All member reviews for House of Cards

Common Sense Media says

Compelling take on politics plays up sex, drugs, scheming.

Users say

(out of 20 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Educator Written byZippora March 2, 2013

Frank has sex with his daughter

So it's ok that Frank has sex with a young woman while he makes her talk to her father on the phone? Frank says he's a father because he has her. It's ok that Frank's wife gives a hand job to a dying man in the hospital?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byRog66 October 31, 2013

Intense

I expected House of Cards to be a political saga that got into the nitty gritty of legislation. I found that instead, it was about corruption and the intensity of dirty politics and manipulation. It is awesome! It is a great story, and it is very realistic. But it is not for kids AT ALL. First of all, the message is not good at all, its all about corruption and greed. The scenes are very intense and and dark. Also, one character struggles with serious drug issues, and it is very explicit. But it is the sex that is VERY intense. There are breasts, buttcoks, graphic sex, and very mature themes including strippers and anal sex.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13, 15, 18+, and 18+ year old Written byMichelle New June 19, 2013

Very Sexually Graphic

I agree with the other parent reviewer. Not only does a main character give a hand job to a man in the hospital, it is done cruelly and without his consent. And another character poses in pornography photographs for the main character. She is not shown, but enough is said to imply what is happening.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old May 31, 2013

House of Cards

Let's get ONE THING out of the way first. This show is amazing. It's directed by David Fincher and shows the dark, gritty world that is Washington. It is very sexual (one man asks a main character to lick his testicles), and the language is vulgar (expext to hear f**k a few times), but I still think it's good for teens. If they are mature.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byMediaMom222 December 24, 2013

T.V. of the Future?

I had to turn it off after the first few episodes. I did not appreciate the coarse language, sex, dark characters.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byKimBurgess February 12, 2014

You can't coddle children

There is language, there is sex, there are drugs, and there is drinking with smoking. Still, it's an excellent show. It's certainly not for anyone who isn't interested in political affairs. This show is filled with them, but it's riveting. I was unsure, but after the first episode, I was hooked until the end of the first season (the second is coming). Though there is talk of nudity and sex, it should be somewhat acceptable for older children, mid-teens. They're going to find out about it eventually, and the series hardly glamorizes it. The series gives off a very uncomfortable, nervous feeling throughout. Underwood is unnerving, intimidating, even if he isn't doing anything. Give it a chance, at least. If you're turned off by the language and sex, you're seriously missing out on a very well done series. One of the best shows I've seen in a while.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDexterMorgan March 1, 2015

Iffy on the age matter

I love the show. Every episode or couple, there is nudity in it at least for the first season. Not even talking about sex scenes. There is way to much of it. But I am mature enough to understand. I also talked to my father first. It is a very fantastic show and I enjoy the politics of it. Especially the main characters quote of power over knowledge. For other kids this could lead to watching of pornogrophy if you are not careful. An average age would be a 15 or 16. Well I'm not one to talk.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 March 17, 2013

good show

The show is really good and goes in to the minds of politics and shows how ploitics are different from other countries. The drama is compelling and keeps you hooked. Netflix did a great decision on signing this show. A character is known for doing cocaine and pot. The sex is very mild and not frequent.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byslasher23 August 16, 2014
mild violence.sexual content a language a some drug
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byWisdomIsAll November 29, 2013

Politics

House of Cards doesn't have a positive message or role model. In fact it's anything but. As compelling as it is, it opens your eyes to the dark, scheming world that is politics. A central theme is how much people do to get what they want and how easy it is for them to do it, even at the expense of others. You'll never really look at the politicians the same way again. Other than that, it's a great show and does send a message about the influence of media on society.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysarge123 March 4, 2015
Adult Written byThat90sguy February 27, 2014

Intense, dark look into the political system

Frank Underwood is a governer who helped the president get into power, so he expects to become the secretary of state. When Frank is told that he was not chosen, he uses dirty tactics to make the secretary look bad so the president changes his mind. This and more happens in this excellent political drama exclusive to Netflix. Kevin Spacey plays such a menacing and threatening character as he uses people for his own personal gain. He doesn't care what he has to do, as long as he can get away with it. Its very dark at times, but the writing and characters in the show keep you interested. This show isn't for kids though. Language is heavy, f***, s***, and more is all uncensored. There is sex as well, such as people having sex for information, a women touches another man's penis, and sexual affairs are commited, all are not for pleasure, but for power. There is a fair bit of drug use, alcohol mostly, but cocaine is used as well. Also, a man is murdered. Overall, the show is a dark look inside the political system and the sex may turn off a few, but the characters, and the amazing talent of Kevin Spacey will get you hooked on this show.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bylildub95 March 21, 2013

Amazing show

Amazing show with incredible acting. However, sexual acts are somewhat graphic and there are certainly no real positive role models. Sexual relationships are used to advance careers. However, for the right teen it is excellent.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTimeMasterNix February 9, 2016

really reaLLY REALLY DARK!

I want to start by saying this is one of the few shows/movies/games that I have stopped watching because I felt like it would be bad for me. The CSM article doesn't delve deeply enough into this. NO ONE in this show is good. It portrays everyone in politics as scheming, no good scumbags. This could really skew someones view of Washington D.C., and is not good for a teenager's psyche. People in this show are constantly exploiting each other for sex, money, and power. There is a lot of swearing and some graphic sex scenes, along with some drug use, but no truly graphic violence. I don't recommend this show for any young teenagers, including myself. This kind of show could hurt a teen more than any amount of graphic violence could because it tries to be realistic. It seems like the goal of the show is to change your views about politics to think that everyone is as horrible as these people, which is simply not true.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byLuke54 June 6, 2015

a very good political drama

I like this show its a very good take on the powers that be in America. Some people may think this isn't an 18 show but just because it has pretty much no violence it still has a lot of swearing mostly the use of f**k and it has sex a-pit often and some times it shows breasts not really that often but there was a scene where a character went into a strip club and you saw a woman pole dancing wearing no top and you could see here breasts
Teen, 17 years old Written by_____________ August 29, 2015
Teen, 16 years old Written bydainkonon May 16, 2015

OMG

Really good !!!!! USA politics is so interesting, but has some f--ks, s--ts and etc. Also sex with not much nudity Good for 15 y. teens
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybbeast October 4, 2014
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byaasb May 2, 2016
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byFrancisca Araújo August 16, 2014
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking