All member reviews for Dexter

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Bloody drama for adults only -- we mean it!

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 84 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byjoshua martinez September 28, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

not for kids

this bloody drama show Dexter is a great show with a good story line script with good actors such as Michael c.hall as the serial killer and Jennifer carpenter who plays as the sister role to Dexter and other actors who have there roles but parents this drama show Dexter is not for kids it is only for adults and parents you need to know that Dexter has a lot of intense bloody violence such as when Dexter injects his serial killer victims with a dog tranquillizer so that they pass out and kidnapped's them then takes them to a quiet location to where he begins his act first he uses a scalpel to make a slight cut on the victims face and then takes there blood and puts it on his blood slide collection as a trophy and then Dexter chops up all of his victims and disposes of them in garbage bags then he dumps them in the Miami bay water several graphic shots of dead bodies that have been completely decapitated and dismembered Other violent acts include shouting, pushing, choking, and strangling Subjects touched on in the series include rape, pedophilia, domestic violence, and the twisted mind of serial killers also there are graphic sex and nudity shown on screen and characters used constant strong language and characters drink, smoke, and used drugs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byChooseNicely August 17, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Dexter; Great show

The show is about a serial killer who kills awful people living in the Miami area and its beyond great. I don't see why everyone is quite so uptight about things on here but its ridiculous. Your kids are going to experience things in real life, why completely shelter them form interesting, smart and just plain good things? Dexter is a complicated well written show with good actors. Besides, your run of the mill superhero goes out, fights crime in the city he protects and has a secret identity. Dexter goes out and kills the bad guys and (obviously) keeps it all a secret as he works as a blood splatter expert for the Miami police department during the day. I swear, people on here remind me of the '50's the the worst way possible. Half the kids out there today are having s-x before they hit high school. Wake up, and let your kids experience GOOD things like this, things they can benefit from; Intellectual things.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bykadomagall96 July 31, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Best show ever. Only for mature older teens and audults.

I'm 17, and this is by far my favorite show...ever. I think that at times it may not even be appropriate for my age, it all depends on the maturity level. Very gruesome violence, and tons of strong language. But the most intriguing, suspenseful and phsychopathic show i've seen so far. This makes criminal minds look like child's play. Anyone interested in criminology and the crime world, this show is a defnite must.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byShygalUSA123 July 25, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

TOO MUCH!!!!!

Too much sex I have seen this show with mom sometimes and every time I watch it there is always someone naked and having sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byKatiex April 11, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Think Again!!!

People might say this is is not for kids and I understand where your coming from but I have seen way worse so I think you need to worry about them more than Dexter. Just saying *raises hands
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byKarine18 February 22, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Hey!

It's quite weird to see that you put "not for kids" for Dexter and I'm also a bit suprised by the choices of the children or the parents because in France, due to the csa, Dexter can be watched by children of 10. Infact, I have noticed a real difference between america and France.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by13ki December 14, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

no kids.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bychristian2011 October 24, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Phenomenal show. Adults only though. At least 18+

Dexter is probably the best show on Showtime because of the amazingly written plot, storyline and incredible acting, yet the show is rated a hard TV-MA for a definite reason. The violence that does happen is intense, brutal and bloody, with graphic images of corpses, dismembered body parts, and Dexter "punishing" his victims, whom are actually serial killers, by stabbing them in the chest, chopping off their limbs and throwing their mutilated body parts in the ocean. This makes him a serial killer who kills serial killers. There are common themes of murder, rape, pedophilia, self-mutilation, suicide, and bloodshed throughout the series, especially from the antagonists. Language is another big issue : frequent uses of f**k, motherf**ker, c**ksucker, c**t, religious profanities, racist terms, sh*t, and other vulgar/crude language which kids and teenagers should not learn at all. Sexual content is graphically displayed, with scenes of strong sexuality, nudity including breasts and buttocks, rape, sexual torture, and other strong acts. Drug use is common, which characters smoke, drink, and some use intravenous drugs (cocaine, heroin, meth, etc.) Dexter is a phenomenal show, but is driven ONLY for adults. When you watch it you'd understand. Hope this helps.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old September 1, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

never ever watch this.

Bloody for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byzacpb19 August 17, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Anouther fantastic adult drama from showtime

This show is clearly not for people below 17 due to the fact that its about a serial killer who kills other serial killers and people who do bad things to others. Its a very dark show and has some pretty upsetting content and can be very hard hitting. Muder is the main subject of the show and shouldn't be watched by anyone below 17. 17 for me is the perfect age for these types of shows due to the fact that you near enough know everything there is to know. The show is very bloody and can be disturbing to some. 17+ is the best age. Good show none the less
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byJenoi July 11, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Likable Killer makes for Poor Role Model

This is a very engaging series for Adults only. Yes there is violence, sex, and profanity, but the reason it's not suitable for kids is that the Hero is a likable and even admirable Serial Killer. Not an appropriate role model for kids, even older ones.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 July 2, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Lots of disturbing images AND LANGUAGE IN INTENSE CRIME THRILLER

Some episodes of strong sexual content and nudity not for kids, as well as talk of drugs and dealing. Many episodes have loads of blood and dead bodies, some on screen killings which are graphic. The language is constant and strong. This show is not for kids, maybe older teens. Definaetly targeted toward mature audiences.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymannequin June 30, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

hi

Too bad to be shown on t, very, very gory and violent.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMetakitty June 26, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

WHAT'S GOTIN INTO PEOPLE?!!?!?!?!?!?

WHAT IN THE WORLD ARE YOU PEOPLE THINKING?!?!?! i'v never seen the show but reading this was enough. all i see here is a weird show about some weird killer that goes and just KILL'S people and stuff's them in BAGS! THAT'S IT! and REALLY nudity? do you LIKE to see people in the nood? and do you LIKE seeing random people being choped up or dead bodies?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byRockOn75 January 11, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Fascinating for Adults

I am a parent/teacher and honestly find this show completely enthralling, but would definitely advise parents to watch WITHOUT their children due to the violence, drug/alcohol usage, sexual content and offensive language. Mature adults and teens ONLY!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byuncle joe December 19, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

WHAT KIND OF ....... MADE THIS?

not for kids. enough said already
Parent of a 4 year old Written bykcgunesq December 16, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Awesome for Adults, Disturbing and Perhaps Dangerous for Children.

First - I don't object to appropriate violence in context. For example, I wouldn't hesitate to watch LOTR with primary school age children or Star-Wars with older preschool age children. "Violence" per se does not disqualify a movie for family viewing in our house. In context (good defeating evil) and especially when occuring in a fantastical setting or manner, it can be useful, perhaps necessary, for helping explain important lessons. That said, the type of violence in Dexter and the sympathetic portrayal of a cold-blooded killer take this series into a completely different realm. Dexter typically kills his victim by knocking them unconscious with an injection, restraining them with plastic wrap and stabbing them in the heart. After which he takes a blood sample as a memento. In many instances, there is an element of "black comedy" in the killing act. In others, justifiable revenge. But even in its more comedic instances, it is still very graphic. I love this show, but I would hesitate to allow any child under 16 to watch it. It is simply too graphic and too morally ambiguous. Expect nightmares if you deviate too much from the average adult-provided age range.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bybrony for life December 6, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

dexterizm

i like the show
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byparent forum October 27, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Let's have some courage parents!

I can't believe the way parents rationalize letting their preteens and teens watch this. If it was in the movie theatre they would have to show ID to be 17 and even that would be iffy. How about having the courage to occasionally say "no" to your kid and help them fill their mind with something other than death?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byshelwass August 22, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Excellent, Complicated Show For Those Old Enough To View It

A fantastic show with great acting and plot points. I think the generic review about whether Dexter has any positive messages holds a fully uncomplicated view. Yes, Dexter is a serial killer. Of course, he is obsessed with blood. Does the fact that he only kills bad guys make it okay? ...There in lies the complexity of the show, which tackles this exact theme numerous times. Dexter is not without remorse at times; being a serial killer with a code complicates his life, and he does have principles, albeit ones that drift too far toward questionable morality. I would never recommend this show for any child who is at a crucial developmental stage, or for one who has not yet been instilled with ethics regarding the use of violence. But, for older teens and adults, Dexter is not only entertaining, but a grand opportunity to philosophize--is Dexter's killing justified? Can a person who commits harmful acts actually have a soul? Where is the fine line between the hero and villain?
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages