Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Black-ish

Common Sense says

Race is tackled gently in fresh family friendly sitcom.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 25 reviews
Adult Written byMike R. June 13, 2018

Very funny, but some subjects too mature

Review here says it’s good for 11 year olds, but imagine my shock when they start discussing masturbation and other subjects in the second episode.

Language is often coarse.

But it’s very funny.

I recommend 11 year olds be supervised when watching this show.

This title contains:

Language
Parent of a 12 year old Written byStacy D. April 24, 2018

Seriously for 11+??

This site has always been a great resource for my family. This time you steered me wrong! I watched the first several episodes with my almost 13 year old and it was a mistake. The whole second episode was about sex. They used the word “oral”, etc. talking to a 13 year old. The wife also pointed down to her “nether regions” and insinuated she wanted aforementioned oral. Lol This was so awkward for my daughter to watch with me. Plus this doesn’t go over a tweens head! That being said, it is a good show and has some good messages about family and race relations but maybe change the age recommendation...

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byChase 1 March 1, 2019

Racism

I thought we are trying to bring everyone together no matter their color,religion or beliefs. I guess I was wrong. Had to turn this show off. I was completely disgusted by the reaction of their black son dating a white girl. Seriously???? I thought as a nation we were trying to get past this and grow. Talk about taking us backwards. This show is not allowed to be watched in my household ever!!!!!
Parent of a 10 year old Written byDomesticDiva72 September 18, 2018

Great show but...

Black-ish is a really funny show, but they talk about sex and porn A LOT. If they would just mention it once in an episode, it would probably slide by unnoticed by the kids. However it seems to be the theme throughout many episodes and mentioned many times. Edited to add... once we got to season 4, the show was no longer funny. It went from being a family comedy to a sad drama because they started having marital problems.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byMrsrogers1956 August 10, 2018

Racist

Me and my family have watched we and a bunch of other people feel as if it's racist towards white people. It's all they talk about is racists but they aim it towards how white people treat black people always negative. This show is racist towards white people.
Adult Written byAlexandre M. February 20, 2018
It is good but then gets silly
Adult Written byronald w. February 5, 2018

racist

racist

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byBrian S. November 30, 2017

Nice African American Comedy!

I love this show! It has has the perfect jokes, not too adult like either! It's the perfect show, and HILARIOUS!Kids 10 and up really should watch this comedy!
Adult Written byLisa M. March 4, 2017

A beautifully written and comedic show for all audiences

Hear me out, all angry mothers. I love Blackish. I'm not a "TV" kind of lady and I don't love comedy at all. I hate it. When my husband told me about Blackish I told him I wasn't interested. I mean, comedic sitcoms are almost all raunchy and sexual. I remember the first episode I saw, I fell in love with the show. The characters are so relatable from any point of view and I really love how there's a strong female lead who actually is a mom and has a good career as a doctor! This show also tackles racial issues in a sensitive and non judgmental way. It doesn't shame republicans or liberals in any way and it doesn't poke fun at political parties. I'll give it an A+ in my mommy book! Sure, there's some sexual references but your kids actually have to be old enough to get it to understand the blurry innapropro lines.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byJulianne C. January 29, 2017

Has potential

Well executed, acted, etc. Good historical references that are educational. Show is the most overtly liberal fictional show Ive seen. I appreciate the educational part, but don't love how white people are portrayed as racist. I believe this is to portray how it feels and to exaggerate it a bit, as on any other sitcom. At the same time, while you have a platform, and watchers open to listen, you are missing an opportunity by being polarizing yourselves. The parents are portrayed regularly as selfish and shallow, but generally redeem themselves by the end of the show. There are way too many heavier references around sex than necessary on what is being marketed as a family program. I appreciate that life happens, but making a parent catch his son masturbating seems unnecessary. Season 1, "The Talk". Let me create my own teaching moments with my children. It doesnt need to be embedded in a TV show to only catch me off guard, and then force me to have a discussion with my children. We watch TV to relax and be entertained. We have enough real life without TV. Shows about families with elementary school kids appeal to real families that are the same. How then is the content inevitably always not age appropriate? At least this show gets less smutty as it matures, where most are the opposite. I like the actors and the quality of the show. I like the educational element. Tone down the portrayal of all white people as racist please and drop the sex.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Adult Written bymardoggie2013 November 20, 2014

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byBigchris September 30, 2014

adorable almost as good as the middle

ok well i watched the preimere of this and I really enjoyed it was a really good show and I laughed alot i think that if they cut down on slightly racist humor then we should have another good show

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language