All parent member reviews for My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic

Parents say

(out of 59 reviews)
age 5+
Review this title!
Adult Written byAwesomePerson1996 April 18, 2016

From a Brony's Prespective

I'm a Brony. I started watching the show in the Summer of 2014. I instantly fell in love with it after watching a couple of episodes. I love learning about the magic of friendship. All the characters have depth and the story lines are awesome! I love the music as well! MLP:FiM is an amazing show. I think that's something that people of any age can enjoy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator Written bymaddox121 March 6, 2016

Beware the bronies online...

...There is nothing inappropriate in show however bronies swear online.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byshabb3r February 29, 2016

Great for anybody, guys or girls - DON'T judge the fandom though!

I'll start with a confession: I never expected to be where i am today without this show. First off, screw sexist stereotypes. Too many ppl these days think growing up and being an adult means u gotta throw those toys away and stop watching cartoons, and that anything colorful is girly and stupid. WRONG!!! This is a great cartoon that anyone of any age or gender can enjoy for a few reasons: #1 - Adult References, #2 - Superb Flash animation, #3, Relatable character traits, #4 Morals and values. If you love cartoons then u gotta watch MLP. Do note that there is a HUGE amount of merchandise with MLP - it can be tempting to buy some! Another mistake people make with My Little Pony is the fandom that surrounds it. In life whereever u find good fandoms there will always be "those thugs" who set out to give the whole group a bad name. Some of these "thugs" make really bad stuff, which include the fanfic "Cupcakes", clopfics, and numerous porn art. Ignore them and filter their junk out with your browsing settings if need be. Don't let them turn you into a judgmental freak. See the real light of people from the vast majority and not from a few "thugs". Peace out! <3
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written bybossmamaof2 April 23, 2015

Kids love it!

This show seems to have a positive message about being friends and working together. I have a boy and a girl and they both love it. As far as the consumerism of it....if you don't want your kids to have a ton of the toys don't buy them. My daughter has a few ponies, but I have no problem denying her a new one when we are at the store. Kids don't need all the toys in the world and some parents seem to forget that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byPianocat9521 January 14, 2015

Best Show

It's appropriate for all ages, but younger children will not appreciate the value of such an amazing show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4 and 6 year old Written byhbs78910 October 26, 2014

My husband and I enjoy it too!

MLP is refreshing on so many levels. It has enough humor to keep parents entertained, yet is clean and appropriate for preschoolers. I know of boys and girls of many ages who enjoy it. There are several episodes that can get very scary for younger kids, so be close by when Nightmare Moon, Discord or other villains are featured. In the end there is always a positive message, the girls are great friends to each other and diversity is valued among the friends.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byBakaSaurus May 24, 2014

Cute Show.

I love this show. I actually like it better than the older G1-G2-G3 pony shows. The show has a unique art style and, plot for both girls and boys/ older woman and men that can enjoy this series.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byJustanothercommentor May 12, 2014

Ponies... Ponies have changed

WARNING Season 4's finale may be too violent for some young kids.
Adult Written byJonathonWilder April 3, 2014

A refreshingly good tv series for children and adults

There is much that can be said about these series began by Lauren Faust, then continued after she left by many talented writers. Having a variety of good characters that can be said to break from stereotypes and show a number of good role models. I admit, mattering the writer and episodes the main characters can be better or worse as an example but one message shown commonly throughout is that for mistakes made they learn from such. Almost every single episode has a positive message that is offered at the end and can be discussed by parents. There is even Christian parallels that can be taken, even though the ponies have no true 'religion'. From the fall of Luna and her transformation into Nightmare Moon, imprisoned until such a time that she could be redeemed and forgiven. Thus in this way a lesson in repentance and forgiveness can be taught, perhaps even that of the conflict of God and Satan. Also many of the lessons offered by the episodes can be used to help children learn of good morals and values, that of how to show love and friendship to others. It can be funny, insightful and entertaining, without the dangers of so many cartoons today. Some have put there is too much violence, and yet ponies to not come to any grievous harm nor is their death. That and far greater violence c an be found in the Bible itself. The worst violence being from that of the more slapstick humor of the Looney Tunes, and this being only a few of the episodes. Again, what is shown can be discussed by parents and used to teach. Some have put there is too much sex, yet the only reference too such is Spikes crush on Rarity with nothing for then a kiss on the cheek or hugs between friends and family. Rarity has been know to charm others ponies though, being more of the beauty of the main six characters. There is also the marriage between Shining Armour and Princess Cadance, and a previous couple being that of Mr. and Mrs. Cake who later have twins. On consumerism, the show itself stays very much in story thus it would only be from commercials if watched on the Hub that would clue children in on all the toys, by finding them in stores, or online. The tv show itself will not manipulate children into asking for the toys, what needs to be watched for is the commercials.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byEvtops February 11, 2014

Just had to add my 5 star support

This is a great show with alot to offer. There is something really special about a series with such varied and excellent female rolemodels who don't succumb to the petty, boy-crazy stereotypes that most other shows do. The main characters solve their problems through sensible means, and grow from their mistakes. Every episode has an excellent theme and accompanying moral. The animation is fun, and the voice acting is top notch and has produced many catchy musical numbers. This is by far the best show on television right now for girls, and if your boy wants to watch it by all means let him. It also has a following of adults and teens of both genders, and for good reason. I highly recommend this series to anyone, but especially parents of little girls.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byTomtheCTbrony November 19, 2013

Great show for kids, and a reminder for adults

Wow. I can't begin to adequately extoll the brilliance of the team that brings this show to the world. Each character is multidimensional, pure of heart, and the very definition of a role model, as each main cast pony represents anything from integrity, kindness, generosity, laughter, loyalty, and leadership, and the strength with which these traits shine through is powerful and inspiring. I would be proud to be a parent whose child emulated what they saw from these characters. Friendship is Magic tells heartwarming, exciting, and funny stories, all while completely bereft of the cynicism and sexuality that is so prevalent in today's culture, and violence in this show is nearly nonexistent, and never the solution to a problem.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bySourGalaxy October 11, 2013

Overall pretty great show

My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic is a very well made cartoon that can appeal to all ages. Unlike with the previous My Little Pony shows, this one focuses more on characters and stories rather than try and hypnotize little girls into buying toys. As for inappropriate content, there really isn't any, but sometimes it has very mild fantasy violence. Great animation, great voice acting and good writing. My only complaints are the plots can be too simple and the "Brony" fanbase, which are male fans who obsess over the show, tends to give this show a negative image. There is also positive messages about friendship, which parents can appreciate. Overall good show, it's great show that the whole family can watch.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bybeenwire August 17, 2013

an excellent show but it does have very slight violence

while the show is lighthearted death and violence are referenced occasionally, for instance in one episode the character spike tries to frame an owl for murder of a mouse by taking a toy mouse ripping it up and covering it in ketchup, while the scene is meant to be comedic in nature small children may find it disturbing. there is also another episode where one character endures much slapstick style violence and apparently fractures her two front legs (there wrapped in bandages) and her assistant spike lets go of the rope suspending them away from the ground causing them to hit a log with a crunch that may be disturbing to some. lastly characters often are in danger of falling to there death which may scare some small children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byOxSensationalxO June 14, 2013

A very good show.

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic is a great TV show for the young, but can also be for older people, 'like teenagers'. I believe the show can teach kids things, like it did for me. It told me to stand up for myself in one of the episodes that explain Fluttershy's shyness. It also is entertaining for all ages. Twilight and her friends explain friendship, also to show kids about that friendship isn't all 'friendship'. It can be special.. ;-) So I give this a 5/5. It is a really great show. ;-)
Adult Written byA. Urzi January 17, 2013

MLP, not just for girls any more.

My Little Pony is a quality cartoon for children of any age, or get this, gender. Its themes and lessons are equally valuable and the show is equally entertaining for girls & boys alike. I don't expect your son to start collecting the toys and brush the ponies manes of course or want his room to be painted pink, but as an animated show, this isn't going to hurt your sons masculinity any. The show has pop culture references galore for anyone astute enough to catch them, from I love Lucy to Big Labowski to Dr Who. The show isn't about dating or cooking, or slumber parties....(well there was that one episode). Shows range from fighting off sleeping dragons, how to handle one's pride, time management, finding out who you are by discovery, not being told, the downside of vanity, addresses prejudice against someone for just being different, how gifts can brighten other's days, how you should push yourself but not at the expense of your morals, just to name a few. There is plenty of action and adventure thrown in, and just a couple of cupcakes. Unfortunately, thanks to society, and bullies, and perceived gender roles, if your male, or older child does watch My Little Pony, they should probably keep that information to themselves, I hate to say it and they shouldn't have to...but that’s how it is, and that fight against society should be fought by parents not fights on the playground. Just as a parent, if your male child shows an interest, don't panic or make him stop. To address concern over Bronies, and fan made content, when you have an unexpected adult fan base, it's only natural to have the characters, sullied up a bit, and put into some adult situations. Everyone eventually grows up, and while some of the themes that adult community explorers are adult in nature, they are for the most part natural; fillies come from someplace you know. Does it mean that content is appropriate for children? No. That said there is a lot of really amazing, genuinely good, and safe fan content created as well. Take the bad with a grain of salt, if you want guaranteed safe family friendly online content for your child, that’s what the my little pony website run by Hasbro is for. No parent in this day and age should give their child unsupervised access to the internet, especially YouTube, let alone sites like Deviant Art.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of an infant, 2, 3, 5, 6, and 11 year old Written byResponsibleParentOf9 December 5, 2012

Awesome!

This is an awesome and educational show! ALL my children LOVE it!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 5, 6, 7, and 11 year old Written byAnEpicGuy December 3, 2012

Truly epic.

As a father and brony myself, I declare this show epic for ages 6, as 3-5 year olds might imitate. As long as they dont imitate, this is an epic choice for all families.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 9, 2012

I'm a brony,and i'm proud of it!

MLP:FiM is perfect for ALL AGES! It will teach you A LOT about friendship.Even though Spike has a crush on Rarity,Rainbow Dash (while pretty cool) is a terrible role model,and there is a lot of mercandising (I bought a Derpy T-Shirt at Walmart one day.) One of my friends at college is a brony too! I also agree with him that it's a funny,amazing,cool,fun to watch,action packed,positive,and AWESOME show! BEST SHOW ON THE HUB!!!
Parent of a 2, 10, 11, 15, and 15 year old Written bycharmsmatuts September 5, 2012

Don't listen to some of those people who say "This is for little girls only not boys!"

In my years I've seen plenty of amazing hub shows (Looking at you Transformers Prime and Code Lyoko) But My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic is probably the best show on the channel, Nah, Its actually one of the most superb cartoons I've ever seen in my intire life! So this is created by Lauren Fest, also creator of Gravity Falls on Disney Channel, and Fosters Home for Imaginary Friends and Powerpuff Girls both on Cartoon Network. I think there's more she made. Now I also love Gravity Falls, Fosters Home for Imaginary Friends, and Powerpuff Girls. Now your right that I am a man, but at 1st I thought this was gonna stink! But I decided to give it a chance and It blew my mind! I see why people like this! I'm happy its popular! Unlike the original My Little Pony these ponies are way cuter! Its funnier too. The Animation is also really good, Now its not right to say the animation is too bright and colorful. Animation is supposed to be like that in the 21st century. The acting is also really fresh and superb! Its messages (Of Course) are on friendship and being clever and nice. All characters are good role models obviously. So its always okay to question to yourself why boys like this show too? What are bronies? or pretty much anything. But please don't go saying "This is for little girls only not boys" because that's just not the right way to grow up, plus that means you've never even seen any episodes. I love this show, Its always okay in my house or wherever I go. But it is probably best to stay away from the toys since they really are for younger children. PS I'll also recommend the new Pound Puppies and other shows on the hub. Currently this has had 2 seasons and I'm hoping for more! I hope this lasts like... I dunno, forever!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byFelicity1169 August 21, 2012

Okay show but beware the fans!!

I'm in college so most of the children shows I watch are what my little brother watches. This show however was suggested to me by a friend of mine. The show it self was your average show aimed at little girls and I congratulate the creators for taking the time to make a show with great characters and good messages unlike the previous My little pony shows that were incredibly bland and looked like they put it together last minute to sell toys (this one still is trying to sell toys though). However for some strange reason college aged men and older have fallen in love with this show. I don't know why. I mean there are tons of shows that are meant for kids that have tons of adult fans like Avatar and Adventure Time but there's something off putting about grown men watching a show about something I used to play with when I was a little girl. So please parents just don't look up fan art.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism

Pages