All member reviews for MTV Juvies

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Teens get scared straight in MTV reality doc.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bysilly_samsters February 11, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good

This show is really good because it shows if you get into trouble you might just get sent to juvie and it shows that it is not fun at all getting sent there and what happens when you do go there!
Adult Written bysunni47 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Typical MTV MOrals..none

I have never in all my years found anything good about MTV since 1999. Maybe if they edit it abit and even if they blip out the word, ANYONE can read the words on their lips, we aren't morons...To me, MTV..isn't uplifting for the youth so why subject them to it or let it in your home?
Parent of a 14 and 15 year old Written byLiz Perle April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bylzamzow April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

NOT REAL!!!!!!

The show insinuates that Juvenile Detention is the same as +18 jail and prison. Yes it may scare some younger audiences into shaping up, since it's still not a joy ride being in there, but one "Juvi" even said, "Now I know what people feel like who are in jail everyday"...and yadda yadda yadda. Sorry hun, but that is NOT the same as real jail or prison...at ALL!!! While some kids may be shocked into reality, I think a lot more might think, "Oh well...that's not that bad"...even if they ARE 18 or older, since "inmates" imply that it's the same as jail/prison. I mean 95% of them don't even stay there for over a couple or 3 days!! I just think that MTV is making way too light of the situation/experience.
Adult Written byJnk April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Don't let this happen to your kid

I think this is a good eye opening show for kids who think about doing crimes that would end them up in a place like juvenile hall! The parents on this show however should wise up and not be so eager to believe their kid won't continue the behavior that landed them in juvenile hall in the first place! Some kids will turn around and change their behavior yet some don't and go back to the bad behavior.
Teen, 14 years old Written byxoxmandylovesyouxox April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

must watch.

i absolutely love this show juvies. it shows how one mess up, one stupid mistake can land you in a place like juvie. this show makes me cry because its sad at time but i love to watch it. people realize that one little action can get you arrested just like that. i love this show. MUST WATCH!!!!!
Adult Written byIndymom2 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Must see TV for parents and teens

As a parent with a teen currently going through the Juvenile Justice system, I was very interested to see this program. Even though they may not show everything that goes on, It was pretty real to life. I look foreward to the sequel.
Adult Written byamorde1 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Its ok

I like the show just wish it wouldnt repeat so much
Adult Written byamber123 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written bymadlake12 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written byiluvmysasha4eva April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i watch it all da time

this show is da best on MTV so far...cuz they teach young kids...i mean this show is real too..ppl think it may not be but it is..trust...i mean u can also tell as well...i luv dis show...and if they eva stop it thurr is gonna be a BIG problem lyke w/ da kids on dat show...lol..
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Boring at times, but it does teach teenagers the consequences of rash actions.
Adult Written byDexterSmith April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

MTV Juvies

Sexual Content (Not an Issue): None. Violence (Pause): Some of the teens' crimes involve violence. Language (Pause): The occasional hell or damn. Social Behavior (Not an Issue): While the kids have their problems, they usually learn their lesson. Bad attitudes have immediate consequences. Commercialism (Not an Issue): None. Drug/Alcohol/Tobacco (Pause): Some of the teens' crimes involve drugs.