All member reviews for Crash & Bernstein

Common Sense Media says

Funny puppet comedy needs a reality check from parents.
 

Users say

(out of 26 reviews)
age 8+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 8 and 8 year old Written byjenmom23 February 12, 2013
 

Teaches bad lessons

My kids (8 yr olds) have been watching this for 2-3 episodes now and while I am not a huge fan of potty humor, I know there are far worse things. This seems cute on the surface, sort of a modern day Alf. Adventures of a boy and his sarcastic puppet brother...lots of slapstick antics (flying in and out of windows, tackling bad guys, etc) are possible because of Crash being a puppet rather than a person. However, last night we watched an episode that has caused me to not let my kids record this anymore. In order to get out of an annoying relationship with neighbors they boy, the puppet and the mother go to have a 'breakup' conversation. When the neighbos don't quite get the message Crash destroys an entire studio worth of their handmade pottery--in front of the mother--and to their laughter and delight. I kept waiting for the show to wrap up with an apology, a lesson or some sort of moral to the story but it didn't happen. There are no consequences and he is hailed as the hero for taking care of the problem. This is NOT a message moral parents want their kids to learn. Very disappointed and no longer leaving this show on my approved list.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 2 and 8 year old Written byAlamedaParent November 20, 2013
 

Violent, brash, and awful—run screaming

Even in Disney XD's bizarro world of broad, inappropriate comedy, gender, ethnic, and racial stereotypes, and sexualized pre-teen girls, this show is a standout for its almost shocking awfulness. The entire concept of the show is a bit puzzling; it's a show that features adult situations, boy-girl relationships, and wildly inappropriate, at times violent behavior, but its main character is a puppet—who is this show for? Oh, and that puppet. Certainly the show goes out of its way to remind us that, hey, this is a puppet here, folks—don't do what he does. That's because they have to, as the puppet is relentlessly, almost psychotically awful, a rude, crude, aggressive, confrontational nightmare. But for me, the show's violence is the final straw. A recently aired episode features the puppet challenging a Rambo-like movie action hero to a fight. The adult actually accepted, the fight actually happened and, after what seemed like an eternity, it climaxed with said adult ripping the arms, legs, and head off the puppet—are you KIDDING me, Disney XD? This show is a sugary bowl of violence and deplorable behavior—there's nothing for kids here but empty calories. Avoid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byironkid21 April 27, 2013
 

Love this show!!!

I love this show!!! Wyatt is really funny and Cole Jensen portrays him with a lot of charisma and Crash is also really funny and Tim Lagasee does a really good job with the puppet!!! The antics and situations Crash gets himself into and sometimes gets Wyatt into are really funny!!! There's just one thing I don't get, why don't people always call Wyatt by his first name? Crash and some other people constantly call Wyatt by his last name Bernstein hence the title "Crash and Bernstein". Whatever, otherwise I love this show and I hope it doesn't get cancelled early!
Kid, 11 years old March 31, 2013
 

Crash and Bernstein? 8+ Kinda Show.

I think it would be a good show for kids 8 and up. I believe this because in order to actually understand and it to be funny you have to know what they're talking about. Otherwise, it would be like a 2 year old watching channel 2 action news! To me, because I'm a 12 year-old-girl; it is miraculously unimportant and not very humorous, although to my 8 year-year-old brother it is very funny. He says it is his favorite show. They have positive messages as with the relationship with Crash and Bernstein is very brotherly like, and sends a message of family warmth and love. With the violence there are scenes where Crash is getting thrown around, "trying to stab lightning with a sword", which we know didn't go so well, tearing down walls, and other violent stuff. I hoped this review helped! Sorry if it didn't.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old August 20, 2013
 

Don't Bother.

Ah, once again, another show. The first episode is quite interesting, but then it goes downhill. The same thing happens in each episode, where crash does something wrong, and crash and Bernstein hide it, until the parent, or janitor, finds it. How could Bernstein be 12? He probably has social issues, because his so called friends ignore him a lot. Ugh! This will only interest boys 7-9. A dangerous age, because boys think they can finally misbehave and control themselves instead of their parents. This show only encourages that.
Parent Written byratethis June 24, 2013
 

horribly immature!

this show is completely rude and immature, it's just full of screaming and violence "face slam" is crash's favriot saying in wich he flys at your head, this show is just so stupid i felt like i was getting dumber after watching one episode! and positive role modles? NO! unless you want your kids to break, scream, and just be distructive! don't waist your time with it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 year old Written byPugMom2323 January 9, 2013
 

Mom likes it too!

I think its a really funny show and my 6yr old son LOVES it. We watch it together. It reminds me of some of the old Muppet Show sketches at times, with mild puppet 'violence' but it's really just silly physical gags. All in all, I think it's a great new show for Disney and am happy to see something for younger children that isn't animated.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old November 2, 2012
 

Violent for the age group

I saw a episode and its ok but its too violent for disneys xd s target age 6-9. Crash likes to break things,steal things,use his sword to cut things,and "face slam". I feel bad for the little blond girl cause she really isnt in the show.Also the things they watch are a little violent for example the teen ager watcheda movie called bloody butcher its just violent. FYI I HATE AMANDA AND CLEO
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 29, 2013
 

Even Dad Laughs!

This show is a great show with tons of humor although it is slapstick which some parents and kids wont approve of even my dad laughs at this one it even has good role models with Wyatt and Crash getting each other out of sticky situations. what i am saying is those who like funny slapstick humor (although it may be stupid humor) or the muppets or sponegbob or any other show like it. WATCH IT
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old September 7, 2013
 

Awesomeness

This show is very good nothing inappropriate at all NOTHING! WHY U ONLY GIVE THIS THREE STARS CSM?!!?!?!?
Adult Written byCoolguy3333 July 2, 2015
 

Great

I love this show
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byShannonS 2 May 16, 2015
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old November 10, 2014
 

The show is greatest

I've seen reviews that hate this show that's just wrong crash and Bernstein is not violent. I love this show the was one of the greatest shows.
Kid, 11 years old July 30, 2014
 

I think it's really boring. Overrated.

It has bad humor, boring jokes, I didn't laugh once. (Besides the LeBron wannabe part, I did giggle.) Bullying, bad role models, (Even when that's the point of the show.) and worst of all, it made Build-a-Bears reputation go down. (Build-a-Bestie is really stupid.)
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byTotally_Blushingxxx July 5, 2014
 

Love it

I know most people don't like this show, I love it. I hate how everyone keeps trashing this show when it's one of my favorites. I think kids would think this show is funny and adventurous. Lots of people ask about the dad. He's in other countries working. The mom gets her hardest to take care of her children. I recommend it!
Teen, 14 years old Written byawesomeowl June 9, 2014
 

Addicting But Rubbish!

This.Is.A.Stupid.Show. Don't even bother wasting your time with it. it's boring and stupid and really fake! People put crap on tv now. DO NOT WATCH IT!
Teen, 14 years old Written byqq4123 April 30, 2014
 

Ruining our youth.

This movie is terrible. It teaches extremely bad lessons (to lie and to cheat) and is not worth your time. Both the puppet and the boy are rude to their parents. Crash always snoops around and Bernstein always cries wolf. This made one of my mom's friends complain to Disney. Take this off air!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 11, 2013
 

SO......... Funny

This show is the best show Disney has so far. although its like spongebob reborn, (in the funny sense) it is a great show, my dad and me are laughing so hard. great show
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bySome guy. July 28, 2013
 

Dumber than a sack of potatoes.

I would NEVER let my kid watch this show-only because it's dumber than a sack of potatoes-if I had a dollar for every brain cell I think I lost while watching this show I'd be rich. Crash is really annoying and always has to go around and break stuff. I'll give them points for leaving a warning at the beginning of the show to not try anything Crash does at home. No matter how good the idea of the show seemed when I saw the previews for it before it started airing, it's anything but good. It's also anything but funny. Maybe also anything but entertaining. My point is, this show is completely stupid.
Teen, 16 years old Written byUnknownpearson May 29, 2013
 

Oh come. On guys

What's the problom
What other families should know
Great role models

Pages