All member reviews for Bates Motel

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 17 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byRango813 March 19, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Really Good Show, but FOR MATURE TEENAGERS ONLY!!

Bates Motel is officially my new favorite show. That isn't to say it's the best thing I've ever seen on television, in terms of how good it is and content wise. But it is very, very, very good. For those of you who don't know, Bates Motel is a prequel to the 1960 horror classic Psycho. It is set in modern times, but a prequel nonetheless. The show focuses on Norman Bates as a teenager living with his mom, Norma. The show starts with Norman and Norma moving to White Pine Bay six months after Norman's dad died in a tragic incident (hmm…). The first episode is mainly set-up for the next 9 episodes, but it does manage to keep us on our toes. If your child has seen Psycho, which has little to no violence besides the shower scene, and expresses their desire to see this, I strongly suggest a pre-viewing on parents' parts. This is probably the edgiest TV-14 I have ever seen. Nowadays, Criminal Minds and NCIS are about my limits on TV-14 violence, but this took it to a whole new dimension. This next part will have MAJOR spoilers for the first episode, and it might get graphic, so bear with me. The episode is about an hour long, and about 25 minutes in is when the action really starts. Earlier, a man came over and confronted Norma and Norman about the property, which was apparently owned by a distant relative of his. Later, he returns drunk and brutally, brutally rapes Norma while Norman is out of the house. This is accompanied by about 20 seconds of Norma just screaming; it is a very disturbing scene. Luckily, Norman comes back and hits him over the head, which knocks him out. The mother-son duo then proceed to get the emergency kit (Norman) while Norma stabs the man to death multiple times. The rest of the episode is basically blood, blood, more blood, with some suspense as well. It also shows Norman trying to cope with the murder. (Okay, there's not as much blood as others like The Walking Dead or AHS) I think that the creepiest part of the show was not the rape or the murder, but that SMILE at the end. The episode ends with Norma hugging Norman and saying something like "I love you Norman." Norman responds, "I love you too, Mom" and he just looks straight into the camera and does one of the creepiest smiles I have ever seen. Not only that, but Freddie Highmore does a really good job at portraying Norman. At first, he seems kind of shy, but then quickly gets trapped in a web of murders. By the end of the episode, I looked into his eyes and saw something along the lines of evil and insanity blossoming...*shudders*. I'm 13 and I found this show highly disturbing, especially to kids who are 12. But, it is also a very good show in a creepy way. 13 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byMarleyRF97 January 14, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A Very Good Show With Some Intense Plot Moments

Bates Motel is one of the best television shows I have seen in awhile. I watch it with my younger sister who is 14 and occasionally our mother. It is a very intriguing and refreshing take on a prequel to Alfred Hitchcock's film Psycho. There is quite a bit of killing throughout the episodes, but nothing my mature 14 year old sister can't handle. Norman has seen a lot in his life and he is only a teenager. Some things could trigger reactions in people who have had a trauma happen to them especially involving domestic violence or sexual assault. There is a lot of violence throughout the season, and for those of you who have seen Psycho, it can be very unsettling at times, because you know how Norman is going to turn out, you just don't know when or why. There is some sexual content between teens (An implied hookup, etc.) and SPOILERS FROM HERE ON: An intense scene involving an attempted rape in the first episode. It involves a drunk man breaking into their house and assaulting Norma. Visually, you only see Norma's hands as she is handcuffed, but it is still a very disturbing 20-30 seconds, and you hear her screaming for help. Norman shows up and hits the man over the head, and Norma kills him while Norman is out of the room. This entire scene is in the pilot and very brutal. My sister did watch it, and she was okay. She understood what had happened. The plot throughout season one involves human trafficking and sex slaves, although nothing sexual is really ever shown that involves that, other than some flashes of drawings in a notebook. Nothing is really graphic there. It is only shown onscreen once, but it is implied that Norman kills various people. This can be upsetting to less mature people, because he does not remember it- he blacks out and turns into a different person, and his mother hides it from him. NO MORE SPOILERS: Overall, this show has a great, deep plot, and is very good. My 14 year old sister is very mature and watches shows such as The Walking Dead and Supernatural, and she is fine watching this show. I recommend this show to anyone 16 and up or mature 14 and 15 year olds.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJereDaBear March 22, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Should be rated TV-MA.

Before I start my rant about how this shouldn't be TV-14 and should be TV-MA, I'd like to say that I watch Dexter and Game Of Thrones, I'm no prude. I see graphic sex and horrid rape scenes (THAT I FAST FORWARD) frequently on my two favorite television shows. I'd like to say that this is too much to handle for even the most mature 14 year old. *SPOILER ALERT* There is a very disturbing rape scene within the first twenty minutes of the first episode. It's not visually graphic, but it is enough to disturb any sane, morally conscience human. For 30 seconds you hear her scream and cry out for help... you also hear the rapist grunting and making noises of pleasure. (Thankfully, Norman comes to save the day and hits him over the head with an old iron that weighs 5 pounds. Norma then stabs the rapist repeatedly until his demise. He gets what he deserves.) Norman also finds an old book in the motel that shows how to capture and sedate a woman, (God knows what else is in that book) there is very graphic anime drawings. In my most humble opinion, I must say that this show is not for kids. Parents should not allow there 14 year old children to watch this, If your more mature 16 year old would like to watch it, I strongly urge you to screen it first. Fellow teenagers, if you think you're mature enough to view such content that I just described, go ahead and watch it. (But you should probably fast forward the rape scene.) But, if your questioning it, just ask your parent or guardian to screen it for you and let them decide. Now for the review! Is it any good? Not really. The plot is very sub-par, it started out just fine, but when a certain character is introduced and basically threatens the motel, it becomes extremely predictable. Not to mention a very cliche kitchen scene at a high school party. There is little, too almost no character development at all. Perhaps the writers were just trying to shove as much as they could into the pilot? Don't get me wrong, Vera Farmiga & Freddie Highmores acting is phenomenal. But that doesn't excuse the bad writing. Maybe, I'm being too judgmental, considering this is the first episode of the series, time will tell. In my most humble opinion, I think the acting alone is a reason to watch it. But, the writing alone is a reason to skip it. Personally, I'm going to watch a few more episodes before I make my final decision. Hope this review helped, Jeremiah
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bymormonstandards December 22, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Absolutely disgusting, should be banned

I am 15 and this made me feel sick to my stomach, you see a women be raped in the first episode and its disturbing, i cant believe this is allowed on television.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byHaitham Bayazeed April 29, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

HB Review: Bates Motel

It is good, but some scenes makes you want to quit watching, I personally tried these scenes and passed a long time then I returned to watching this series, but overall it is good, some episodes are great, some are fair, but overall, good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byeb4iley February 13, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Intense but very good

In my opinion, this show is very well-written with a gripping plot. There are definitely some disturbing scenes, especially the rape scene in the first episode, but I think that teens who are able to separate fiction and reality should really be able to handle it. You have to keep in mind that there has to be a believable explanation for Norman's insanity and for his mother's actions, and the writers are just trying to generate a plausible reason. There is never an excessive amount of violence in my mind, but I would advise parents who are worried about sexual content in a show to watch it before their teen.
Teen, 15 years old Written byQueenClarity April 12, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I Love This Show, But It Should Be Rated TV-MA

Ever since this show started, I was absolutely in love with it. "Psycho" was one of my favorite movies and this is a modern day prequel series of "Psycho" which makes it even better. Every episode has an amazing story line to it with dozens of plot twists, mysteries, drama and thrills, BUT I believe this show should be rated TV-MA S D V L instead of TV-14. The reason for that is because there is violence in every episode, gore, a very disturbing rape scene, explicit uncensored language, near death situations, sex scenes, a pornographic notebook, a sex slave locked in a character's basement, drugs, strip clubs, murder, blood, and an illegal job one of the characters have. I don't want to get into detail because spoiling isn't my thing, but the things that I listed above are the main things you need to look out for if you're going to watch it. I suggest people who are starting to watch it to watch the Pilot episode first and if you think its inappropriate and you feel like you can't handle it, don't watch further episodes. Overall in my opinion I think this is a great show! I can't wait for new episodes to premiere and for season 2! :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTotally_Blushingxxx July 5, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

its pretty good

I'm 13 and I love this show. I love the suspense and action and mystery. It is one of my favorites. I love the movie it's based off of too. It's great for older teens or maybe some more kids my age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bydalektable May 25, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Wow

I've just started this show, and so far, it's been really good. The relationship between Norman and his mother seemed to border on possibly becoming incest, which is a tad disconcerting, and the rape scene was obviously infuriating. Despite those, the plot is fascinating and I do generally like the main characters. Worth a shot, whether you've seen Psycho or not.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byNyxxie April 30, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Entertaining, violent guilty pleasure.

First of all, if you've been researching this show at all, you know that the first episode is all about a shockingly violent rape and murder. The rape is seen almost fully onscreen. Nothing sensitive is shown, but you know EXACTLY what is going on. Her screaming, his grunting, the table rocking, pants on the ground. I am not a sensitive person to this but it made me look away to be honest. The rape scene was entirely necessary to add to this plot and I was highly annoyed when I saw people mad about it. Guess what? Rape happens. It's violent, uncomfortable, ugly, and shocking, and I salute the creators for having the balls to portray not only the reality of this but also the emotional baggage Norma carries from this for the rest of the series. In my opinion, it should've been TV-MA, because rape is very triggering for some people. I understand the outcry about this graphic rape but it doesn't make bates motel unwatchable or worse. In fact, I think it makes the show better. The directors went balls out and showed just what goes on after someone goes through this. Bates motel is about psycho. People should assume it's going to be gory, violent, and intense. So if you watch it with expectations that it's gonna be happy and feel good then you're stupid or misguided. You people need to grow up and face the reality or just not watch the show if you don't like it. Anyway, Bates motel is definitely a mature thriller. I think it's brilliant, with fast paced action, secrets, lies, twists at every end, and too many dead people to count on one hand.. It's a perfect guilty pleasure. If you don't mind the first episode's gratuitous psychological violence, I would definitely say WATCH IT!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byamytargaryen December 8, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

More for mature teenagers

The show is great but it shouldn't be watched by anyone who is not mature enough There are a few rape scenes that occur. The show is violent as its based off the movie "psycho" and there are several bloody scenes. However, sex scenes do not contain nudity. There is some scenes of drinking and smoking and one of the storylines is about a weed factory. This show should only be viewed if the teenager is mature enough as the rape scenes are very uncomfortable to watch. Apart from all this, the show is great and I would recommend to anyone old and mature to watch this, there are also a few funny parts beside the violence and rape scenes!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 12, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good But not okey for children

The show goes back to the 1960s when Pyscho was made but tells the story of Norman and Norma Bates and how themovie came to be! This show is good for mature teens. The first episode features a rape scene with some bare skin but rape is strongly implied. A few other episodes feature Norma and a cop kissing passionately kissing and taking off clothes but nothing really graphic is shown. There is also a quite bit of violence in this movie including some bloody stabbings and images. There are a few murders with blood shown. Also one of the characters accidently eats a brownie with marjuana. Also characters are shown drinking and going to clubs and partys.Also there is a quite bit of swearing but not too common. Norman and Norma have a good relaionship which could serve as positive role models for some people. Overall Bates Motel is left for older mature teens.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byHelloJello9 February 24, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not Appropriate for Some Kids

I recently started watching this show which is rated TV14. I don't think it's appropriate for 14 year olds. You should be at least 15, and even then it's more for mature teens than for just any teens. I'm 15 and found the (spoiler alert ahead) first episode of season 1 where the mother gets raped quite disturbing and pretty graphic for a show rated TV14. As for violence, I personally didn't find it too bad but for some it might not be for you. It is a good show though, I recommend it if you like dark themes. Overall, definitely not for kids, only appropriate for mature teens or older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bydoctor11 February 10, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

a little stupid and intense

this show has to many parts face palm parts. the characters aren't very believable. like how Norman's mom thought that the overly sweet girls in the mini skirts who asked if Norman could "study" with them at the 'library" were going to do just that. like what the heck! there are other parts but that may have been one of the stupidest. so at the "study hall" (and by study hall i mean party) there is under aged drinking, sex (well there are VERY under dressed girls dancing on beds soooo), drugs, etc. in other words no good. the scariest most upsetting and inappropriate part part was the rape scene. let me just say it isnt to mild. pretty much the crazy fat dude breaks into the Bates' house hits and cuts Norman's mom, handcuffs her to the table, pulls off her panties and rapes her on the table. She screams for Norman but hes at the party. im not scared easily but it was scary. i had my hand on my mouth the whole time. after the first episode i was done so im not sure how good this review is :/
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 9, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Bates Motel a unsettling show!!!!!!!

This show is really good. It tells the origin of Norman Bates. As far as the content goes it can get a little unsettling at times. In the pilot episode it is implied that Norma is starting to be raped. The guy is tearing off Norma's clothes and Norma is in horror. No nudity is shown. Then Norman comes home in shock. The guy is tied up. Then Norma panic's and kills him with a knife in her hand. Throughout the show there is a lot of killing. One guy is shot and his head is bleeding. Also in one scene there is a dead corpse in Norma's bed. Also Norman has sex with one of the female characters in the show. But it is not exactly shown. You see Normans face and the girls face under the covers. It isn't exactly a morally correct show. It is often shown that Norman might like like his mom. It isn't exact if he does or not. But this leads to some off scenes. Also one of Normans teachers has a inappropriate relationship with him. Spoiler Alert!!!!!! The teacher tries to seduce him at the end. Also people smoke weed in it. The language in it is not too bad. There is also scenes of post sex. I know this might sound like a lot but I think that if your child knows that it is not real and not to try the stuff in it it's fine. Also the show may seem intense at times but I don't think it's a TV-MA. But don't show to your child for a positive message. The only positive message is the bond between the family. The show opens up to the psycho universe in a whole new different way! I am actually 14 not 12 and I can't change the age on the review.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 4, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

bates motel

well there's a rape in the first episode and norman and emma find out about illegal chinese immigrants who are force into sex labor, so yay if your kid seen the video it's o.k. o' and by the way i'm 11 and i watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 27, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Must watch but. BEst left for 14 year olds

This gripping amazing show is best for a mature teen but im 13 and saw and i had no problem. Although there was a super intense rape scene that i was forced to fast foward the rest was pretty normal for a TV-14 show. Other than that it was an awesome first episode for the kids who are planning to see this show be warned that there is some language and to bare yourself for the intense rape scene and also when he walks into the party you will see some drugs and underage drinking. But honestly a really great show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex