All member reviews for My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Sweet tales of friendship have great messages for kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 238 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byajsjps March 13, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Awesome and Amazing

Really amazing show, and I personally look forward to it every Saturday. I will miss it when there is a break until the new season. Definitely recommend
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 26, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

BEST SHOW EVER!

BST SHOW EVER!the other MLPs SUCKED.but thisis awesome!BrOnY fOrEvEr!()()<---brohoof
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 24, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

A brony I am, I brony I shall stay!

I love this show! You can say I'm a total brony (a boy that likes to watch my little pony). All the characters are totally adorable! They're so cute, I want to hug them all! Well, anyway, bottom line, the show is a must see for kids and adults! The show's lessons on friendship is great for kids and everyone else who could use some friends... Well, I can tell you that alot of people on Youtube say they are bronies. And since when, do you here boys saying they like Dora? This show is the business! By the way, while thctee show is harmless, there is a scene where a chararacter uses ketchup as fake blood for a scheme. Some accidents where no one really gets hurt. That's all.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byPunkchick1061 February 24, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

BRONIES!!!

I'm 13 and I LOVE My Little Pony! (and this is coming from someone who is obsessed with Green Day, My Chemical Romance and The Final Destination movies) Bronies UNITE!!! :P
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 6, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Fanwork

Now, I am a big fan of this series. But there is bad fan-made content when searching for art or videos. Parents of a young child must be aware of this, so they know what their kids are seeing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Written byAnonymous February 4, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

An amazing show.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 3, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

EPIC SHOW

Awesome for everyone! EPIC SHOW.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bysonofzeal January 24, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

An excellent show for both parents and children

This show is one of the rare breed that is actually enjoyable to watch with your kids. Part of this is because it breaks many of the recent molds for children's shows, using a relatively rich vocabulary and complicated characters. For example, the first episode has the main character Twilight use some more difficult words like "imperative" and "precipice", and explanations of these words are slipped in naturally. Children watching the show will be exposed to new words and phrases, without feeling like they're being taught at. The characters themselves are a bit more conflicted than usual as well. They each have weaknesses they struggle with, as well as strengths. While flawed, they remain good role models because they work to recognize and overcome these weaknesses, rather than remaining flat caricatures. The show's overall message about friendship and harmony is a little cliche, but there are also powerful sub-themes about accepting those who are different, growing as individuals, how to cope with personality conflicts, and the importance of trust.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byDe2nis January 21, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not quite for the youngest sliver of humanity as it may outwardly appear, but a great show for everyone else

Another brony here, 21 years old, got into this show a few weeks ago. I've got to say, this is a fine piece of entertainment. I think kids would love it, not that I’m an expert in that field, but even on its own merits it’s a good show. The jokes are genuinely clever, often hilarious, and have a great way of catching you off guard (not because they are vulgar or anything). It’s refreshing to see a show that uses genuine wit rather than using vulgarity as a comedy-crutch. The characters are well developed and actually behave much like real people, especially for a children’s show. The plots are generally interesting too, I’m often wondering how the situations will be resolved. I’m kind of surprised the show is marketed towards the 3-6 demographic however. It doesn’t quite feel like that’s who it is intended for. I’ll go into more detail below: The lessons ring true 95% of the time. The show packs genuine wisdom. However, a lot of them seem too advanced for a four year, who is probably just learning the basics of right and wrong. For example, not being overly critical of things your friends give to you, to not be afraid to demonstrate your talents in front of friends, to use your friends to turn misfortune into a good laugh, or being willing to accept the help of others seems a bit advanced for Morality 101. Not that it’s Morality 401, either. Also, while the lessons are generally spot on, I feel Faust doesn’t really do a great job of demonstrating them, because they are either presented in contexts too fantastical to relate to real-life, or simply seem to work out instantenously, without really showing the process that leads to the end result, like how talking with your friends about a horrible night could evolve into a very entertain conversation. She sort of expects kids to take her word. The show is pretty darn clean (I still can’t get used to villains self-censoring with terms like “good gracious”). The most scandalous joke in all of season 1 involves one character joking about the punch being “Spiked” (yes, capital ‘S’, you’ll get it in context). However, I don’t know that it’s quite STERILE-clean. One episode involves a character using generous amounts of fake blood to make it look like an owl had attacked a mouse, which might be a bit disturbing to preschoolers. There are also some scenes in the first two episodes of the first two season that I think could scare a three year old. Characters are occasionally casually snarky towards each other and occassionally conduct behavior that would come off as rude in real rather than cartoon setting (like one character angrily saying "No thanks" and throwing a book across the room when a friend offers it to her), and remembering myself at three, I know that can have negative influence on preschoolers, who think that if the cartoon on television isn’t offended by the behavior, no one else will be. So I don’t quite think this show is appropriate for ALL ages. As for watching this show if you don’t have kids…I recommend you don’t judge it after watching a single episode, let me just say that. Watching three or four should give you a good idea of what to expect from this show. And don’t start with Episode 1. That struck me as pretty standard kid-TV. Episodes vary in quality a lot, at least in the first season. Some episodes seem like standard kiddy-fare, others are pure awesomeness on their own merits. Most fall somewhere in between, but lean towards the latter end of the scale and the overwhelming majority are worth watching. If you have body hair and you want to watch this show solely for your own entertainment, I recommend starting Episode 9, 15, 21, 24, or 25. These are hilarious and well written, the best of the first season. Oh, and about the objectional content. I've google-images-searched things like "Twilight Sparkle" and "Rainbow Dash" a few times and never ran into this problem. I think if you keep "safe search" on you should be alright. And pretty much ANY content has potential to be turned into something objectionable on youtube.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byTangiRose January 19, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I'm A Little Emberassed to Say this, but...

I watch this show. It's cute, but I don't understand the rabid fanbase. Why are there so many teenage boys into this?!? Maybe girls of all ages, but it seems quite weird to me that boys are in to stuff like this. Reguardless, it's an entertaining show to say the least, but it does have its moments of little girl-ness. My parents disaprove of me watching it, but then I can tell 'em that I'm simply babysitting my little sister (who has usually lost interest at that point). The art style is so much fun to draw, and I've never seen smoother animations!! The voice acting is great! Like a few others said, I don't reccomend letting kids look at fan-made content. Most of it is pretty machabre. Demon ponies seem to be the most popular fan creation. Eneough has been said. Reguardless, a show for everyone! Just don't become a Bronie, guys. It's weird.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bysilversatyr January 7, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

High quality entertainment for the family!

Packed with good morals, fun characters and lovely designs, the new My Little Pony series (of which there are 2 seasons thus far) is a must for every family. Even boys will enjoy this show, which in it's past adaptions has been aimed at young girls, sometimes with some questionable messages. Join Twilight Sparkle and her new friends as they learn about the magic of friendship. Themes such as tolerating those who are different, showing kindness to others, learning to share and put others ahead of yourself, not being afraid to be yourself, how to be a good friend and many others are scattered throughout the episodes. The characters remain true to themselves and each other without becoming cliched, boring or annoying, as so often happens in cartoons of this genre. The quality of the writing, art, music and voice work are at a very high standard and remain so. It's obvious that this show has been a labour of love for those who worked on it. Speaking of music - there are a number of catchy tunes sprinkled among the episodes that are always a delight to hear and impart important messages to young ears. "Giggle at the Ghosties", "Winter Wrap-up" and "The Pony Every Pony Should Know" are especially delightful. Definitely a show for the whole family to enjoy! :Note that the age buffer may vary a little. Personally I've seen 3 year olds that have enjoyed the show as much as their adult counterparts, but it should really depend on the child's awareness of characters and plot. Though the pretty animation is always a plus in little kids' books... :P :
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 2, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great show

this is cuteness intermixed with humor, a great show! nothing negative, but be careful about surfing the web for ponies, because some very messed up people have made many sexually inappropriate drawings of ponies and posted them to the internet. nothing wrong with the show, lots of things wrong with the fan art.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byblayzekohime December 29, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

family show

The consumerism isn't as bad as you'd think, mostly because there is a large disconnect between the show and the products (almost all of which are not show accurate). Other than that, it's probably one of the most positively influential shows I've seen for kids today, and unlike some kids' shows isn't a torment for parents to watch with their kids, allowing for some nice family time.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byCandyIsYummyNomNom December 28, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Amazing! But...

Very good show! But, an issue. The fandom. A form of fan known as bronies are adult male fans of this show. I actually am friends with some, and can consider myself a female one, but it has some dark alley ways. A few examples, Ponychan, Ponibooru, Equestria Daily, etc. There is porn, dark fanfictions, (Cupcakes, for a clean one compared to most) several uses of explicit words, and many more. Do not allow your child to go on My Little Pony websites you are unsure of! Keep it on the Hub website, or another child aimed website you've used before, and trust.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byColaProduct December 26, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Confession Time...

I love this show. At fifteen, I can name every one of the mane (intentionally spelled wrong) six, have started using the phrase "everypony." It's partially because of the internet sensation it has become, but make no mistake, it's an amazing show, as far as children's shows go. Scratch that, it's a good show in general. Yes, it's about ponies. And yes, it's directed at little girls. But there's no reason why teens and adults can't enjoy it as well. It's cute, innocent, funny, and sweet. It's an entertaining show that's not full of sex, violence, or unfunny "humor."
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byPink Ink December 25, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

By far the best show of the franchise yet

My little pony is among the rare, the OH so very rare, good children shows that were made in this century. Its even more than good, its actually, perfect. No flaws. The show can be watched by children as young as 4 years old, or even babies because there isn't anything violent or offensive in it. Yet the story line can only be fully understood by the age of 6 and older. Commercial shows usually don't focus on story line or having good characters, they focus on getting a child's attention on their product. It often results in a bad show that wont last very long (popularity of it is limited). However, it wasn't the case of this series. My little pony as great story lines and there's a lesson for each episodes that is always important and valuable. The plot is made in a way that it is fascinating to watch for any age. For older audiences, they made it interesting with tons of cultural jokes that only adults could understand. The characters have clear differences between each other in their personalities, even if they are side characters that's a huge plus. They learn to accept their differences and use them to help each other. They all have great qualities, such as bravery, kindness, patience, perseverance, but they also have some flaws that they learn to work with and overcome... which makes all of the characters formidable role models for your kids! There is a few jokes about alcohol but they substitute alcohol with various other things such as juice, salt and donuts... its not obvious for kids, ex: salt bar, spike sleeping in the punch (spiked punch), etc. By the end, even tough the show was supposed to be aimed at young kids, it was so well done that there is spectators of any age now, including grown man.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byGoDoG420 December 10, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Best show ever

Great for all ages
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byRarityfan December 5, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

FiM a must see! Autumn 2013 Update!

It all started last year on The Hub with a cartoon about ponies in Ponyville, Equestria. Now Season 4 awaits, and now we have a human pony movie too. Some of the characters are having their breakdowns on the negative side, but it all ends well. One episode is like the pony version of the 1979 Narnia cartoon that deals with bullying. Another obscure cartoon reference is Twilight's big Rover Dangerfield eyes. The ponies are animated strange like in an anime, but still we feel with them. Twilight goes shortly to pony heaven after being zapped and a new creepy baddie is in the Equestria Girls movie, but human sidekicks Snips and Snails saves the fun. Pony land has not been easy to keep as a paradise since the early G's. In the early G's ponies had to fight things like the smooze, and evil wizards. It's a far step from the last G ponies and there is epic songs, loads of places to explore like Canterlot and events and on. Spike has a crush on ponies like Rarity. The Brony fandom is huge, but beware of fanmade things like the many gory and sexy things on Youtube, also 4chan and .MOV. But without 4chan we would not have a fanbase like this. The Round Stable are a funny and lively forum, and Bronyland are one of the safer places. If you need around 20 minutes of a feel good show watch FiM. The show breaks the 4th wall by chararcters having fun with Youtube and the ponies plays with merchandise at times. It's a Hasbro thing so there are a lot to go for in stores like Toys R Us with toys like trains, books, lots of dolls and more.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bySnowCatAkemi November 24, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

A Refreshing Change from most kids' shows

Though I'm thirteen years old, I love My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. It's a shockingly refreshing show, quite different from many almost nauseating kids' cartoons. The characters are well-developed, with multi-level personalities. There's nothing inappropriate that I've found, though there are a few high-octane scenes from time to time, such as a (completely non-violent) encounter with a dragon, but only the youngest, if any child, will find it scary. It's filled with strong female role models, and the male characters, though lesser in number, are treated equally. The characters all have active roles in their community, one being a gifted athlete who works in weather, another a scholar come to town to continue her studies, and another who tends to her family farm. Even the character that seems most girly, a seamstress named Rarity, is shown to be able to defend herself, and puts much effort into pleasing all of her friends and managing her small business. The animation quality is fantastic, and the art style is simplistic and a bit refreshing. It's very bright, but not annoyingly so, and even parents can enjoy it. I've caught throwbacks to classic cartoons such as Pinky and the Brain, as well as subtle nods to figures of speech. The show always pushes kindness and fairness, and though the characters often have their falling-outs as real friends do, they always work out in the end and accept their differences. Though the messages are cheesy alone, the show works around this and manages to build up a thoroughly enjoyable way to teach them, and is unique in that respect. It certainly strikes a perfect balance between the preachy educational programs and the questionable entertaining ones.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old November 11, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Epic.

This is the best show ever, especially for bronies like myself. HAVE FUN WATCHING IT AND IF YOU DONT LIKE IT GET OUT. Whats the point of reviewing if you dont even freaking like the show?
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages