All member reviews for My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Sweet tales of friendship have great messages for kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 233 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byexarian February 9, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Lauren Faust likes the parents, too.

... And the male viewers stuck with their niece, and the girl's older brother. The show Puts forward strong, but believable role models that recognizes and respects the intelligence of the viewer, with strong characters and writing that is sometimes smarter than it has any business being. Do not compare this to any other My little Pony related media. It is completely different in nature, with writing focused on telling a story and creating solid characters than selling toys (for instance, the toys all come with a "pet" for each individual pony, and sometimes a limited edition pony... none of these are shoehorned into the show in order to hype the merchandise.) The series is by no means condescending to the target audience, not about their age or gender, as the show is very much feminist in nature. For instance, one female main character is in higher education, another is a skilled athlete, another is a hard working farmer, yet another owns and runs her own small business, and even the mayor of the town is female, while males are given just as much respect and are also shown holding similar jobs. Even stereotypically feminine livelihoods, such a seamstress, is depicted in a fairly mature way so as not to imply it is any less work than harvesting the farms crops. The role models are all strong, yet they are not "perfection shoved down your throat" strong. Like any other person, they all have their issues and problems that they work through as friends. Sometimes some charters are brash or ungrateful at times, but this is always clearly depicted as a flaw and is treated as such in a believable manner. The grown ups in the audience will find the well written episodes and characters charming, as many that are far outside of the demographic have become fond of the show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byDraegur April 29, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Ideal for All Ages--ALL ages. That includes you, too, moms and dads!

... Now, y'see, I grew up in the mid 90's. My entire generation was exposed to some of the best cartoons that ever existed--and of those best cartoons, we took the best material. Now it's my generation that's making the cartoons--and it thrills me to see that this is the result. I've gotta say... I didn't expect to enjoy this show at all, let alone so much! The messages are all positive, the lessons are valuable, the stories are enjoyable to follow, and the art style is lovely. I've never seen such a tasteful iteration of CUTE OVERLOAD in my life! Things less cute than this show have made me practically ill in the past--but somehow, this particular iteration of My Little Pony manages to do it with grace AND class. I'd say that, despite being a show licensed BY a toy company FOR the marketing of toys, it actually has surprisingly (and refreshingly) little consumerism in it. You can practically tell that these animators and writers aren't rolling their eyes in disgust at their handiwork, but actually enjoying and loving what they do. They're in it for the story, and thanks to that, the story is top notch--whimsical and guileless though it may be. Rather than coming off as shallow, they've managed to give it a feel of honesty. I can't even quantify how incredibly much I respect that! But enough praise for the the flaws that are missing--there's what's actually in there: Loyalty. Honesty. Integrity. Kindness. Generosity. Forgiveness. The cultivation of open minds. If I could have seen this show when I was a little kid, I bet I would have turned out far, FAR better adjusted than I did! Although it is obviously presenting the concept of friendship in a highly idealized fashion, it's still got the SOUL of it right. It still portrays friendship for what we all -wish- it could be. The best part is, it's all portrayed hilariously, with a surprising capacity for self-awareness. It's as if the characters, on some level, KNOW how silly it all is, and have decided to embrace it with delight rather than scorn. There's something in it for all ages, if you only know how to look. Watching this show, you have absolutely nothing to lose, and possibly even a good bit to gain. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SHOW, TO EVERYONE, even my twenty-something-year-old (and even MALE) friends XD
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bySushiman314 April 26, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
This is one of the best shows I have ever seen! And that's saying a lot considering I am 16...and a boy! I have watched every episode and now I eagerly await the next! Also I think the show has some great messages but some of the humor may go right over a younger child's head but I find it very funny.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byharakou May 18, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byBranislavDJ March 20, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Prefect for everyone.

I really love the show. I just can't wait till next Friday. :P
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byXanadu84 May 10, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great for kids...and adults?!

This is easily the best children's show in a long time. More importantly, it is one of those extraordinarily rare shows with genuinely positive FEMALE role models who are concerned with more then clothes and boys. Sure, it addresses the most basic of morality lessons about friendship, kindness, respect and the like, but it manages to do so without talking down to the child. It has high quality animation, voicing, and writing. Believe it or not, this show is rapidly developing a huge following of adult males because it is of such incredible quality. And personally, I notice that fans of this show tend to treat each other with a little more respect then the average anonymous internet user. If the show can have a positive influence on grown adults, imagine what it must do for your young daughter. Of course, that means one major concern to consider: The show has developed such a huge following amongst adults, many so called, "Bronies" have forgotten that the show is made for kids! Search Google or Youtube for the show, and you will get material that is hardly the most inappropriate material on the web, but material that is not kid friendly. Clips of MLP set to the trailers of "300" and "Inglorious Bastards", or pictures of an irritated Twilight Sparkle with the blurb, "I'm going to tolerate and love the S**t out of you" are pretty funny and mild for an adult, but not so good for children. So be careful if your child wants to see stuff related to the show outside of the show itself. Yes, I got caught up in the craze, and watched and loved this show. It inspires that little spark of child-like wonder that every adult carries with them. Yes, its hard to get over that hump of being an adult watching candy-colored ponies, but there is a truly noble experiment in here, from the mind of creator Lauren Faust of "Powerpuff Girls" and "Fosters Home for Imaginary Friends" fame. I recommend you let your kid watch it, and watch it with them! you may actually enjoy it just as much as your child.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old June 6, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

My Little Pony is for All Ages!

I believe this is a really awesome show. This is because the characters show a lot of diversity, and most of the characters what friendship really means. This show is basically like a fable to me, with a moral at the end. For someone like me, who has little to no friends, in their/my perspective, it is quite education. However, there are some cons in this show that parents will dislike. There can be some violence, regarding the pilot, but from some review I've seen on YouTube, that is just to give the backround of the characters, and you should dig deeper into this big blue series. This show seems to have 18+ men and tomboys go Lady GaGa over it. That shows that this show is not only appropiate for children and has great child humor, while at the same time, it has Tween-Adulthood humor as well. To conclude, this is a feminine version of Phineas and Ferb, but yet with a different point and characters. And when I mean feminine version of Phineas and Ferb, I mean to say it like this: It's a cartoon for all ages!~
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byDr.Pepper March 8, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great for all ages!!!

This is probably one of the most wholesome and kind-hearted cartoon I have seen in ages. You can let even the youngest kids watch this one and never have to worry about them seeing anything objectable.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bydragoonlover October 26, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic is a great series. It is likely Lauren Faust's best cartoon and the best incarnation of My Little Pony yet. It has great, charming characters you could fall in love with and has none of the cheesiness or simplistic writing of the previous versions of My Little Pony. The Flash animation is put to great effect, as it looks almost theatrical quality, and the musical score is also great as well. One thing I love about the new My Little Pony is that has smart, character-driven humor but doesn't have the hip or gross out jokes that many cartoons have. But nor does it seem to shove the lessons down the throats of the children at the expense of intelligence. Many people have already fallen under the spell of this fantastic cartoon, including guys. But the children would never realize they were learning important lessons about friendship because the show seems like too much fun to be an edutoon. It's truly a remarkable and welcome show.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byZamoonda June 18, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Never have seen finer.

To tell you the truth, I'm quite active on the internet. I'm browsing many boards, and when I have heard of My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic from the infamous 4chan, I wasn't quite sure if it was just trolling or downright strangeness. Of course, I remember the old My Little Pony from years back; really ... not the best, frankly. I would say even kids themselves didn't like it, much less us! I said. "Well then, I'll have to give it a go. Perhaps my daughter would like it?" I have went over to youtube, in 7 in the morning, searched, and strangely found a lot of videos in quite high quality; and by premium users. It appears that Hasbro didn't take down any videos, which I am glad for! So I began watching. Studying. It looked ... okay, to say the least. That's the first thing that came to my mind. I wasn't immediately thrown out of my seat, searching for bleach for my eyes. In fact, it was quite the opposite! I found myself leaning on my desk, watching. And watching. And watching, and watching. "Shortly," my wife comes around the corner and asked. "What are you watching?" I began to tell her that I'm checking out a possible show for our daughter, and to tell her it's brilliant. Suddenly, I look at the clock; 11 AM! What have I been doing? I'm on episode 9! I was dumbstruck for a bit, but then managed to tell her. But from these nine episodes I've watched then, I had to say; the show is brilliant! The animation is amazing, an outstanding piece of work. The characters ... so thought out, so developed! I found myself amazed at this show. I don't know what it is .. Is it the great humor, not overdone, but not too little? It's ... a thousand subtle things! I just don't know what it is. But when I saw it, I told myself that this is definitely not only a little girl's show, perhaps even a family show all in all! A matter of days later, I've got both my daughter and son to watch it. And me with them. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this show, other than episode .. was it 14? It was called "Feeling Pinkie Keen." (Spoilers ahead) It's about Pinkie Pie, the pink-haired and skinned pony, whom has this sort of ... sense, if you will, that she can predict the future. For example, when her tail twitches, something is gonna fall. When ... something about the eye, plus tail, plus knee, I believe, you need to watch out for slamming doors. And the purple pony, Twilight Sparkle, tries to figure out scientific proof for this. However, she doesn't, and in the end she just understands that "there are things you just can't explain, that you can only believe in." While I am jewish, I don't actually believe in religion. You could say I'm atheist, but I'm still celebrating jewish holidays, and the such. However, I dislike the mortal of the story, which I believe has a subtle hint for religion in it. It might just me being paranoid, but then again, I do work in chemistry, not sure how to call it in English, so that's most probably just me and my "there is an explanation to anything and everything." All in all? Whether you have kids or not, no matter your age, you would want to watch this. I'm telling you, this show is amazing. If you genuinely wish to watch it, and you don't come as an anti, you will love it. By the time I watched the tenth episode -- after I finished 9, I stopped, I don't really have the time to watch it alone, and would prefer to watch it with my kids -- I was completely hooked. Be warned, however. Do not, in the most absolute manner, do not allow your children to search the internet for My Little Pony. Even if you are supervising them. Google Images only stops in-real-life pronography. There are plenty of pornography (blowjobs, naked humanized ponies) on the internet, even in places such as google. If you wish for your child to browse the web for it, ask what he or she wishes to browse, and browse it for them while they aren't looking. Or, make sure that they don't check google images, and they don't enter any site that you do not see as legitimate. These images come from the adult fans of this show, called the Bronies. The Bronies come from the imaeboard known as 4chan.org. There are two boards in specific that I will talk about -- the /B/, also known as the Random board, as well as /Co/, known as the Comics & Cartoons board. The term Brony comes from /B/rony and /Co/lts. A /b/rony is a person who is a fan of the show but is primarily on /b/ board, whereas a /co/lt is a fan of the show but is primarily on the /co/ board. The community that has settled in the website, ponychan.net, is amazing. Just outstanding. Their philosophy is of love and tolerance; images such as "I'm gonna tolerate and love the sh** out of you." Their philosophy is this; trolls (or parasprites as they call them, a person who asks stupid questions to annoy people, or tries to annoy people directly. Their general goal is to "feed on your tears." They just love seeing people rage and fight. Think of them as The Joker from The Dark Knight.") that attack them, they will simply reply in kindness. Basically trolling the trolls with kindness, which is simply outright hilarious. There is also no pornography allowed there, so in some of my free time I browse there from time-to-time. Very intellectual discussions are going on there, and just sometimes outright funny threads. All in all, the community, the show, and everything that has ever related to My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, I must give it a 5/5. Watch it today.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written bylena123 April 21, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byTimeMakerMan June 4, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Very unique.

This is one of the best shows on The Hub and on T.V. I like all the characters and colorful colors and the show has showed that it’s very unique and fun to watch, unlike other stupid shows like Family guy.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 12 year old Written byRainbowgirl1295 May 3, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Grate for all ages boy or girl

This show is grate for all ages boy or girl. Im just glad my kids get to enjoy something i use to watch way back when lol. So i have a bit of an idea of what there talking about when they tell me about Rainbow bright (My sons favorite) or Pinkie pie (my little girls favorite) This is a cartoon like non others and is a must see in my books .
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byIwaki July 3, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great for all ages.

All ages can watch this. I'm 14 yet I'm watching My Little Pony. And I'm a male.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written bySynchronicity July 6, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Amazing cartoon deserves its whole audience, even "bronies" like myself

I'm just an average hot-blooded American male who you'd expect to play and watch hyperviolent media...and I do. In other words, I'm not exactly the intended audience for My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. And yet, on any given day, you could find me discussing with other people my age and older about how awesome this show is. For a cartoon that's based on a line of toys, it doesn't give off any sort of commercial feeling, like MLP:FIM's sister shows/toy lines Transformers and GI Joe. But unlike those two, which are literally filled with wall-to-wall action (due to their major appeal to the boy demographic), FIM has equal appeal to both boys and girls. A key reason? Lauren Faust. I grew up in the tail-end of Generation Y when shows such as Codename: Kids Next Door, The Powerpuff Girls and Foster's Home for Imaginary Friends all reigned supreme (and Cartoon Network didn't degrade into the accelerated black hole it is now, but that's beside the point.) While those three shows were occasionally inappropriate for young kids due to defiance against authority, violence and innuendo (respectively), they all had amazing amounts of talent behind them, including Lauren Faust. This transfers over to Friendship is Magic effortlessly, and this sense of nostalgia, along with well-developed characters, jokes and references that are snarky but in an innocent way, and good messages all combine to form an awesome show that just needs to be watched by everyone. The only thing to worry about is some minor aggression by characters who are presented as mean to begin with. But such incidents are few and far between (the Diamond Dogs episode is a good example). I'll end with a word of warning: while youngsters should stay away from YouTube, 4chan, deviantART and TV Tropes (well, some parts of the latter two) to begin with, the fact that the fandom of FIM is so rampant and widespread makes it difficult to search up the show on Google, Bing or whatever without running into some objectionable content some fans put together, like the aforementioned fanfics, image macros, 300 and Inglourious Basterds parodies, etc. But every major cartoon/TV show has that sort of audience (called a Periphery Demographic); heck, I don't think that little kids should look up their favorites for that very reason. Keeping that in mind, though, the SHOW is perfectly okay for anyone old enough to watch TV, everypony. (Brony for life. XD)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMauro C June 24, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

One of the best shows this generation has to offer.

What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byDearos August 11, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

An execellent show for children (and a fair few adults) to enjoy.

The fact that it has gained such an Internet following in the span of just a few months is shocking. When I first started noticing the sudden influx of ponies into message boards and forums which I considered to be mature I though it was... odd to say the least. I watched the first episode on Youtube to see what all the fuss was about and I was amazed by the quality of the show. The animation is done in Adobe Flash which is amazing considering the quality of the animation. The voice acting is very good (I mean it has VA veteran Tara Strong voicing the main character). The songs are catchy, the stories are mostly good, the jokes are funny and the characters are not your typical cartoon/kids show characters. They are not one dimensional and each are relatively complex and each have an interestingly and realistically flawed personality which allows children (as well as adults) to relate to at least one character out of the six members of the main cast. To sum up; it is an execellent little cartoon and execellent cartoons are becoming quite rare nowadays.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bysongbird125 November 22, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Had to Take a Break from Ponyville

My 4 year-old daughter loves this show, but we have had to take a break. Yes, the show has some good messages about friendship and some strong female role models and this is all good. However, I found that my daughter was mimicking some of the ponies' bad behaviors ie. pointing and laughing at family members, which the ponies have done to each other in at least one episode. There are also some scary moments in some of the episodes. I don't think this show is appropriate for kids any younger than 5, given these "elements."
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old November 4, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A TOTALLY AWESOME SHOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think that this is an AWESOME show for girls under 7 and males 17 and up! One of the best shows i've ever seen (besides SpongeBob, CatDog, Adventure Time, and The Simpsons, those of which depends on wether parents thinks their kids should watch)! Yes, I'm a brony and I'm not ashamed of it!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySnowCatAkemi November 24, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

A Refreshing Change from most kids' shows

Though I'm thirteen years old, I love My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. It's a shockingly refreshing show, quite different from many almost nauseating kids' cartoons. The characters are well-developed, with multi-level personalities. There's nothing inappropriate that I've found, though there are a few high-octane scenes from time to time, such as a (completely non-violent) encounter with a dragon, but only the youngest, if any child, will find it scary. It's filled with strong female role models, and the male characters, though lesser in number, are treated equally. The characters all have active roles in their community, one being a gifted athlete who works in weather, another a scholar come to town to continue her studies, and another who tends to her family farm. Even the character that seems most girly, a seamstress named Rarity, is shown to be able to defend herself, and puts much effort into pleasing all of her friends and managing her small business. The animation quality is fantastic, and the art style is simplistic and a bit refreshing. It's very bright, but not annoyingly so, and even parents can enjoy it. I've caught throwbacks to classic cartoons such as Pinky and the Brain, as well as subtle nods to figures of speech. The show always pushes kindness and fairness, and though the characters often have their falling-outs as real friends do, they always work out in the end and accept their differences. Though the messages are cheesy alone, the show works around this and manages to build up a thoroughly enjoyable way to teach them, and is unique in that respect. It certainly strikes a perfect balance between the preachy educational programs and the questionable entertaining ones.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages