All member reviews for MasterChef

Common Sense Media says

Ramsay brings usual edge to amateur cooking competition.

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old July 28, 2010

Okay for my family, but not for all families.

Please be aware that Gordon Ramsey does not swear in this as much as he does in his previous works. Over all, I found the show okay for family viewing (with mild sexual references and bleeped out language), but you may want to review it yourself.
Kid, 10 years old July 20, 2011

like it

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 8, 2011

i rate this title IFFY for ages 12+

What to watch out for * Messages: The competition seeks to celebrate and help talented and passionate amateur cooks ... but it does so amid lots of yelling and frequently harsh criticism. * Role models: The judges want the contestants to learn, but their approach is often extremely harsh when offering comments and/or suggestions. * Violence: Ramsey often yells, screams, and insults the cooks during competitions and judging sessions. One contestant humorously says “slap your mama” when the food is good. Angry contestants are shown slamming fists into prep tables. * Sex: Some strong sexual innuendo, including flirting between a contestant and the judges and strong references to food being and/or tasting “sexy." Words like “balls” are often used. * Language: Words like “hell” are audible. The words “s--t” and "f--k" are used frequently (Ramsay is a notorious curser) but are fully bleeped. * Consumerism: Not an issue. * Drinking, drugs, & smoking: Wine is often consumed during meals and tastings. Alcohol (wine, beer, hard liquor) is frequently used in recipes.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 27, 2012

Watch The Australian Version

This is terrible and despicable. I am from Australia that one has more suspense less swearing and yelling and being mean. This is really really bad
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 29, 2010

Great Show

Awesome show. As long as your kids don't take everything from TV (like swearing because its on TV) they should be fine. Its like a Culinary American Idol.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7 year old Written byratp January 2, 2016

fine for kids who know but not for others

title says it all
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byRubyTherese June 6, 2015

Masterchef Australia is great

I'm in Australia so I've never watched the American one. However, after reading the reviews I've heard they swear heaps in it! Masterchef Australia however, is completely fine. Very, very occasionally you may hear the s word, but most of the time it's beeped out. I reccomend MAsterchef Australia, but the American version doesn't sound very good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byskwunkel March 28, 2015

Sucks to much for kids to watch

Read above
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMr. Mario August 17, 2012

MasterChef

What other families should know
Too much swearing