All member reviews for Family Matters

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Urkel and company still offer lots of family fun.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 43 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old November 4, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome~

I love this show! It's actually funny and heartwarming, a favorite.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byThe JP Show June 8, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Message is clear

Unlike most disney sitcoms, the message is clear , The show is very enjoyable. I Give a kindergardener excepetion on some episodes. Parental advisory given on some episodes like "The Gun" and "DUDES". Great show for families to watch together.
Adult Written byAngela33 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byGregoryMccormick123 June 17, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

UKREL IS THE MAN!

Family Matters was a hysterical sitcom. Nick at Nite needs to put back it's reruns, because I loved watching there. It was so funny. I also love the characters in it!
Teen, 14 years old Written byTheBombFunn August 13, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Funny!

This show is SO funny. I love it. Nothing much left to say.
Teen, 15 years old Written byMitchell Charleston June 18, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Very likeable sitcom.

Family Matters is one of my favorite sitcoms. It is super funny and I always laugh when I watch it. It also has positive messages. I recommend Family Matters.
Kid, 11 years old June 14, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

funny

amazing show! it is a show i remember watching late on nick @ night now i watch it on BET i remember the "do the urkel" song and dance. it has been a great show of my memories and im glad to give it 5/5
Teen, 14 years old Written byBluesky123 April 2, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Funny show with positive messages!

This show is awesome! It's really funny, and there's also a positive message at the end of each show. Plus there is character growth throughout the seasons. In my opinion, the later seasons where urkel is older is much funnier than the earlier seasons. Once in a while there's some iffy stuff in the episodes. But it's not nearly as bad as it is nowdays. Family Matters is just one example of how TV back then was good. Or at least better than TV nowdays. So watch it! You won't regret it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Educator and Parent Written byCommonSenseChristian December 31, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Welcome to the Wacky, but Warm, Winslow Clan

Another family sitcom that remembered the "family" part, this is, once again, a clean, wholesome show that manages to be funny without resorting to the gutter. We have here loving, sometimes strict, but always well-meaning adults (plus a cool grandma), kids who get into trouble, but are generally good and learn the lessons they need to, and yes, comic relief in the form of the nerdy neighbor. The main reason I recommend this show mostly for older kids is simply because smaller children aren't featured as much. Therefore, some jokes and plotlines will be over the heads of little viewers. Dad Carl is a police officer, so discussion of violence, appearances of guns, etc., are going to come up. But again, this is generally handled with great discretion and/or played down. One disturbing episode features a teen being shot, and another features Laura encountering racism. The Winslows' treatment of Steve, while played for laughs, may also be disturbing to discerning families. In general, though, the Winslow house is a safe place to crash.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 24, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Urkel,you absolutly ROCK.

What a funny sitcom.It also has positive messages.I love the way I am.THATS the message in Family Matters.
Adult Written byJEDI micah October 16, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I LOVE URKEL!!!

This is one of my favorite sitcoms! Urkel really knows how to make you laugh! He also shows that being a nerd is cool! That's why I like myself the way I am! Urkel is a fun way to bring the whole family together to enjoy this sitcom classic!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old September 28, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Keep your breasts to yourselves.

I liked this show, but in one episode there is a picture of a woman with her breasts shown, almost completely uncovered; big turnoff: I don't think I've watched the show since.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old September 2, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Parents Please Read.

I LOVE This Show! Sexy Stuff: Just kissing or talking about sexy stuff. Language: There is one episode where the dad says "hell" and there's a few more.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byIsabel13 August 26, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good family show

I used to watch this all the time when I was 11.
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 26, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Really good!

This show is SO funny! It has great voice acting and funny scripts!
Teen, 16 years old Written byJoseph Rock February 29, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Very good show.

I personaly think everything on this show is excellent.From the jokes to the voice acting.
Kid, 11 years old December 27, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Bravo, just amazing.

This is an amazing show! Perfect for any kid. But, there is a couple episodes where they cuss using words like "h***" and a**". But that was just in 1 or 2 episodes. Other than that, Bravo. ;)
Teen, 14 years old Written byjw1709 July 27, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Funny!

I burst out laughing whenever i see it
Educator Written byshashabel9 July 10, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

good show

i loved it
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old June 25, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

awesome

so funny.me and my little brother love to watch it.great!!!!

Pages