All member reviews for Girls

Common Sense Media says

Awkward, funny, sexy look at young women's lives.
 

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
age 16+
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byJoey Potter April 29, 2012
 

This show should be cancelled.

In the pilot, the main character drinks, gets high, tries to manipulate her parents, steals, and engages in raunchy sex. She is a despicable human being.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byKlyons14 January 1, 2013
 

Girls

Girls has to be on of my favorite shows, its funny, creative, quirky and entertaining. Its the Female Entourage, Brooklyn Sex in the City. The quality of this show is flawless. Lena Dunham's writing & acting really stands out. But the content is Mature. The majority of the show is 24 year old girls and their sexual relations. The show being on HBO makes it graphic show nudity and some uncomfortable sex scenes. The language is raw, but nothing your teenager hasn't herd, said, or could handle. There is drinking at parties but they are all of age. Overall Girls gives a lot to talk about, but its all worth it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9, 12, 15, and 17 year old Written byfamily_time December 30, 2013
 

Far from appropriate for kids.

While an excellent program, it is far from okay for kids. I don't think I'd even want my 17 year old, soon going to be out of the house, to watch this under my roof - this is the only HBO show I've seen which shows full ejaculation, which makes me wonder if I'm watching pornography sometimes. If it is pornography, it's very well-done pornography though.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 and 13 year old Written byResponibleParentOf2 December 30, 2013
 

NO!

I wasn't aware you were reviewing porn now, CSM! This show is filthy and obscene, and anyone who lets their kid watch it should have their kid taken away.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byelderprice November 12, 2014
 

Edgy, sexy and creative

This is an edgy, hipsterish, yet really engaging show. There is a lot of sexual content that may establish a certain level of uneasiness, especially for the teenage crowd. This is NOT a show that any child or teen should watch with their parents... there will be an extreme awkward ambience manifesting in your living room. Overall I think if there is anyone who is ok with sex scenes and views HBO on a regular basis, they will definitely not have any problem with this show. Lena Dunham's performance is absolutely superb. Also lets be real-- Andrew Rannells is perffffffff as Elijah Krantz (my fave supporting role) :D
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byyuri13 September 27, 2014
 
Have Sex Scenes,but they are brief. Rated R:For Strong Sexuality/Nudity,pervasive language including crude humor, and drug use
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Written byAnonymous December 7, 2012
 

A lot of sex in 10 Show. ...and they should not do 10 More. Cancel it HBO. The Network will be better.

HBO Should Cancel this show out of 2013. They put it in 2012 so this could come back on in 2013. Nope this show should be cancelled because of it's TV-MA Rating. This show is not for kids by the way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byirontap June 24, 2015
 

Very very good

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byJulia1998 November 13, 2013
 

As long as you have a mature kid, this show is good.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking