All member reviews for Dora the Explorer

Common Sense Media says

Preschoolers will love Dora's ongoing adventures.
 

Users say

(out of 214 reviews)
age 5+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old January 13, 2013
age 2+
 

How Dora Is Good

This is a really good for 2-5 year olds. It has no violence, bad words/mean words, or drinkings/drugs/smoking but it does have romantic sayings like Dora & Boots saying "I love you" to eachother.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byMr. King December 19, 2012
age 2+
 

I will shoot this girl if she came to my house!

WORST SHOW FOR LITTLE KIDS! PARENTS SHOULD NEVER LET KIDS WATCH IT! The characters are so ugly! It is also very stupid!
Parent Written bySPAMISGOOD December 19, 2012
age 18+
 

This show is awful!

This is a terrible show that no small child will be able to stomach. It has little educational value, a VERY small window of positive messages, it is filled with cartoony violence, like monsters and dragons, it encourages the act of having sex with animals, and the characters voices are so irritating to the ears that they should be considered foul language, and it's obvious that the two main characters are on some form of narcotic.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 23, 2012
age 2+
 

It's getting a MOVIE next year?! NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The upcomming movie was a horrible idea! At least SpongeBob's movie is getting a sequel,but IT'S IN 2014! While Dora is getting her movie NEXT YEAR! Dora The Explorer has to be the worst little kid show i've ever seen,even worse than Barney.Just another trashy show with stupid songs and breaking the Fourth Wall.The animation is TERRIBLE! It is just so ugly to look at! The acting is horrific.The voices are awful,and the lip syncs are off cue at times.So yeah,Dora is nothing but a cheesey,generic show with annoying songs and fourth wall breaking crap.Instead of giving it a live-action movie next year in theateres,make this show take a hike forever!
Kid, 11 years old August 7, 2012
age 18+
 

PUTRID

I LOST MY BRAIN CELLS WHILE WATCHING THIS OH AND CAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byAwesome_Dude July 11, 2012
age 2+
 

This is crap.

This show teaches kids how to get lost in the woods! If you are a true parent keep Dora AWAY from the kids!
Teen, 13 years old Written bysupercookiejar November 19, 2011
age 2+
 

The whole world talks

Its ok but its kinda dumb i mean everything talks after my baby brother watched it he started talking to a tree no lie and after you turn 7 you notice how wierd it is
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old August 30, 2011
age 2+
 

Educational, but new episodes are boring.

It is so boring. My sister AGREES! Don't watch this show, well, i prefer the 90's episodes. After about 2004 (when Face the Nick Jr. mascot left) it got extremely boring (even Blue's Clues got boring!). They should take this off, and they should re-run the 1998-2004 episodes.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 6, 2011
age 2+
 
Alright. I watched Dora when I was little. I LOVED it. I loved the character Dora, and that little Tiko character made me think of my best friend. O.o. So, now I will tell you why I think it's half good and half... uh, strange... for younger kids. First of all, it teaches spanish. When I was about 4, my mom told me that I should listen to Dora, because there would be alot of people who speak spanish in the future. The parts where you have to interact with Dora and her friends are really creative. Now, I come to the part where I tell you all about the things that make Dora... werid. First of all, the show is very slow. I have 3 cousins who watch Dora, and they don't like how slow it's going, too. Dora takes long, looong pauses sometimes. Next, Dora's voice makes fun of little kids. She talks to them like they're really, really dumb. They could've made Dora's voice a little bit more serious. Just a little. I don't see any other problems with the other voices. People who clicked on ALL the concerns don't understand this - when you were little, if you were little when Dora first came out (like me), you thought it was so smart and great because you didn't know much. Today, you probably think it's stupid because you know alot more about cartoons and the world. Say you're 14, and you hate Dora - you think it's the stupidest thing ever. If you some how loose your 14 year old brain, and replace it with a 2 year old brain, you'd think Dora is the best show ever.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old January 17, 2011
age 2+
 

Good Show for tiny beings!

Good show for little kids. My baby cousin watches it! she is flesh and blood Spanish so she sometimes watches it in Spanish. But In Spanish they teach English words! Funny ha ha! Good show! Educational!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bygoodperson4 December 23, 2010
age 2+
 

hate this show

very educational. no bad stuff at all. i would have rated it 1+ but that wasnt an option in the drop down box. boring for kids 6+ though
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 16, 2010
age 2+
 

What do you get from boredom and bad little girls who do not say please? I think you know.

It's Dora! Yes ladies and gentlemen, Dora! She is both boring, and never says please or thanks you! Would you like YOUR Pre-schooler telling you to stand up or move around without even saying please? I grew up with Dora, and I really did not say please for a long time! Why? Because I was copying her! Younger kids will copy what they see. Off for younger kids, and by the time you're older, she'll bore you to death!
Kid, 12 years old December 7, 2009
age 2+
 

B-O-R-I-N-G spells boring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is the most boring show in the world!!!!!! But preschoolers will love it.
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2009
age 3+
 

PRESCHOOLERS WILL LOVE IT BUT OLDER KIDS WILL HATE IT!

preschoolers will love this animted adventure!! but any kid over the age of 8 will find it down right anoying.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byfergusonisrael November 25, 2008
age 2+
 

kid show that is not for kids

dora's early seasons were ok, but now they put in all sorts of things like magic and scary trolls and angry bears...why introduce fear and witchcraft to kids? aside from that, the branding that surrounds this show - (shoes, candy, toothbrush, bedroom sets) everywhere you go you see Dora stuff in the store, i think is too overwhelming for children of this age.
Teen, 15 years old Written bysquishy723 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

DORA IS AWESOME

EVERYONE NEEDS TO WATCH DORA!!!! AHHH ITS SO AWESOME!
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
Teen, 14 years old Written byilikehotdogs July 8, 2015
age 2+
 

Good Kid Show

Don't watch it much but its allright
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Kid, 8 years old June 28, 2015
age 2+
 

My baby bro watches this show its just awful poop

Kid, 11 years old June 23, 2015
age 18+
 

Not for people under the age of 20.

In episode 18 Dora finds a lack of cigars and smokes with Boots, murdered Benny with a pocket knife, Tico says the N word, Dora says "Don't BEEP with my BEEP backpack", and Boots watches porn.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages