All member reviews for Hawaii Five-0

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Lots of guns, gore in violent remake of classic cop show.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old May 29, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Maika'i Hana kaeka

Ahh, Hawaii Five-O. Ever since season three of Castle has ended, this has been my go-to show. And to my suprise, it is actually really good!! Of course, it has barely anything on Castle, but we can't all be satisfied. Ok, violence. It shows more gore than Castle; the corpses are almost always shown, most of them gory. They also show drowned, strangled, and suffocated corpses. McGarret is not always rational; often he acts before he thinks. Kono is shown to be a clever, resourceful woman and is treated like one of the guys. Chin is her (really hot!) cousin that is always there for her. Yes, women are shown in teeny bikinis, but it's Hawaii for pete's sake. You know, with beaches and such?
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old December 26, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

ten and up!

This is really good. it has some fighting in it but other than that is it great.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 8, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

i rate this title IFFY for 13+

The good stuff * Role models: Steve McGarrett is brave, loyal, daring, and willing to put his life on the line to bring down the bad guys. He’s true to his pals and willing to give good people the benefit of the doubt. But criminals and terrorists should beware of making him mad, because McGarrett will shoot with little provocation. He’s a character who works best in a world where everything is black or white, good or bad. The show's cast is diverse overall, and much has been made of the fact that co-star Grace Park was cast in a role that went to a man in the original series. What to watch out for * Messages: The show is about fighting/stopping crime, but the characters don't like following regulations: The Hawaii Five-0 unit was formed to take out the worst criminal elements, apparently without regard for due process or constitutional rights. Search warrants are unnecessary, and when in doubt, the characters shoot first and ask questions later (that is, if the suspects survive). * Violence: Well-trained commandos frequently take on equally well-trained terrorists and criminal gangs using automatic weapons, attack helicopters, and some intense martial arts moves. Lots of gun battles, and several people are shot -- some die (albeit relatively quickly and fairly bloodlessly). * Sex: Plenty of women are seen in bikinis. An undercover officer must take off her dress, ostensibly to prove she isn't carrying a wire, but the bad guys take the opportunity to leer at her in her underwear. * Language: Words include “fricking” and “son of a bi-ch." * Consumerism: One character often uses in iPhone, and the show promotes the U.S. Navy. * Drinking, drugs, & smoking: Characters often relax with beers at the end of the day.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byEmmaReads April 27, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not for young children

This show is not for all family members. Although the show itself is great, you may need to close the door on preteens or younger. There were several scenes with shooting, dead bodys (at time containing bullet holes), blood, fighting, explosions, wounds, etc.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
It is a little violet you know with the guns and stuff. But really, what do you expecect? It is a crime show!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byChis Doe November 30, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

The Bomb

I dont see the problem with this you see the same things for the "sexual behavior isn't age appropriate" category that common sense gives this. This is because in go to the beach everyday and see the same things regarding that on this show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bystarscore13 October 13, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

10+

Funny and full of action needs less language and sexual content
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byLiveOutLoud May 5, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bymylibrarycardworeout August 10, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Fun to watch!

There is violence in this but it is not gruesome or anything. There is positive role modeling of people working together. I never saw the original TV show but I really like this one. It is taking a little bit of all the TV shows which are out there right now and combining them. This is a must see and it has a great story line.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byNeed2KnowBoutFilms February 22, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Hawaii five o FTW!

I think this does show a good role model because it shows you not to give into crime and steve (alex o'loughlin) is my role model as are Danny "dano" (Scott caan), Chin (Daniel dae kim) and Kono (Grace park), it does have a lot of guns in it but i don't really find them a threat since they have never shot anyone close up, there is an occasional fist fight but nothing to major. So that is why i think this should be rated 13 and up. Only once so far have they found a Head not attached to the rest. (< I really do not know a better and less groose way of saying it). PS: This is my fave TV show ever!
What other families should know
Great role models
Written byAnonymous February 14, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Just like Cops.

Consumerism {2/5}: Car manufacturer General Motors (Chevy to be exact) affiliates this show.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byh50girl December 2, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

12&up for moderate violence

Hawaii Five-0 has been my favorite show for a long time. Yes there is gun fights but they are cops and they are taking down the bad guys. They are good role models and show how they are trying to make the world a better place. There is moderate violence but it is a crime fighting show. There is no sexual content except for a kiss once in a while and very little language. There is no smoking or drinking except for the background people walking around or if they pass a bar. Sometimes when the team solves a case they will have a beer but nobody gets drunk or anything. The story line is great and I hope this helped. Also this is the best show ever!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bynik3 August 29, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

awesome

Amazing Tv series
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byanjaliroxs April 2, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

11 and up

even though it has some stuff that kids should not watch it is still a really good show. kids should know not to do any of the things in the show.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byBigbillyboy September 30, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Is it for kids? No.Is it good? TOTALLY!

Hawaii Five-0 is a show I love! It's very action packed! The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars,is because it's NOT a kid show! It's for teen and adults only!