All member reviews for Game of Thrones

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Artful fantasy series heavy on sexuality and violence.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 120 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written byRenaissancemama May 16, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Parents should have been warned!!

I have been watching this with my almost 14 year old son who loves anything to do with knights, medieval life, battles and armor. However there is way way too much graphic sex in this series to make it comfortable for a kid his age to watch, especially with his MOM right there. But more than this - the show airs on Sunday nights at 9 (still pretty early) and there is NO warning for parents, no hint that there is going to be graphic sexual scenes. The last episode ( 5-15) features a scene with more full sexual activity plus full full frontal nudity for the woman and the man (albeit for one quick second) but still...this show has such a good story line - the sex is gratuitous and unecessary. The makers could hinted at sex between characters more subtley but instead seem to enjoy making parents squirm. I am no prude but I wish there had been a rating on this and a much much later hour!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byzazmopepperz April 26, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Iffy for ages 15- 17

Game of Thrones is quite a slow, dull show at first, but when you watch you second episode you can really get into the characters and the story. I haven't read the book, I'm hate reading to be honest but I bet it's a good book from what I've seen so far in the Tv series. Now down to the iffy stuff, two blonde characters were exiled from the seven kingdoms, they are brother and sister. The brother forces his sister to marry a leader of a savage tribe so they can invade the great kingdoms and be the king. Obviously he is a real d--k to his sister and she often (against her will) has to have sex with the tribe leader for his brothers will. The sex is probably the most graphic part of the series, there is some strong language and rare (but gory) violence. I'm 15 and my brother lets me watch the show but my parents probably wouldn't let me watch it until I was 18. However I think the show is appropriate for 15-year-olds.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written byMary Patricia April 30, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Engaging, but not for kids

Game of Thrones is an adult series, which is graphically interesting with a surprisingly engaging narrative. The setting, timing, and themes of rivalry between different kingdoms, and rivalry within each kingdom, would appeal to children 8 and above. However, the violence and sex are just not appropriate until 17 and beyond. All sex has been depicted from behind only, and in a very aggressive way. One couple engaging in consensual sex are brother and sister. There is lots of conversation about whoring and drinking among the two moral main characters, although one seems to have a positive marriage.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bydarianr July 11, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Winter is coming

This is a really good series. I absolutely loved it. But I don't think I'd let my kids watch it until they were at least 15-16 depending on maturity level. There are frequently scenes of graphic sexuality not necessary in any way, other than keeping the audience entertained during extended scenes of monologues. There is also graphic violence and intense fighting and battle. The sex and violence combine to create a fantastical hyper-reality of fantasy so I understand why they are so over the top. Just be aware of it. The story is great. There is honor and dishonor, betrayal and redemption. Can't wait for more seasons!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTrisLallana May 28, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

One of the best, most epic Television series of all time.

The show is brilliant, based on a brilliant book; an epic tale with quite simply the best casting I've ever seen in a televised series. On the subject of the sex; it's there to shock, in all it's gritty realism. Wait until a scene where a member of the primitive "tribe" is shown how to be a gentle lover; it's really quite moving. Yes, the violence is shocking, but again; it's gritty and realistic which adds to the enthralling nature of the brilliant screen writing, acting and scripting. I watch this with my 13-year old brother when he stays round, and he loves it; not for the sex or the violence, but for the same reasons I do; the epic setting, storyline and suspense. My brother is very mature when it comes to things that are judged to be "unsuitable" for his age, but every youngling is different. I do have to mention, however, that to give a series the lowest rating for sex/violence rather than the storyline, characters and scriptwriting is quite dismissive (:
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byJ-Yo September 30, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

I Want to Play A Game of Thrones

A very artistic television show. Definitely not for anyone 16 or under. I'm 17, I was able to handle most of the material, but some violent parts still made me queasy (the sex was a little gratuitous at times, but it could be worse). Aside from violence, the story is very engaging. The four different plot lines are seemingly unrelated in the beginning, but soon intertwine and depend on each other in ways I didn't see coming. The characters are well-developed in a world that was masterfully created and realized. Plus it has a catchy title. "A Game of Thrones." Just say it. You'll feel cool.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bymoviemadness October 26, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Medieval Show is a Winner -NOT for kids

Game of Thrones is complicated, sumptuous, and a great followup for series like The Lord of the Rings, The Pillars of the Earth, and the like. The storyline is complicated and rich, the interplay between the policies, desires, and intermarriages of the various kingdoms is realistic and thoughtful. As great as the story is, and as much of a draw as it will be for fantasy buffs, it is not for children, nor for most adults. Game of Thrones is horrifically violent, graphically sexual, and deals with subject matter that is very very mature (including incest, sexual violence, the extreme harshness of the medieval ages, and the chilling, capricious, will of power-drunk men). Not at all for teenagers of any age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bysireatalot December 7, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Depends on the kid

Yes, it's violent. Yes, there is too much unnecessary graphic sex. But once you get past that, it's a great story. I watch on a computer as I have to stream from the US to Australia. I also have the common sense to fast-forward stuff that's just too inappropriate. I'm pretty mature for my age, and I can deal with realistic violence. So get to know your kids I guess, but don't be turned off a great show
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byFalls Apart September 23, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing Show

I read the books and absolutely loved them, and the TV show just brought it to life. It's true that it has language "problems", but those just make the dialogue more realistic. True, some curses weren't around then, but if they talked in medieval English, we wouldn't understand them; it was pretty much a different language back then. Besides, most were. And, yes, there is graphic sexual and violent content, but that adds a sense of realism to the show. Why is it necessary to "hint at" things when it's on an HBO show based on an adult book series clearly geared towards adults? That's not to say, of course, that it can't be enjoyed by non-adults; I enjoyed it personally and can't wait to let my younger siblings in on the fun. My only complaint is that sometimes the sexual content detracts from the show by being blatantly fanservice-driven rather than expository. Other than that, though, (and the horrible casting of Shae), it was amazing! Five stars, two thumbs up, show to anyone who loves fantasy and can handle a bit of grit.
Adult Written byinnocenteyes13 July 6, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Reality Check

I can't help feeling the websites review is biased and igores the positive aspects of the show. Firstly the languange and violence it condemns is hardly extreme. The violence compared to that in the popular 15 rated Resident Evil series is tame. Aside from a few counts of the C word the language is far from excessive and the complaint that the F word is out of place given the medieval-esq setting is completely unfounded, having an extensive background in historical and classical research I can assure you that you will find the term scrawled on walls and in litterature dating as far back as the bath houses of Pompeii. Critism of the drinking is also largely unfounded, the drinking is done by adults and generally not to excess and when that line is crossed the characters suffer for it. The role models in this show are also fantastic even although the reviewer has clearly chosen not to take this into account. Tyrion Lannister is possibly the best role model there has ever been in film and litterature for dwarfs in particular who are usually presented as less than human. He uses his intellegence to compensate for his stature and refuses to let his situation tear him down. The main female characters in his show are also very empowered and strong and there is positive portrayal of non standard gender and sexuality. On the whole the characters all stay true to themselves and their beliefs and morals and manage to overcome that which is sent against them which are definately three of the most important qualities we try to instill in children. This show has also triumphed by turning millions of fans onto G R R Martin's fantastic book series upon which the show is based, a series which stands as quite possibly the greatest modern achievement within the fantasy genre. In fact the only problem in terms of younger viewers is the sexual content which is the reason I would advise caution with under sixteens but even this is not that bad. There is actually more sexualised nudity than there is actual sexual content. The prostitues in this show are also presented more as fiesty escorts having chosen their lifestyle as opposed to presentation as trafficked women or victims and this does lead to a good oppourtunity to discuss many of these issues. Lastly the "rape scene" between Drogo and Daenarys is not even a rape scene at all, watch it again or read it in the actual book, he undresses her yes but he refuses to take it furthur untill she consents. If you actively give this show the concideration it deserves you will see there is a lot of positives that can be taken from it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byfirstavenger11 February 12, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Game of thrones

Random Sex scenes
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMross April 17, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Gritty, depends on the TEEN!

OK. let me start by saying this SHOULD NOT be viewed by anyone under 13. if your child is 13 and pretty mature, let him/her watch it. the problem is if you shelter your child forever they wont learn anything. but if they have never seen F bombs dropped, graphic nudity, and heavy violence....... they shouldn't watch it. chances are most 13 year old will not even get the plot. this show has heavy political themes that will just go over some peoples heads. but the world of game of thrones is immersing and detailed, and plain epic. if your child has been sticking to barbie, toy story, and thinks they are a badass for watching a pg-13 movie, don't throw them into this. but if you child is comfortable with nudity, rape, gore, violence, and understands basic political matters, it will immerse this select few greatly. personally i haven't seen a better show since Dollhouse and Rome.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byTrying2BagoodMOM April 18, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not appropriate for children or adults

The sex in the movie is sometimes pornographic. There is gay sex, lesbian sex, incestual sex, and violent sex. Not appropriate in some scenes even for adults. I am not watching any more episodes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 18, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

It Depends On The Child............

I watched a couple of episodes and I am now reading the book series (A Song of Ice and Fire) and I'm loving it! I'm 10 and I'm perfectly fine watching/reading it. Although it does have a lot of sex and nudity but if you rather not see those scenes, then I suggest you either shouldn't watch it or just skip those scenes. There is violence but it really depends on the child, I'm okay watching/playing video games/reading violence but not every kid is like that. And I do agree with some other comments, it does have unnecessary sex, but the TV show is based on the books so I guess HBO tried to make it like the books as much as possible.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byfuschia May 6, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Selling sex does not make for quality.

I love fantasy but a good story line doesn't need to use sexism, rape, and tries to portray and emphisize very twisted views of sex in a positive and attractive way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byLaoiseMc April 28, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

On the contrary..give it a shot!

Although violence and language are a part of this series, it also promotes positive role models for example Lord Eddard Stark, who represents honesty, goodness, and always doing what is right, not to mention, his undying love for his wife and children. So although the tv series explores some dark areas it also explores the light. It is a fantastic series, not to be written off. Based on a fantastic book series, it stays true to it, word for word!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byD.R.A August 7, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A Game of Thrones - Strongly Recommend (ages 15+)

A Terrific and entertaining story line that gives many insights into European medieval politics as well as having been filmed in breathtaking locations around the world. This is an astonishingly good Fantasy series, the Best I have ever seen. It is "Iffy" for children, and that is an individual parents call, but definitely not for prepubescent members of the family. Graphic Nudity, Strong Language and Graphic Violence. Despite these signs of worry, there are quite a few useful messages and good role models in the series. For example it shows how Honor is something that is earned not taken or bought however it also shows that it will not necessarily help one live longer or survive. It shows some people doing good for goods sake, for it is the right thing to do, not because it will help them in the Long run. This is clearly shown by Eddard Stark. From a message/meaning point of view it is very "Rustic". It shows life as it can be: Tough, Unfair and Dangerous. It does not decorate or over emphasis good or evil, it shows the world for what it is: Filled with people, some doing good others bad, and that does not necessarily have anything to do with weather "Fate" or "God" or "Karma" or whatever form of spiritual retribution/Blessing you believe in. This I believe ads a greatly needed aspect of realism to the Fantasy. It will not directly encourage neither good nor bad behavior, I believe - It leaves that sort of stuff to the audience, they decide who and why they support/respect in the series. This is because there is little clear cut GOOD or BAD, like life. An unrivaled fantasy series that will have you bitting your nails and sitting on the edge of your seat for a lot of the time. Definitely recommend anyone aged 15 and above to see this.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJediZing May 3, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Not for younger viewers

Its a great series but keep in mind it is not made for childrens entertainment. This is an adults show. This show has lots of rape, anal sex, death, decapitation, blood and gore. Wouldnt recommend to children, let them keep their innocence for a while longer
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old September 7, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Too violent for kids

Not for kids! There's some violence, female nudity and very strong language and drinking.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byPrincessCharmed797 August 2, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Game of THRONES

Game of Thrones was a Good drama series.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages