All member reviews for Hi Hi Puffy AmiYumi

Common Sense Media says

No similarity to real rock duo Puffy AmiYumi.

Users say

(out of 24 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old January 20, 2016

Awesome

It's like a robot bird that shoots money but even more awesome
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byhgwqhge03 September 19, 2013

The Last 5 Star Modern Cartoon Network Show

this is what i believe to be the last great cartoon network show, it is called Hi Hi Puffy Ami Yumi it is the last modern cartoon that feels really classic to me, each episode is 7 minutes long and they all feature great songs and that is why i became a fan of Puffy Ami Yumi The animation of this show is very unique, however some people complain that the background characters are really ugly, what would you expect? many good shows have ugly background characters, like the Powerpuff Girls or Samaraui Jack Even though Ami and Yumi are different as day and night, they are best friends, Katz on the other hand, is very greedy and will do anything for money, but he is still like able At first i wasn't interested in this show but one day i watched an episode and loved it Sadly CN cancelled this show after only 3 seasons and the last episodes never aired, low ratings weren't the reason though, because all seasons got high ratings, also the thing is they ordered the 4th season was ordered but the creator left CN in 2006, the only thing I don't like about this show is that CN cancelled it and it is because of that a cliff hanger
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old August 9, 2015

Meh

In the beginning it looked kinda promising and cool but I guess after a few eps they ran out of ideas and from there it went downhill. It's a shame, the real band (Puffy/ パフィー) has great music.
Parent Written byMarinFan October 9, 2011

What is wrong with this show?!

I hate the yelling for no reason, Yumi has a hot temper and is dangerously violent, their manager is a fat, crack-snorter and flirts with women, NOT for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 1, 4, 8, 10, 13, 14, 14, and 17 year old Written byparentof7 February 26, 2015

my kids loved it how dare cartoon network

its sad to see those 2 girls die my kids loved them
Kid, 8 years old August 28, 2013

you rock

this show rocks but the episodes are cansled and the show it's about two rock stars and a lazy old man two rock stars have a kitten they look so cuit i wish i have theose kittiens
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 1, 2013

Underrated, best to leave it underrated.

This underrated, toyetic 'toon's humor is weak, but the rock star element, great episode ideas and animation style makes up for. Just make sure the kid never heard of the real band in their life(or a deranged fan), since the band has been Americanized in nearly every way possible. If they are in the middle when it comes to fandom, stay away. But in the top or bottom, COOL! But for anti-consumerist families-KAZ. But Ami and Yumi are also look sexy..... Not THAT way, but still...
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 15, 2012

One word:EPIC!

This show is AWESOME! It has great rock n roll music,and I LOVE rock n roll music!
Teen, 13 years old Written byAdventurousguy13 March 26, 2012

Neat and awesomeness!!!!!!

this show's super awesome!!!!!!!!! XD you get to see musical adventures together with the two super-duper-ultra hyper-mega rockstars Ami and Yumi and their manager, Kaz.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byteenreviews(17yrs) October 16, 2011

Very Mean-Spirited,

this is the mean-spirited, gory, ultra-violent, sexy, creepy show aimed RIGHT at kids, it annoys and creeps me out, I'm glad they canceled this crap, this is just... Wow, just wow
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byDisneyfrigginsucks October 10, 2011

Like Regular Show, but not funny or smart, IT'S DARK!!!

All i can say is smashing, exploding, temper tantrums, punching, blood, and yelling for no reason. REGULAR SHOW IS ALSO LIKE THIS BUT THEY MAKE IT WAY FUNNIER, so nuff said
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byPenguinsEverywhere October 9, 2011

Prepare for lots of yelling!!!

This show plain sucks, nuff said
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 28, 2010

Cool show

It is a great show! I think it's funny and creative.
Teen, 13 years old Written byRainforestGal March 13, 2010

HiHi-Puffy Ami-Yumi Rule!

Oh, this show is a funny! They is funny! I loved this show! It was cute and I LOVED the music, I wish it was back on!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byNarutoTdix February 6, 2010

I Remeber This!

Haha,I Remeber This Show!My Little Sister Used To Love It...Then She Found Naruto :)
Teen, 14 years old Written byAflagabim December 10, 2008

SPECTACULAR!

This cartoon is just pure goodness, what makes it good is the music, the humor, and the the fact that it is property of cartoon network. I am just so angry at CN for rapping up the show and take it off the air. It is based on real celeberities, how cool is that? Go Hi Hi Puffy Ami Yumi! GO CARTOON NETWORK!
Teen, 14 years old Written byicefire22 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byChi to April 9, 2008

Funny Show

It appeals to me and my siblings. We like to catch it if we know it is on.
Adult Written bycardcaptor_sakura April 9, 2008
Adult Written byworkethic April 9, 2008

American J-pop

Hi Hi Puffy Ami Yumi is an attempt to further open the doors of J-pop into American culture. (J-pop is Japanese Pop Music.) The show is cute and simple. Optomistic, cheerful and often naive Ami and her down-to-earth, cynical and often short tempered best friend Yumi are rock stars. Their priorities are their friendship, their fans...and finding a place to eat. It seems their manager, Kaz, is very irresponsible. Most of their episodes revolve around the girls trying to teach Kaz life lessons. The show is fast paced and very simple. Ami and Yumi's contrasting personalities compliment one another, so that they keep each other in line and show examples of compromising. Relevant to anime, (japanese animation) the characters are often loud and excited all the time...their emotions are exaggerated for humor. There is some cartoon violence and one incident where thr girls ate bad sushi which gave them nightmares. Some parents say this episode promotes drug use...but I'd say that's a bit of a stretch after I watched it myself. Overall, I'd think the show is appropriate and entertaining for any age.

Pages