All member reviews for Law & Order: SVU

Common Sense Media says

Grisly, sensationalized crimes; not meant for kids.

Users say

(out of 69 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bysarah[c/o]OHnine April 9, 2008

Amazing show

This is an amazing show that is still realistic in its nature. I love watching the crimes unfold, and it is greatly entertaining. The plot lines are thrilling, and I cannot wait until the next episode!
Teen, 14 years old Written byfallaway6554 April 9, 2008

Amazing show

Of the three (four, counting the now defunct Trial By Jury) Law and Orders, SVU is by far the best. The show centers around Detectives Elliot Stabler (Chris Meloni) and Olivia Benson (Mariska Hargitay). The supporting cast includes Dann Florek, Ice-T, B.D. Wong, and Richard Belzer. Almost all of the episodes center around sex crimes (rape, child molestation, incest, etc.) but the actual offense is never shown, and the good guys always win. It is mentioned that Detective Benson was born of a rape, which would explain her intense passion for her job. (In one episode, she gets a call from a girl who claims to be held captive and forced to pose for child pornography. Benson will not give up on the case, despite her co-workers telling her that it is probably a prank.) As someone who wants to become a cop when he grows up, I greatly enjoy watching this show as it portrays the police in a good light and always has them catching the perpetrators. Parents should take caution when letting their children watch this show, as it frankly discusses sexual offenses. However, it does not promote criminal behavior, which is why I believe it is a good show.
Adult Written byBase_Delta_Zero April 9, 2008

Great Show with only 20% probability of breaking your mind.

The fact that the Law & Order series is great is common knowledge. The fact that they are also extraordinarily not-for-young-children should also be common knowledge. SVU may be the best L&O, but it's also the worst in that regard. Though it may not be as outright violent as Criminal Intent, this show is perverted in the extreme. This is a show about sex crimes, and almost every episode introduces some new form of degradation, each more disturbing than the last. In addition, the series is bona-fide bizzare even when it's not being despicable, with strange plot contrivances which, if not neccessarily sick, are certainly twisted ('Identity' is a prime example). On the other hand, it is also undeniably entertaining. More cinematic than the other Law and Orders (and thus somewhat less realistic - thank god), the series has good acting both for the recurring characters and guests (usually meaning villains). Despite its... strangeness, the show is ultimately moral, and the good guys (almost) always win. In short, it's an incredible television show that is meant for mature audiences ONLY.
Adult Written byknjsmarm April 9, 2008


GREAT show!!! Wonderful acting and characters. NEVER miss an episode. LOVE Stabler, Benson, Munch anc Ice-T. PERFECT casting!!!
Adult Written byhody272 April 9, 2008

Any minor should only be allowed to watch with parents

It is a wonderful show, but shows the most depraived side of life. Some of the plots are even a bit much for me to take. I don't think that the average preteen would fare well with some of the adult themes, however, there can be some lessons to be learned (who not to trust etc...). All in all, just keep an eye on the content and mind the younger ones while enjoying this show.
Adult Written bychamonix April 9, 2008
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008


This show is great, because it reveals the real world about rapeist and other sexually related matter. It will teach children that the world isn't a safe place. And it has some comedy here and there.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
These is not for kids who cant take on too much all at ounce. The social message is good, but if you were'nt expecting violence and sex you should'nt be watching the Special Victims Unit!
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008


This show is probably OK for 10 year olds and up. Nowadays, all my friends know about sex and drugs, so we can handle it. This show is downright spectacular! Mariska Hargitay is my idol now. She is the best actress since Scarlet O'Hara in GONE WITH THE WIND. This show is about sexual crimes, so you should watch it with your parents, but if you think you can handle it on your own, be my guest. THIS IS A MUST-WATCH SHOW!
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008

Best show ever.

This is a purely flawless show. It probably has the best team of actors and actresses on television. There are a few episodes that push the limits like the undercover episode but it is just a spectacular show. If you can handle horrid crimes its a must watch