All member reviews for Dog with a Blog

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 75 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byKidReviews April 7, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Just another Disney Fail!

This show came after to replace Wizards of Waverly Place. Bad.. The actors (except the 2nd oldest) are really bad. The parents are stupid. They hate each other. But the worst part is the voice acting for the dog. The dog is Avery's (about 13 or 14) BFF. Although, he is voiced by a 30+ Year old. A lot of kids don't realize that the dog is.. Well.... you can figure out the rest. So in review: bad acting, terrible to each other, dog is awkward
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byPixilena March 22, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

The show is great for children 10 and up

I think that the show is on the upper scale compared to other disney shows. The actors fit the show well. Sometimes the parents get a little too romantic and the dog makes suggestive remarks about poodles. The show also has positive role models such as Avery, and it sends positive messages about families.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bypuppylover12 November 27, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Don't waste your kids time

Very brain-rotting. Not something children should spend their time watching. They have some dirty jokes which I only get now, but it is better for kids to watch shows with better examples.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byWaterMelon813Yo October 27, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

boring!!

This show is HORRIBLE bad acting!!! this show came out in like 2012 and it hasnt even got done with season 1 yet because this show its terrible dont even bother looking at this piece of crap disney dosent care anymore about their shows the only good show on disney is austin and ally , good luck charlie gravity falls liv and maddie. disney can do way better than this same old plot a character with a secret just like all other disney shows disney cant ever come up with something new. all of the characters are so unlikeable they all act retarted the parents act stupid they have no control over their kids the mom dosent act like a mom. averys voice is annoying and the youngest acts like a spoiled brat the teenage brother acts dum whats the point of a dog having a blog when hes posting it on the inernet eventually someones going to find out that hes a talking dog and its so boring i cant sit and watch this show for atleast 3 minutes without turning the jokes are so not funny watch this if you have no choice and dont have cable disney dosent care anymore!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byWilcat Fan October 24, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Great Show and funny

It is one of the best shows on Disney channel right now. It has terrific comedy and makes you laugh a lot. Kids, teens, and adults will all enjoy it. It is very entertaining and has great story's to it. It sets good role modals after Tyler and Avery don't get along in the first episode they work things out and start being a nice brother and sister to each other. It gives a good message that even if we have new members to our family we can all be a family. I am very impressed my one of Disney channels new show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old October 15, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good show.

Funny Disney show. :)
Kid, 10 years old October 5, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Very boring show

I think it is a VERY boring show!!! Even though it is kid appropriate show, the kids are very boring, but you could say that the dog and the parents are substantially funny. Not that great Very bla characters.
Kid, 12 years old August 25, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Decent; worth watching a few times

I have seen this show a lot, and like it enough to order it On Demand. Disney's "Dog With a Blog" is cute and funny, and I mostly watch it because the doggy who plays Stan is really cute! The vibe you get from it is light and cheery, nothing depressing at all. The parents are pretty dumb, it's another one of those shows where kids are smarter than adults. The kids are pretty good role models, but they can be smart Alecs at times (especially the youngest, Chloe). For example, they crack jokes no little kid would be able to think of at her age of six or seven. Then again, it's just a show. If I had to pick between this and a documentary on potatoes, I would definitely choose this because it's honestly not that bad.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 24, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

great show i love it

whats up with the negative comments if you dont have sonething nice to say dont say it thus is a great show its about a family that joins together and the parents find a dog but only the kids know he talks the siblings may call eachother names like butthead or stupid and so on but besides that its a great show with some great lessons in each show and you can really learn from it
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 16 years old Written byxRandomXfairy August 12, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Dog with a blog- horrible- this review may be long, but its true

It lacks of saftey. Including being online. The dog shares WAY to much information about his family. Which is a saftey issue, because the dog overall shares EVERYTHING about his family. Instead of teaching privacy. In one episode the dog meets a guy online who plays a dorky fighting game. They want to meet inperson. But, first of all, Stan sounds like a grown man, talking to a (what? 9 year old?) that's very inappropriate. Also, in the first episode, the dog was watching "hot poodles" (porn) nobody really noticed it. Anothing thing, the kids are spoiled. No care about them having a beautiful roof over there heads. They misbehave like spoiled brats, the oldest one needs to freaking MOVE OUT. He looks like a poor homeless 20 year old. The middle one, Avery, is a little spoiled brat to. She gets everything she wants as much as the youngest. Chloe. She is spoiled, and gets out of trouble just because she is "cute". One episode all the kids acted like spoiled bratty kids, because there parents were thinking about having a baby. They didnt care about there parents and what they though. It's always those brats. The parents- idiotic and sexual. They are WAY to sexual. There conversations are mostly "Im enjoying you right know, are you enjoying me?" And the most disturbing one "lets go inside and cuddle" which means doing it. They touch eachother WAY to much for a kids show. The father is a child psychologist. The kids he does seem to be taken as a joke. Though kids with phobias isn't funny. Like a girl who is shy doesn't talk or laugh at ALL. Is taken as a joke, saying that shy people are "stuck up". Very offencive since I'm pretty shy, and the oldest son liked her because of her looks, without actually knowing her. Ill sum it up, dog with a blog is HORRIBLE. The kids are spoiled, the parents are idiotic, and the dog? Annoying.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bySome guy. July 28, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

This makes no sense.

Okay, what the heck? Am I the only one that notices that the director didn't even bother to make the family look alike? So the mom is blonde and the dad has brown hair, right? Then the oldest daughter has blonde hair. Okay, that makes sense. But the son has black hair and the youngest daughter has red hair. I've spent a painfully long time learning about genetics in science class and I know with a blonde mom and a brown haired dad that it is NOT possible to make a girl with red hair and a boy with black hair. It seems I know more than the director. Somebody better tell these kids they're adopted. Speaking of hair, the son's hair is so long that it makes me want to climb into the TV and get a dang haircut for once in his life.
Kid, 12 years old July 24, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Bad show

This show is bad. The plots are weird, and really? a dog with a BLOG? The only reason I marked "sex" was because there is minor innuendo, like one episode, the dog licks his father all over the face and neck, and he says, "Later honey!" Implying his wife does that.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn July 22, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

THIS SHOW REEKS OF DOG BREATH

Kid, 11 years old July 2, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Horrible.

Bad acting, casting, everything. Honestly, this show would have been better if it was a cartoon. It probably took them 3 minutes to come up with this.
Teen, 15 years old Written byPrincessOso16 July 1, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

This show is pointless and boring

This show is on for kids aged 6 and up because there is nothing bad in the show, on the other hand, there is nothing good in the show either. It's not funny, it doesn't teach any lessons and it's very childish. Disney channel used to try much harder than this, I recommend watching disney's older shows instead from the 1990's untill before 2010.
Teen, 17 years old Written byAyeeitsalyssabro June 29, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

It's Disney

To be honest its disney. It's just another show that is uninteresting , lame , and not funny show, it's a time waster for fun and entertainment not hardcore learning. Disney is supposed to be for children around 8-12 if you don't want your child watching it then there are other channels and if they are 3-6 years old of course its not going to be appropriate thats while they have a disney jr. So get over it its disney . don't like it choose another channel your smart i hope.
Teen, 13 years old Written bylannaluvsu June 25, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

This show is awful.

Don't even bother watching this show or having your kids watch it. It's definitely out of the picture for me. I mean, a talking dog?! Ridiculous.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old June 23, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Very good

Some say its not good but it is really good if you keep up with the story line the only thing i dislike is G hannalious
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old June 17, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good show, recommend to people ages 7 and older.

This show is not the best but I think it is a good show! It has sex and language, but otherwise good show!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byAJ_997 June 15, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Dog with a Blog is BARELY DECENT...

Well, first of all, don't hate it because there is a talking dog. The show can still be entertaining if done right, but this show ultimately FAILS. DWAB does have its moments, but it's more disappointing than entertaining. The acting is great, the dialogue is decent, but it just doesn't work. That talking dog needs to go and that annoying little girl, too, but in the end, the dog, Stan, always ends on a positive note, blogging about "being true to yourself" and other thematic material. Overall, PASS on this show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages