All member reviews for Dora the Explorer

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 159 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byTommyhead October 31, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Boring!

wake up. dora is for babies. aged 1-6
Teen, 16 years old Written byMrMovieBuff July 12, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Wow, I really hate Dora.

This show so bad, it's almost comical. The plot is screwed up. A girl and a monkey go on crappy adventures. The animation is HORRIBLY drawn, the acting is atrocious, the characters are unlikeable, and the theme song is just horrible. This is the 2nd worst show ever (with the worst being Incredible Crew). Please Nick Jr, cancel this garbage and don't give it any reruns. Oh, and parents, skip this crap and try 64 Zoo Lane.
Kid, 12 years old April 29, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Dora is bad for you! Dear God, please cancel this show!

WHEN I WAS A LITTLE BOY, I LOVED THIS SHOW! NOW WE HAVE THIS STUPIDITY TO DEAL WITH, DON'T BOTHER, IT'S BAD! IT'S SO BAD IT MAKES ME WANNA PUKE BECAUSE IT HAS GONE DOWNHILL! DO NOT WATCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dear God, please cancel this show!
Teen, 17 years old Written byDaniBallerina March 4, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

ANNOYING

How is this lasting for 12 years?! Her voice is so annoying and Dora acts so dumb... She can't even look behind to find a mountain, she expects the viewer to do EVERYTHING! The map expects you to yell stupid places and it's boring! There's no REAL adventure, just girls stuff and happiness and jungle all around, there is no way to make anyone laugh with this show, and it's consuming with all of their products! The backpack has unreasonable items in the sack which is TOO heavy for her, there is learning Spanish, but not much, it's annoying. Swiper almost always steals stuff, which can be predictable they will find it, and it's obvious, the plot is even the same all the time and predictable, hardly any education on the real life jungle, and musicals make it even odder. She hardly has any parental guidance, which makes it unsafe for her, she always ends up in trouble, and she doesn't teach kids how to get through trouble, she just believes in witchcraft and magical "stars" to help her, which is unrealistic and if a kid DOES do that, someone will suggest you to take your kid to a MENTAL hospital.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old January 13, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

How Dora Is Good

This is a really good for 2-5 year olds. It has no violence, bad words/mean words, or drinkings/drugs/smoking but it does have romantic sayings like Dora & Boots saying "I love you" to eachother.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byMr. King December 19, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I will shoot this girl if she came to my house!

WORST SHOW FOR LITTLE KIDS! PARENTS SHOULD NEVER LET KIDS WATCH IT! The characters are so ugly! It is also very stupid!
Kid, 11 years old August 7, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

PUTRID

I LOST MY BRAIN CELLS WHILE WATCHING THIS OH AND CAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byAwesome_Dude July 11, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

This is crap.

This show teaches kids how to get lost in the woods! If you are a true parent keep Dora AWAY from the kids!
Teen, 13 years old Written bysupercookiejar November 19, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

The whole world talks

Its ok but its kinda dumb i mean everything talks after my baby brother watched it he started talking to a tree no lie and after you turn 7 you notice how wierd it is
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old August 30, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Educational, but new episodes are boring.

It is so boring. My sister AGREES! Don't watch this show, well, i prefer the 90's episodes. After about 2004 (when Face the Nick Jr. mascot left) it got extremely boring (even Blue's Clues got boring!). They should take this off, and they should re-run the 1998-2004 episodes.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 6, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Alright. I watched Dora when I was little. I LOVED it. I loved the character Dora, and that little Tiko character made me think of my best friend. O.o. So, now I will tell you why I think it's half good and half... uh, strange... for younger kids. First of all, it teaches spanish. When I was about 4, my mom told me that I should listen to Dora, because there would be alot of people who speak spanish in the future. The parts where you have to interact with Dora and her friends are really creative. Now, I come to the part where I tell you all about the things that make Dora... werid. First of all, the show is very slow. I have 3 cousins who watch Dora, and they don't like how slow it's going, too. Dora takes long, looong pauses sometimes. Next, Dora's voice makes fun of little kids. She talks to them like they're really, really dumb. They could've made Dora's voice a little bit more serious. Just a little. I don't see any other problems with the other voices. People who clicked on ALL the concerns don't understand this - when you were little, if you were little when Dora first came out (like me), you thought it was so smart and great because you didn't know much. Today, you probably think it's stupid because you know alot more about cartoons and the world. Say you're 14, and you hate Dora - you think it's the stupidest thing ever. If you some how loose your 14 year old brain, and replace it with a 2 year old brain, you'd think Dora is the best show ever.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old January 17, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good Show for tiny beings!

Good show for little kids. My baby cousin watches it! she is flesh and blood Spanish so she sometimes watches it in Spanish. But In Spanish they teach English words! Funny ha ha! Good show! Educational!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bygoodperson4 December 23, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

hate this show

very educational. no bad stuff at all. i would have rated it 1+ but that wasnt an option in the drop down box. boring for kids 6+ though
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 16, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

What do you get from boredom and bad little girls who do not say please? I think you know.

It's Dora! Yes ladies and gentlemen, Dora! She is both boring, and never says please or thanks you! Would you like YOUR Pre-schooler telling you to stand up or move around without even saying please? I grew up with Dora, and I really did not say please for a long time! Why? Because I was copying her! Younger kids will copy what they see. Off for younger kids, and by the time you're older, she'll bore you to death!
Kid, 12 years old December 7, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

B-O-R-I-N-G spells boring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is the most boring show in the world!!!!!! But preschoolers will love it.
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

PRESCHOOLERS WILL LOVE IT BUT OLDER KIDS WILL HATE IT!

preschoolers will love this animted adventure!! but any kid over the age of 8 will find it down right anoying.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bysquishy723 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

DORA IS AWESOME

EVERYONE NEEDS TO WATCH DORA!!!! AHHH ITS SO AWESOME!
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 8 years old June 28, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

My baby bro watches this show its just awful poop

Kid, 11 years old June 23, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not for people under the age of 20.

In episode 18 Dora finds a lack of cigars and smokes with Boots, murdered Benny with a pocket knife, Tico says the N word, Dora says "Don't BEEP with my BEEP backpack", and Boots watches porn.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages