All member reviews for Dancing with the Stars

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

High-kicking series has cross-generational appeal.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 62 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old July 13, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

HEART IT!

It is so cool to see people try to dance! I just love the show.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMeow314159 May 31, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
It's okay, it is pretty boring for me but it might be more entertaining for someone who is into dance. The only bad things are the extremely skimpy outfits and cursing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySupreme Pie Ruler April 15, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I luv this show~

*teehee* This show is awesome!~ I love watching the dances and it can be educational to watch the dancing. But they do wear some wierd clothing! XD Also they have some mild language, but not enough to make people offended.
Kid, 12 years old March 27, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The Show Rocks!!

I love this show! I've watched it ever since it premiered! I enjoy the songs and the outfits a lot. The show is amazing, 2 thumbs up!
Parent Written byMrs. luna March 25, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old March 25, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
For today's media, ratings are getting out of control! Ten year old kids are NOT supposed to cures like Bruno so why can they listen to it? Answer that. If we continue watching this stuff, we're going to talk like it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 and 9 year old Written byqtnn January 15, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I just don't get it

Tried to watch a couple of episodes. My daughter would have continued for the revealing outfits, risque moves and soap opera, but why would I encourage that? If I wanted to see good dancing, I'd watch the pros. If I wanted to see semi-celebrities' tempering their egos and exhibitionism with faux-humility and cliched platitudes... well, I just don't. For our limited media diet, there's much better stuff out there.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byboredgrl November 19, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Okay competition show; does not hook me on

This show is okay. Although after a wild, it starts to get old and boring. The dancing is exciting, and it is good to see different styles of ballroom dancing. There is somewhat of a good message because people are working hard towards their goals of becoming the champion. There are some suggestive dance moves, especially in the more romantic dances. Also, there are women dressed in revealing costumes (but that is not that much of an issue.)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bySoccer boy November 4, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Cool

Good show, I watch it every week!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 4, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LOVE IT!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 3 year old Written bywade1976 October 23, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
My daughter really likes the dancing.
Kid, 12 years old October 19, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Ok.........................

Just fun. My family likes to watch the celebrities try to pull off a tango! Revealing outfits, just normal dancing. Nothing good or bad comes out of it.
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 September 27, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

a great show!!!!!!!!!!!!

a great show! but sometimes what the female dancers where is to reveling.
Kid, 11 years old September 27, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

fun!

Fun paced, interesting to watch! I love watching my favorite celebrities attempt to dance the tango one week and the salsa the next!
Parent of a 9 and 11 year old Written bydavidpoole2000 September 26, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old July 31, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for entartaniment no real meaning

I think this show is just for fun. I still watch it!
Parent of a 5 and 14 year old Written byrk April 20, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Should be called "Pole Dancing With the Stars"

The hard work and determination of the dancers amazing and should be admired and commended.....but "family friendly?" Much of this show is simply gratuitous erotic dancing and often one of the judges chides the dancers for not being nasty enough....how in the heck is THAT family friendly?
Kid, 10 years old March 25, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Like one of my favorite tv shows!!!!!

Dancing with the stars is one of my favorite tv shows. my favorite star that has been on there is well alot!!! this season of 2009 i want shaun the gold meldist to win it. i stared to watch it at season 2 until now. i love that show!!!!!
Parent of a 7 year old Written byTrophy Mom March 10, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not for the family

I love watching Dancing with the Stars with my daughter she just enjoys dancing along and though at times the dances or costumes might be a little risque I always manage to explain that it's part of the routine. I am worried about the people they are casting for the show. Last night within the first half hour, one celeb was giving a shout out to her girls in the pen (she's an ex-con), another just got out of rehab and they constantly refer to the show Jacka$#, another is most famous for an all nude scene he did, another is a playmate most famous for sharing a bed with Hefner and two other girls. The flashed her Playboy cover. It just isn't a family-oriented program this year. It's a shame since the network owns Disney.
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bywrightmom January 12, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Are you rating the right show?

The last two reviews I read for "Dancing with the Stars" sound like they are reviews for a different show. I can't remember the name something like "Superstars of Dance" maybe. It started after the holidays. It is not the same as "Dancing with the Stars" as reps from different countries are not the judges.

Pages