All member reviews for How I Met Your Mother

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 89 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byFahima Saeed September 29, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not meant for kids, without supervision at least

Neil Patrick Harris is hilarious! He makes the show! Kids shouldn't watch it though, some of the stuff is not at all meant to be heard or seen by them. Otherwise very funny :)
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old January 1, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

funny

very funny but has some inapropreite moments
Teen, 15 years old Written bybobbeta30 January 23, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Awesome!

I love this show! It's great for most ages and it's funny. Trust me, the stuff they hear on T.V. is sterile clean compared to stuff at school.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old August 18, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Hilarious and Slightly Suggestive

This show is all about how Ted Mosby tells his teenage children how I met their mother. Sex plays a major role in the comedy as there is a serial womanizer among a group of 5 very close friends. Bad things are replaced with everyday activities. Things such as smoking, having loud sex, and pointed the middle finger were replaced with "eating a sandwich," playing bagpipes," and "giving a thumbs up" respectively. Th charaters always find their ways out of things, and relationships are strong. Parts of this show are not believable, but they are amusing. Character outlines: Ted Mosby: A architecture professor who is looking for "the one." Robin Scherbatsky: A news anchor who was against marriage earlier, but marries (spoiler alert!) Barney Stintson, the womanizer. Barney Stintson: The serial womanizer who often speaks of his sexual conquests to his friends. His character changes into a caring one and her marries (spoiler alert) Robin Scherbatsky. Marshall Erikson: A lawyer who is very naive. He is Lily's wife. Lily Aldrin: Marshall's wife, a kindergarten teacher. She is a good cook and is often sought out for advice.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 27, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

One of the best series ever!

I am inlove with HIMYM it's just so funny!. Sometimes an episode can be funny, emotional and inappropriate. But its too long to get to the point where they actually show who Ted marries (The Mother) on HIMYM, so that kinda puts a lot of suspense into it. Ted is a sweet and kind guy he's awesome. Barney on the other hand is a sex addict, he always talks about girls and sex. In some of the episodes he falls inlove with Robin which i thought was sooo sweet. But they wouldnt make a cute couple. Robin is one of the characters i dont like so much :| (I dont know why). Marshall&Lily are like the best characters!!! I was so sad in those episodes where they broke up and they cancelled their wedding! Im really hoping to see more of the episodes and finally figure out who the mother is!!
Kid, 12 years old January 26, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

great!

funny
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBook_lover98 April 21, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

How I Met Your Mother Taught Me How To Be Hilarious!

I completely love this show! Yes there is some explicit sexual references, and Barney is completely and utterly a horrible rolemodel, the humor is perfect for tweens! And the fact that Ted is looking for a real relationship says something.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bygreeneyedglitter February 2, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great show!

This a very funny show. Although, there are a few references to sex, there is never full nudity. Barney may not be the best role model on his views on women, but the gang always tell him how wrong he is. The show is great with a few mild sex/cursing references. But I would definitely watch it with my kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 6, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
kids are hearing this stuff at school 2 they might as well hear it on tv
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byLoveOwenWilson September 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

teens....older

LOL...love Barney....his jokes are sooo funny!!!! hahhahaha!! it's way tooo dirty but its' one heck of a laugh! for sarcastic humor and peeing in ur pants...u'd better sneak this in ur room and watch it!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old July 19, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Hilarious prime-time sitcom.

I started watching HIMYM just a few months ago, and I've seen all of seasons 1-4. Like my review title says, it's hilarious, especially Barney, even though he isn't the best role model in the world. I'd say that HIMYM is safe for anyone over the age of twelve, because some humor/plot lines might fly over younger kids' heads.
Teen, 14 years old Written byALBERT0 May 15, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Sometimes there are mentions about sex, but if you know it, it's ok
Teen, 14 years old Written byShaxSar February 16, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byThecoffeeowl224 February 8, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byJenniferamkarlsson January 15, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Best series

This is one of my favorite series, it is sexual and at some points even sexist in a humorous way that makes you want to face palm yourself. This isn't a series that would be amusing watching with your kid or parent though, it would be a bit awkward with those sexual jokes
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byTaylorsadvice_ January 12, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good for mature 12 year olds

I was definitely ok watching this show at 12 years old but some kids are less mature. The show does include sex, adult references, and very mild swearing (i.e. bitch, ass) but it is still a great show. By 12 years old I can promise your child already knows about everything in this show. School exposes you to everything.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byhiumhi October 30, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Most kids already know about this stuff...How I met your mother is a really funny show, and it's really not that bad in terms of inappropriate things.
Teen, 13 years old Written byskyblue524 September 20, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Love this!!!!!

Really enjoy this, I watch it every day on TV. Really funny and the characters feel real and are 'human'. It's not all laughs there's some real ideas and things including {spoilers} when marshal's dad dies (I got a bit teary). One of the main sets is a bar but it's fine, mild sex but it's played for laughs and I really recommend.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 6, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good for kids

I would say its good for kids if you let them watch shows that talk about sex
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byaboy26 August 12, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Funny, Inspiring, Cute and Addicting

I was 4 years old when I started watching this show (when it first came on tv), at a young age I never understood half of the story lines so when I was 10, I watched it from the start and I understood each life lesson and I followed them. I had no friends at the time and this show was a coping mechanism for me and my family, any time we got sad, we would just switch the tv to HIMYM and we would be happy. this year the show ended, and I made a salute to all the actors and the creators for making a funny sitcom from the start, nice characters and a masterpiece
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages