All member reviews for Greek

Common Sense Media says

College dramedy rushes to show sex, drinking.
 

Users say

(out of 17 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bylordmax April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Fun collage show.

After downloading the first eppisode from iTunes (it is free) I watched a bit of it with my sister. It is not exactly a comedy, but has its moments. There is a lot of sexual humor in this, but if you are in middle school, it is nothing new. Not many actual swears, which was supprising. This is a good show, even if the parts of collage it focuses on is a bit stereotyped.
Teen, 13 years old Written bystrawbry_blondy April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

...

Greek is one of my favorite shows!! The characters in the show are so diversed which is great! Its awesome that they actually portray someone who is gay. You never see that in television shows, so its really refreshing. Also the main character Casey has such role model qualities. She admits to her sororitys faults, when the president doesnt even admit to the mistakes, and Casey takes all consequences for her sisters actions (but luckily they turn out good).
Teen, 16 years old Written byBruu October 24, 2009
age 15+
 
I love it, it's funny but you also learn things about people who could be you and me :)
Teen, 14 years old Written bySuperman23 April 9, 2008
Teen, 13 years old Written bycccbookworm June 29, 2012
age 13+
 

Go Greek!

Once you get over the drinking, drugs and sex, this drama is great. It's directed towards middle and high schoolers and sneaks a peek into what college may be like. It's funny and heartwarming and you'll fall in love with all the characters.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 20, 2012
age 10+
 

LOV IT

I love this show but it is Not good for kids 9-12 .
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymaycollins March 3, 2012
age 11+
 

Entertaining

I saw previews for this when i was watching secret life, and my mom said she wasn't comfortable with me watching shows about college yet. About a year and a half later, after begging and convincing her i was old enough, she finally let me watch it. It isn't a show people should learn any messages from, but it was entertaining. My younger cousin watched a few episodes with me and is now hooked too, but most people at her age of 11 are not old enough to watch this.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bylucylulupark August 26, 2011
age 10+
 

Greek is the best!

I love this show! Wish they hadn't canceled it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMy-life_is_My-story June 27, 2011
age 12+
 

Great show; but there is Sex, Drinking, and Fights.

One of my fave shows; yes there IS drinking and a lot about sex. but its realistic for the college Greek system. There are some great role models such as Rusty; Even though he was different he didn't change and still got a spot in the Greek system, he is honest, loyal, and always ends up doing to right thing. Casey; Although she makes some bad choices, she does or tries to do the right thing in the end. Ashleigh is caring and treats everyone well. Etc. The show can be dramatic but great to pass the time. and has some pretty good morals behind the drinking, sex, and college stuff.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byCritical Consumer September 1, 2010
age 12+
 

Great show, lots of good messages

Greek is a realistic portrayal of college life and its messages are positive and insightful. As a non-Greek college student, I can still relate to its depictions of the realities of college life. There are many great role models, such as Rusty and Casey, who fearlessly try to do the right thing, Ashleigh, who is just plain nice, Cappie, who is loyal and supportive, Rebecca, who sticks to her principles, and even Evan, who eventually realizes that money isn't anything. I really applaud the character of Calvin who I think is the most complex and realistic portrayal of a gay person there is on TV. Unlike other shows, such as Glee, which perpetuate stereotypes of homosexuality, Calvin's character emphasizes the fact that a person's sexual orientation is not always the most important thing about them. Homosexuality is not all about sex, and gay people are not all about being gay. Based on the amount of ignorance and homophobia on this page already, this is something that a lot of people don't understand. I would definitely recommend this show. Also, its super funny!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bySilverSnake August 29, 2010
age 2+
 

It's too da*n typical.. (sorry)

Why the hell do they call it ABC 'Family' for. Like Marrie said, when I first saw it, it wasnt long until I saw some men kissing. Dude, I'm not agents being gay, infact, I really dont care, I dont want to see males or females or both kissing period. There's no reason for showing this crap. I'm not trying to offend any that like this show, but I've seen it, and I'm francly sick of how society and Hollywood is turning out. Younger kids switch through channels all of the time, and they will see this. How pathetic and sad that this would be consittered intertanment. Like when I was little, I was switching through channels and I landed on Cartoon Network, and there was a cartoon on, but it wasnt kid approperate. I watched it, but none of it made sense (it still doesnt) You know what, they should just push all of this porn/love/sex/unrealistic drama/crap to one spesific channel for its easier for adults to block. I'm not saying to NEVER let your kid to see stuff like this, they have to know about this crud eventually, but at least you can control how OLD they are. And guys, dont chew me out, because I'm sure you hate things too, and I hate this stuff. (This little rant wasn't to offend anyone)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 29, 2010
age 12+
 

one of my favorite shows

Parent of a 10 and 11 year old Written byMerrie March 13, 2010
age 13+
 
I tuned into this once and 5 minutes into it two men were passionately kissing. Mature themes all around.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bybookbeliever December 19, 2009
age 11+
 

love it :) great for 11+

I really love this show. I've been reading it since the first episode. The characters are so great. There is so much juicy stuff its amazing!! I know some parents may think its too sexual, well it is for people who are younger. But for jr high and high school students its not. we hear wayy more stuff than they talk about on the show at school
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byzipzipzap July 29, 2009
age 12+
 

perfect for older kids

thsi is a very funny shows but may not be good for little kids
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old April 9, 2008
Adult Written bySuzybear2006 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Love this show!

I really like this show, although I am quite surprised that it's on ABCFamily. I think it's fun, and showed fraternities in a more positive light than a lot of other shows. I like all of the characters. However, I am not sure I would let young kids watch it. I think the rating is appropriate and parents should definitely either watch with their teens or prescreen it. It isn't for kids under 14, that is certain.