All member reviews for Modern Family

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Brilliant, poignant comedy series has mature content.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 190 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bymovieloverluvluvluv November 24, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

love this show

good show 4 mature tweens and up luv it luv it my fav show watch it every week the comedy is the bomb and the plot is amazing no better show!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 14, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Go Modern Family!!

My family luvs this show!! It's so hilarious, and lots of families can relate. There's hardly any sexual content, and it's definitely appropriate for preteens.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 18, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Hilarious show has language issues.

Its the best show on TV, but ive only watched the 1st season. My parents made me completley skip the valentines day one, and they also made me skip through some parts in moon landing. The langauge is stuff like son of a b---h and h-ll, but ive heard b-----d in a few episodes. Lots of S content. Some episodes have violence, but all of it is meant to be funny.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymovierocker October 7, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Hysterical!!!!!!!

SO FUNNY! This show gets me to roll on the ground! OK for mature 10 years olds to 100 years olds, this show is the best!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 20, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great show!

Modern Family is my thirteen year old's favorite show. It keeps her laughing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bybonesfan101 August 20, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Hilarious!!!!

a quirky upbeat comedy about families
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bysnapplecapple August 14, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A hillarious and fun TV series for the whole family!

Modern Family is a funny TV show based on 3 familes-all related. Some parents may not be too comfortable about some things that happen with the marriages such as- a gay couple and another couple has a very young woman and a very old man as the parents. There is mild swearing, but nothing too bad. Only some episodes contain sexual content, but they don't show anything-it's just the things they say. Adults drink wine and beer, but not enough to influence anything. In one episode, a teenage daughter drinks a lot and ends up drunk and throwing up. In the end, she learns that underage drinking has its consequences. Each episode has something everyone can relate to, and overall it can make you laugh for the rest of the day!
Teen, 13 years old Written byLoverNumber101 August 9, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny but for teens and mature tweens.

This show shouldn't be watched by younger kids. For example there is gay parents, the kids walk in on their parents having sex in one episode and they do curse. I would say if your use to cursing, understand gay stuff, and have taken heath class its fine. The show is funny, cute, and will make you LOL. I really like it!
Teen, 13 years old Written bypixierosette July 23, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

<3 Love it!

It is *not* about three different families, it's about one family living in different households. Explaination: Jay has two kids, Mitchell and Claire. Mitchell is gay and has a partner; Cameron. They adopted an Asian baby girl, who is absolutely adorable, by the way. Claire is married to Phil, and they have three kids; the oldest is a typical teenage girl, the middle daughter is a studious 13-year old, and the youngest is a typical about 9 or 10 year old. Jay divorced his first wife and married a much younger woman from Costa Rica/Puerto Rico or somewhere. She has a son from a previous marriage, around Claire's son's age. It's very funny and has won several awards.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 12, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Best Show EVER!!!!!

Great show!!!!!!!!!! But iffy for anyone under the age of nine.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 July 12, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I don't even get this humor...not funny at all.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 8 years old July 2, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

for everyone

nothing bad just a normal tv show for everyone.
Teen, 13 years old Written byvolleyballnchocolate March 22, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Great show, genuine humor
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old March 14, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great show!!

I watch it every week and its REALLY GOOD. Some of the episodes can be a little inappropriate, but it's pretty good for age 10+
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byJookie March 10, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

AWESOMEE

LOVEEEE IT!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old March 5, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Didnt make any sense! :(
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old February 24, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Cool!

Very funny show! My cousin loves it and she says It is great! I saw it on comercials and it looks funny too! Watch this show!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySafemancam001 February 13, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A must watch for tweens--adults.

I love this show! It is the funniest show I've ever seen!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written by01 man February 10, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

fun fun fun

being a single dad its hard to find a show that a father and his two teen dauters can agree on but this seems to fit the bill very nicely cute fun and fall down funny if you dont mind some choice words once in a while it is wonderful im telling you and pretty clean for familys as well .ps we all have someone in the family we can relate to hope this helps bye
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 2, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Genius mockumentery sitcom

In one episode a couple is caught having sex, but that is a rare real sex moment. A few d--ns, h-lls, and b-tches. A gay couple provides some stereotypical humor. Really genius. My whole family loves it. Iffy for 7+.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models

Pages