All member reviews for Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Common Sense Media says

Avengers TV follow-up is violent but thrilling fare.
 

Users say

(out of 36 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byNicky Cee February 6, 2014
 

So very, very violent

We started watching this with my boys (11 and 7) last fall. It was borderline then on the violence and sex scale but still OK because it is Marvel and it is cool. Not anymore. This last episode (on the train with the good guys trying to track a secret case) was so, so violent and over the top. Stabbing in the back, girl shot at close range twice with one shot where the gun is pressed against her belly while she is being hugged(!), huge amounts of blood, more stabbing, open wounds, then ridiculous amounts of blood. Follow this with talk of the two main characters "having sex". What is wrong with these producers? This is Marvel. It's supposed to be for kids. Please don't watch this show with young children or you will be sorry.
Kid, 12 years old September 30, 2013
 

Not too scary, WATCH IT!!!

Loved this show! Thrilling and faced paced. Anyone who sees the Avengers has to watch this show and won't be alarmed by anything on it. A woman flirts with a man, but no kissing yet, some violence, guns, and the wreckage of a train station and some people injured. Little blood and language. People stick up for they're team, are strong characters, and show compassion even for criminals. Watch the show on ABC!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byrebma97 September 24, 2013
 

Decent spinoff of "Avengers"

As a big fan of "The Avengers", I was eagerly anticipating this series. It was a little different than I expected, and there's certainly room for improvement (character development, more complicated story lines), so overall it's just okay. It's not the best show in the world but it's not the worst, either. Violence: Some of action/battle scenes, mostly involving hand-to-hand combat (and some blood), but it's never really graphic. Characters are sometimes killed. Sex: A few minor references, implied sexual activity (you see kissing and men and women getting dressed), and some of the females wear revealing outfits. Language is very mild, only including words like "h*ll", "cr*p", and "a**". Despite the content, "Agents of Shield" is somewhat milder than the "Avengers" film.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJMWoodham December 30, 2014
 

Marvel's Agents of Shield - A great movie spinoff, but not for young kids.

To start off, apparently this site didn't review much material, because though the site does not account for many objectionable actions, they are contained all throughout. Firstly the show has frequent binge drinking, references to drinking and drunkenness, characters who are visibly inebriated, and use of alcohol to "numb" pain. Cigarettes are often used as well. There are also multiple sex scenes in a few episodes, mostly implied, with some implied nudity and shots of both men and women in revealing undergarments. Much of the violence is VERY graphic, with people being blown up, shot repeatedly at close range, individuals bleeding out in a very emotional manner, and once a father being blown up in front of his son who watches in horror. Also to tackle is the fact that no one is as they seem, and without giving spoilers I will say that by the end of the run many of the "good guys" end up betraying, and even killing their friends. Also up for disturbing content are a few very graphic medical procedures, including one in which the patient screams to the doctors to allow him to die. In the end though friendship, loyalty, quick witted intellect, and a strong commitment to a just cause do prevail, though at a very high cost, and through many difficult decisions. The show is a great action packed joy ride, but only for mature individuals who can handle the extreme violence, betrayal, and emotion presented.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 24, 2013
 

It's okay...

I only saw the first episode. Violence: action scenes, some blood. Consumerism: some characters mention marvel heroes, such as Iron Man. (referred to as "a metal man" or something) Language: "b*tch" "h*ll" "oh my god" "cr**," "boobs," "balls." Sex: some female agents wear tight outfits. One scene, Skye takes off her jacket (or vest) and Ward takes a brief look at her breasts. One episode a guy and Skye are seen kissing, and in a room, with the guy shirtless, and Skye in a bra and underwear.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byLauraFoley April 16, 2014
 

It used to be OK...until it wasn't

* spoiler alert * Our family enjoys watching Agents of SHIELD together. We enjoyed the narrative and the tie-ins to the Avenger movie series. Up until recently, I was OK with the superhero violence, explosions, and the like. But last week the episode ended with a supposed good guy shooting three people in the face at point-blank range. That was way too much for me.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 10 and 16 year old Written byLizziesays June 18, 2014
 

Great show, but know your kid...

My 10-year-old son and I just finished binge watching this show, and we love it. It's fun and action-filled, with some great opportunities to talk about loyalty and trust, teamwork, etc. That said, it IS violent and could be too much for some kids. Later in the season two characters discuss having sex, and they are shown relatively undressed together. Sex is discussed occasionally, but nothing shown. The violence in this show is nothing more intense than you would see in any of the Marvel movies, so if your kids have seen and been okay with those, you should be fine. My son has declared some things too violent for him, but had no issues with this one. This is a show he only watches with me -- I wouldn't send him downstairs to watch it without a parent to discuss issues that might come up.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old May 21, 2015
 

Marvel at its best!

This show is great but very violent including lots of people getting shot and significant amounts of blood. It is a very graphic show but great. Just be careful for younger kid as it is way more gruesome then The Avengers.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byThe Hannah Claire April 12, 2014
 
I was unimaginably excited about this show. I love it so much! I love the characters (except Ward) and there is the perfect mix of funniness and seriousness. Be warned, some episodes are rather creepy and violent! The episode T.R.A.C.K.S. (the one on the train) is particularly violent. As the show went on, they did up the sexual content. I checked and I believe episodes 5, 8, 9, 12, 13, and 15 all of a level of sexual content other than the occasional flirting. Nothing explicit is ever shown and we never see anything actually happen but we do see before, after, and discussions. There is some language as well. In a few episodes there is drinking but nothing too bad. I do highly recommend this for any fan of Avengers!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byByHisWounds March 26, 2014
 

Marvel is capable of so much better

Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (AOS) had the potential to be an excellent comic-based TV series that could serve as an auxiliary story expander to the larger-scale Marvel Studios movies. Unfortunately, the show has proven to be a disappointing spin-off that is not worthy of the Marvel name. With occasional exceptions (i.e., Clark Gregg as Agent Coulson and guest stars Bill Paxton and Jamie Alexander), AOS's characters and story lines are unimaginative and poorly developed -- so much so, in fact, that it's difficult to establish any connection between the events and relationships on this show and those of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). But that's not the biggest problem with this series. No matter what producers may say regarding the target audience of their films/series, the fact is that children, most of whom (especially boy) seem to have an innate attraction to all things super hero, flock to the theaters to watch anything that has to do with comic books and super heroes. And it should come as no surprise that those same children will be interested in viewing a TV show that is marketed under the Marvel banner and that is associated with their favorite super heroes who teamed up in the Avengers. That said, both Marvel and ABC have a moral obligation to ensure that this TV series, which airs in a time slot when many children are still awake and watching, is appropriate for younger viewers. Sadly, ABC, as usual, has decided to push the envelope with this show and make it as racy and edgy as they can get away with on prime time network TV, rather than making it acceptable for family viewing. The violence tends toward excessive at times, the language is unnecessarily coarse, and sexual immorality (namely, fornication -- that is, sex outside of the sacred, protective perimeters of one-man, one-woman marriage) is treated with casual and reckless disregard. On that note, the sexual situations on the show are shockingly offensive and aggressively erotic. There is absolutely NO excuse for including this trash in a comic-based TV series that the producers know good and well will be watched by kids. Ironically, the language and sex scenes in AOS -- a network TV show, mind you -- are actually worse (in some ways, MUCH worse) than the material found in the Marvel movies. As a matter of fact, other than one completely gratuitous scene in the first Iron man film, there hasn't been (and I pray there won't be in the future) any bed hopping or clothes-tearing soft porn in ANY of the Marvel movies. Based on these reasons, I cannot recommend Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. to any parent or to any person who appreciates the powerful influence that media has on the moral character and belief system of impressionable young minds. Please pass on this one.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymcashd55 December 16, 2013
 

Marvel VS Review

This is a fantastic show. Anyone who is a fan of Marvel will come to love this show. Everything about it is so Marvel. There is sex, language, great message, good role models, violence, and drinking, drugs, and smoking at times.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJessiJL November 8, 2013
 

Once you screen the episodes, it is a GREAT show for teens.

It is a GREAT show for Marvel loving kids, but the sexual references and the violence might make parents want to screen the episodes before their children watch it. The diverse races and the teamwork are really good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byShadow21 January 6, 2015
 

Surprisingly not near as violent as Avengers

Not very violent. lots of language for a TV-PG series. small gunfights and iffy melee is all you can expect. There is really no sexual stuff, but mild flirting. And unlike Avengers, the very little super-hero action scenes but still very intense.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byTorissaNikole January 3, 2015
 

Starts off slow, gets WAY better

The characters change and grow so much from when they started out. What at first looks like boring and predictable relationships is actually an intentional build-up to a huge twist that threw me so off guard I swear my feels were broken for a full week. All of the characters are very well done. || The action is not too intense, but you may want to be cautious. Alien objects turn people into stone, super-powered individuals can turn people into ice. A central theme is that one of the main characters died and came back to life, and the after effects of the procedure used can have a morbid and foreboding air to it. The procedure is shown a few times briefly, as a machine working on the brain of the individual while they cry out in pain, begging the people operating it to let them die instead of trying to resurrect them further. One person who went through treatment with the gh325 drug went insane and gained super strength, using it to rip out some of the inner organs of a man who opposed him (it wasn't ridiculously graphic: his hand was shown as bloody and it showed a blood covered intestine. It was very brief.) Someone else who also went through this treatment showed indications of insanity, taking a woman and using a knife to carve alien symbols into her skin, killing her afterwards. Later, it shows a man cutting a woman open while she was awake and removing her inner organs, then a brief shot of himself getting onto the operating table and starting to cut himself open, implying he put her organs into himself. Strategically placed camera angles keep too much from being shown, but it could still very easily be disturbing for younger kids, especially since (SPOILERS) she turns out to be the mother of one of the main characters. The woman's body is disposed of. Two people are betrayed by a friend and are pushed out of an airplane and into the ocean, almost dying as a result of it. The expected martial arts fighting scenes, with no major injuries. One main character almost dies of a gun wound, and others are grazed infrequently. The agents normally refrain from using real guns and instead use guns that simply knock out their enemies. || There is a side-plot where two of the characters have a premarital sex-without-love relationship, and it is described as such. The typical implied "man getting out of bed with woman laying down next to him." There are no real consequences for this. A bit of kissing, some romantic tension. Later in season 2, a divorced couple decides to "give it another go" and begin it with a bit of passionate kissing before spending the night together. || The occasional "hell" or "damn", maybe a "bitch" or two, but that's as bad as it gets. ||| I do remember that when I first started watching the show, I was like "this isn't the best, but I don't have anything else to watch, so I might as well continue." Boy, am I glad I did. The send off had a bit of a juvenile feel to it, but I swear, it goes from an average "meh" show to being up there (in my opinion) with Doctor Who and Once Upon A Time in terms of quality level. Despite the extensive violence, I honestly think that (especially with the new plot twist at the end of season 2 that creates a new Marvel tie-in) it is an amazing watch that will soon be very important in the Marvel universe.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old April 15, 2014
 

a little gross

It can be scary in parts, for example floating dead bodies, however, I really enjoyed it. A small amount of swearing and lots of action scenes. Preferred watching it during the day rather than at night.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old January 1, 2014
 

AOS

I think that it is a good show but after a few episodes you will get bored. It is violent and does have swearing and ``sexual scenes`` but it does carry the fantasy theme with takes a bite out of the violence. NOT TO BE WATCHED AS A FAMILY
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byGreyJediAlex August 25, 2015
 

Too violent

The description above is fairly accurate, but it downplays the violence. It's not just fighting, it's graphic. The violence and gore increases in season 2. People are shot, turned into stone (somewhat slow and obviously very painful), tortured, and beat up. I would not recommend this for kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bytardismaster August 17, 2015
 

Good if you enjoy Marvel movies

I think this Marvel television show is definitely worth watching if you are a fan of The Avengers and other Marvel Cinematic Universe movies. You get the same amount of violence as you would in any other marvel film and as long as you don't have a problem with gunfights with limited gore you shouldn't have a problem. There is limited Sexual references but a couple is shown in bed together although nothing is shown. There isn't much swearing but the occasional b**h, h*ll, and d*mn. there are references to drinking but it isn't completely obvious.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bykenpen August 5, 2015
 

I LOVE it

Honestly, I am so hooked on this show, my family will sit down every week, 10 min before it comes on just so that we don't miss it. The characters are really loveable... especially Fitz+ Simmons, but the betrayals hit deep. It is really violent, and can be pretty creepy, especially with the carving and experiments with TAHITI... just watch out for Melinda's Past's episode, the little girl is really scary. The main characters deal with illness, dead bodies, and people with powers, all of which can be overwhelming... lots of blood as well. Some sex scenes, but if you throw a blanket over your kid, they'll be fine (just kidding). Overall, it is an amazing show, just not for little kids. I was a little creeped out, but it all depends on the kid.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byJswurd August 1, 2015
 

Marvels best tv show is violent and has unneeded sex.

The violence can be gory, like a live surgery on screen shows a man taking out origins and such. Lots of people get shot and die, in the second season, there is gratis blood when people get shot. Language is bad. Sex is bad in this though. It's usually unmarried couples sleeping naked together kissing passionately, and even striping down to underwear. One episode shows "Skye" kissing her boyfriend, next scene shows them in bed. Skye with only a skimpy brah and underwear on, it starts with her brah off but she's putting it on, nothing really shown but extremely close. Right before their interupted it seems she's about to take off her underwear and brah. A married couple is shown in the shower together, obviously having sex, but the camera angle cuts off at the torso, no breast shown. But remember, these are un married couples, the violence should be 4 dots, the language is 3, and the sex should totally be 3 or even maybe 4. Thanks for reading!
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages