All member reviews for Friday Night Lights

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 10 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bynnowgoo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 17 years old Written bytankgaski April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byHOLLISTERshortty April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Nice work!

I love this show. Although I have to disagree with the standards. There are sex acts. No doubt about it. But otherwise it is a great show. [[:
Teen, 13 years old Written bykummy14 August 14, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

GREAT SHOW FOR TEENS

this show is a really nice show with some good football action. there are some scenes that are not appropriate for kids 13 and under.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byshesmagic16 July 30, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Football and Much More

I'm not a football fan, and I'm most definitley not a Texas girl. So, what is it about Friday Night Lights that's kept me watching for the past five years? The fact that this show has so much more to offer than just small town football. The show's cast is remarkable in that father and son, could truly be father and son. Coach Taylor and Tami have undeniable chemistry, and portray a marriage that is one of the best to ever exist on TV. Script wise, these Texas teens go through challenges such as rape, life altering injury, teen pregnancy, and alcohol addiction. Friday Night Lights unfolds these plots in the most honest and realistic ways I've ever seen TV do. If you think your child is not yet mature enough to understand these topics, they probably should not watch. Finally, this show is exeptional for its filming. This part is hard to describe because every element of a shot is so thought out and perfect. If this show sounds like something you'd enjoy, I highly encourage you to watch it. It's about much more than football, it's about a Coach trying to turn his team into worthy young men.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bykiddo dog lover March 4, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good show with adult themes

This is a good show, although has some adult themes. know your child.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 18, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Watch This Show and You Will Learn a Lot.

Parents, this is a show that you should watch with kids, because it teaches so much about life, love, respect, and compassion. It taught me so much about how humans live their lives. I highly recommend that in some point of your child's life, you should watch this show with them, and help them learn about how to live a good life.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycaskett May 4, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

EPIC!!!

I love this show!!! It has great role models and a great message. It has references to sex and virginity. There is also drinking it it. It is in my top five TV show (its behind Castle and Brooklyn 99)!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bylkay32 January 11, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Show About Family, Love, and Friendship

I thought It was a great show that dealed with religion, love family, and friends. There were questionable scenes for kids under 10, but over all it was great. It does deal with some hard subjects like sexuality and abortion. When I first saw this show on Netflix I never thought I would watch a show about a small town high school football team, but once I started watching I realized that it was so much more than that. It was really about family, love, friendship with some football to make it interesting.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byapollo. January 3, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

amazing show, iffy for immature veiwers.

Overall friday night lights is a great TV show, with some positive messages. In a couple of the seasons sex is a really big problem though, there's never any real nudity, but teens are seen in bed together, and virginity and sex are both discussed, even though the main characters are still in high school and not married or anything. There is also a lot of underage drinking, and a lot of under armor product placement. As long as your child is mature and able to handle these topics it is an amazing TV show to watch, I watched all 5 seasons within 3 weeks I loved it so much, but why does everyone say 'watch this show with your kids' that just makes it awkward for both of you, thats my oppinion anyway.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking