All member reviews for How It's Made

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 16 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old July 28, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

vary good.

vary good in education and learning.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old July 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great but for tweens

i love this show but the reason i rated it 10 and up is because ages 1-9 wouldnt understand all this
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written bymiapie456 April 6, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Awesome and Educational

I disagree with the fact that "Educational Value" is not applicable. I learn something new every time, and so does my dad. It is a very educational show! :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Very interesting.

Very educational show! Suitable for all ages.
Teen, 14 years old Written byTHS1892 May 4, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Amazing Info on How Things Are Made

Very educational on the fascinating processes and stages of manufacturing and/or making products. Products being made range from bobsleds to candy canes, supercars to computer chips, and an infinite amount of other things. I have learned so much from How It's Made, sometimes I spend a whole day watching the show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 16, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Ever wondered how gears were made? This is your kind of show!

THIS SHOW IS THE BEST! Whenever I have free time, I look to the Science Channel to find out how everything is made. Similar show are on the air, but this is the best. The only reason I say consumerism is because in some of the episodes (VERY RARELY) they will have the name of the company that makes the product (e.x., on the tuba episode, they showed the King Misic CO.) Sometimes, the company replaces the name of the company with "How it's made". But other than that, IT'S AWESOME!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Kid, 9 years old July 23, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

kids 8+ would understand this more thin 7 and under

i love this! (im the copycat) kids 7 and under couldnt understand it
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old June 24, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Kids 8+ Would Understand This Well, Not So Much For 7 and Under.

I love this! The reason why I rated this on for 8+ is because I think kids 7 and under might not understand the concept that well.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byWafflesAndIceCream November 30, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Easy, relaxing show.

So I'm watching this show right now. A lot of people like How It's Made because it's relaxing, and makes you tired. I can't disagree. It's actually kind of soothing; a while before I go to bed on school nights, I love to just lay down and listen to the narrator explain how to make things like recycled skateboards (which I'm watching right now!), Halloween decorations, scuba diving lights, and prosthetic ears. So, yeah, this show is appropriate for all ages.
Teen, 13 years old Written bynatknewthat July 20, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

great

I have watched this show ever since I was in first grade, when I was 6. I have always loved this show, as I love to see how things are made and how things work. There is an episode about caviar that may be weird for little kids, but otherwise it's just fine.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus August 2, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Just OK.

Very interesting, but I get bored after a while.
Teen, 16 years old Written byI gatti di Roma January 6, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

A+

Even young kids will like it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 8 years old September 18, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Its perfect for how to make stuff!
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old January 26, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

perfect for anyone!

love it! tells you exactly how things are made and it is educational!
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byperfectionist January 8, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old July 5, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

a great show

i love this show its just so interesting
What other families should know
Educational value