All member reviews for Dora the Explorer

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Preschoolers will love Dora's ongoing adventures.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 212 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byAwesome_Dude July 11, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

This is crap.

This show teaches kids how to get lost in the woods! If you are a true parent keep Dora AWAY from the kids!
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 25, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

My other review got deleted,so I am writing a new one.

Oh my gosh! NO! NOT THE PAIN! NOT THE PAIN! AHHHHHHHH! This is the worst preschooler show ever! The songs were stuck in my head for weeks,the animation is god-awful,it's nothing but the same thing every episode,and the voice acting gives me headaches! PLEASE GUYS! DESTROY THIS PIECE OF CRAP SHOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Teen, 13 years old Written bysupercookiejar November 19, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

The whole world talks

Its ok but its kinda dumb i mean everything talks after my baby brother watched it he started talking to a tree no lie and after you turn 7 you notice how wierd it is
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old August 30, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Educational, but new episodes are boring.

It is so boring. My sister AGREES! Don't watch this show, well, i prefer the 90's episodes. After about 2004 (when Face the Nick Jr. mascot left) it got extremely boring (even Blue's Clues got boring!). They should take this off, and they should re-run the 1998-2004 episodes.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 6, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Alright. I watched Dora when I was little. I LOVED it. I loved the character Dora, and that little Tiko character made me think of my best friend. O.o. So, now I will tell you why I think it's half good and half... uh, strange... for younger kids. First of all, it teaches spanish. When I was about 4, my mom told me that I should listen to Dora, because there would be alot of people who speak spanish in the future. The parts where you have to interact with Dora and her friends are really creative. Now, I come to the part where I tell you all about the things that make Dora... werid. First of all, the show is very slow. I have 3 cousins who watch Dora, and they don't like how slow it's going, too. Dora takes long, looong pauses sometimes. Next, Dora's voice makes fun of little kids. She talks to them like they're really, really dumb. They could've made Dora's voice a little bit more serious. Just a little. I don't see any other problems with the other voices. People who clicked on ALL the concerns don't understand this - when you were little, if you were little when Dora first came out (like me), you thought it was so smart and great because you didn't know much. Today, you probably think it's stupid because you know alot more about cartoons and the world. Say you're 14, and you hate Dora - you think it's the stupidest thing ever. If you some how loose your 14 year old brain, and replace it with a 2 year old brain, you'd think Dora is the best show ever.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bygoodperson4 December 23, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

hate this show

very educational. no bad stuff at all. i would have rated it 1+ but that wasnt an option in the drop down box. boring for kids 6+ though
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 16, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

What do you get from boredom and bad little girls who do not say please? I think you know.

It's Dora! Yes ladies and gentlemen, Dora! She is both boring, and never says please or thanks you! Would you like YOUR Pre-schooler telling you to stand up or move around without even saying please? I grew up with Dora, and I really did not say please for a long time! Why? Because I was copying her! Younger kids will copy what they see. Off for younger kids, and by the time you're older, she'll bore you to death!
Parent of a 3, 6, and 9 year old Written byMamaNikkiP August 17, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

BLAH

Dora is annoying, whiney and I am so sick of this show, honestly. It has been around for 10 yrs, kids really do enjoy the show and it is great for learning spanish words, but that is about it. All 3 of my kids liked this when younger, but it is a headache for parents!
Kid, 12 years old December 7, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

B-O-R-I-N-G spells boring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is the most boring show in the world!!!!!! But preschoolers will love it.
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

PRESCHOOLERS WILL LOVE IT BUT OLDER KIDS WILL HATE IT!

preschoolers will love this animted adventure!! but any kid over the age of 8 will find it down right anoying.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byfergusonisrael November 25, 2008
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

kid show that is not for kids

dora's early seasons were ok, but now they put in all sorts of things like magic and scary trolls and angry bears...why introduce fear and witchcraft to kids? aside from that, the branding that surrounds this show - (shoes, candy, toothbrush, bedroom sets) everywhere you go you see Dora stuff in the store, i think is too overwhelming for children of this age.
Teen, 15 years old Written bysquishy723 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

DORA IS AWESOME

EVERYONE NEEDS TO WATCH DORA!!!! AHHH ITS SO AWESOME!
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 2, 4, 8, 10, 14, 14, 14, and 17 year old Written byparentof7 March 2, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

ive gotta educate my child who just turned 2

ok I was flipping through channels I thought this was positive for my toddler who just turned 2 today and I thought it was kind of annoying
Kid, 11 years old February 28, 2015
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

I Hate this, but Its Perfect for little kids.

Educational and team work messages. Kids will pick up Spanish from this and other useful things. The only thing is Swiper and the talking monkey Boots scared the bejesus out of my baby brother. And my sister was in tears after Dora asked for her name and age.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bypaul334 February 20, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Terrifying and obscure sexual references

I was shocked when I first watched dora the explorer. It is about a girl that runs a human trafficking business by using her map and backpack. Extreme graphic sexual references along with heavy drug use, this tv show is not fit for younger kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, infant, infant, 1, 5, 6, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 16, and 18 year old Written bymykidsarebabies February 19, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR MY CHILD

DORA IS BOSSY AND IT MADE MY 5 YEAR OLD START YELLING AT US AND I WILL NEVER LET HER WATCH AGAIN
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byBitchKiller February 8, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Notty Bitch is Fuckin Cray

This whore is a slut who uses sex as a weapon
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old February 8, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Kinda Funny, for only 7+ though

This show is kinda funny, because I hate Dora (the character) so much, it's fun to see her be weird. But, NOT for little ones, because they might immitate her weirdness.
Adult Written byBba January 23, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

TRASH IN A TRASH CAN

STUPID TRASH

Pages