Kid reviews for Friends

Common Sense says

Hilarious sitcom for adults and older teens.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 85 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 361 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byps2641r5 March 3, 2019

Classic show you should watch at some point

This show is a classic. They mention sex a bunch of times but I think most kids are fine with that. It’s dated so there is a bit of homophobic and transphobic stuff. Overall a great show that’s easy to binge.
Teen, 16 years old Written bySara.Parker46 March 3, 2019
Always puts a smile on my face

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Teen, 17 years old Written bylol 247 in the Van February 25, 2019

WE WERE ON A BREAK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - Ross Geller

If you haven't watched this, I believe this to be the best sitcom there is. You fall in love with the characters and will never be disappointed by an episode. Pivot your couch to see your T.V.!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byHIIIIIIIIIIIIII February 18, 2019

Great show!! But one thing

This show is AMAZING!! I love it and think it’s HISTARICAL! But one thing parents should know is that it talks about sex a lot which MIGHT not be okay with some parents. It does use bad words every once in a while but it’s not frequent. It also has some drinking and smoking but that’s also not very common. That’s just what I think about the show and I think most kids should be able to watch it as long as they had the... ya know what I mean
Teen, 13 years old Written bypointe123 February 13, 2019

hilarious

Friends is and awesome show. It is my favourite show ever and I don't understand why some people think that it is so inappropriate for children. Some younger children might not understand the jokes but the most inappropriate thing that you see is kissing.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byJack321 February 12, 2019

The best tv show ever

The best show on tv ever it has everything it’s funny rewatchable just the best but there is some sex references and stuff like that but the best 10/10 BBFC 12 MPAA TV 14

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bygoodgamer February 11, 2019

For 10 plus

I think that this is a great series that I highly recommend but there is mediocre language and lots of sexual jokes but if you are younger then you won’t notice them

Overall great show though

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byG. G. February 10, 2019

The Best Sitcom Out There

I’ve finally reached the last season and all I can say is— Wow! What an amazing show. As corny as it sounds, this show really does have some valuable lessons on friendship, love, and loyalty. Every minute has been entertaining and I cannot believe it is going to end soon! At first I did not let my younger brother watch with me, as there are many references to porn, discussion of one-night-stands, and occasionally images of the Friends getting “cuddly” or making out, but there is nothing over the top. At this point in the show, he can watch.
The only time when the sexiness was over-the-top was when Julia Roberts appeared. I had to skip a lot of this portion of the show, as there was constant sex, whatever the setting— I specifically remember a reference during a restaurant dinner with the Friends, during which Roberts beckons Chandler to the bathroom. Nothing is shown, but there is audio, and he is later seen half naked poking his head over the stall door. I can’t think of any part of the show that was quite as suggestive as this.
Overall, an excellent sitcom, one of the best ones out there! Don’t listen to the bad reviews, just watch a season or two and decide for yourself. You will not be disappointed!
Kid, 11 years old February 6, 2019

It's Just Friends!

I personally love friends, and it's a family show in our household. I started watching it at age 10 and all the stuff I already knew from school. Like you learn about sex in Health class, so it's OK. But, if it got TOO inappropriate, my parents would just fast forward. This show is super funny and entertaining. The swearing is OK too, you probably heard worse things than "BITCH". So overall, it's a great show to watch. But, my parents don't let my younger sister watch it because of to much sex, BUMMER!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written byaab123 January 28, 2019

Great Show!

Super funny and light hearted tv show.
Teen, 13 years old Written byMoviewatcher2019 January 6, 2019

An absolutely amazing show and worth the watch

A great show but not suitable for all ages, there are a few swear words like b***h but nothing too offensive, there is also many scenes were s*x is implied and shown. Alcohol and smoking are happening in some scenes as well

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bylily192 January 5, 2019

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written byrb1015 January 4, 2019

Show with mature messages

This is my absolute favorite show! But this is very much a show meant for a more mature audience, not only because of the references, but the problems the friends face are mature, and the friends are not "role models" as to be relatable to their audience by their weaknesses ( I would argue Phoebe, Chandler, and Joey would be people to somewhat look up to because Phoebe and Chandler have had tough childhoods, and Phoebe and Joey have never completed high school but they still managed to be successful adults. I admire Phoebe because she has had it REALLY bad but she doesn't pity herself often and is a fighter.) This show displays controversial themes in a lighthearted manner one example being the fact that ALL pregnancies in this show are unconventional (Ross having one child with his lesbian ex-wife and one with Rachel out of wedlock, Phoebe being a surrogate, Monica and Chandler are infertile and therefore adopt from a pregnant teen). The fact they don't stigmatize it and instead show how to deal with it is a great message for teens but something that might go over the heads of younger kids. LOTS of sex references probably 5-6 every episode, but not very many drug references. In all 10 of the seasons, there are probably only 6 episodes where cigarettes are mentioned, and they are because Chandler quit smoking but sometimes starts again due to the hardships in the show reminding him of his awful childhood. His friends help him quit and by the end of the episode he is cigarette-free. Rachel smokes one episode as to be a toady to her boss, but by the end of the episode, she convinces her boss and her colleague to quit by being the "patch sisters"(referring to nicotine patches.) Ross mentions that he smoked pot in college. All the friends drink, but in moderation and not very often, as do most adults. They sometimes get drunk, but it is usually due to an underlying problem that the friends eventually help solve, not due to them being excessive drinkers.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Teen, 15 years old Written byKitKat4579 January 2, 2019

In my top 5 shows

This is a great show that the whole family will enjoy. It can help parents connect with their kids by giving them something they can both relate to.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 9 years old December 31, 2018

Good a bit of sex a bit of swearing

It’s amazing I didn’t like the first few episodes a bit boring and a bit weird but in some other episodes there are sex noises and some normal sex wich I didn’t like my child seeing but it was ok because I know my child is responsible there is some swearing loving the characters and yeah not to bad not to good so I think 11

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byMy dog Tache December 29, 2018

My fave TV show!!

This is a light hearted, funny and amusing show that highlights the strange goings on of 6 friends discovering what life is like.

Regular sex - related jokes from all characters.

I would definitely recommend watching the funny and sometimes sad lives of Chandler, Monica, Ross, Phoebe, Rachel and, of course, Joey.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old December 27, 2018

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old December 25, 2018

the best show EVER!!!!!!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old December 24, 2018
It’s can be a wee rbit inappropriate but overall it is my favourite tv programme and it very funny

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Kid, 12 years old December 20, 2018

My favourite TV show! But for the mature ones!

I've been allowed to watch PG-13 or 12 rated shows and films with an adult when I was eleven. Friends is the best tv show, so humorous and funny. The group do have their arguments but at the end of the day, they're there for each other! Some scenes have brief swear words such as b**ch and crap and a*s but mostly clean. Some scenes also include violence and sexual references so sometimes may have to skip some episodes! One particular character smokes in an episode and all characters drink alcohol. Overall, Friends had great role models and messages and is perfect for tweens and teens aged 11 and up (mature!!)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages