All member reviews for Generator Rex

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Thoughtful sci-fi cartoon with monsters is best for tweens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 34 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bysomerandomguy March 21, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A Very Impressive Show Indeed!

I really enjoyed the first two episodes and suddenly I was hooked! It has an amazing plot to it. But it may not be right for kids, yes it may have good role models such as Rex or Agent Six but the E.V.O.S. that Rex fights may be a bit too scary for younger kids. There is quite a lot of action in each episode. Such as guns, bombs and swords.This isn't really for kids, more for tweens and teens. There could sometimes be sexual scenes such as episode 3, "Beyond the Sea", where there are girls in bikini's. Rex also tries to flirt with a girl at the beach and at the end of the episode he almost kisses her, but an E.V.O. stops them. In most of the episodes Rex flirts with Doctor Holiday, a person that takes care of him, even though she is a lot older than him.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 9 and 13 year old Written byKeishamama June 14, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good for tweens, a little scary for younger kids

Very fun show for my kids. Full of excitement and adventure but monsters might be too scary to younger kids. My 9-year-old loves it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old June 14, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

to make a long story short. there is violence involving monsters that tear stuff apart (some kind of scary). Monsters are usaullly cured or left alone, some die from time to time. I like how it is not pointless, like Ben 10. The monsters are treted LIKE people(well they pretty much are people). i strongly suggest watching it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Adult Written bysilent1 February 26, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Rex

I saw this series when it came out. Watched every episode, drew some fanart, and patiently awaited a video game. Man of Action has very nice animation styles and I am still in love with Rex. It might get a bit creepy for some kids especially that one Silent Hill inspired episode.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 8, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not as violent as depicted in summary

Although there is a lot of use of guns, swords, and other weapons, there is no blood and very few long term injuries. Some battles may be intense.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byKassidyC April 15, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Pleasantly Surprised

At first I just expected another gross out, unfunny, undeep, show incorrectly aimed at boys. But I was shocked when I found out it was actually a well written show. Of course, it's not the deepest show in the worlds. But for a scifi show on Cartoon Network aimed at children, the creators of the show did a very nice job. I give it a rating of 10 years old but (as a teen myself) it's something kids a few years older might still enjoy. It was one of the few non-immature shows airing on Cartoon Network at the time but was sadly cancelled.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old March 29, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Generator Rex

The show is really good . Recently I've not found time to watch the episodes so I will try and watch them over the internet.
Teen, 17 years old Written byBigbillyboy August 18, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I love this show!

Generator Rex is awesome! Great action,excellent animation,amazing acting,ect.This should be viewed by all CN viewers! :D
Teen, 16 years old Written byDuper_Drew August 10, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Generator Rex is so cool!

This show is one of my all time faves! There is so much action,and HUGE adventure! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 15, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

This show is cool!

I started watching this show last year in the beginning of July (which my birthday is in.) What i've seen so far i'm REALLY impressed! The animation & jokes are solid.
Kid, 8 years old January 20, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

cool show

generator rex is a very good show and a awesome super hero
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

6 and up

bad show
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byblueberryswing August 28, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great Show Anyone Can LiIke

Ofcourse shows like these are very popular with boys because they contain the energized, superhero action that they crave. Ofcourse there will be violence because Rex is a hero and it is a science fiction show, but there is no blood or gore or any graphic violence so its completely appropriate. I feel kids about 9 and up will appreciate it more. Im a girl past my pre-teens and IM hooked on this show, seriously!! The plot is very strong and the characters are fleshed out pretty well so it deserves a good rating.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bygwendolyn_10 July 14, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I hate it slightly.

Its silly.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byhorrorwoman July 7, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Little kids can watch this

This show is not violent, my 6-year-old sister likes this show, and she loves the explosions, the only harm I see is my little sister dieing of laughter.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byCreativity June 25, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Fantastic

Very good story line. The characters are very good role models, actually, and learn great lessons. Rex, in one episode, learns to not care about what others think about him and that they didn't appreciate him helping them, and helped them anyway. The EVOs could be scary to younger kids and the basic flirtations of a fifteen year old are also there. Lots of action, comedy, drama, sci-fi; it's pretty awesome. Bobo Haha, the monkey, likes to play poker for money, but it's all fun. No blood, a couple not major injuries, but it can be a little scary when regular humans turn into EVOs, especially when the hero, Rex, absorbs too many nanites and starts to evolve into one, but it's all animated and not too bad. Wonderful show, I recommend it and it has an amazing plot.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byASDFGHJKL02251 May 21, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

BEST SHOW EVER I'VE SEEN EVERY EPISODE NEW

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 25, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
i like this show.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT

Watch this every time it pops up Definelinely wont miss it staright forward awesome
Adult Written byNeyer November 19, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Watch it for longer than six minutes and ...

From the amazing creators of the original Ben 10 (the creators that aren't affiliated with Alien Force or any of this other Ben 10 garbage they show nowadays), this show is beautifully animated and has great action sequences. There are plenty of positive messages, including Rex's desire to 'cure' everyone negatively infected with the nanomachines. There are instances when he is ordered to kill the infected humans but he typically is able to rise above and cure them. It's a wonderful show and I hate missing it. Give it a bigger chance than six minutes because it's simply not a show that you can judge in such a short amount of time. *points to the review far below* Really.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models

Pages