All parent member reviews for My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic

Parents say

(out of 63 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Adult Written bydragoonlover October 26, 2010
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic is a great series. It is likely Lauren Faust's best cartoon and the best incarnation of My Little Pony yet. It has great, charming characters you could fall in love with and has none of the cheesiness or simplistic writing of the previous versions of My Little Pony. The Flash animation is put to great effect, as it looks almost theatrical quality, and the musical score is also great as well. One thing I love about the new My Little Pony is that has smart, character-driven humor but doesn't have the hip or gross out jokes that many cartoons have. But nor does it seem to shove the lessons down the throats of the children at the expense of intelligence. Many people have already fallen under the spell of this fantastic cartoon, including guys. But the children would never realize they were learning important lessons about friendship because the show seems like too much fun to be an edutoon. It's truly a remarkable and welcome show.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 1, 10, and 10 year old Written byStacie M. July 30, 2016

Great show

This is a great show to watch with your kids. Me and my kids really like this show
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byLoxiney December 20, 2015

"Jolly good show"

So yeah. I'm an adult (18 year-old male) and This is such a great show in my opinion. I love watching this, because I have problems with understanding spoken English. There are both American and British English in the show. It has catchy adventures, interesting creatures (ponies of course, but also some monsters and animals) and a lot of jokes which make me smile. There are also a couple of hilarious songs here. I love them :P Each episode has its own valuable messages, hardly violence, some nice adventures, a lot of humor and of course the best animation I've ever seen.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 1, 4, 8, 10, 13, 14, 14, and 17 year old Written byparentof7 February 26, 2015

let my 8 year old watch

its for girls 6 to 9 only
Parent Written byJustanothercommentor May 12, 2014

Ponies... Ponies have changed

WARNING Season 4's finale may be too violent for some young kids.
Parent Written byOxSensationalxO June 14, 2013

A very good show.

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic is a great TV show for the young, but can also be for older people, 'like teenagers'. I believe the show can teach kids things, like it did for me. It told me to stand up for myself in one of the episodes that explain Fluttershy's shyness. It also is entertaining for all ages. Twilight and her friends explain friendship, also to show kids about that friendship isn't all 'friendship'. It can be special.. ;-) So I give this a 5/5. It is a really great show. ;-)
Educator and Parent Written byLindseysmama November 29, 2012

My Little Pony....A great Education!

This is smart show. It is not for "four year olds". Caillou is for 4 year olds. (A great and educational show, I might add.)The vocabulary and depth of the My Little Pony" show can only be understood by the most precoscious 5 or 6 year old. Otherwise it is made for 7 and 8 year olds who have a good grasp of vocabulary. Grown-ups should take stock in this show. It is for the intelligent young audience who love musicals and a great adventure and story! The characters are the very beings who make up our world today. Kuddos to the writers and producers of this show! Thank God you were here while my little girl is young. Two thumbs up!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byCastielFan March 17, 2017

Cute show

Its a cute show and given good messages it 90s cartoon for the new generation, Got the Merch(Plush Toys and Pop Vinyl mainly Pinkie Pie),Awesome songs due to cathy Lyrics and my most favourite pony is Pinkie Pie(She Reflects My Personality)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2, 5, 13, and 17 year old Written bySuper U. September 6, 2016

My Little Pony

It's actually pretty good! I used to think the show was gonna turn my kids into furries, but I watched it and changed everything. The show is actually funny and can be pretty dark and somewhat violent as well. Rainbow Dash is the best pony.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byAwesomePerson1996 April 18, 2016

From a Brony's Prespective

I'm a Brony. I started watching the show in the Summer of 2014. I instantly fell in love with it after watching a couple of episodes. I love learning about the magic of friendship. All the characters have depth and the story lines are awesome! I love the music as well! MLP:FiM is an amazing show. I think that's something that people of any age can enjoy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator Written bymaddox121 March 6, 2016

Beware the bronies online...

...There is nothing inappropriate in show however bronies swear online.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byshabb3r February 29, 2016

Great for anybody, guys or girls - DON'T judge the fandom though!

I'll start with a confession: I never expected to be where i am today without this show. First off, screw sexist stereotypes. Too many ppl these days think growing up and being an adult means u gotta throw those toys away and stop watching cartoons, and that anything colorful is girly and stupid. WRONG!!! This is a great cartoon that anyone of any age or gender can enjoy for a few reasons: #1 - Adult References, #2 - Superb Flash animation, #3, Relatable character traits, #4 Morals and values. If you love cartoons then u gotta watch MLP. Do note that there is a HUGE amount of merchandise with MLP - it can be tempting to buy some! Another mistake people make with My Little Pony is the fandom that surrounds it. In life whereever u find good fandoms there will always be "those thugs" who set out to give the whole group a bad name. Some of these "thugs" make really bad stuff, which include the fanfic "Cupcakes", clopfics, and numerous porn art. Ignore them and filter their junk out with your browsing settings if need be. Don't let them turn you into a judgmental freak. See the real light of people from the vast majority and not from a few "thugs". Peace out! <3
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written bybossmamaof2 April 23, 2015

Kids love it!

This show seems to have a positive message about being friends and working together. I have a boy and a girl and they both love it. As far as the consumerism of it....if you don't want your kids to have a ton of the toys don't buy them. My daughter has a few ponies, but I have no problem denying her a new one when we are at the store. Kids don't need all the toys in the world and some parents seem to forget that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byPianocat9521 January 14, 2015

Best Show

It's appropriate for all ages, but younger children will not appreciate the value of such an amazing show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4 and 6 year old Written byhbs78910 October 26, 2014

My husband and I enjoy it too!

MLP is refreshing on so many levels. It has enough humor to keep parents entertained, yet is clean and appropriate for preschoolers. I know of boys and girls of many ages who enjoy it. There are several episodes that can get very scary for younger kids, so be close by when Nightmare Moon, Discord or other villains are featured. In the end there is always a positive message, the girls are great friends to each other and diversity is valued among the friends.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byBakaSaurus May 24, 2014

Cute Show.

I love this show. I actually like it better than the older G1-G2-G3 pony shows. The show has a unique art style and, plot for both girls and boys/ older woman and men that can enjoy this series.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byJonathonWilder April 3, 2014

A refreshingly good tv series for children and adults

There is much that can be said about these series began by Lauren Faust, then continued after she left by many talented writers. Having a variety of good characters that can be said to break from stereotypes and show a number of good role models. I admit, mattering the writer and episodes the main characters can be better or worse as an example but one message shown commonly throughout is that for mistakes made they learn from such. Almost every single episode has a positive message that is offered at the end and can be discussed by parents. There is even Christian parallels that can be taken, even though the ponies have no true 'religion'. From the fall of Luna and her transformation into Nightmare Moon, imprisoned until such a time that she could be redeemed and forgiven. Thus in this way a lesson in repentance and forgiveness can be taught, perhaps even that of the conflict of God and Satan. Also many of the lessons offered by the episodes can be used to help children learn of good morals and values, that of how to show love and friendship to others. It can be funny, insightful and entertaining, without the dangers of so many cartoons today. Some have put there is too much violence, and yet ponies to not come to any grievous harm nor is their death. That and far greater violence c an be found in the Bible itself. The worst violence being from that of the more slapstick humor of the Looney Tunes, and this being only a few of the episodes. Again, what is shown can be discussed by parents and used to teach. Some have put there is too much sex, yet the only reference too such is Spikes crush on Rarity with nothing for then a kiss on the cheek or hugs between friends and family. Rarity has been know to charm others ponies though, being more of the beauty of the main six characters. There is also the marriage between Shining Armour and Princess Cadance, and a previous couple being that of Mr. and Mrs. Cake who later have twins. On consumerism, the show itself stays very much in story thus it would only be from commercials if watched on the Hub that would clue children in on all the toys, by finding them in stores, or online. The tv show itself will not manipulate children into asking for the toys, what needs to be watched for is the commercials.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byEvtops February 11, 2014

Just had to add my 5 star support

This is a great show with alot to offer. There is something really special about a series with such varied and excellent female rolemodels who don't succumb to the petty, boy-crazy stereotypes that most other shows do. The main characters solve their problems through sensible means, and grow from their mistakes. Every episode has an excellent theme and accompanying moral. The animation is fun, and the voice acting is top notch and has produced many catchy musical numbers. This is by far the best show on television right now for girls, and if your boy wants to watch it by all means let him. It also has a following of adults and teens of both genders, and for good reason. I highly recommend this series to anyone, but especially parents of little girls.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byTomtheCTbrony November 19, 2013

Great show for kids, and a reminder for adults

Wow. I can't begin to adequately extoll the brilliance of the team that brings this show to the world. Each character is multidimensional, pure of heart, and the very definition of a role model, as each main cast pony represents anything from integrity, kindness, generosity, laughter, loyalty, and leadership, and the strength with which these traits shine through is powerful and inspiring. I would be proud to be a parent whose child emulated what they saw from these characters. Friendship is Magic tells heartwarming, exciting, and funny stories, all while completely bereft of the cynicism and sexuality that is so prevalent in today's culture, and violence in this show is nearly nonexistent, and never the solution to a problem.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bySourGalaxy October 11, 2013

Overall pretty great show

My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic is a very well made cartoon that can appeal to all ages. Unlike with the previous My Little Pony shows, this one focuses more on characters and stories rather than try and hypnotize little girls into buying toys. As for inappropriate content, there really isn't any, but sometimes it has very mild fantasy violence. Great animation, great voice acting and good writing. My only complaints are the plots can be too simple and the "Brony" fanbase, which are male fans who obsess over the show, tends to give this show a negative image. There is also positive messages about friendship, which parents can appreciate. Overall good show, it's great show that the whole family can watch.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages