All member reviews for Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byOff the Record March 18, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

View is Way Off the Mark

Although I will concede to the prevalence of violence and occasionally sexual images in Ghost in the Shell, the merits of the anime are completely skirted over in Common Sense Media's review. Ghost in the Shell is not your typically blood-sex-and-gore show, but makes a genuine effort to explore the theme of what, precisely, makes something human in our increasingly technological world. Even the title is a reflection of the view that the person is a 'ghost' and the body is the 'shell'. The language isn't anything that a middle school student isn't already hearing regularly, and the show promotes a positive message by showing acceptance of differences in the team's blend of cyborgs and 'naturals', and also demonstrating the characters acting to correct their past mistakes and coming to terms with themselves. The show isn't particularly confusing unless you're fairly brain dead, although it does touch on more complex philosophical concepts. However, these are not necessary to understand the plot. Overall, Ghost in the Shell is an anime with great storytelling, excellent visuals, stunning action sequences, good characterization, brilliant theme exploration, and a positive message that shouldn't be set aside because of some objectionable content.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byYdoUask April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old November 17, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

not for kids my age :(

first of all i don't watch it on [adult swim] i collect the dvds. i am a anime collector and the first 2 mins of the dvd version there was lots of blood and gore and nudity. NUDITY,NUDITY,NUDITY! and there was mild profainity like damnit or what the hell happend but from what i saw i would give this a rating R "not the adult swim version"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byNathanderdethdealer July 7, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great for more Mentally Mature Viewers and Teens

Ghost in The Shell is a popular franchise in japan, it started out as a book, a manga* to be exact, and is sold in bilingual formats, the book is borderline pornographic at points but is till amazing, i'd suggest it for those whom are 17+, but the television show, also known as anime**, is top-notch, delivering the same complex sci-fi stories, all amazingly done and truly questioning good and evil. The violence can be unnerving to some, as blood does spew out of bullet wounds and those are shown as well, but nothing quite as graphic as one would see in a slasher film. Parents should watch with their children if they are younger, to both explain and censor, they might even begin to enjoy it as well. The Protaginist, Matoko, does wear revealing clothes, and every now and then uses her feminine wiles to aid in the assigned missions, but is still a great role model as she is strong, independent, and resourceful. The verdict would be to not let your children watch unless if they have a strong understanding of right and wrong, are young, or are very susceptible to negative influences. But other than that let you teens watch away, even watch with them maybe, after all the franchise WAS the inspiration for The Matrix. *Manga is a japanese comic, some are translated into english and released into the Us e.g. Naruto, One Piece, Death Note and such. ** also known japanimation, is commonly the adaption of a popular manga into a cartoon, kknown for the bipolar runs, some being only twelve episodes to other going past the 500 mark!
Teen, 17 years old Written bysabrina123272 May 3, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
i thank the story is grate and i like muchins in it so futoristik and cool!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byyomisan April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

a good, thought provoking anime

This anime looks in depth at some philosophical aspects of life. At one point or another, there is a time when several characters begin to question the connection between life and the body. Also, female protagonist is a very strong woman who (in most American media) isn't seen much often.
Teen, 16 years old Written byotakugamer April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

great smart anime

I disagreed with the reviewer on the stars rating. This anime masterpice diserved at least 4 stars! It's a thought provoking, intelligent anime masterpiece. It can be a bit violent though. Mostly 15+ material but one which had a storyline involving videos of women being skinned alive is really disturbing and should not be viewed by children it even disturbed me. Overall a great anime for older teens but do NOT let anyone under 17 see the jungle boogie episode.
Teen, 14 years old Written byprincessoftennis April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Interesting But Contraversial

I Personnaly like the storyline of the show and the character progression but there is excessive amounts of violence, sexual referance, and language. Im Not the type of teen who is influenced by what a watch and see but i would let other kids/teens watch with discression