All member reviews for My Life as Liz

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Spunky, somewhat edgy series shares teen girl's life.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 26 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old February 15, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

perfect for mature tweens and teens (:

Love this show! It sends really positive messages to kids our age, telling them that it's OK to be different, and that sure some people might not take too well to your not fitting their cookie cutter image but that's OK, because who you are makes up YOU and that you shouldn't change just for other people who didn't like the real you. Liz iz (get it? Liz iz. *sigh* yeah I know. lame) a very positive role model who stands up for what she knows is right and doesn't let herself be molded into what others want her to become. Minus a few innuendos and the occasional swear word there's nothing to really be worried about here. Whether it's scripted or not, it's a fantastic reality show that I think people of all ages will enjoy (:
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byAllyluvsyou April 2, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

It's okay...

This show is okay. It's pretty predicatable and can get boring though. The language isn't polite, but it isn't really bad.Also, the sexual parts aren't very sexual. The smallest amount of clothes are girls in bikinis and cleavage which I personally don't find very bad.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byKRAZYLOVE March 8, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
GREAT SHOW
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymsenziecullen April 2, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome

Love this show. It's got some language, some relationships, some happiness. A well rounded show. Can't wait for the next season.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 29, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Wouldn't say its good for kids under my age

I dont think this would be a good show for kids younger than 12 to watch. Although it has good role models and messages it has quite a bit of swear words. It is a really good and funny show for kids 12+..even some of the humor would be above youngfer kids heads'.. i would say its fine for my age+.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byMellisa June 29, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
I've heard about this show but i never really gave it a chance. As i was watching this, it all seemed pretty staged and almost unrealistic. As a girl her age, a lot of this stuff doesn't happen in high school. I feel as if she sends a positive message to those that are more different. But the fact that all of these unrealistic events occur, sort of takes away from the experience of the show as a whole and makes it sort of cheesy. I personally feel as if it is to show younger kids about dramatic events in high school just like the movies which end up being pretty unrealistic in real life.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byfishish April 3, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

One of my favorites.

I think it's a really good, whimsical show. There isn't much bad about it, despite what the reviews say. Though if you enjoy reality TV drams, you may not like this.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague January 29, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

My Life as Liz

Not a bad show I guess. Not for me specifically, but would be perfect for todays youth.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySkyHighFlyer16 February 28, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Mature tweens and teens will really love Liz!

This show really captures the essence of breaking free from stereotyping yourself and others. Liz is an independent character who is trying to live her life well, but finds herself to be a little different from everyone else. I believe that there is a little part of Liz in all of us, so watching her cope with her problems is very beneficial to everyone. The language and sexual references are a little iffy, but most teens have already been exposed to this kind of talk. Overall, My Life as Liz one of MTV's best shows. (:
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byframinghanley March 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
On "My Life As Liz" shows her last year in High School. I think that this was a very good TV show for teens to show them that problems are every were.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 12, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Ok Show, Scripted and Staged From MTV

This show honestly could be better. Liz is semi-likable, kind of emo-ish. It seems extremely scripted.. Can't wait until America actually has a REAL show that's like this. I'm like an "outsider" I guess, but I'm not emo and I definitely don't handle it like her! She's just weird, I watched 1 episode and a half and thought she just wasn't appealing. Make your decision, but it's just too different for me.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Parent of a 7 year old Written byObserver000 February 8, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
As being a part in the show and knowing the cast members I can tell you that although the people are real 90% of the situations are not based on reality and everything is scripted. Hints the opening saying "MTV made me say that."
Adult Written byYanderZoo March 8, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Just awful

Such a terrible show. Just in general. Bad acting, bad script. Do not subject young minds to something not even worthy of being on television. Let the minds of teens and children EXPLORE. Don't just force them to watch an awful cliche of a person talk about how boring and sad her life is.
Parent of a 9 and 13 year old Written byhallieandelenasmom June 18, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Hallie-Yes. She loves Liz's alternative style. Elena- No. She doesn't think Liz is pretty enough. Mom- Loves to watch and discuss with Hallie Dad- Oh God no.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 14, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Pefect fot the Tween but not the younger kids

I think i show is best for kids entering middle school being as that is when clicks truly start to form Liz's attitude against the cliques he must deal with show kids to be different and not follow the crowd.I love the show and I think it's sad that it's coming to an end.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 17 year old Written bymomlove33 March 9, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
I think it really good for kids going threw this in high school i think she do it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written bynoot24 February 16, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I like this show because it shows girls how to deal with mean girls .I hope that a mean girl will see this show and think before they put another girl down.
What other families should know
Great role models
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 8, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

lovely

I love this show it is my favorite show on t.v.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bychevelle171717 January 30, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byxxCaitlinxx May 24, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Teens Will Love This Show

I love this show so much, I wonder how she did a 180 like that
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages