All member reviews for Cops

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 21 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byToBreakFate December 4, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

well...

kids are gonna have to learn just how sucky this world is sooner or later. everything isn't bright rainbows and cute kitty cats. they should be old enough to depict right from wrong first, though...
Teen, 15 years old Written byMr.MovieMan123 July 25, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great for Teens

I watch this show constantly. This show is good, but too violent for kids 12 and under. The show is mainly cops arresting people for prostitution, possession of illegal drugs and/or narcotics, and domestic disturbances. I would recommend watching it with your kid the first time they see it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 25, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great with exceptions

I love this show because I love justice. Now if I see someone smoking I can easily tell what they are smoking, nifty skill :) I think it will teach tweens and teens what not to do or might just do the opposite. I would tell your children that this is what you shouldn't do (i.e. smoke, domestic violence, etc.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byBrendan Conway December 5, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byhug0905 March 28, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

My POV

I don't get Common Sense Media's POV on COPS, but it is really funny and educational as it shows you how to be a cop.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 3, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn June 28, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Not that good, too violent.

Suspects caught on tape aren't for tweens or younger teens. Barely an episode doesn't contain violence. Fights,hitting,stabbings,gunshots,or blood. I don't really like this show. In other words, don't waste your time.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byFirst Try May 28, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 7, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

this is the best show ever ive been watching it since i was 8 not all episode are about nudity and violence and its really educational im a drug expert cause of this show i love cops and the camera and sound operators

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byfangningsheng April 29, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Meh

Kind of boring. The content is somewhat unpredictable. There is sometimes violence, swearing, and sexual content. off for 9 and under, iffy for 10-12, on for 13 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old September 13, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I love to see what happens in a cop's life. Lots of violence, sometimes people are naked, crimes relating to sex, drugs, and alcohol, and their are no good role models (except the cops, of course). Parents let your kids (12-15) watch with caution.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 10, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

whatcha gonna do when they run from you??????????

good show
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bycutiebrown8 January 3, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

gooood show!

i love watching this show! its hilarious to see how the criminals act when they get caught. hahah
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old October 12, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

good for 8+

I like it but, it gets very violent at times. ANd there is alot of chasing and drugs. WIch I dont like but overall I think its allright.My parents love to watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 29, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
I've seen the show before, and sometimes it can be very innapropriate.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 30, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great show

This isn't that violent and kids don't know what prostitution is even though I do.
Teen, 14 years old Written bysilly_samsters March 11, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny

I love watching this show because it is really funny of how people act. I dont think there isent really anything wrong with this show except the swaring but every show almost has that. There is some violece but not too much.
Teen, 14 years old Written byslammers4 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great reality show!!!

Cops, although rated TV-14, is fine for any mature child 9+, as long as they understand that those kind of crimes shouldn't happen to them. It may be upsetting to someone who can be easily upset. An overall great show.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It's fine.

this is a fine show for kids who can deal with violence, probably kids 11 and up, maybe a mature mature 10. it's not too violent, and if it gets violent, i just look away. i love this show and it portrays a lot of female and african-american cops.
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Too much of EVERY crime!

Pages