Common Sense Media says

Goofy sitcom celebrates families, raises discussion points.

Users say

(out of 103 reviews)
age 8+
Review this title!
Parent of a 4 and 8 year old Written byraitch October 14, 2012

Not just rude kids- a rude family.

Everyone in the family is nasty to everyone else. I don't know why Disney can't put out more sitcoms with families who aren't constantly degrading eachother.
Teen, 15 years old Written byEthanCH October 12, 2012

PARENTS READ- Well written and funny

This show is great and funny. It is also a great show for families and can relate to families other than the talking dog....This show is somewhat similar to Good Luck Charlie. If you like Good Luck Charlie than you probably like this show. It is not bad a show. Parents and Families should give the show a chance.
Parent of a 10 year old Written bybettyetters February 27, 2013

Inappropriate

At first this show was relatively funny and enjoyable. But throughout the first episode, the dog made several ladies man type remarks to/about poodles. The last straw was when the dog was up in the middle of the night and visited "Hot Poodles" website as his "doggie treat". Having the key character of a kids show viewing porn is not okay.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byaskyourmother June 2, 2013

poor role models

Poor role models. Too much colusion amongst the kids, lying, secrets from the parents and parental cluelessness.
Teen, 13 years old Written byjamester989 June 5, 2013

Disney try's to kill its viewers

Disney has done a lot, but as you can see they are getting idea desperate!!! It sucks!!! Worst show ever!! me and my friends came up with this outrageous theory! The kids are just imagining the dog talking, thats why they can't tell their parents! too much violence! (kills your soul) too much drinking and drugs (by the directors and producers who made this junk!!)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bybioniclecomeback56 October 11, 2012

Just the same old thing...

There is nothing bad about this show it is just plain stupid. Waste of my precious time.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old March 26, 2013

Really bad!

It seems like Disney is getting WORST AND WORST. Jessie... Okay, those kids have bad acting! Debby Ryan was so good in suite Life on Deck, what happened?!?! Now they come out with Dog with a Blog. Worst show ever! Stupid plot, HORRIBLE ACTING! Especially Avery, I can't stand her acting! I don't know why you all think it's so funny, when it really isn't. Hopefully Disney gets back on track with their shows.
Parent Written byJellybean mom January 11, 2013

The dog talks. Unfortunately, so do the actors.

Weird casting. The actors playing the parents don't seem to have any chemistry and and their bad acting is just annoying to watch. I enjoy watching some Disney shows but I can't be in the same room with this one. Harmless for the most part but most laughs are from smarmy, fresh talking kids insulting each other.
Adult Written byTinyToya December 2, 2012

One of the worst Disney Channel Shows to Date!

The idea of a talking dog isn't the worst part about this show (even though that's pretty bad), but the acting is all around terrible. The only notably good acting comes from the eldest daughter (G. Hannelius) who happens to be a lot of the brains of the show. Furthermore, Lemonade Mouth star Blake Michael delivers some REALLY weak acting. The youngest daughter is annoying beyond words and cannot act (sorry to say). The parents are just another goofy pairing which is also sincerely disappointing. This show is not really harmful, but will annoy most parents and bore most kids.
Parent Written byLilystar November 11, 2012

Very Good Show For Kids & Family!

This Show look like some old classic family show" of the 1990s that "Disney Channel" want all kids & family to watch, enjoyed & love Together. And have a little "Good Luck Charlie" & "Full House" References in it. The Disney Actress G. Hannelius who play 'Avery Jennings' on "Dog With A Blog" is very Talent, Sweet, Respectful & Good Role Model to Kids/Teens.
Kid, 11 years old November 10, 2012

Great!

Amazing. Its beautiful and funny. My mom loves it she always laughs on the worst jokes on it. I wish there was a season 2
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much swearing
Parent Written byisaacsmommy June 3, 2013

major mistake

Omg!! most annoying show ever! I usually don't take time to do reviews but this show is that bad. Not only are the parents hard to even look at but their acting is horrible. Their not a good match and I can't even stand their voices. My 5 year old is even too smart to like it....
Teen, 16 years old Written byanna93 October 15, 2012

Not good at all

Couldn't even sit through the whole show. The girls voice was so annoying. Dog had an old man's voice and that was weird.
Adult Written bybelieber_4ever May 6, 2013

it has serious moments and sends a good message at times!!!

The thing I like about dog with a blog is how serious it gets sometimes. Not every show has to be goofy and silly and leave the message behind. This show has its goofy moments, but the message is still IN YOUR FACE, you can't forget it!!!! Like on the "guess who's a cheerleader "episode: when the younger sister, Chloe, found out that the older sister Avery dumped her best friend for the cooler kids she was upset. she talked about how she looked up to her and wanted to be like her the most. Then Avery hugged her and you can see on her face that she was pondering over what her sister said. There’s NOTHING wrong with having those serious moments on a Disney show. Someone on IMDb was like "oh they're melodramatic; they need to be more whimsical". WHY? lol what's wrong with having those type of dramatic moments on a kid's show. It sends the cliché message that you shouldn't dump your best friend, BUT it also sends the message that you should be a role model to your younger siblings. The kids who watch Disney NEED to hear that lol instead of bad lessons being sent to them all the time like only care about yourself or trash a principal's office (shake it up). another thing is when Avery talks back to her parents almost instantly she realizes she's the kid and they're the adults and she apologizes for getting snappy or whatever. KIDS NEED TO SEE THAT lol too many kids think they're grown; Avery's an example of a kid who knows her place lol so I give the show a 4 for those reasons :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byGenericUsername November 24, 2012

Yeah, it's Disney Channel

This is just another one of Disney's show's that just is so boring, cheesy, and un-funny (like Shake It Up and A.N.T Farm). It's very boring, stupid plot, and a very recycled talking dog idea. As usual, they take a character from another Disney Channel label and make's them part of the main cast. Some show's on Disney Channel are tolerable (Good Luck Charlie, Phineas and Ferb [only good one on DC as of right now]). But this one is just stupid. Kid's may like it, but it's too boring to watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byNatalieActress November 3, 2012

I though this show would never get picked up.

I think this show is a stupid idea. Disney has ran out of ideas. Why can't they do a show like That's so Raven or Lizzie McGuire, or some of their recently retired shows like Wizards of Waverly place. I see this show lasting for a season. I heard about this show before it got picked up, and I was like theres no way that show would ever be picked up. I really dont see this show appealing to anyone my age, or even middle school kids. The girl who plays Avery has been working on Disney since she was like 7 (now shes 13), she was originally suppose to be on the show Madison High which was never picked up. For the show to go anywhere, they have to get rid of the talking dog and find a new conflict.
Parent Written bydisneysusie February 12, 2013

Not Disney's best effort

Most of the Disney Channel shows are cute and appropriate for most ages. And even as an adult I enjoy them. I suppose with this one you have to know your kids, but the few episodes that have aired so far have been painful to watch. The acting is poor and the rapport between the family members is awful. I think there is a place for joking and teasing among family members, but this family is down right rude to one another and the parents are certainly not in control of the family. The actors portraying the parents are terrible. They don't have good chemistry (as another reviewer said) and they say weird things to the kids. And they don't seem to know or even like their kids. Just saw the episode where the mother told Chloe (the youngest daughter) that her friend's parents were "stupid heads." That's not funny it is just weird. None of the characters are particularly likable. I'm not an animal person, so I don't even find the dog entertaining. I think this show could have had a good message about blended families since there are so many out there, but they have even missed the boat on that. There hasn't even been an explanation as to where Avery's biological father is or where the Jennings kids' biological mother is. Disney Channel can (and has) done better. I agree with another poster who laments the loss of shows like Lizzie McGuire. Sometimes Lizzie's parents were a little goofy (aren't all parents sometimes?!?), but they were shown as a rather loving family who navigated all aspects of growing up together.
Kid, 11 years old June 23, 2015

OMG MY FAVORITE SHOW!!!!!!!

This is the BEST Disney show ever!!!!!! The actors and Stan are hilarious, positive messages and role models. I LOVE G as Avery!!!! Anyway, watch this show it is AMAZING!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 26, 2012

You People........

This is a great show. You people are just looking to hate. I think this is the best comedy show disney has so far. If you really think this is bad watch Marvin Marvin on nickelodeon.
Kid, 12 years old June 5, 2015

Love it!

ITS SO FUNNY! FLEA BAG MAX AND ROBERT THE MONKEY PHOTO BOMBING MADE ME LOL!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages