All parent member reviews for My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 57 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byexarian February 9, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Lauren Faust likes the parents, too.

... And the male viewers stuck with their niece, and the girl's older brother. The show Puts forward strong, but believable role models that recognizes and respects the intelligence of the viewer, with strong characters and writing that is sometimes smarter than it has any business being. Do not compare this to any other My little Pony related media. It is completely different in nature, with writing focused on telling a story and creating solid characters than selling toys (for instance, the toys all come with a "pet" for each individual pony, and sometimes a limited edition pony... none of these are shoehorned into the show in order to hype the merchandise.) The series is by no means condescending to the target audience, not about their age or gender, as the show is very much feminist in nature. For instance, one female main character is in higher education, another is a skilled athlete, another is a hard working farmer, yet another owns and runs her own small business, and even the mayor of the town is female, while males are given just as much respect and are also shown holding similar jobs. Even stereotypically feminine livelihoods, such a seamstress, is depicted in a fairly mature way so as not to imply it is any less work than harvesting the farms crops. The role models are all strong, yet they are not "perfection shoved down your throat" strong. Like any other person, they all have their issues and problems that they work through as friends. Sometimes some charters are brash or ungrateful at times, but this is always clearly depicted as a flaw and is treated as such in a believable manner. The grown ups in the audience will find the well written episodes and characters charming, as many that are far outside of the demographic have become fond of the show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bydebdemers September 4, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

OK message but delivery may give pause

My 5 y/o loves this show (only show she wants to watch!) but I am ready to "accidentally" phase it out. It is not so much the message as the attitude and whininess of the ponies. We have enough battles with a 5 y/o girls about whininess and thinking other others etc. I know all ends well, but it seems that they all seem a little spoiled and self-serving along the way.
Adult Written byDraegur April 29, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Ideal for All Ages--ALL ages. That includes you, too, moms and dads!

... Now, y'see, I grew up in the mid 90's. My entire generation was exposed to some of the best cartoons that ever existed--and of those best cartoons, we took the best material. Now it's my generation that's making the cartoons--and it thrills me to see that this is the result. I've gotta say... I didn't expect to enjoy this show at all, let alone so much! The messages are all positive, the lessons are valuable, the stories are enjoyable to follow, and the art style is lovely. I've never seen such a tasteful iteration of CUTE OVERLOAD in my life! Things less cute than this show have made me practically ill in the past--but somehow, this particular iteration of My Little Pony manages to do it with grace AND class. I'd say that, despite being a show licensed BY a toy company FOR the marketing of toys, it actually has surprisingly (and refreshingly) little consumerism in it. You can practically tell that these animators and writers aren't rolling their eyes in disgust at their handiwork, but actually enjoying and loving what they do. They're in it for the story, and thanks to that, the story is top notch--whimsical and guileless though it may be. Rather than coming off as shallow, they've managed to give it a feel of honesty. I can't even quantify how incredibly much I respect that! But enough praise for the the flaws that are missing--there's what's actually in there: Loyalty. Honesty. Integrity. Kindness. Generosity. Forgiveness. The cultivation of open minds. If I could have seen this show when I was a little kid, I bet I would have turned out far, FAR better adjusted than I did! Although it is obviously presenting the concept of friendship in a highly idealized fashion, it's still got the SOUL of it right. It still portrays friendship for what we all -wish- it could be. The best part is, it's all portrayed hilariously, with a surprising capacity for self-awareness. It's as if the characters, on some level, KNOW how silly it all is, and have decided to embrace it with delight rather than scorn. There's something in it for all ages, if you only know how to look. Watching this show, you have absolutely nothing to lose, and possibly even a good bit to gain. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SHOW, TO EVERYONE, even my twenty-something-year-old (and even MALE) friends XD
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bysongbird125 November 22, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Had to Take a Break from Ponyville

My 4 year-old daughter loves this show, but we have had to take a break. Yes, the show has some good messages about friendship and some strong female role models and this is all good. However, I found that my daughter was mimicking some of the ponies' bad behaviors ie. pointing and laughing at family members, which the ponies have done to each other in at least one episode. There are also some scary moments in some of the episodes. I don't think this show is appropriate for kids any younger than 5, given these "elements."
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byFluttershy Oakley August 4, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

This stuff is dangerous...

There's a reason I advise you caution before watching this or allowing anypony else to do so; after you have seen it, your life will be over. From the sheer quantity of adorable characters to the sheer quantity of adorable story-lines to the unfathomable brilliance of the script this "kids" programme will steal your heart. There are only two problems with it, the first being that there simply is is not enough of it. Secondly, it can cause you become entirely disenchanted with the world within which we live and makes you long to live in Equestria, where each day is filled with love and friendship, and most trials in life can be solved by utilising these key principles. Captivating songs, intricate character development and flawless animation style are but a few of the endless traits that make this a 10/10. Of the mane cast it's hard to envision somepony who wouldn't be able to associate with and pick out a favourite before sitting entranced, allowing the experience of their lives washing over them before going to bed and living in dreams made of hope and wonderment. To understand truly just how good it is, one may wish to understand some of the internet wars relating to this show. Those enrolled in the fandom tend to express themselves articulately, honestly and with a strong sense of moral centricity that those who disapprove seem to lack. When those in the anti-pony camp clash with bronies, the only negative point they seem to be able to invent is that because it's about colourful ponies it is lame. Awful argument, I hope you'll agree. Those who have joined the herd will counter with incitements of love, tolerance and courtesy in such vast proportions that it seems that all who have seen the show are imbued with greater abilities to cherish the beauty in life, such that previously they would have felt significantly less comfortable and inclined to do so. In short, don't watch this programme if you: are scared by horses of the animated persuasion or feel irreversibly depressed whenever you experience joy of the highest calibre. Do watch it if you have any common-sense. I don't have children, but when I do (assuming the world hasn't imploded due to some kind of technological/ecological/economical crisis by then) this will be MANDATORY watching for them. Honestly, those few who don't like it must be misanthropic demons who have some kind of inability to feel happiness. But you decide, watch the first... 26 episodes, then if you don't like it then that's just fine. Just fine. You will like it though. x
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byZamoonda June 18, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Never have seen finer.

To tell you the truth, I'm quite active on the internet. I'm browsing many boards, and when I have heard of My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic from the infamous 4chan, I wasn't quite sure if it was just trolling or downright strangeness. Of course, I remember the old My Little Pony from years back; really ... not the best, frankly. I would say even kids themselves didn't like it, much less us! I said. "Well then, I'll have to give it a go. Perhaps my daughter would like it?" I have went over to youtube, in 7 in the morning, searched, and strangely found a lot of videos in quite high quality; and by premium users. It appears that Hasbro didn't take down any videos, which I am glad for! So I began watching. Studying. It looked ... okay, to say the least. That's the first thing that came to my mind. I wasn't immediately thrown out of my seat, searching for bleach for my eyes. In fact, it was quite the opposite! I found myself leaning on my desk, watching. And watching. And watching, and watching. "Shortly," my wife comes around the corner and asked. "What are you watching?" I began to tell her that I'm checking out a possible show for our daughter, and to tell her it's brilliant. Suddenly, I look at the clock; 11 AM! What have I been doing? I'm on episode 9! I was dumbstruck for a bit, but then managed to tell her. But from these nine episodes I've watched then, I had to say; the show is brilliant! The animation is amazing, an outstanding piece of work. The characters ... so thought out, so developed! I found myself amazed at this show. I don't know what it is .. Is it the great humor, not overdone, but not too little? It's ... a thousand subtle things! I just don't know what it is. But when I saw it, I told myself that this is definitely not only a little girl's show, perhaps even a family show all in all! A matter of days later, I've got both my daughter and son to watch it. And me with them. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this show, other than episode .. was it 14? It was called "Feeling Pinkie Keen." (Spoilers ahead) It's about Pinkie Pie, the pink-haired and skinned pony, whom has this sort of ... sense, if you will, that she can predict the future. For example, when her tail twitches, something is gonna fall. When ... something about the eye, plus tail, plus knee, I believe, you need to watch out for slamming doors. And the purple pony, Twilight Sparkle, tries to figure out scientific proof for this. However, she doesn't, and in the end she just understands that "there are things you just can't explain, that you can only believe in." While I am jewish, I don't actually believe in religion. You could say I'm atheist, but I'm still celebrating jewish holidays, and the such. However, I dislike the mortal of the story, which I believe has a subtle hint for religion in it. It might just me being paranoid, but then again, I do work in chemistry, not sure how to call it in English, so that's most probably just me and my "there is an explanation to anything and everything." All in all? Whether you have kids or not, no matter your age, you would want to watch this. I'm telling you, this show is amazing. If you genuinely wish to watch it, and you don't come as an anti, you will love it. By the time I watched the tenth episode -- after I finished 9, I stopped, I don't really have the time to watch it alone, and would prefer to watch it with my kids -- I was completely hooked. Be warned, however. Do not, in the most absolute manner, do not allow your children to search the internet for My Little Pony. Even if you are supervising them. Google Images only stops in-real-life pronography. There are plenty of pornography (blowjobs, naked humanized ponies) on the internet, even in places such as google. If you wish for your child to browse the web for it, ask what he or she wishes to browse, and browse it for them while they aren't looking. Or, make sure that they don't check google images, and they don't enter any site that you do not see as legitimate. These images come from the adult fans of this show, called the Bronies. The Bronies come from the imaeboard known as 4chan.org. There are two boards in specific that I will talk about -- the /B/, also known as the Random board, as well as /Co/, known as the Comics & Cartoons board. The term Brony comes from /B/rony and /Co/lts. A /b/rony is a person who is a fan of the show but is primarily on /b/ board, whereas a /co/lt is a fan of the show but is primarily on the /co/ board. The community that has settled in the website, ponychan.net, is amazing. Just outstanding. Their philosophy is of love and tolerance; images such as "I'm gonna tolerate and love the sh** out of you." Their philosophy is this; trolls (or parasprites as they call them, a person who asks stupid questions to annoy people, or tries to annoy people directly. Their general goal is to "feed on your tears." They just love seeing people rage and fight. Think of them as The Joker from The Dark Knight.") that attack them, they will simply reply in kindness. Basically trolling the trolls with kindness, which is simply outright hilarious. There is also no pornography allowed there, so in some of my free time I browse there from time-to-time. Very intellectual discussions are going on there, and just sometimes outright funny threads. All in all, the community, the show, and everything that has ever related to My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, I must give it a 5/5. Watch it today.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byXanadu84 May 10, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great for kids...and adults?!

This is easily the best children's show in a long time. More importantly, it is one of those extraordinarily rare shows with genuinely positive FEMALE role models who are concerned with more then clothes and boys. Sure, it addresses the most basic of morality lessons about friendship, kindness, respect and the like, but it manages to do so without talking down to the child. It has high quality animation, voicing, and writing. Believe it or not, this show is rapidly developing a huge following of adult males because it is of such incredible quality. And personally, I notice that fans of this show tend to treat each other with a little more respect then the average anonymous internet user. If the show can have a positive influence on grown adults, imagine what it must do for your young daughter. Of course, that means one major concern to consider: The show has developed such a huge following amongst adults, many so called, "Bronies" have forgotten that the show is made for kids! Search Google or Youtube for the show, and you will get material that is hardly the most inappropriate material on the web, but material that is not kid friendly. Clips of MLP set to the trailers of "300" and "Inglorious Bastards", or pictures of an irritated Twilight Sparkle with the blurb, "I'm going to tolerate and love the S**t out of you" are pretty funny and mild for an adult, but not so good for children. So be careful if your child wants to see stuff related to the show outside of the show itself. Yes, I got caught up in the craze, and watched and loved this show. It inspires that little spark of child-like wonder that every adult carries with them. Yes, its hard to get over that hump of being an adult watching candy-colored ponies, but there is a truly noble experiment in here, from the mind of creator Lauren Faust of "Powerpuff Girls" and "Fosters Home for Imaginary Friends" fame. I recommend you let your kid watch it, and watch it with them! you may actually enjoy it just as much as your child.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byBigfoot1313 October 6, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great for Any Age

As a college age male, I can safely say that this has me laughing along with my dorm-mates (me plus five other male over 20 year olds) and anticipating the new episodes every weekend. I can't necessarily say that I learned a lot from the show but it is a great way to remind ourselves that friendship is a great thing. This show is a very welcome 30 minuet break from all of the grim topics we cover in school and the atrocities we hear about going on in the world every day.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bySwarmers September 13, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Friendship IS Magic

My Little Pony Friendship is Magic is a delightful show that follows the adventures and misadventures of the pony Twilight Sparkle, her dragon assistant Spike, and her five friends; Applejack, Fluttershy, Pinkie Pie, Rainbow Dash and Rarity. While the show was originally geared for young girls the show has gained a massive cult (or, shall I say, “colt”?) following among male audiences primarily in the late teen to young adult range calling themselves “bronys”. The show differs from other primarily girl shows in that the characters are strong and capable women. The character’s also go beyond normal confines in that it places some of the main characters in jobs that stay within the “girly” show norms and places others in jobs that are not commonly explored in said shows. For instance: Twilight Sparkle is the Princess of Equestria’s (the world in which the show takes place) star pupil and runs a Library, Applejack runs an apple orchard named Sweet Apple Acres, Fluttershy cares for animals and displays some veterinary skills, Pinkie Pie works at Sugarcube Corner as a confectioner, Rainbow Dash works for the Pegasus Pony weather force and Rarity is a fashion designer and owns and runs Carousel Boutique. My Little Ponies Friendship is Magic also does an excellent job in making it characters good role models. While there are many goods to the show there is still one subject that parents of younger children need to be fully aware of, the internet community. ***Before continuing to the following paragraph, please note that the actions of the internet community are, by no means, represented within the actual show which will remain family-friendly throughout its run. As I had stated above the “bronys” have a thriving community on the internet and their doctrine is one of love and tolerance and they do a very good job of it, welcoming new members to “the herd” and for the most part tolerating those on the internet who insult them. However, being a “brony” myself, I have seen firsthand that even love and tolerance can break down when you’re protected by a computer screen. The online community is also a gold mine of fan art, fan fictions, and other enchanting fan-made works, however, there is a series of so-called “rules” for the internet, one of which states: “If it exists, there is porn of it” and this case is true even for My Little Pony. Images of a pornographic nature are not the only thing parents must be cautious of though, there are also very dark and grim fan fictions and art that can depict very depressing and frightening scenes that are highly inappropriate for young children. Parents need to take caution that their children do not accidently stumble upon some of these less than appropriate images and stories or ensure that the website their child is visiting is operated by Hasbro. My Little Pony Friendship is Magic is a television series loosely based off of Hasbro’s My Little Pony toy line and it is developed by Lauren Faust , who has worked on such masterpieces as The Powerpuff Girls and Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends. The show revolves around the exploits of six best friends who, while not always seeing eye-to-eye, look out for one another. It encourages girls to be themselves and not fall into the cliché that all women have to be shopaholics and gossips. The show has gained a massive following online and for good reason…it rocks
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bySushiman314 April 26, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
This is one of the best shows I have ever seen! And that's saying a lot considering I am 16...and a boy! I have watched every episode and now I eagerly await the next! Also I think the show has some great messages but some of the humor may go right over a younger child's head but I find it very funny.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byTrami Nguyen August 16, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

My Little Pony is a good cartoon show.

I never watch My Little Pony before since when I was little girl.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bykaitlynanne October 17, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

you don't need to see to believe

the episode that i watched was really adorable first, second, I loved the message. Twilight learned that you don't need to see or understand something to know that it happens and is real. It was great to have a discussion with the little ones about what they believed in.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 12 year old Written byRainbowgirl1295 May 3, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Grate for all ages boy or girl

This show is grate for all ages boy or girl. Im just glad my kids get to enjoy something i use to watch way back when lol. So i have a bit of an idea of what there talking about when they tell me about Rainbow bright (My sons favorite) or Pinkie pie (my little girls favorite) This is a cartoon like non others and is a must see in my books .
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 5 year old Written byannak2 April 26, 2015
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Sarcasm and cattiness have me worried.

The well groomed ponies that bicker back and forth constantly have me worried about gender-stereotyping and their attitudes towards each other. What is sometimes seen as a "lesson about friendship" could also be seen as ponies acting badly and having behavioral problems while the other ponies have to deal with it. I've seen the changes in my daughter in reference to friendship as well, though I don't think the ponies are solely to blame. It seems my daughter is extremely sucked in to whether or not she fits into social circles (AND SHE JUST TURNED 5!)
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written bybossmamaof2 April 23, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Kids love it!

This show seems to have a positive message about being friends and working together. I have a boy and a girl and they both love it. As far as the consumerism of it....if you don't want your kids to have a ton of the toys don't buy them. My daughter has a few ponies, but I have no problem denying her a new one when we are at the store. Kids don't need all the toys in the world and some parents seem to forget that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 1, 4, 8, 10, 13, 14, 14, and 17 year old Written byparentof7 February 26, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

let my 8 year old watch

its for girls 6 to 9 only
Parent of a 12 year old Written by42jesusswag November 7, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

THEY PUT A SEX RATING ON MLP

You should get off this website. THEY PUT A SEX RATING ON MY LITTLE PONY FOR GODS SAKE
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 4 and 6 year old Written byhbs78910 October 26, 2014
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

My husband and I enjoy it too!

MLP is refreshing on so many levels. It has enough humor to keep parents entertained, yet is clean and appropriate for preschoolers. I know of boys and girls of many ages who enjoy it. There are several episodes that can get very scary for younger kids, so be close by when Nightmare Moon, Discord or other villains are featured. In the end there is always a positive message, the girls are great friends to each other and diversity is valued among the friends.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byBakaSaurus May 24, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Cute Show.

I love this show. I actually like it better than the older G1-G2-G3 pony shows. The show has a unique art style and, plot for both girls and boys/ older woman and men that can enjoy this series.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byAlbeith May 16, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A violent show for little girls, but with good messages

I was with my two little girls watching the show. It was completely different from the oldest MLP series. Actually they just had show a violent fight in a recent episode, were a demon-like creature was fighting an alicorn called Twilight Sparkle in a "Dragon Ball Z style". I don´t think this is something my girls could see, but at least after the fight, they show Twilight and her friends cooperate to imprison the creature, using the power of friendship. I think this series is great, but for the violence, i think this show is for 10 years old.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence

Pages