Common Sense Media says

Artful fantasy series heavy on sexuality and violence.

Users say

(out of 205 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written byRenaissancemama May 16, 2011

Parents should have been warned!!

I have been watching this with my almost 14 year old son who loves anything to do with knights, medieval life, battles and armor. However there is way way too much graphic sex in this series to make it comfortable for a kid his age to watch, especially with his MOM right there. But more than this - the show airs on Sunday nights at 9 (still pretty early) and there is NO warning for parents, no hint that there is going to be graphic sexual scenes. The last episode ( 5-15) features a scene with more full sexual activity plus full full frontal nudity for the woman and the man (albeit for one quick second) but still...this show has such a good story line - the sex is gratuitous and unecessary. The makers could hinted at sex between characters more subtley but instead seem to enjoy making parents squirm. I am no prude but I wish there had been a rating on this and a much much later hour!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byTrying2BagoodMOM April 18, 2013

Not appropriate for children or adults

The sex in the movie is sometimes pornographic. There is gay sex, lesbian sex, incestual sex, and violent sex. Not appropriate in some scenes even for adults. I am not watching any more episodes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bytheanonbanana April 1, 2014

Great Show - ... Not for kids.

Alright- so, being a senior in high school, one could imagine that I have heard at least once (well- in my case at least 8 times) someone tell me: "Watch Game of Thrones! It's an amazing show!" - I was warned that a lot of the episodes had a fair amount of sex and violence, but the story and artistry in the show compensate for that fact. So- I tried giving the show a try. I admit- I fell in love with the show at first, the characters were so believable, the setting was that of medieval times, the plot so complex - overall, very addicting! I was slightly disturbed by the amount of unnecessary graphic sex in the show- but due to my interest in the plot, I just pushed it aside and just took it as part of the story. Well- I made it to about the 7th episode in the first season until I came to the conclusion that perhaps I shouldn't be watching "Game of Thrones." I found that the excessive sex and violence in the show was desensitizing me - thinking to myself: "I'm only 17, why am I exposing myself to these things?" Along with this- I also realized that my parents would probably not approve of what I was watching - if my parents were in the room, I'd definitively not feel comfortable with them sitting there watching with me - therefore, it's not something I should allow myself to watch, even though I am alone. Yes- the plot is great, and I was really interested in the show- but I'm going to hold off on watching it until I'm older. It's not appropriate for people my age- parents should think carefully about what they are exposing their children to before allowing them to watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written bykaratekid1372 March 26, 2013

Know your child...

This show is great for anybody interested in the Fantasy genre. The writing is witty and realistic; the acting is superb. The cinematography is oscar-worthy and the plot is complex, but engaging. There is some harsh language (f*ck, c*nt, ect.); The violence, though kind of infrequent, is rather gory; The sex is graphic; and the nudity... let's just say, not a heck of a lot is left to the imagination. Ultimately, I'd say know your child... Some mature thirteen year olds will be able to handle this material, no matter how graphic. Some thirty year olds can't... it depends on the person. Growing up in 21st century America, I know my kids are exposed to most of this material on a daily basis in school, on the bus, etc. etc. They are good kids and no matter what they see on television, they don't really change. Other kids are more sensitive...
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byPuddleglum March 4, 2013

Addictive, but disappointing

First of all, I'm pretty shocked to see how many kids (and parents who have watched with their kids) have reviewed this show. Let's be clear: It is not for anyone under 18. This show has a fantastic plot and interesting characters, but unfortunately can't go 5 minutes without someone being beheaded, having sex or cursing. The sex is more graphic (and frequent) than some softcore porn, the language is such that a sailor would wince (f--k and c--t ,among others, pop up often), the violence is graphic and disturbing, the positive role models are scarce. Nudity and sex are absolutely fine when called for, but it really disappointed me how chauvenistic and sexually one sided it ended up being. Every single woman on the show between the ages of 18 and 35 appears naked at least once (and that is not an exaggeration). The sex is very graphic and almost always one sided (male nudity was shown less than a handful of times per season where female nudity was shown several times per episode). The show relies heavily on shock value (a 7 or 8 year old child sucking on the nipple of a character supposed to be his mother, a man who "marries" and has sex with his underage daughters then "marries" and has sex with their underage daughters, etc.) to the point where it is predictable and expected. It's sad because the show has many merits...I just wish they would realize that women (and apparently 13 year old kids) watch this show, too. To summarize: Not in a million years acceptable for kids. Acceptable only for adults who want to see a really interesting story play out and can handle watching repeated scenes of rape, incest, graphic nudity, graphic sex, torture, gruesome deaths, mutilation and prostitution.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byfuschia May 6, 2012

Selling sex does not make for quality.

I love fantasy but a good story line doesn't need to use sexism, rape, and tries to portray and emphisize very twisted views of sex in a positive and attractive way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTrisLallana May 28, 2011

One of the best, most epic Television series of all time.

The show is brilliant, based on a brilliant book; an epic tale with quite simply the best casting I've ever seen in a televised series. On the subject of the sex; it's there to shock, in all it's gritty realism. Wait until a scene where a member of the primitive "tribe" is shown how to be a gentle lover; it's really quite moving. Yes, the violence is shocking, but again; it's gritty and realistic which adds to the enthralling nature of the brilliant screen writing, acting and scripting. I watch this with my 13-year old brother when he stays round, and he loves it; not for the sex or the violence, but for the same reasons I do; the epic setting, storyline and suspense. My brother is very mature when it comes to things that are judged to be "unsuitable" for his age, but every youngling is different. I do have to mention, however, that to give a series the lowest rating for sex/violence rather than the storyline, characters and scriptwriting is quite dismissive (:
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byinnocenteyes13 July 6, 2012

Reality Check

I can't help feeling the websites review is biased and igores the positive aspects of the show. Firstly the languange and violence it condemns is hardly extreme. The violence compared to that in the popular 15 rated Resident Evil series is tame. Aside from a few counts of the C word the language is far from excessive and the complaint that the F word is out of place given the medieval-esq setting is completely unfounded, having an extensive background in historical and classical research I can assure you that you will find the term scrawled on walls and in litterature dating as far back as the bath houses of Pompeii. Critism of the drinking is also largely unfounded, the drinking is done by adults and generally not to excess and when that line is crossed the characters suffer for it. The role models in this show are also fantastic even although the reviewer has clearly chosen not to take this into account. Tyrion Lannister is possibly the best role model there has ever been in film and litterature for dwarfs in particular who are usually presented as less than human. He uses his intellegence to compensate for his stature and refuses to let his situation tear him down. The main female characters in his show are also very empowered and strong and there is positive portrayal of non standard gender and sexuality. On the whole the characters all stay true to themselves and their beliefs and morals and manage to overcome that which is sent against them which are definately three of the most important qualities we try to instill in children. This show has also triumphed by turning millions of fans onto G R R Martin's fantastic book series upon which the show is based, a series which stands as quite possibly the greatest modern achievement within the fantasy genre. In fact the only problem in terms of younger viewers is the sexual content which is the reason I would advise caution with under sixteens but even this is not that bad. There is actually more sexualised nudity than there is actual sexual content. The prostitues in this show are also presented more as fiesty escorts having chosen their lifestyle as opposed to presentation as trafficked women or victims and this does lead to a good oppourtunity to discuss many of these issues. Lastly the "rape scene" between Drogo and Daenarys is not even a rape scene at all, watch it again or read it in the actual book, he undresses her yes but he refuses to take it furthur untill she consents. If you actively give this show the concideration it deserves you will see there is a lot of positives that can be taken from it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLemwell June 3, 2013

Your kids maturity matters

The show has a lot of sex in season 1, Less in 2, and very little in 3. Think about your kids maturity not their age. If you know your kid is fine with swarming a lot then ignore that part. I don't aware and I've watched the whole series. And for sex it's because of the books. It's always been really important in the books and for those of us who've read them we understand why it necessary. I skip the sex and recommend that everybody else unless its important does too. I know many people of all age who watch it and just know that the sex is usually done by bad people. The good people just die. Very realistic amazing show watch ep. 1 then if too much sex be ready to skip practically all of season 1. Season 2 is just nudity.
Adult Written bySunnyZim January 11, 2014

Not worth the mental scarring

I love fantasy. I love history. With that in mind, I watched the first 20 minutes of the first episode and could not bring myself to go any further. The graphic violence I could probably handle, being a huge fan of series like Band of Brothers etc, but the graphic sex and nudity, including incest was disgusting, unnecessary and degrading to women. Seriously don't bother. Watch Lord of the Rings instead.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byzazmopepperz April 26, 2011

Iffy for ages 15- 17

Game of Thrones is quite a slow, dull show at first, but when you watch you second episode you can really get into the characters and the story. I haven't read the book, I'm hate reading to be honest but I bet it's a good book from what I've seen so far in the Tv series. Now down to the iffy stuff, two blonde characters were exiled from the seven kingdoms, they are brother and sister. The brother forces his sister to marry a leader of a savage tribe so they can invade the great kingdoms and be the king. Obviously he is a real d--k to his sister and she often (against her will) has to have sex with the tribe leader for his brothers will. The sex is probably the most graphic part of the series, there is some strong language and rare (but gory) violence. I'm 15 and my brother lets me watch the show but my parents probably wouldn't let me watch it until I was 18. However I think the show is appropriate for 15-year-olds.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byTodd . December 19, 2012

Amazing for everyone

I read A song of Ice and Fire when i was twelve, and have seen the show also. Many people talk about how the violence and sex are unnecessary, but it is not. If you had read the books you would understand that all those parts are necessary to show the relationships between the characters. George R.R. Martin also tries, and succeeds, to make a utterly realistic world. In real life sex and violence happen, often with no sympathy at all.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMross April 17, 2012

Gritty, depends on the TEEN!

OK. let me start by saying this SHOULD NOT be viewed by anyone under 13. if your child is 13 and pretty mature, let him/her watch it. the problem is if you shelter your child forever they wont learn anything. but if they have never seen F bombs dropped, graphic nudity, and heavy violence....... they shouldn't watch it. chances are most 13 year old will not even get the plot. this show has heavy political themes that will just go over some peoples heads. but the world of game of thrones is immersing and detailed, and plain epic. if your child has been sticking to barbie, toy story, and thinks they are a badass for watching a pg-13 movie, don't throw them into this. but if you child is comfortable with nudity, rape, gore, violence, and understands basic political matters, it will immerse this select few greatly. personally i haven't seen a better show since Dollhouse and Rome.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymoviemadness October 26, 2011

Medieval Show is a Winner -NOT for kids

Game of Thrones is complicated, sumptuous, and a great followup for series like The Lord of the Rings, The Pillars of the Earth, and the like. The storyline is complicated and rich, the interplay between the policies, desires, and intermarriages of the various kingdoms is realistic and thoughtful. As great as the story is, and as much of a draw as it will be for fantasy buffs, it is not for children, nor for most adults. Game of Thrones is horrifically violent, graphically sexual, and deals with subject matter that is very very mature (including incest, sexual violence, the extreme harshness of the medieval ages, and the chilling, capricious, will of power-drunk men). Not at all for teenagers of any age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written byMary Patricia April 30, 2011

Engaging, but not for kids

Game of Thrones is an adult series, which is graphically interesting with a surprisingly engaging narrative. The setting, timing, and themes of rivalry between different kingdoms, and rivalry within each kingdom, would appeal to children 8 and above. However, the violence and sex are just not appropriate until 17 and beyond. All sex has been depicted from behind only, and in a very aggressive way. One couple engaging in consensual sex are brother and sister. There is lots of conversation about whoring and drinking among the two moral main characters, although one seems to have a positive marriage.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bydarianr July 11, 2011

Winter is coming

This is a really good series. I absolutely loved it. But I don't think I'd let my kids watch it until they were at least 15-16 depending on maturity level. There are frequently scenes of graphic sexuality not necessary in any way, other than keeping the audience entertained during extended scenes of monologues. There is also graphic violence and intense fighting and battle. The sex and violence combine to create a fantastical hyper-reality of fantasy so I understand why they are so over the top. Just be aware of it. The story is great. There is honor and dishonor, betrayal and redemption. Can't wait for more seasons!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bypennythegreyt May 2, 2013

Great show, not kid friendly!

No one can deny that they show is great, however there are far too many "HBO Originals" if you know what I mean. There is a scene of a man watching a woman perform oral sex on a man, who is watching woman go at it with each other. In fact I'm pretty sure there have been at least on set of bare breast per episode. I applaud their choice of actresses who are never overly thin; in fact they are quite voluptuous. Apart from the sex, I think most children younger than 17 will not be able to fully enjoy the story. The story twist and turn as the characters change form and break alliances, plot against one another and engage in this "Game of Thrones" (sorry had to so it!). Most characters are not fully good or bad, they are more realistic and can be both self-serving and compassionate at the same time. It not your typical good triumphs over evil story, it is much more complex. As with anything you should watch the show on your own and decide if it is right. If it were my kid I might tell them they have to read the entire series first (5 books over 1000 pages each, plus it not finished and it could be year before its done). That way by the time they watched it they would be old enough. ;-)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byD.R.A August 7, 2012

A Game of Thrones - Strongly Recommend (ages 15+)

A Terrific and entertaining story line that gives many insights into European medieval politics as well as having been filmed in breathtaking locations around the world. This is an astonishingly good Fantasy series, the Best I have ever seen. It is "Iffy" for children, and that is an individual parents call, but definitely not for prepubescent members of the family. Graphic Nudity, Strong Language and Graphic Violence. Despite these signs of worry, there are quite a few useful messages and good role models in the series. For example it shows how Honor is something that is earned not taken or bought however it also shows that it will not necessarily help one live longer or survive. It shows some people doing good for goods sake, for it is the right thing to do, not because it will help them in the Long run. This is clearly shown by Eddard Stark. From a message/meaning point of view it is very "Rustic". It shows life as it can be: Tough, Unfair and Dangerous. It does not decorate or over emphasis good or evil, it shows the world for what it is: Filled with people, some doing good others bad, and that does not necessarily have anything to do with weather "Fate" or "God" or "Karma" or whatever form of spiritual retribution/Blessing you believe in. This I believe ads a greatly needed aspect of realism to the Fantasy. It will not directly encourage neither good nor bad behavior, I believe - It leaves that sort of stuff to the audience, they decide who and why they support/respect in the series. This is because there is little clear cut GOOD or BAD, like life. An unrivaled fantasy series that will have you bitting your nails and sitting on the edge of your seat for a lot of the time. Definitely recommend anyone aged 15 and above to see this.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byDevinR127 November 17, 2013

I love this show - but no one has mentioned all the genital mutilation

This site talks about violence, sex, and sexual violence, but now that Game of Thrones exists there should be a separate category for genital mutilation. Someone needs to say it: George R. R. Martin is positively fixated on guys getting their junk cut off. It is heavily implied that castration and emasculation are frequently used as punishment in the Seven Kingdoms. One of the main characters is a eunuch who eventually describes in detail the circumstances under which he was "cut." One of the main characters is taken captive and emasculated as a means of torture. The act of removing his penis is kept off screen (barely), but the scene when the event occurs begins with a suggestive visit from some prostitutes, implying the sexual nature of the torture to come. What has been done to him is made abundantly clear as his torturer (easily the most sadistic character on the show, and likely all of television) gleefully jokes about it and generally makes light of the situation. There is an entire army of slave warriors who, as young boys, emasculated and castrated by their masters before they begin their training. Much is made of the fact that these soldiers are "no longer men." All in all, genital mutilation is nonchalantly treated as something that "just happens," one way or another to a SIGNIFICANT portion of the world's male population. That premise is a very specific type of disgusting, and viewers should at least have some measure of forewarning before they get hooked into the show, because the plot is VERY ADDICTING, but the mutilation is VERY DISTURBING.
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski August 1, 2012

Great show, but only for adults

As with most HBO series, this one is not for children or young teens. Older teens may be drawn to it especially if they have already read the books. In my opinion after several viewings of both season 1&2, any teen younger than 17 should not be watching this show. Some teens older than 17 shouldn't watch it either, it really depends on the maturity level of your kid. It is still a great show for adults and I highly recommend the books as well.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages