All member reviews for Game of Thrones

Common Sense Media says

Artful fantasy series heavy on sexuality and violence.
 

Users say

(out of 144 reviews)
age 16+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written byRenaissancemama May 16, 2011
 

Parents should have been warned!!

I have been watching this with my almost 14 year old son who loves anything to do with knights, medieval life, battles and armor. However there is way way too much graphic sex in this series to make it comfortable for a kid his age to watch, especially with his MOM right there. But more than this - the show airs on Sunday nights at 9 (still pretty early) and there is NO warning for parents, no hint that there is going to be graphic sexual scenes. The last episode ( 5-15) features a scene with more full sexual activity plus full full frontal nudity for the woman and the man (albeit for one quick second) but still...this show has such a good story line - the sex is gratuitous and unecessary. The makers could hinted at sex between characters more subtley but instead seem to enjoy making parents squirm. I am no prude but I wish there had been a rating on this and a much much later hour!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old June 18, 2012
 

It Depends On The Child............

I watched a couple of episodes and I am now reading the book series (A Song of Ice and Fire) and I'm loving it! I'm 10 and I'm perfectly fine watching/reading it. Although it does have a lot of sex and nudity but if you rather not see those scenes, then I suggest you either shouldn't watch it or just skip those scenes. There is violence but it really depends on the child, I'm okay watching/playing video games/reading violence but not every kid is like that. And I do agree with some other comments, it does have unnecessary sex, but the TV show is based on the books so I guess HBO tried to make it like the books as much as possible.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byTrying2BagoodMOM April 18, 2013
 

Not appropriate for children or adults

The sex in the movie is sometimes pornographic. There is gay sex, lesbian sex, incestual sex, and violent sex. Not appropriate in some scenes even for adults. I am not watching any more episodes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byPuddleglum March 4, 2013
 

Addictive, but disappointing

First of all, I'm pretty shocked to see how many kids (and parents who have watched with their kids) have reviewed this show. Let's be clear: It is not for anyone under 18. This show has a fantastic plot and interesting characters, but unfortunately can't go 5 minutes without someone being beheaded, having sex or cursing. The sex is more graphic (and frequent) than some softcore porn, the language is such that a sailor would wince (f*** and c*** ,among others, pop up often), the violence is graphic and disturbing, the positive role models are scarce. Nudity and sex are absolutely fine when called for, but it really disappointed me how chauvenistic and sexually one sided it ended up being. Every single woman on the show between the ages of 18 and 35 appears naked at least once (and that is not an exaggeration). The sex is very graphic and almost always one sided (male nudity was shown less than a handful of times per season where female nudity was shown several times per episode). The show relies heavily on shock value (a 7 or 8 year old child sucking on the nipple of a character supposed to be his mother, a man who "marries" and has sex with his underage daughters then "marries" and has sex with their underage daughters, etc.) to the point where it is predictable and expected. It's sad because the show has many merits...I just wish they would realize that women (and apparently 13 year old kids) watch this show, too. To summarize: Not in a million years acceptable for kids. Acceptable only for adults who want to see a really interesting story play out and can handle watching repeated scenes of rape, incest, graphic nudity, graphic sex, torture, gruesome deaths, mutilation and prostitution.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byzazmopepperz April 26, 2011
 

Iffy for ages 15- 17

Game of Thrones is quite a slow, dull show at first, but when you watch you second episode you can really get into the characters and the story. I haven't read the book, I'm hate reading to be honest but I bet it's a good book from what I've seen so far in the Tv series. Now down to the iffy stuff, two blonde characters were exiled from the seven kingdoms, they are brother and sister. The brother forces his sister to marry a leader of a savage tribe so they can invade the great kingdoms and be the king. Obviously he is a real d--k to his sister and she often (against her will) has to have sex with the tribe leader for his brothers will. The sex is probably the most graphic part of the series, there is some strong language and rare (but gory) violence. I'm 15 and my brother lets me watch the show but my parents probably wouldn't let me watch it until I was 18. However I think the show is appropriate for 15-year-olds.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written bytheanonbanana April 1, 2014
 

Great Show - ... Not for kids.

Alright- so, being a senior in high school, one could imagine that I have heard at least once (well- in my case at least 8 times) someone tell me: "Watch Game of Thrones! It's an amazing show!" - I was warned that a lot of the episodes had a fair amount of sex and violence, but the story and artistry in the show compensate for that fact. So- I tried giving the show a try. I admit- I fell in love with the show at first, the characters were so believable, the setting was that of medieval times, the plot so complex - overall, very addicting! I was slightly disturbed by the amount of unnecessary graphic sex in the show- but due to my interest in the plot, I just pushed it aside and just took it as part of the story. Well- I made it to about the 7th episode in the first season until I came to the conclusion that perhaps I shouldn't be watching "Game of Thrones." I found that the excessive sex and violence in the show was desensitizing me - thinking to myself: "I'm only 17, why am I exposing myself to these things?" Along with this- I also realized that my parents would probably not approve of what I was watching - if my parents were in the room, I'd definitively not feel comfortable with them sitting there watching with me - therefore, it's not something I should allow myself to watch, even though I am alone. Yes- the plot is great, and I was really interested in the show- but I'm going to hold off on watching it until I'm older. It's not appropriate for people my age- parents should think carefully about what they are exposing their children to before allowing them to watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written bykaratekid1372 March 26, 2013
 

Know your child...

This show is great for anybody interested in the Fantasy genre. The writing is witty and realistic; the acting is superb. The cinematography is oscar-worthy and the plot is complex, but engaging. There is some harsh language (f*ck, c*nt, ect.); The violence, though kind of infrequent, is rather gory; The sex is graphic; and the nudity... let's just say, not a heck of a lot is left to the imagination. Ultimately, I'd say know your child... Some mature thirteen year olds will be able to handle this material, no matter how graphic. Some thirty year olds can't... it depends on the person. Growing up in 21st century America, I know my kids are exposed to most of this material on a daily basis in school, on the bus, etc. etc. They are good kids and no matter what they see on television, they don't really change. Other kids are more sensitive...
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byfuschia May 6, 2012
 

Selling sex does not make for quality.

I love fantasy but a good story line doesn't need to use sexism, rape, and tries to portray and emphisize very twisted views of sex in a positive and attractive way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLemwell June 3, 2013
 

Your kids maturity matters

The show has a lot of sex in season 1, Less in 2, and very little in 3. Think about your kids maturity not their age. If you know your kid is fine with swarming a lot then ignore that part. I don't aware and I've watched the whole series. And for sex it's because of the books. It's always been really important in the books and for those of us who've read them we understand why it necessary. I skip the sex and recommend that everybody else unless its important does too. I know many people of all age who watch it and just know that the sex is usually done by bad people. The good people just die. Very realistic amazing show watch ep. 1 then if too much sex be ready to skip practically all of season 1. Season 2 is just nudity.
Adult Written byTrisLallana May 28, 2011
 

One of the best, most epic Television series of all time.

The show is brilliant, based on a brilliant book; an epic tale with quite simply the best casting I've ever seen in a televised series. On the subject of the sex; it's there to shock, in all it's gritty realism. Wait until a scene where a member of the primitive "tribe" is shown how to be a gentle lover; it's really quite moving. Yes, the violence is shocking, but again; it's gritty and realistic which adds to the enthralling nature of the brilliant screen writing, acting and scripting. I watch this with my 13-year old brother when he stays round, and he loves it; not for the sex or the violence, but for the same reasons I do; the epic setting, storyline and suspense. My brother is very mature when it comes to things that are judged to be "unsuitable" for his age, but every youngling is different. I do have to mention, however, that to give a series the lowest rating for sex/violence rather than the storyline, characters and scriptwriting is quite dismissive (:
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written byMary Patricia April 30, 2011
 

Engaging, but not for kids

Game of Thrones is an adult series, which is graphically interesting with a surprisingly engaging narrative. The setting, timing, and themes of rivalry between different kingdoms, and rivalry within each kingdom, would appeal to children 8 and above. However, the violence and sex are just not appropriate until 17 and beyond. All sex has been depicted from behind only, and in a very aggressive way. One couple engaging in consensual sex are brother and sister. There is lots of conversation about whoring and drinking among the two moral main characters, although one seems to have a positive marriage.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byinnocenteyes13 July 6, 2012
 

Reality Check

I can't help feeling the websites review is biased and igores the positive aspects of the show. Firstly the languange and violence it condemns is hardly extreme. The violence compared to that in the popular 15 rated Resident Evil series is tame. Aside from a few counts of the C word the language is far from excessive and the complaint that the F word is out of place given the medieval-esq setting is completely unfounded, having an extensive background in historical and classical research I can assure you that you will find the term scrawled on walls and in litterature dating as far back as the bath houses of Pompeii. Critism of the drinking is also largely unfounded, the drinking is done by adults and generally not to excess and when that line is crossed the characters suffer for it. The role models in this show are also fantastic even although the reviewer has clearly chosen not to take this into account. Tyrion Lannister is possibly the best role model there has ever been in film and litterature for dwarfs in particular who are usually presented as less than human. He uses his intellegence to compensate for his stature and refuses to let his situation tear him down. The main female characters in his show are also very empowered and strong and there is positive portrayal of non standard gender and sexuality. On the whole the characters all stay true to themselves and their beliefs and morals and manage to overcome that which is sent against them which are definately three of the most important qualities we try to instill in children. This show has also triumphed by turning millions of fans onto G R R Martin's fantastic book series upon which the show is based, a series which stands as quite possibly the greatest modern achievement within the fantasy genre. In fact the only problem in terms of younger viewers is the sexual content which is the reason I would advise caution with under sixteens but even this is not that bad. There is actually more sexualised nudity than there is actual sexual content. The prostitues in this show are also presented more as fiesty escorts having chosen their lifestyle as opposed to presentation as trafficked women or victims and this does lead to a good oppourtunity to discuss many of these issues. Lastly the "rape scene" between Drogo and Daenarys is not even a rape scene at all, watch it again or read it in the actual book, he undresses her yes but he refuses to take it furthur untill she consents. If you actively give this show the concideration it deserves you will see there is a lot of positives that can be taken from it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMross April 17, 2012
 

Gritty, depends on the TEEN!

OK. let me start by saying this SHOULD NOT be viewed by anyone under 13. if your child is 13 and pretty mature, let him/her watch it. the problem is if you shelter your child forever they wont learn anything. but if they have never seen F bombs dropped, graphic nudity, and heavy violence....... they shouldn't watch it. chances are most 13 year old will not even get the plot. this show has heavy political themes that will just go over some peoples heads. but the world of game of thrones is immersing and detailed, and plain epic. if your child has been sticking to barbie, toy story, and thinks they are a badass for watching a pg-13 movie, don't throw them into this. but if you child is comfortable with nudity, rape, gore, violence, and understands basic political matters, it will immerse this select few greatly. personally i haven't seen a better show since Dollhouse and Rome.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byTodd . December 19, 2012
 

Amazing for everyone

I read A song of Ice and Fire when i was twelve, and have seen the show also. Many people talk about how the violence and sex are unnecessary, but it is not. If you had read the books you would understand that all those parts are necessary to show the relationships between the characters. George R.R. Martin also tries, and succeeds, to make a utterly realistic world. In real life sex and violence happen, often with no sympathy at all.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymulbytime April 12, 2012
 

Very Artistic, Horrifyingly Realistic

This show is fantastic! It is my favorite show of all time. It is by far the smartest fantasy story out there. That being said, the sex in this show is very pervasive. There has been at least one sex scene in every episode. However, unlike many people have said, the sex is very important to the story. You have to remember that Game of Thrones is a very artistic show. Both George R.R. Martin and HBO work to make the viewing/reading the most realistic it could be. For example, much of the sex is in a whorehouse. But if you think about it, prostitutes on the job wouldn't be just sitting around, looking proper. No! They would be doing their job. As for the violence, there are many very graphic scenes. But that's not the worst part. The worst part is that the writer, George R.R. Martin, doesn't care about killing off characters. He uses it basically as a writing mechanic, and doesn't care about how people will react. As shocking and horrifying as these deaths are, they are the parts that got me hooked on the show! If this was a movie, I believe it would be rated the rating just above R. However, you must keep in mind that it is a successful effort to make the show feel more realistic. I love this show because of the great acting, the amazing story, and all the little detail that make this show what it is. This is not a show you want to miss out on!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bysireatalot December 7, 2011
 

Depends on the kid

Yes, it's violent. Yes, there is too much unnecessary graphic sex. But once you get past that, it's a great story. I watch on a computer as I have to stream from the US to Australia. I also have the common sense to fast-forward stuff that's just too inappropriate. I'm pretty mature for my age, and I can deal with realistic violence. So get to know your kids I guess, but don't be turned off a great show
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bymoviemadness October 26, 2011
 

Medieval Show is a Winner -NOT for kids

Game of Thrones is complicated, sumptuous, and a great followup for series like The Lord of the Rings, The Pillars of the Earth, and the like. The storyline is complicated and rich, the interplay between the policies, desires, and intermarriages of the various kingdoms is realistic and thoughtful. As great as the story is, and as much of a draw as it will be for fantasy buffs, it is not for children, nor for most adults. Game of Thrones is horrifically violent, graphically sexual, and deals with subject matter that is very very mature (including incest, sexual violence, the extreme harshness of the medieval ages, and the chilling, capricious, will of power-drunk men). Not at all for teenagers of any age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byFalls Apart September 23, 2011
 

Amazing Show

I read the books and absolutely loved them, and the TV show just brought it to life. It's true that it has language "problems", but those just make the dialogue more realistic. True, some curses weren't around then, but if they talked in medieval English, we wouldn't understand them; it was pretty much a different language back then. Besides, most were. And, yes, there is graphic sexual and violent content, but that adds a sense of realism to the show. Why is it necessary to "hint at" things when it's on an HBO show based on an adult book series clearly geared towards adults? That's not to say, of course, that it can't be enjoyed by non-adults; I enjoyed it personally and can't wait to let my younger siblings in on the fun. My only complaint is that sometimes the sexual content detracts from the show by being blatantly fanservice-driven rather than expository. Other than that, though, (and the horrible casting of Shae), it was amazing! Five stars, two thumbs up, show to anyone who loves fantasy and can handle a bit of grit.
Adult Written bySunnyZim January 11, 2014
 

Not worth the mental scarring

I love fantasy. I love history. With that in mind, I watched the first 20 minutes of the first episode and could not bring myself to go any further. The graphic violence I could probably handle, being a huge fan of series like Band of Brothers etc, but the graphic sex and nudity, including incest was disgusting, unnecessary and degrading to women. Seriously don't bother. Watch Lord of the Rings instead.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old September 7, 2012
 

Too violent for kids

Not for kids! There's some violence, female nudity and very strong language and drinking.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages