All parent member reviews for Dance Moms

Parents say

(out of 29 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Adult Written bykatniss2 April 11, 2015

NOT FOE KIDS

dance moms is show where a group of girls dance competitvly for abby lee, abby is rude to the parents and children. in many episodes abby says all that matters is winning, she also talks rudlely to the girls in one episode she say to a girl that she dosent have a brain she makes the kids cry and gives them innaprpreate dance numbers it is not right for a 10 year old girl to dance to a song about abuse and act like she is being the one who is getting abused in her dance there are MANY other things abby does but i cant write all of them because that would take forever abby also does swear
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 14 and 17 year old Written byHaley Wright March 29, 2015
I think his show is fine just its important to have your kids know what is right vs. wrong. It all really depends on your child. there is some cussing.
Parent Written bycalimomma September 1, 2011

Awful show!

Horrible!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byTrevorsHeartburn September 22, 2015
The verbal abuse that occurs in this show is disturbing for audiences of any age. Ironically, the girls on this show are younger than the age in which the show is appropriate for
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byteecute55 June 23, 2015

good

goood
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bydlp233 May 29, 2015

the inappropriateness can be disappointing

I love watching the kids grow but the attitudes, beliefs and values are disappointing. What are Holly and Jojos mother thinking and believing n allowing Nia to believe in fake inappropiate dreaming for their age, they look 30 onstage! Nia says she work ed/s hard, as a dancer maybe she DID, but she's not dancing in her videos all she's doing is squatting and shaking . Her chorographer says she has the best abs - NO, Janet Jackson along with JLo, but anyway I think inappropriate thing is going to their heads n clouding their judgements.
Adult Written bylmtrav May 19, 2015

Fun guilty pleasure

For dancers and non-dancers alike, Dance Moms is a fun midweek guilty pleasure to help you realize your life could be much more dramatic than it is. I think as long as you reinforce to kids that it is staged and really not real then most older kids should be completely fine. It is a good introduction to the truth that American reality TV is about as real as mermaids. The show does not take itself too seriously, and it is fun to catch up with Abby Lee and her overly competitive dance team and their vicarious moms each week.
Adult Written by414504 April 2, 2014

It's Better Than I Thought It was Going To Be!

Dance moms all in all is a good show. It does have some inappropriate dancing and a fair amount of swearing but I do think its a good show. Abby Lee, might not be the best role modal. But she is entertaining and fun to watch. I think this is a fine show to watch every once in a while.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 5, 6, 7, and 11 year old Written byAnEpicGuy December 4, 2012

Teens and up

The show involves a sadistic dance teacher named Abby and puts her students through unfair competition. Dance moves have sexy in mind, adults swear, and the dance company gets money AND notoriety. Good for teens and up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages