All member reviews for Dance Moms

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 83 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byBtheDancer. July 13, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome show!!!! Looking forward to more!

The fact that people are saying that Abby Lee is 'tearing down a child’s self-esteem' is absurd. Abby Lee has a point, I am a competitive dancer of 13 years and I would much rather be yelled at by my dance instructor than a complete stranger. It is not like there being forced to stay there. It's their choice! Sure, she is a little harsh, but we have only seen an hour into their 'dance lives' who knows maybe there’s a sweet, nice side to Abby. Let’s face it, her harsh way of teaching, gets them places and there great dancers! On the T.V show as a whole, I find it is for entertainment only, there is no ‘learning’ from it. The bickering between parents and Abby Lee is very amusing too watch. The show is just like Toddlers in Tiaras, without all the girls being bratty and expecting everything to magically appear in front of them. There are some sexual moves and costumes but just about every dance studio has them though. I find the show very entertaining and hope it becomes as big as Toddlers and tiaras without all the negative things that come along with it. Please do not cancel this show just because some overbearing people think that everything in this world ruins there children’s' self-esteem. "Oh no! I just was yelled at because I did something wrong. I’m crushed. I’m quitting dance forever." Pah-leese. Its life. You can’t protect your child from these things forever and when/if you do. They'll be shocked to soon find out...that’s reality.
Teen, 13 years old Written byqueenofrandom4ever August 13, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Very true to life, and entertaining, but the messages are off at times.

This show is very funny at times but this is not an exaggeration of the dance competition world. I used to be on a competition team and believe me, it is just as cutthroat between the moms and dancers in real life, if not more, than on this show. It is a very entertaining show though, but parents need to know that it is truly a reality show.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 22, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

best show ever

i am a dancer so by watching this show it shows me that in order to pursue my dream i have to work really hard! i can really relate to the show (brooke manly) amazing show if you are a dancer...a bit to much swearing
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 21, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

BEST/CRAYEST SHOW EVER

ME AND BFF'S LOVE THIS IT IS HELPING ME WHAT DO MORE SINCE I LOVE 2 DANCE
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 14, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Best Show!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Best show ever!!!!!!!! once u start watching it, u cant stop! it makes u want to do dance, and compete! The dancers r very talented!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byDMfanCassy August 30, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I LOVE THIS SHOW!!!!! but......

I think this is a really great show! It has actully inspiraed me to open a dance studio when I grow up! but Abby is verrryyy strong willed and about 40% of the time rude or mean.... Some of the clothing she has the girls wear for the dances could be covered alittle bit more, but nothing that I would rant over. Sometimes the Moms will use bad language, but only when they are realllly angry with someone. Sometimes people on the show (Cathy) will try sooo hard to show others that she's the "real deal" and she can act like a "goodie two shoes" and I believe that Cathy needs to take her daughter (Vivian) out of dance, she doesn't like it very much, and both of them would probably be happier if she did something else! anyway.... me and two of my friends ABSOLUTLY love the show! the Drama.... the Costums, the Makeup, the Lights!!!! it's a good show!!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 13, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

WOW

Wow!!! These moms are nuts! This show is great. Id give ot ten or older because of the way the dannlce teacher treats her students it wouldnt be innapropriate for kids under 10 just for interest level. In the pilot episode one mom gets into a fight with abby the dance teacher and abby calls the police tthe fighht starts when a student isnt wearing a leoterd. Two pardents drink at a hotel bar to relieve stress before competition but shown briefly overall its a great show i would highly reccomend it i have a new favorite show!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bydirectioner23 August 3, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Very intresting look into kids competitive dance world.

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBooks rule July 25, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I love this show and i'm not a dancer!

This show is so entertaining. Some of the moms and dancers can be role models to some extent. But this show is mostly for entertaining purposes.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bydancer99 April 1, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome Show!

This is one of my favorite shows. It isn't abusive first of it's not like she's hitting them or beating them up or anyhting like that. She does yell at them but she is just trying to make them better dancers. The moms do swear and argue a lot but most of it is bleeped out. There is also drinking on the show. Which is why I don't think anybody under the age of 10 should watch it. Plus there was an episode where the moms brought in a lap dancer but none of the girls saw it. I really do like this show though some of the moms are good role models and I love seeing hte new dances every week. This is really a show you should watch before you let your kids see it though.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bybookcupcake April 1, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

TUES DAYS TUNE IN

The girls in this show are awesome role models and inspiring characters even with the drama they keep a level head and are always good. The moms do drink but most kids ages 10 and up understand the possible consequences and know what alchohol is. The language can be a problem but smart kids won't pick up too much and start saying the negative language. I tune in every tuesday and me and my bffs talk about it the following wednesday we love the show and find it funny, dramatic, and inspiring.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 28, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I love it!

I don't know why some people get so fed up about this! Its obviously just for entertainment! I bet you all those moms would be gone by now if she actually did that. And even if she does, she makes those kids amazing dancers anyhow and i bet you a strict teacher definitely teaches kids better and more than a nice, easygoing, its "OK" teacher. I understand where some people would be coming from, but for me, i think it is plain and simple, entertainment
Kid, 11 years old August 25, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Appropriate! :-)

Dance Moms is a great show. Everybody thinks Abby Lee is way to harsh. Do you know what? I agree, but look where it has gotten these kids. They either win first place or second place in competitions, they are even on a T.V show on a popular channel!! This discipline is making these kids go somewhere!! As someone said before, it's their choice if they want to leave or stay!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old August 13, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great show

Positive messages include kids learning to dance, even tho sometimes they dont want too and they get pulled thorugh stressful times, they keep going, which fits into postive messages and good role models. Violence bc kids dont want to dance and there teacher yells at them, i feel bad for those cute girls! <3! Sexy Stuff: Girls do very sexy stuff in episode 2, where they are wearing bikinis, and do very sexy moves. Languge: Moms yell at dance coach abby " *hit dam* and the like are normally bleeped. There is a very strong message of Consermiruism here, for abby lee dance co in pittsburg pa. in one episode moms drink wine and feel better with there stress
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 20, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Love the show!

This show is great I think the only thing that is bad is the bad language and the drinking.
Kid, 12 years old March 1, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Completely True

The way that these parents react to Abby Lee (dance instructor) and her dance methods and attitude is exactly how most parents would act in this situation.
Kid, 12 years old January 19, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

The kids are nice...parents not so much

This show is entertaining because it is about girls who dance and want to become professional dancers. The only problem is the moms and the coach on the show are very mean to each other and sometimes the kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 7, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great show

Lots of arguing. Lots of cussing (bleeped). Dance teacher insults and yells at kids.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byButlorkitty05 August 23, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Meh

Alright I will give you a honest opinion. I don't like it If you want to watch a show about materialism girls be my guest. If you are are sensetive DO NOT WATCH. Tons of swearing every second. Younger tween I repeat tween kids wear revealing costumes. I would say the only plus up is the dancing. Don't bother with this show watch Toddlers and Tiara's instead.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 8, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Dance Moms

This show has some frequent swearing and frequent arguments (sometimes physical). The dance teacher screams at the kids which makes the parents worse.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages