All member reviews for Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Avengers TV follow-up is violent but thrilling fare.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 28 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old September 30, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not too scary, WATCH IT!!!

Loved this show! Thrilling and faced paced. Anyone who sees the Avengers has to watch this show and won't be alarmed by anything on it. A woman flirts with a man, but no kissing yet, some violence, guns, and the wreckage of a train station and some people injured. Little blood and language. People stick up for they're team, are strong characters, and show compassion even for criminals. Watch the show on ABC!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byrebma97 September 24, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Decent spinoff of "Avengers"

As a big fan of "The Avengers", I was eagerly anticipating this series. It was a little different than I expected, and there's certainly room for improvement (character development, more complicated story lines), so overall it's just okay. It's not the best show in the world but it's not the worst, either. Violence: Some of action/battle scenes, mostly involving hand-to-hand combat (and some blood), but it's never really graphic. Characters are sometimes killed. Sex: A few minor references, implied sexual activity (you see kissing and men and women getting dressed), and some of the females wear revealing outfits. Language is very mild, only including words like "h*ll", "cr*p", and "a**". Despite the content, "Agents of Shield" is somewhat milder than the "Avengers" film.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byNicky Cee February 6, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

So very, very violent

We started watching this with my boys (11 and 7) last fall. It was borderline then on the violence and sex scale but still OK because it is Marvel and it is cool. Not anymore. This last episode (on the train with the good guys trying to track a secret case) was so, so violent and over the top. Stabbing in the back, girl shot at close range twice with one shot where the gun is pressed against her belly while she is being hugged(!), huge amounts of blood, more stabbing, open wounds, then ridiculous amounts of blood. Follow this with talk of the two main characters "having sex". What is wrong with these producers? This is Marvel. It's supposed to be for kids. Please don't watch this show with young children or you will be sorry.
Kid, 10 years old September 24, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

It's okay...

I only saw the first episode. Violence: action scenes, some blood. Consumerism: some characters mention marvel heroes, such as Iron Man. (referred to as "a metal man" or something) Language: "b*tch" "h*ll" "oh my god" "cr**," "boobs," "balls." Sex: some female agents wear tight outfits. One scene, Skye takes off her jacket (or vest) and Ward takes a brief look at her breasts. One episode a guy and Skye are seen kissing, and in a room, with the guy shirtless, and Skye in a bra and underwear.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byLauraFoley April 16, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It used to be OK...until it wasn't

* spoiler alert * Our family enjoys watching Agents of SHIELD together. We enjoyed the narrative and the tie-ins to the Avenger movie series. Up until recently, I was OK with the superhero violence, explosions, and the like. But last week the episode ended with a supposed good guy shooting three people in the face at point-blank range. That was way too much for me.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byByHisWounds March 26, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Marvel is capable of so much better

Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (AOS) had the potential to be an excellent comic-based TV series that could serve as an auxiliary story expander to the larger-scale Marvel Studios movies. Unfortunately, the show has proven to be a disappointing spin-off that is not worthy of the Marvel name. With occasional exceptions (i.e., Clark Gregg as Agent Coulson and guest stars Bill Paxton and Jamie Alexander), AOS's characters and story lines are unimaginative and poorly developed -- so much so, in fact, that it's difficult to establish any connection between the events and relationships on this show and those of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). But that's not the biggest problem with this series. No matter what producers may say regarding the target audience of their films/series, the fact is that children, most of whom (especially boy) seem to have an innate attraction to all things super hero, flock to the theaters to watch anything that has to do with comic books and super heroes. And it should come as no surprise that those same children will be interested in viewing a TV show that is marketed under the Marvel banner and that is associated with their favorite super heroes who teamed up in the Avengers. That said, both Marvel and ABC have a moral obligation to ensure that this TV series, which airs in a time slot when many children are still awake and watching, is appropriate for younger viewers. Sadly, ABC, as usual, has decided to push the envelope with this show and make it as racy and edgy as they can get away with on prime time network TV, rather than making it acceptable for family viewing. The violence tends toward excessive at times, the language is unnecessarily coarse, and sexual immorality (namely, fornication -- that is, sex outside of the sacred, protective perimeters of one-man, one-woman marriage) is treated with casual and reckless disregard. On that note, the sexual situations on the show are shockingly offensive and aggressively erotic. There is absolutely NO excuse for including this trash in a comic-based TV series that the producers know good and well will be watched by kids. Ironically, the language and sex scenes in AOS -- a network TV show, mind you -- are actually worse (in some ways, MUCH worse) than the material found in the Marvel movies. As a matter of fact, other than one completely gratuitous scene in the first Iron man film, there hasn't been (and I pray there won't be in the future) any bed hopping or clothes-tearing soft porn in ANY of the Marvel movies. Based on these reasons, I cannot recommend Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. to any parent or to any person who appreciates the powerful influence that media has on the moral character and belief system of impressionable young minds. Please pass on this one.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byJessiJL November 8, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Once you screen the episodes, it is a GREAT show for teens.

It is a GREAT show for Marvel loving kids, but the sexual references and the violence might make parents want to screen the episodes before their children watch it. The diverse races and the teamwork are really good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old April 15, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

a little gross

It can be scary in parts, for example floating dead bodies, however, I really enjoyed it. A small amount of swearing and lots of action scenes. Preferred watching it during the day rather than at night.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byThe Hannah Claire April 12, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I was unimaginably excited about this show. I love it so much! I love the characters (except Ward) and there is the perfect mix of funniness and seriousness. Be warned, some episodes are rather creepy and violent! The episode T.R.A.C.K.S. (the one on the train) is particularly violent. As the show went on, they did up the sexual content. I checked and I believe episodes 5, 8, 9, 12, 13, and 15 all of a level of sexual content other than the occasional flirting. Nothing explicit is ever shown and we never see anything actually happen but we do see before, after, and discussions. There is some language as well. In a few episodes there is drinking but nothing too bad. I do highly recommend this for any fan of Avengers!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old January 1, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

AOS

I think that it is a good show but after a few episodes you will get bored. It is violent and does have swearing and ``sexual scenes`` but it does carry the fantasy theme with takes a bite out of the violence. NOT TO BE WATCHED AS A FAMILY
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymcashd55 December 16, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Marvel VS Review

This is a fantastic show. Anyone who is a fan of Marvel will come to love this show. Everything about it is so Marvel. There is sex, language, great message, good role models, violence, and drinking, drugs, and smoking at times.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byzebreviewer March 29, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
The show starts slow and cheesy, but picks up pace and gets much more interesting and gritty. TV-PG/14- Sequences of Intense Violence and sci-fi action, Language, frightening images and suggestive content.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byOlivia_Smith March 1, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Whilst the programme started off brilliantly, it began to slow down a little in the middle of the first series, and I began to lose interest quite quickly. However, it's definitely worth watching to the end, as the numerous twists at the end of Series 1 are very well done, and Series Two has been even better so far. With regards to its suitability, I would say that there is occasionally some swearing, and there is some discussion of sex, but nothing explicit is mentioned or shown. Characters are seen drinking, but not to excess, and the violence, whilst quite brutal, is no worse than in the Marvel films. Overall, I would say suitable for teenagers, but some of the violence may be a little too much for younger viewers.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byanakin007 February 11, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great show but most episodes deserve a TV14

While this is a great show and many Marvel fans will watch it. Agents of SHIELD, has some episodes with significant violent and sexual content. So, the common sense review is wrong, because they only review the first three episodes. Season 1 episode 5 had a minute and a half scene with amian character walking around in a bra and panties. The season one finale had sme violence but, the most disgusting was the evil character tearing out someone's rib with his hand. All shown. Also, the seventh episode of season two shows a human lady being torn open. This scene is about a minute long. So overall a great show, and the only reason I said to much violence is because its rate TVPG. Don't be fooled by that rating. If it was rated TV14 it would be fine.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byShadow21 January 6, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Surprisingly not near as violent as Avengers

Not very violent. lots of language for a TV-PG series. small gunfights and iffy melee is all you can expect. There is really no sexual stuff, but mild flirting. And unlike Avengers, the very little super-hero action scenes but still very intense.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byTorissaNikole January 3, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Starts off slow, gets WAY better

The characters change and grow so much from when they started out. What at first looks like boring and predictable relationships is actually an intentional build-up to a huge twist that threw me so off guard I swear my feels were broken for a full week. All of the characters are very well done. || The action is not too intense, but you may want to be cautious. Alien objects turn people into stone, super-powered individuals can turn people into ice. A central theme is that one of the main characters died and came back to life, and the after effects of the procedure used can have a morbid and foreboding air to it. The procedure is shown a few times briefly, as a machine working on the brain of the individual while they cry out in pain, begging the people operating it to let them die instead of trying to resurrect them further. One person who went through treatment with the gh325 drug went insane and gained super strength, using it to rip out some of the inner organs of a man who opposed him (it wasn't ridiculously graphic: his hand was shown as bloody and it showed a blood covered intestine. It was very brief.) Someone else who also went through this treatment showed indications of insanity, taking a woman and using a knife to carve alien symbols into her skin, killing her afterwards. Later, it shows a man cutting a woman open while she was awake and removing her inner organs, then a brief shot of himself getting onto the operating table and starting to cut himself open, implying he put her organs into himself. Strategically placed camera angles keep too much from being shown, but it could still very easily be disturbing for younger kids, especially since (SPOILERS) she turns out to be the mother of one of the main characters. The woman's body is disposed of. Two people are betrayed by a friend and are pushed out of an airplane and into the ocean, almost dying as a result of it. The expected martial arts fighting scenes, with no major injuries. One main character almost dies of a gun wound, and others are grazed infrequently. The agents normally refrain from using real guns and instead use guns that simply knock out their enemies. || There is a side-plot where two of the characters have a premarital sex-without-love relationship, and it is described as such. The typical implied "man getting out of bed with woman laying down next to him." There are no real consequences for this. A bit of kissing, some romantic tension. Later in season 2, a divorced couple decides to "give it another go" and begin it with a bit of passionate kissing before spending the night together. || The occasional "hell" or "damn", maybe a "bitch" or two, but that's as bad as it gets. ||| I do remember that when I first started watching the show, I was like "this isn't the best, but I don't have anything else to watch, so I might as well continue." Boy, am I glad I did. The send off had a bit of a juvenile feel to it, but I swear, it goes from an average "meh" show to being up there (in my opinion) with Doctor Who and Once Upon A Time in terms of quality level. Despite the extensive violence, I honestly think that (especially with the new plot twist at the end of season 2 that creates a new Marvel tie-in) it is an amazing watch that will soon be very important in the Marvel universe.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byJMWoodham December 30, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Marvel's Agents of Shield - A great movie spinoff, but not for young kids.

To start off, apparently this site didn't review much material, because though the site does not account for many objectionable actions, they are contained all throughout. Firstly the show has frequent binge drinking, references to drinking and drunkenness, characters who are visibly inebriated, and use of alcohol to "numb" pain. Cigarettes are often used as well. There are also multiple sex scenes in a few episodes, mostly implied, with some implied nudity and shots of both men and women in revealing undergarments. Much of the violence is VERY graphic, with people being blown up, shot repeatedly at close range, individuals bleeding out in a very emotional manner, and once a father being blown up in front of his son who watches in horror. Also to tackle is the fact that no one is as they seem, and without giving spoilers I will say that by the end of the run many of the "good guys" end up betraying, and even killing their friends. Also up for disturbing content are a few very graphic medical procedures, including one in which the patient screams to the doctors to allow him to die. In the end though friendship, loyalty, quick witted intellect, and a strong commitment to a just cause do prevail, though at a very high cost, and through many difficult decisions. The show is a great action packed joy ride, but only for mature individuals who can handle the extreme violence, betrayal, and emotion presented.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 1, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great show with good messages

I think this shows how many people can work together and figure problems out. It also shows many positive messages. I would say age 11 and up if they are mature for their age (like me) otherwise I would say age 13 and up. Their is very little sex, swearing, and their is no or very little drug or substances being used.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byLilster1 September 30, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

MY FAVOURITE SERIES

I am a huge Marvel fan, so I was stoked when I heard about its release. I have loved every single episode in season 1, and I am really loving season 2. The series does contain quite a bit of violence, but nothing to graphic. Lots of good messages about the importance of teamwork. I highly recommend this series to anyone who has enjoyed previous Marvel movies or action shows
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bySheu15 September 29, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A very good television show but very unpredictable

Well first off Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is a great show. In the first season it had trouble finding its place but now it finally has, and it's beatiful. For most of the first season it had typical Marvel violence and romance. But proceed with caution. This show is unpredictable. In the first season a character states that her and a male agent have been having sex. Shocker, wasn't expecting that from this show. A few epsisodes later a sex scene occurs. Sex is then talked about more frequently in the show. However, after epsisode sixteen the sex talk is over but this is where it gets pretty violent. In the season premiere, a man who has lost his mind rips out the rib of another man (all on screen) and then stabs him in the head with it. Woah. This new season in a bit more realistic in the violence but in the episode "Shadows", a women's hand has to be amputated. Although we don't see most of the act, it's unsettling. So in the end this is a great show but you never know what may happen. Unfortunately, unlike most Marvel-fare, this show is not suitable for family viewing. I am hopeful that Agent Carter, premiering in January, will be a bit more family friendly.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex

Pages