Common Sense Media says

Funny, family oriented series has some stereotyping.

Users say

(out of 340 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Parent of a 9 and 15 year old Written byCampmillermom April 20, 2013

Disney's Jessie: Debbie Ryan's wardrobe is completely inappropriate for her character.

I just want to add to the other comments about the show...what annoys me about the Debbie Ryan character, Jessie, is her wardrobe! her 4 inch platform/heels in every single episode is completely absurd. far to over-the-top and too "diva" for her character. it's actually laughable. it doesnt fit what her "down-to-earth" character needs to be wearing in a show geared to tweens. never mind the fact that its not something we want our girls to think is appropriate for every day life. we decided we are not going to watch it anymore, for many reasons.
Parent of a 4, 8, and 12 year old Written byxtraman10 March 4, 2013

so this is parenting

u think black ops 2 & robot chicken r iffy 4 kids 12, but this is the same? no, this is fine for any kid in the double digits. there IS a difference between dating & strong sexual content. should be TV-PG-DS.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byjadabub February 9, 2013

This will help

Okay, this might be entertaining to little kids, but I found out the jokes in seconds, they really hide those inappropriate jokes in there! One example: Zuri: You'll never guess what happened to my baboon! Jessie:What? Zuri: Now my baboon will never have children! I understood that and then felt like PUKING. Another example: Tony and Jessie are stuck in a teacup, Then They hold each other and slow dance, Tony holds Jessie in the right way, goes up and then.. Zuri: Don't go North of the equator! I guess only some people could understand. It's also annoying with all those LAUGH TRACKS! I can tell all of it is fake, I don't feel ANY emotion, Even when the aww, I don't cry or anything, Why are they so mean to the butler? Does this mean everyone has to be mean to a butler? No, and some jokes make the characters look DUMB. I really like Debby Ryan and Skai Jackson (Zuri) as actresses, but this set their bar really LOW. I don't recommend, but I really like Good Luck Charlie! Much better than this!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byTropicalhurricane July 27, 2012

Awesome

Jessie is a really good show for ages 8 and up. Some parts can be inappriate but others are funny and sweet. Debby Ryan does a great job in acting in this series
Teen, 15 years old Written byGuardianBrother June 28, 2012

Typical :(.

Jessie has got to be the worst show ever on Disney Channel. These kids should not be encouraging such rancid behaviors to others. Judging from the content of this series, the goal of this show is to plant the idea that acting like a smart-mouthed envelope pusher is not only acceptable, but also the latest fad that is set to go on forever. Most shows on Disney Channel are just as guilty of this same crime, however they don't go to the same extent as Jessie. Fairly typical of the modern show geared for kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bypetzlover May 11, 2012

INNAPROPRIATE!!!!!!

I hate this show beacuse it is so hell bent on putting inappropriate stuff in it. I mean, 'bra stuffing', 'taylor launtner's shirt, on, off, on, off' and 'signs he likes you if he touches you in these areas'? REALLY??! Disney has put in a lot of 'modern' shows but this just crosses the line!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byDisneyShowReviews March 15, 2012

I am 11. and I can NOT stand this show.

I am 11, and even I have things to say. First of all, I said this had language in it. It doesn't actually have direct language, but it has play-off's, like: "Son of a biscuit!" or "Go kick some ASStroids." No. Just no. And now to the inappropriate stuff. I dont think there is a need for so much stuff about bra's, and when they promoted bra stuffing, I practically lost it. Not funny. Not good. Or, when Jessie said: "Do you have an off button?" and 12-year-old Luke said: "Yeah.....Wanna find it..?" Or when Jessie said: "Somebody pinch me, I must be dreaming." and Luke went: "Okay" And headed directly for her chest before she stopped him. No. Ew. Gross. OR when seven-year-old Zuri was talking about how an imaginary girl was destroying her toys. She said: "and you don't even wanna KNOW what she did to my Build -A- Baboon. Now he'll never have kids!" Seriously? She is seven, for goodness sake! I also do NOT like the fact that all the kids have iPads, iPhones, ect. Did they ever think about the people that can't afford those type of devices? And why did they give Zuri a iPhone/iPad? What? Again, SEVEN YEARS OLD. And the whole plot is cheesy, shallow, stupid, and occasionally offensive. What has Disney come to?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byUhOhSpaghettios February 18, 2012

Disgusting

Waaay too much innuendo
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byXxxCookieXxx February 15, 2012

WAY too sexual

This show is okay, but the sexy rating should be 4/5. This show is NOT appropriate for kids. Somehow this show gets away with all sort of sexual stuff. For instance, in one episode, Luke (years younger than Jessie who is supposed to be 18) says "...and maybe after dinner we could...." while reaching for her BUTT. Another episode, Ms. Chesterfield is hitting on Bertrum and at one point she's trying to show off her butt. I could just go on and on about these sexual "jokes". Ravi is one of the characters that bugs me the most. Ravi is supposed to be Indian, but he is doing everything over the top. He goes on about where he comes from and the things he is saying are all stereotypes. Please be warned before letting kids watch this!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 8 years old November 19, 2011

good show gos far

Jessie is a good show,but sometimes they go a little to far.I love jessie not much but...I'm radgabe2003 see ya
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 10, 2011

Sex jokes and Consumerism

There was a little sex joke in one episode. After Zuri showed Jessie what this girl, Genevieve did to her doll, she overreacted when she said "and you don't wanna see what she did to my build-a-baboon. now he'll never have children!" I know it was a reference to sex. I think that it was the most inaproppriate joke on the show. Unbelievable! I like "the suite life on deck" WAAAAAAAAAY better than this trash! In another episode, Emma gets Bertram an account on a dating website. Bertram's mate replies with a picture of kids, and next thing you know Emma starts saying "awww looks like she wants to have more kids!". this is so unbelievable!!!!!!! And in the christmas episode, Zuri was decorating the tree. She said: "I have no place to put this" something like that, and next thing you know, Bertram says "I know where you can put it!" then Jessie says: "Bertram, don't make me wash your mouth out with tinsel." I think this show shouldn't be on Disney channel if there's gonna be sexual content in the episodes. There is consumerism in this show too. "We can eat ice cream while listening to Adele songs!" is an example. Another, In some episodes, Emma is seen with an iPad. And in another episode, Jessie and the kids were talking about the Twilight movies. They also mentioned Edward and Jacob having abs. Parents: this show may look like it's for kids, but it really isn't. In another episode, Emma got a magazine and showed Jessie an article on bra-stuffing. This show shouldn't be on Disney Channel anymore. Cancel it Disney, this show's not meant to be on Disney Channel. Also, In another episode, Jessie wears a skimpy dress, right before she got in a music video. This show should get cancelled. Period.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byhas62372 November 4, 2011

Better than most from Disney Channel

I like that there is no obnoxious talking back to adults. I also like that they don't make fools out of the adults.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old October 22, 2011

Jessie

Jessie Is An Okay Show As It Basically Just Replaces Suite Life. The Show Sometimes Has Bad References Knowing The Fact That It Is Disney Channel.Overall Jessie As An Okay Show.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byPanipuri October 21, 2015

Seriously?

Ok here is a VERY HONEST review about Jessie 1. Sex- 8/10- They keep talking about bras, and the 12 year old boy Luke is very flirtarious and a very BAD role model.Seriously, this show should be rated TV- 14 or something. 2. Language - 3/10-The language is mostly Insult but still bad. 3. Violence - 5/10-There is also a lot of comedic violence. Stereotypes-9/10- This is one of the biggest issue of the show. There is a Indian Character in this show. Explains everything, Right? Also, Who keeps a giant pet lizard as a pet? Stupid. Now about the Characters Jessie Prescott - (Not a great role model but good) - She is a 18 year old girl who comes to New York to fulfill her dreams of becoming an actress but instead becomes a Nanny . She is responsible and caring. Emma Ross- (An OK role model) - She is a 14 year old girl who is very fashionable and a little spoilt. She is a good student and helpful but she can be a little snobby and annoying. Luke Ross ( As i said a very BAD role model) - Luke is a 12 year old boy who is naughty and bad. He misbehaves, teases and flirts with girls OLDER than him. Ravi Ross - ( A Good role model) - Ravi is a 10 year old boy from India. He is very well- behaved and the complete opposite of his brother - Luke. But he can also get Naughty sometimes. Zuri Ross- ( Not a good role model) - Zuri is a 7 year old girl for Africa. She is also Naughty but not as much as Luke. She can be VERY annoying at times, But otherwise, she is good. Bertham Winkle- ( a BAD role model)- He is the Butler of the Ross house. He is very Lazy and stupid. Overall, I wouldnt recommend this show for ANYONE but if yes i will recommend it to teens above the age of 12.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byCody Patterson MJO October 11, 2015

Just fine for kids

If your kids are old enough to be in school, they're old enough to watch pretty much everything on Disney channel, including Jessie. It's a pretty dumb show, but there's just enough kid-oriented humor to keep my two year old and four year old engaged.
Teen, 15 years old Written byAllisonhappy September 3, 2015

On the edge

Disney channel says its a great show for kids 6 to 11. Personally there is some edgy stuff in Jessie for little kids. The show and mention things like bras and edges on sex. This is not bad for an 11 year old because that will soon be a part of life but for younger kids maybe not. Luke's behavior is also edgy like wanting to see girls in bikinis and sometimes implying sex. There is alot of humor that goes right over kids heads for older kids it could be funny. Although there is a lot of potty jokes and stink jokes for younger boys. In addition the kids in the show can be bratty but they all have inner good and on the inside care for one another. This is a teen show with a kid's plot. This show has Cameron Boyce as Luke for the teenage girls Peyton List as Emma of the younger girls and Cameron boyce and Kharan Bhah for the boys and Skai JAckson is funny all around
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Parent Written bydanloughney April 29, 2015

Sexual harassment, retaliation and exotic animal smuggling

In the two part episode "Jessie's Big Part," Jessie befriends an actress and gets a part in a movie. The director, while dating the actress, hits on Jessie. When she rejects him he puts Jessie through a series of dangerous stunts in an attempt to get her to quit. She is ultimately fired from the movie. In a second story line Ravi loses his pet lizard when it is discovered by an animal trainer to have no papers/was smuggled into US. After failing to convince the trainer to look the other way, they break in to the trainer's office to steal the lizard. At the end of the story, the director is found out and fired from the movie, but no other ramifications are shown. The lizard is sent back to India, but it OK, because Ravi ends up with a new Bengal Tiger. Hard to believe that both of these story lines are predicated upon illegal and discriminatory activities. I clicked the "too much violence" buttons, but there is no "too much illegal activities" button.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byPeggySueH September 18, 2014

The only Disney show I don't let my kids watch

Really Disney? Disney educational spots are so great. They are all about not bullying, embracing differences, being healthy, cultural acceptance and girl power. AND then there is Jessie. Stereotype much??? The blonde girl is as they say "a dumb kid" (and shallow), the other "dumb kid" is the hispanic boy (but he sure can dance), the Indian boy has an accent and is socially awkward (the actor doesn't - why can't he just use his American accent?), the African American girl is smart but cheeky and the lazy butler is over weight. Not to mention they are absolutely mean to each other. Bad, bad, bad.
Teen, 14 years old Written by101Dalmatians July 13, 2014

...and this is a kid's show

The plot revolves around a nanny and some children. Plot wise, the show doesn't have much to be interested in. It has the same didactic lessons like every other show. Character wise, it's not much better. Emma: She plays your dumb blonde. She is also very selfish and is materialistic. She does show character development, but it is normally gone by the next episode. Luke: The bully. He constantly makes sexual jokes, and he has as much character development as brick Ravi: He is a stereotypical nerd. It's just lazy to base a character off of a stereotype when you have four seasons to develope a person's personality Zuri: She is mean to everyone. She threw gluten pancakes at a person who's allergic.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byzbernalsilva14 March 10, 2014

a little sketchy, but the positives outweigh the negatives

to start off, within the first 3 minutes of the pilot episode, a very young girl makes reference to a bra, which immediately throws up some red flags. but, if you continue to watch, you can tell that this show has good intentions along with many positive models of behavior.as far as language goes, there are words such as: poop, hate, and hick used throughout the show, but this type of language is nothing young children have never heard before. when it comes the role models in this show, the kids do have both parents together and living at home, but they are rarely around because they work all the time. this is why they are constantly going through baby sitters.there is a little amount of sexy stuff like a young kid flirting with jessie and references to mooning. and as far as the positive messages go, the underlying theme throughout is to follow your dreams and that love is too strong to be broken. all in all, i would definitely recommend this show to any audience over 7 or 8 years of age just to be safe.
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages