All member reviews for Max and Ruby

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Siblings set a positive example for preschoolers.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 98 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byBigbillyboy September 12, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Ruined a great book series!

This is a terrible show! Wierd animation,atricous acting,Ruby is a moron,the episodes are repetive,ect.BAD SHOW!
Kid, 11 years old August 7, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

THE ONLY RUBIES YOU WANT

ARE THE GEMS
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byDuper_Drew August 1, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Ruby is an idiot!

Ruby can take a tree branch and shove it up her butt! She always treats Max like crud! Also this show is somewhat edacational,but it still dosen't teach you much! It seems like i mostly teaches little kids to screw stuff up,whine a lot,and even burn down houses!
Teen, 14 years old Written byUltimateRacer2 July 4, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Dissappointing

Ruby is so bossy to Max! Poor Max
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Educator and Parent Written bychristian-witness June 28, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

very good

A very nice program with nicely drawn characters
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 18, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

It's OK.

This show isn't bad.For instancethe voice acting is pretty good.So is the music.It's just this I hate Ruby.She is such a big fat jerk to Max.
Kid, 10 years old March 14, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not Okay

I watched one epsiode and was shocked. These kids who are 5-8 have no parents and their grandma doesn't watch them. Something people didn't notice is that in one epsiode they shake their booty. Do you want your 3 year old doing THAT? Kids older than 6 will think it's babyish and boring. So not for anyone!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old February 6, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

No One at any age will see if did i will smack them in da A S S

Where are their parents? Max has ADHD and gets in Ruby's way. Why is the grandmother always asking Ruby to bake for her? Poor Ruby whom is still a child is raising Max on her own. Stop runnng the show.
Adult Written bykeeyan January 28, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

max and ruby is good but not for little kids

this movie is bad for the kids under the age of 19
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 28, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

max and ruby

its really boring and max only says one word through out the entire show plus they have no parents i dont think its inappropiate just boring.
Teen, 13 years old Written bybutt-crack January 6, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

max and ruby

Max is a big old fat brat and he shows his butt and farts while he is showing his butt, and, OH!!!, don't even get me started with ruby, she ignores max and then when he comes through for her, shes nice to him,ok, and, i've seen the show becuase my mommy let my 2 year old sister watch it once and then she decided that it is truly not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 8 years old November 28, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Max and Ruby: An Older Sister's opinion

My sister is 3 and she watches Max and Ruby.It is annoying because Max is constantly bugging his older sister, Ruby and Ruby is a little bossy. In Ruby's Sleepover, Ruby says "You can't come in Max. This is a girls-only party." and her friends were snickering behind her.
Kid, 11 years old November 6, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

One of the Worst shows I have ever Watched

it only teaches little girls that little brothers are brats, and it only teaches little boys that big sisters are mean and do care about them, 2nd to Oobi, this is the worst show i have ever seen, i actually regret watching it as a little girl
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old October 23, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Lame

@faroffstar read my mind...
Kid, 10 years old August 30, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

fine for kids

What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byUmbreon0 August 25, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A favorite, but not so good for kids....

Ruby and Max have hardly a good relationship. Their parents are most likely dead, and their Grandma apparently takes care of them. By leaving them alone in their parents house and leaving them to fend for themselves. Max can barely say complete words, yet he is three/two. He is subject to torment from Ruby. Her antics include putting make-up on him, forcing him to eat food he simply dislikes, yelling at him for spilling milk, etc. Ruby and Max do play, though. Usually a game of tag or "super bunny:. Ruby occasionally wears makeup and part dresses, which could be considered innuendo. Good points exist, though. Ruby cares about Max and wants to be good at whatever she is trying to do. Max simply wants to play, and is still in his innocence. There certainly aren't any good role models, and makes it comparable to a tamer version of Spongebob.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Parent Written byMommy2two August 22, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Pointless and odd....not a fan.

I suppose I just do not understand what positive message children are supposed to take from this show. Ruby is a kid, who has tea parties with her friends..however, she has to care for her little Brother Max? Cook, clean, bath him, play the role of Mommy & Daddy all while trying to be a child herself. Then the occasional 'pop-in' from Grandma, but only to ask Ruby to make her some food? Max is a brat, no wonder Ruby has such a bad attitude and ignores him..SHE IS A KID!
Parent of a 12 year old Written byGoodSSJ June 17, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Parents Hate Baby Shows

Why Do Parents Hate Baby Shows?I Know It's Because They Don't Enjoy What Their Young Kids Are Watching
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent Written byjbj6 June 15, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 4 year old Written byAmanda D. March 19, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Entertaining, but a little concerning

This show does show the consequences of misbehavior, but it has always bothered me that they depict Ruby, 8, as the parent to Max, 3, and grandma only shows up occasionally. I feel that the lack of parents encourages children's defiance at an early age because Ruby is independent.
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages