All member reviews for Brooklyn Nine-Nine

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Lighthearted cop comedy serves up laughs and diversity.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 11 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bytvlover97 October 31, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

the best new fall show!

ok, I watched this with my little brother, who is 11. and we laughed out loud! but, there are a few suggestive things in the show. the language isn't bad, but the sex talk is overused. a fat detective is called "Terry Titties", and theres an on going gag on the captain being gay. but that's all. GREAT SHOW!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 13 year old Written byKatyStinson February 2, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great

I am the mother of a 13 year old and I think this is a great show for teens. There are some swear words I do not agree with like "ass" and "hell" but that is as iffy as it gets. There are some positive role models as well as some criminals but overall I think this show is great for 12 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySOPHIAMC March 12, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

yas

Its fine its just funny.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byspencerhastings June 18, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Cool comedy!

For me, I would say this show is a bit overrated, but it's still cool nonetheless. It's a pretty appropriate show overall, although there is iffy material at times. I'd give this show a 7.5/10.
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlake_Slaughter February 2, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

14? Really?!?

Really funny! Never saw the first episode, but I'm sure it's not different than the others. Some mild crime violence. 14?? That's just being over-protective.
Adult Written bymardoggie2013 November 20, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old March 2, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

love

its halarious. diversity. sex jokes. dont let that hold you back! its great. its a cop show so there is gonna be violence.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old July 18, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

My first tv review

Brooklyn nine nine is a good family funny show and I think it's okay for 5 year olds but different family different rules but common sense media really, 14 year olds, so not true, but for the other family's there are some sexual words.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byBlueHorse January 17, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great show, and great humor too (:

I love this show so much!! It can be quite sexy though, and has some flirting and particularly bad episodes. The acting is awesome (love Andy Samberg) and the messages can be good too. Although Jake (Andy Samberg) is the slack off didn't do the paperwork type, he's a good detective. One of the characters is married and great to his little girls, and the captain is openly gay which I think we need more. Over all this show is good for 13 year olds but I wouldn't go younger than mature 12.
Teen, 14 years old Written bydkasal000 January 25, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great show!!!!!!

Awesome show teens will love it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old January 11, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hilarious

This show is hilarious but check with parents before watching
What other families should know
Too much swearing