All member reviews for Friends

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Hilarious sitcom for adults and older teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 136 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byclairemurphy February 20, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Although often times I don't quite agree with most of the review written on this site, this is one of the few exceptions. Friends is a great show with some really good messages, but there are a few scenes that 12 year-old me would be uncomfortable with, and if I had kids, I wouldn't want them to be seeing if they were under 13. Regardless, Friends is a great show and I would recommend it, even to someone under 13, it just depends on their personal maturity level.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byjohnbob September 19, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

friends that sleep around Adults Show Only !!!!!!

all they do is bang each other. in one epsiode rachel rides joey nude and in another rose shags emily and in another episode chandler shags monica and then she rides him. in one episode the three girls mastruabte together. i enjoyed the show. great story.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bywertj August 27, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
AA VERY GOOD SHOW
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 29, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Hilarious Show with Content Twelve-Year-Olds haven't seen/heard before!

This show always makes me laugh. I watch it after Full House late at night. Apparently, Common Sense Media isn't aware of the things twelve-year-olds are exposed to. All of my friends (who have already turned twelve) make inappropriate comments and draw inappropriate pictures. So, a twelve-year-old can handle it. I understand the jokes, but I'm not sure if another child my age would. The show/characters show that friendship is extremely important. That is a great message to younger viewers. This show contains sexual innuendos and references. Chandler and Joey showed a porn magazine on camera saying, "Girl, look away. Boys, this is what naked women looked like in our day." Monica's father says the woman needs to have an orgasm to get pregnant. Some kissing is shown before Monica and Chandler have sex. Characters are shown after sex. Chandler accidentally sees Rachel topless and she requests to see him naked in return. Phoebe was fired for being a whore. You see characters in labor. The boys hire a stripper. Some characters are gay. There are many other innuendos and sexual references. Ross has a way to give somebody the finger without giving them the finger. He puts his hands into fists and then flips them over. Then, Ross brings the fists together twice. There are mild swears, such as assand damn. Although I don't believe it is a swear, crap may be a caution for parents, since the characters use it. Some characters get drunk and smoke. Parents, don't keep your children boxed up. If they are twelve, let them watch. Parents don't seem to be aware of what younger children are already exposed to these days. Besides, they can learn how adults interact.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old July 17, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Very funny.

Friends is my favorite TV show. It has some inappropriate jokes, kissing etc...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old July 13, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great show for tweens/teens

Sometimes the show can have some inappropriateness with the language or with topics.The show has brought up divorce which might be a sensitive case with some kids. It is not a bad show,but i would recommend something else for littler kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byThooxomuefru April 28, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I recently binge watched ALL of it.

It's a great show! There are a few themes that might not be the BEST thing to fill a child's head with, so just make sure your child is mature enough to handle it. Some things might be a little... when-harry-met-sally-esque, but it's nothing too detrimental. Even though the characters talk about sex quite often, the subject is often approached respectfully and with competence of consequences. I imagine kids raised in such a technological world might find their lack of iPhones odd...
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byfilm geek March 2, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I AM OBSESSED!!!

I love friends with a passion. A lot of the subjects covered are very mature but its really clever and funny. I watched 5 episodes and ended up buying the whole box set! I would definitely recommend!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old February 21, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byotgon February 10, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Comedy

This is definitely for older teenagers with the sexual innuendos, but with no explicit scenes safe if you consider your child to be a mature person.
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlink41 February 2, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Hilarious.

What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byilikepie367 January 5, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Best Show Ever

This show is amazing it's my favorite!
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 November 4, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great show for younger kids and older!

I love this show so much. This show is perfect for mature younger ones because the content in it isn't as rough as most shows now a days. There are some scenes where sex is implied, or shown preparing or shown after and there may be some remarks after or before but nothing explicit. There is quite a bit of sexual talk and references, but these range from mild to moderate. Sometimes they imply that a character is naked or the show there back which is not usually sexual and is very infrequent, but there is no nudity what so ever. There is some milder language with some use of the word D*** and B**** but nothing to harsh, and these aren't even used to much. There are some episodes revolving around smoking and/or drinking, but this is in every day life and kids are already exposed to this stuff everywhere. Honestly Mature 6. Suggested MPAA PG-13: Some Crude and Sexual Content, Drinking and Smoking, and Language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byTommyhead October 30, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good comedy for teens and even big kids

it's very social, funny and positive all together. it's also got many relationships
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bydanmux October 30, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good fun, and a good way to open mature discussions with young teens.

The show does well in finding the humour in more mature themes but occasionally creeps up the maturity scale when it does hint at sexual practices, though they are normally somewhat veiled in a joke, which allows for a 'thats a bit to much for you to know right now' type response to the inquisitive young teen. For example regarding breast feeding: Rachel: A vacation? My idea of a vacation does not involve something sucking on my nipples until they are raw. Gavin: Clearly you've never been to Sandal's Paradise Island. This is about as risque as it gets regarding sex. Otherwise it is quite a good way to encourage debate and awareness with young teens. Lesbianism is dealt with sensitively, and with appropriate humour, with the character Joey's lines occasionally touching on the cliche
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byhhjgdkhghukdghk October 29, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good Show

Friends is a great show for anyone that is 13 and up. It's funny and well-crafted with good characters and a great storyline. It was on for 10 seasons and it kept getting better. It is well loved by people everywhere.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byfrankievs101 August 27, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

its a good show

I think besides the sexaual refrences its a positive show about 6 friends in the big city
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byDancermcm August 12, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

An Awesome Show, But Only For the Right Audience

This is a really good show. It revolves around the lives of 6 New York friends. Each character has a generalization that could be deemed inappropriate. In a way, this show can give the message that if you have the right friends, they will stick with you through good times and bad. However, the Friends often make fun of each other's reputations and flaws. This is not appropriate for younger kids, because of the sexual tones and many drunken scenes and mistakes. I really love this show, it's one of my favorites. I started watching it when I was 12, because my mother liked it, and talked to me about anything questionable, so I understood it fine. Overall, it's good for 13+.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byilovereviews July 10, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Could my review BE any more true?

While the show does have some sexual references, it is a very funny sitcom. It will help a child turn in to an adult, I think. This is because it shows them the reality of life, but softens the blow with heartfelt and hilarious jokes. There are many good messages such as keeping your friends close because they are one of the most important things in your life. It also shows teens that not everything is going to be solved as easily as it is in "Full House" or "Hannah Montana". This is life.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byTheStraightUp April 5, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

It's Appropriate for children 12 & up

This show has some sexual references. I'm 14 and I've seen practically every episode of it. Sometimes they say words like "hell" or "ass" but they never say anything too vulgar for children, ass and hell are in the bible. But its mostly appropriate for children 12 & up . i think i started watching this at 12 years old.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages