All member reviews for Malcolm in the Middle

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Quirky, off-the-wall family humor; OK for teens.
 

Users say

(out of 114 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old April 16, 2010
age 12+
 

Great show, but has questionable behavior

I love Malcolm in the Middle.Its hilarious.There are so inappropriate behavior sometimes like having sex and swearing. Otherwise, its a great show.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written by9001 April 13, 2010
age 13+
 

Iffy for ages 13-15

I agree with the common sense media rating. This show is fairly tame, but it may not be of interest to young kids, and there is some really over the top humor, such as when fathers get together and compete with using their babies. There are also some sexual references, some language, and some violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 19, 2010
age 9+
 
I really like this show and I watch it every night, but there is something wrong about it here and there. But.. Every show has things wrong with it.. So its all good. Very funny, highly suggested for anyone who can take its sense of humor.
Parent of a 12 year old Written bynot my proplem March 3, 2010
age 11+
 
It has a tink of cursing and hand-to-hand combat
Kid, 10 years old March 2, 2010
age 13+
 

Too much language

There is too much language that I'm not allowed to use.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 23, 2010
age 9+
 

Love it

Malcolm in the middle is a grate show but sometimes it gets a little crazy and viloent.But other than that it rocks for tweens and teenagers.But not for kids under nine.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 21, 2010
age 12+
 

It's alright!

I kinda like it. It's ok.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old January 16, 2010
age 9+
 

Expislit Language

its fine but some language is explicit
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAllieluvsBubbles December 30, 2009
age 10+
 

sounds like crap

i dont know why this show is rated 13+, the way they review it, it sounds like crap and it isnt! if ur kids are mature enough, wat the hell? let em watch it!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byParamoreFan09 December 18, 2009
age 13+
 

Mature Teens: PERFECT.

This is the BEST show ever! It's so funny!!! There actually is a lot of sex in my opinion... but if you are mature you should be able to handle it. The messages are not at all good (lol) but they are always so far-fetched that nobody would ever really get any ideas from it. The boys always face consequences too, so it proves bad ideas... I HIGHLY recommend this show to ages 13 and up. ps: Oh... I just looked at my concerns... a lot but don't worry because all the stunts the boys pull is all in hilarious fun! :)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old November 28, 2009
age 10+
 

Malcolm in the middle

In Malcolm in the middle there is a lot of sex, and swearing, but I think that Malcolm is a good role model.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old November 28, 2009
age 8+
 

goofy humor ok for tweens

This is one of my favorite shows, but I will not let my kids see it until they are 11.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old November 15, 2009
age 10+
 

Perfect for tweens and dads

I am addicted to this show and think it's really funny. Reese is a horrible role model and their mom is a stereotype for a mom.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old October 10, 2009
age 7+
 

good show

this isnt bad...
Kid, 11 years old October 4, 2009
age 4+
 

A show I grew up with... Funny and Entertaining

A typical show about a typical family which is hillarious. I love this show. I grew up watching Malcolm in the Middle and I watch it now every evening. It's a show that pushes boundaries rarely in my opinion. In case you're wondering, the violence is (comical) fighting between brothers, never getting more than a hit and falling down wrestling, which are boys, you see it every day! The language is "ass", "hell", and some other OCASSIONAL words that are almost never said, and the bad role model is Lois because she is bad for the comedy in it. She isn't THAT bad, but somebody that you may find iffy. The highlights are good messages about growing up because they are growing up and they learn a few values and lessons in the process. Also, good role models are people who make mistakes and mistakes are made, but forgiven, and realized that they are mistakes. Mistakes are also healed. Malcolm is a good role model for "middle children", and he helps them cope with the tough role. Overall, a hillarious comedy that I've always watched and you should, too!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byKayKayD September 25, 2009
age 13+
 

Love The Humor

This TV show is hysterical. The bad things are what make it so funny. I love this show and I try to watch it whenever I can.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old September 20, 2009
age 11+
 

Not good for little kids but ok for tweens and older

I think it always has a lesson to learn at the end of each episode. I love it!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old September 11, 2009
age 11+
 
I love it but it needs paentel giudence.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 7 years old September 6, 2009
age 7+
 

great for kids and tweens and tenns!

great great show! love it
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bydreweth August 30, 2009
age 13+
 

Just as Malcolm is a teen, so should the viewers be.

Yes, this show is funny. But too many youngsters are watching it. I mean, if I, a 14-year-old turns off the t.v during some parts, then why is a 9-year old (below) promoting this for barely even tweens? Stick to Nick till your a teen, people.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages