 is mature enough to watch a lot of stuff, but I'm glad I haven't let him watch this one. I'm at episode 4 and between the rape and the sex slaves, I say no way. Let kids be kids a while longer.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMichael Sladek June 4, 2016

Outstanding Show with dedicated acting and plotlines of the decade

First of all, people (parents) need to stop going ape shit on the first episode's rape scene. EVERY series must have their worst to come scene in the pilot episode to show the viewers what the worst thing will look like and the rape was 20 seconds maximun with NO nudity. Anyways, this show has an amazing view on Psycho and the unsettlig relationnship between Norma and Norman. Vera Farmiga is an academy award nominee and a phenomanel actress and she is very underestimated, sadly. Her portrayal is incredible and Freddie Highmore does a fantastic job playing the mental Norman Bates. Season four contains the best suspense, acting, and an emotional ending that has you on its heels for season 5. This show contains no worse words than shit, which are still seldom and the sex is very rare (one sex scene in each season) and violence is common but no gore. Mature thirteen year olds (14 yr olds mostly) should be able to watch this and enjoy it comfortably. This show is underrated and it deserves much more credit and awards for acting and camera effects. Thank you if you made this far in reading.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byAshleyme May 16, 2016

Please don't go off track

Please don't go off track with bates motel, and have Norman running free like a lunatic. I can't continue to watch it if this is the route that bates is taking. What about Dilan and the husband, and the nut house for Norman?????? Please don't change it to a horror movie.
Adult Written byhonest_television July 20, 2015

very good!

cant wait for season four.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byemmiep November 6, 2014

Seriously disappointed.

I have been so interested in this show ever since I found out Freddie Highmore was in it. I adore him and found him family friendly-until now. This show is very disturbing. I barely made it through the first episode, and an episode in the second season. I am absolutely heartbroken that the show is so graphic and disgusting. I was really hoping to enjoy it. The relationship between mother and son is disturbing- as is everything else. Yes, I realize it's a thriller. Maybe someday I will be able to stand it when watching with my husband to keep me grounded. But I will not be pursuing the rest of the show until even I mature a bit more. Do not let your kids watch.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byCrusader X February 23, 2014

Exciting program, but definitely NOT for kids!

I am not now nor I have ever been a parent and I used to cringe when my parents said "you can't watch this" or "you can't watch that." Be that as it may, although the violent scenes are not super gory (thus far), during the rape scene in Season 1, Episode 1, I cringed at the thought that some people on this forum said this program is okay for 16-year-old children to view. Quite frankly, that type of graphic scene should be reserved for an R-rated movie, so maybe I am becoming more prudish in my old age. Consensual sex and modified drug/alcohol use in TV programs aren't a major problem for me; however, the rape scene I feel would be rather disturbing (or should be) to a teenager. All children mature differently, so it might be okay for some 16-year-olds, but not for others. This is where the parent or guardian has a responsibility to monitor what minors watch on TV and at least have a "discussion" afterwards to make sure the teen watching this type of program understands the harm done in an act of rape. I realize this review is written after viewing just the premier episode, so my opinion may change as I watch more episodes. The acting, writing and music is good, so I look forward to watching the entire Season 1; however, I am just not sure this is the type of program teens should be watching.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent Written byPoonboy777 April 21, 2013

A Modern Take On A Truly Astonishing Psychological Thriller

Bates Motel is a riveting new drama with multivariate psychological themes and elements. It is a modern take on a true horror classic. Parents can expect to see infrequent violent altercations between characters and mild language, much expected from other A&E network dramas. There are some adult themes depicted in the show but there are also positive messages on family dynamics and boundaries within peer relationships. Bates Motel is full of high energy, unexpected turns and superb acting by the lovely veteran actor Vera Farmiga and the young, up and coming Freddie Highmore. Bates is a fabulous new thrilling drama with a fascinating plot and is appropriate for the viewer 15 years of age and older, and it is sure to keep the fan craving and anticipating more with each new episode.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking