Common Sense Media says

Artful fantasy series heavy on sexuality and violence.

Users say

(out of 203 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Adult Written bymaxale.x June 30, 2015

MUST READ.

I'm 11 and I never realised how bad this was! Theres so much sex and violence in it, I was nearly sick when I saw the sex scenes, you see the upper half of the body and the lower half, on both, a boy and a girl! There's loads of sex! I only watched it because I saw videos of it and I thought it looked cool but when I watched it, i thought again. It's a good tv show and it's got a good story but there's way too much sex in it. THE LANGUAGE IS VERY BAD! they use c**t! n***a, f**k and much more!! and that is not appropriate. No wonder why it's rated 18.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bydainkonon April 5, 2015

fantastic

Fantastic series. It has some bad language (5-6 words per episode, like fuck, shit, cunt) Lots of graffic violance. It makes this show realy good. Series has not much sex of nudity. S1 - lots of sex, nudity S2 - 3-4 sex scenes, nudity S3 - nudity S4 - 1 sex scene and some nudity It is good for kids since 15 years of age
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bysusanna December 31, 2014
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byrosa24601 May 19, 2013

If you can handle it

I'm 15, although quite mature for my age, and I love the show. The violence, language and whatever else don't bother me. I watch it online as I'm from the UK and skip the sex scenes. I think anyone from 14 up who can deal with the darker themes are fine to watch the show. Anyone younger may not even understand the plot, as it does get quite complex. I've also just started to read the books and love them. The reason the show does contain so much sex, violence and profanity is simply that the books are written that way. And if you read the books, you can understand that it does in fact contribute to the plot. Plus it's HBO, what do you expect?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byTamithy April 7, 2013

Fishfingers and Incest

This is one of the best TV shows of all time but is absolutely not suitable for anyone under the age of 15. There is frequent sexual violence and instances of incest. I was prompted to give this review after a colleague of mine had suggested that his 8 year old nephew might enjoy it, causing me to almost choke to death on a fishfinger.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bydebbyakamom April 1, 2012

MY FAVORITE SERIES EVER!!!!

IT IS JUST A FANTASY SERIES LIKE HARRY POTTER OR LORD OF THE RINGS, EXCEPT IT ISDEFINITELY NOT FOR LITTLE ONES. MAYBE 16-18 & UP, DEPENDING ON THEIR COMMON SCENE & KNOWLEDGE
Teen, 15 years old Written byWr4ithSl4yer January 1, 2012

Good Show, bad people

You should watch this but with your kids before they watch it, I am three episodes in and will post more when finished
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byJ-Yo September 30, 2011

I Want to Play A Game of Thrones

A very artistic television show. Definitely not for anyone 16 or under. I'm 17, I was able to handle most of the material, but some violent parts still made me queasy (the sex was a little gratuitous at times, but it could be worse). Aside from violence, the story is very engaging. The four different plot lines are seemingly unrelated in the beginning, but soon intertwine and depend on each other in ways I didn't see coming. The characters are well-developed in a world that was masterfully created and realized. Plus it has a catchy title. "A Game of Thrones." Just say it. You'll feel cool.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byPoppy.bath July 11, 2016

OMG NOOOOOOOO......

I watched less than five minutes of an episode on a recent flight and OMG In this time a man tried to rape a girl then killed her by slitting her throat!!!! ahhhhhhhHH!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 17 year old Written byJoe4782 June 19, 2016

Good for Teens

Game of Thrones is an excellent show with Strong, Graphic, Brutal Violence and gore. Examples are decapitation, disembowlment, suicide. In most scenes we see blood spurting, bones cracking with descriptive detail and heavy sound effects. Other scenes of violence consist of people being poisoned ( they're later shown vomiting up blood violently), creatures being stabbed with greenish/blue blood (sometimes red) spewing. We see dead bodies (implied to be hung) with bloodshot eyes, tinged blue bodies, and twisted necks. Sometimes we see people being hung and we see people standing (on a treebranch, table, roof, etc.) with a rope around their neck (as they scream, yell, cry, beg for mercy) and we see them jump, as we hear crunching sounds and see their limp bodies dangle from a rope. We see people disembowled with a sword and/or knife. We see guts and intestines spill onto the ground. Strong language is frequent. Words such as F--k, sh-t, p---y, d--k, h--l and a-- are used frequently. Words like c--t, fa---t, and wh--e are used more infrequently and not as often. People are Frequently shown smoking pipes full of Tabacco. Sexual content is present but brief (Season 1- 4 sex scenes; about 4-5seconds each. Season 2- 3 sex scenes about 3-4 seconds each. Season 3- 1 sex scene that lasts about 10 seconds long; nothing is shown for the first 6 seconds as people hear them outside of a door; the other 4 seconds show two people under the covers as they get up with nothing shown; except the man's buttocks, and a woman in lingerine. The noises in this scene can be graphic, but they are interuppted after about 5-6 seconds. Season 4- 2 sex scenes. Season 5- 1 sex scene. Season 6-2 sex scenes.) Sex scenes aren't graphic. We mostly see the facial expressions of the people. We sometimes see very brief thrusting and hear moaning but it's very infrequent (once/twice per season) and mostly brief and non-graphic. Nudity is present ( not frequent and not graphic) We see bare breasts about 4 times per season but it is either brief ( 1-2 seconds) or shown in the background. (at crowded clubs) So far, the most graphic instance of nudity has been when we see a woman's bare breast for 5 seconds ( non-sexual ) as she breast-feeds her infant child. Her older son ( later told that he was 5 years old) then begins to suck on the mother's breast ( 3 seconds; before he is stopped by his mother) It is later said that he was curious and thought it was okay. The scene isn't graphic in nature, it just shows the young boy's curiousity. Graphic nudity is shown three times throughout the series.(for less than 3 seconds) as we see a dead body ( detail is hidden by snow; but genitals are briefly visible) A man is tortured in a dark dungeon ( genitals are shown as he crouches in a corner for about 2 seconds, easy to miss) A pale creature's CGI penis is show briefly (10 seconds) as he replaces his armor. ( The penis is cartoonish and fake looking; and is easy to miss due to dim lighting) Nudity is never shown in a sexual manner. Sexual References are made ( never graphic or descriptive) The worst sexual reference made ( season 4; episode 3) is when a teenage boy says " I want to f--k her hard." His mother then slaps him and that is the end of it. Some scenes may be intense for children (killings, beatings, torture) but nothing frightening or scary. Overall: Rated TV-MA for Strong Graphic Violence, Gore, Some Sexual Content, Some Nudity, Brief Male Nudity, Strong Language and Some Intense Content. Appropriate for 14+. Similiar Content to Movies Such as: Troy, Gladiator, and Vikings (Tv show).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byBlueSensible June 4, 2016

Horrendous-should have mature rating XXX

Porn. Promotes Violence against women. Rape, Incest, you name it it is there. Violence against men. Violence against kids. Needs to be cleaned up or thrown out. Not helping our country.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byHUGOMANHD April 20, 2016

Great for lil kids

This educational show is great! Kids only watch cuz of sex btw
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byassdrgyhjbhyhn February 11, 2016

GAME OF THRONES IS So good

If you are not an idiot and you are mature than watch it. It is so good trust me. My parents were not sure and it is inappropriate but it has an incredible gripping and enjoyable story line
Parent of a 12 year old Written byDublin Parent January 13, 2016

Excellent series for Adults

This is a really entertaining series for Adults, with complex themes and complex plots. However, it is definitely not suitable for children under 18 with high levels of violence (rape and murder are depicted graphically but in tune with the setting) and sex.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byMelanieGreaves October 13, 2015

Maturity matters, not age

Myself, I love horror and gore, and you do have to be mature to handle those things. Game of Thrones isn't scary, in my opinion, but it does have a lot of graphic sex, including lesbian, gay, incestual and heterosexual. You see full frontals of women and occasionally see a man's penis. Some say all of this is unnecessary but do you not know what the internet is? The writer of the books says it'd be dishonest to just center the story on war, when really in the wars there'd be rape, sex and all of this other stuff. Some would say it's disturbing, but you can just skip past because the story is amazingly well written and the idea just makes up for everything. Also, there's tons of gore, but it's not as bad. Oh and one last thing, don't have a favourite character, a lot die. Finally, your child's maturity matters. I watch it alone, I have been since I was 11. It's just less awkward :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old June 30, 2015

An 11-year old's review

My 9-year old brothers and I absolutely love this show. However, I think just watching the first episode will give you an idea of what this show is like.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old December 25, 2014

Amazing tv show, rating says it all

Contains very strong language, sex, sex references, sexual violence, bloody violence, bloody images, threat gore, violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byJasonMovie December 1, 2014

Half Porn

Graphic Violence more graphic than an R rated movie. Nudity and people having sex. each other gay or strait. Tons of harsh language and charecters drink and smoke sometimes
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byAerlo November 8, 2014

You win or you die

Game of Thrones is an absolutely amazing show. I started watching it back when i was 14 as well reading the books, without any problems with neither the sex or violence. If you are ready (or think your kids are) and mature enough to understand the story and truly enjoy the show without being disturbed by the nudity and violence, then go watch it! Game of Thrones IS one of the best shows made in a long, long time. But it might be little awkward to watch with your parents (or kids). Otherwise - Grab some popcorn and make a marathon asap!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 10, 12, and 15 year old Written bymmp October 28, 2014

I love game of thrones

I personally love the show, but I feel it is not appropriate for kids. There is to much sexuality and blood and gore.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages