All member reviews for My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic

Common Sense Media says

Sweet tales of friendship have great messages for kids.

Users say

(out of 256 reviews)
age 5+
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old August 26, 2012

Cool show

A TV show suitable for children all ages! There is some positive role models, positive messages, and some educational scenes somewhere in there!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byBigbillyboy August 18, 2012

YES! YEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSS!

Coming from a male,this show is amazing! Before it came out back in 2010,it looked stupid! So I didn't watch the premire.This year,I heard males have praising the show since it came out.So I watched it to see what everyone was talking about.IT WAS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was funny,the animation was AWESOME,there was amazing edacational value,excellent acting,it gives little kids positive messages,and there are excellent role models! If you don't like this gold,shut up!!! WTH is wrong with you? I LOVE LOVE LOVE this show! It is on my Top 5 best shows ever list as #5.#4-T.U.F.F. Puppy,#3-The Simpsons,#2-Hey Arnold,#1-SpongeBob.
Teen, 17 years old Written bymrmatti555 April 25, 2012

It's a ok show

Nice show for kids and older but it gets boring.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheGoblinCommando April 13, 2012

In the name of the Emperor!

I think its a pretty great show (For Perverse Reasons) it offers the young lings some good moral guidelines however the guidelines can be hard for a kiddie at times to understand at times . Also (from personal experience) there's some deviant materials relating to my little pony (Partially due to a bad fan base) that are not age appropriate that will severely affect a child (this is also form personal experience).
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old November 25, 2011

Brony/Pegasister and Proud

I'm a pegasister. Yeah, I'm part of the show's target audience, but I found out about it through the internet. Fox news can go drive off a cliff. Bronies are awesome. Yeah, we like a show for 4 year old girls. It's hilarious. It has internet memes. The voices are cute. I infact wrote an 8 paragraph essay on why every pony is best pony. In the extremely popular animated television series “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic”, there are six ponies who are the stars of the show. The fans of this show, called bronies and pegasisters, sometimes fight about which of these ponies is “best pony”. The pony’s names are Twilight Sparkle, Fluttershy, Applejack, Rainbow Dash, Rarity, and Pinkie Pie. This essay will hopefully help people stop fighting and agree everypony is best pony. Twilight Sparkle is best pony because she is very intelligent and loves books. She is the student of the ruler of Equestria, Princess Celestia. She is about the 4th most popular pony. Twilight is the main star of the show. She moved from the city of Canterlot into Ponyville. She lives in her library inside of a tree. She is a unicorn. Overall, Twilight Sparkle is an intelligent librarian pony. Applejack is best pony because she is strong, honest and hard-working. She lives and works on a farm (Sweet Apple Acres) and lives with her family, who also work on the farm. She is the 5th most popular pony in the series. She sells apples to help keep the farm running and to help her grandmother, Granny Smith replace her hip. Overall, Applejack is a hardworking and loyal pony. Rainbow Dash is best pony because she is loyal, brave and athletic. She is the only pony who can perform the Sonic Rainboom, a legendary pegasus trick. She was the main factor in giving all of her friend’s their cutie marks, the sign on a pony’s flank representing what they do best, or their special talent. She is the fastest pony in Ponyville, and is aiming to join the legendary flying team, the Wonderbolts. She is the most popular pony, but almost ties with Fluttershy. Overall, Rainbow Dash is a speedy and athletic pegasus. Fluttershy is best pony because she is kind, gentle and medicinally skilled. She is an animal doctor for all of the sick and injured animals she finds around Equestria. She is the 2nd most popular pony, but she’s very close in popularity to Rainbow Dash. She is sensitive, and is deemed “adorable” by many bronies. Overall, Fluttershy is a shy and helpful veterinarian. Pinkie Pie is best pony because she is fun-loving, funny and lovable. She is known for working and living at the bakery “Sugarcube Corner”. Her aunt and uncle, Mrs. And Mr. Cake own the bakery itself. Pinkie pie is the 3rd most popular pony. She is sometimes known as bipolar and having multiple personalities because of the episode “Party of One” and the grimdark fanfiction “Cupcakes”. Overall, Pinkie Pie is a funny and lovable baker. Rarity is best pony because she is fashionable, generous and a bit of a drama queen. She is the 6th most popular pony, leaving her at the bottom of the list. She works as both a fashion designer and a seamstress at a clothing boutique named “The Carousel Boutique”. Overall, Rarity is a generous and stylish fashion designer. In conclusion, every pony in My Little Pony: Friendship is magic is special in their own way. I hope this essay help people realize all ponies are special, even the background ponies!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bykaitlynanne October 17, 2011

you don't need to see to believe

the episode that i watched was really adorable first, second, I loved the message. Twilight learned that you don't need to see or understand something to know that it happens and is real. It was great to have a discussion with the little ones about what they believed in.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old July 21, 2011

Amazing Show For ALL Ages

The show is probably the best girl cartoon out there. And boys' cartoon too. ;) It expresses that not ALL girls are obsessed with fashion (except Rarity!) makeup and dating. It sends out many, many great messages about friendship and kindness. Hilarious as well as inspirational. Not to mention all the Fans crazing about it. Just spoon a drop of MLP:FiM and you'll be chugging it down soon after. Also, it's just a little bit of cartoon violence parents. ;)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMauro C June 24, 2011

One of the best shows this generation has to offer.

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old June 6, 2011

My Little Pony is for All Ages!

I believe this is a really awesome show. This is because the characters show a lot of diversity, and most of the characters what friendship really means. This show is basically like a fable to me, with a moral at the end. For someone like me, who has little to no friends, in their/my perspective, it is quite education. However, there are some cons in this show that parents will dislike. There can be some violence, regarding the pilot, but from some review I've seen on YouTube, that is just to give the backround of the characters, and you should dig deeper into this big blue series. This show seems to have 18+ men and tomboys go Lady GaGa over it. That shows that this show is not only appropiate for children and has great child humor, while at the same time, it has Tween-Adulthood humor as well. To conclude, this is a feminine version of Phineas and Ferb, but yet with a different point and characters. And when I mean feminine version of Phineas and Ferb, I mean to say it like this: It's a cartoon for all ages!~
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byRainbowgirl1295 May 3, 2011

Grate for all ages boy or girl

This show is grate for all ages boy or girl. Im just glad my kids get to enjoy something i use to watch way back when lol. So i have a bit of an idea of what there talking about when they tell me about Rainbow bright (My sons favorite) or Pinkie pie (my little girls favorite) This is a cartoon like non others and is a must see in my books .
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bybigandbaguy February 2, 2016

Yeah!

THIS IS SUCH AN AMAZING SHOW!!!!!!!! WATCH IT!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 29, 2016
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byhomerboysimpson123 January 26, 2016

Bronies and ponies!

I LOVE this show! I am a brony myself and the creator Lauren Faust said that the cartoon is for all ages! However, I Recommend it be at least 8 and up, because sometimes it isn't all sugar and sprinkles, It can be crass at times, but other than that, BRONIES AND PONIES UNITE!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old January 26, 2016

Very Positive and Engaging, With Small Amounts of Violence and Extremely Funny

My Little Pony is very positive and has references to great shows like The Big Lebowski, Transformers, and I love Lucy!!! Each character has there ups and downs and the show teaches a lesson that no one is perfect. This goes to show why there is a large fandom for the show. Sometimes, there are intense scenes were zombies made from clothing tear apart an innocent mannequin and another where an Alicorn ( A unicorn with wings) is locked into battle with an evil Centaur named Tirek in a Dragon Ball Z/ Micheal Bay-style battle, leaving houses and buildings burning. Sometimes, Characters would say minor curs words like Dang It, Freaking, Dagnabbit, Darn it, and Stupid. They censor major curse words by using Equestrias native language, PonySpeak. However, using Pony Speak to censor curse words is extremely rare and has been only used at least 15 times. (Ex. What the F***k is What the Buck, H**l Yeah!!! is Hay Yeah!!!, and Kiss my a** is Kiss my Flank)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 20, 2015

Bad

PEOPLE SWEAR IN THIS! SWEETIE BELLE SAID THE WORD ASSHOLE!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySimpsonsguy123 November 29, 2015

The best adaption of the series!

I'm a brony and this is ART, even me just saying that without even watching it first may seem weird for me to say that, but it DEFINES anti gender stereotypes! I mean, BRONIES make this show alive unlike the girly simplified previous installment to the toy series. Don't let Anti Bronies fool you! So, if your child of ANY gender wants to watch this LET THEM! It has FANTASTIC messages, GREAT characters and greatness that can be put in a kids show, but watch out for anti bronies, haters of the fandom and show. And watch out for certain mlp things on the internet like, fan fictions that are too mature (Like The Fanfic Cupcakes) or any mlp porn sites or sites that have any kind of NSFW stuff or even videos and stuff. But other than that, the fandom is sweet along with the show witch is even better. There is even some deep stuff in there. The finale for season 5 was great! But there are some episodes which may be a bit complicated (Not simplified at ALL) So, just be aware some episodes may be confusing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written bysaphirequeen November 29, 2015

awesome!!!

My little pony friendship is magic is really a great show. Different from older mlp series this is great also for older kids and adults. The show focuses on unicorn Twilight Sparkle and her friends. There is lot of lessons about friendship.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byGavin the Dragon November 22, 2015

Amazing show

Really good, show. Very good messages, morals, and good characters with lots of depth and development.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 21, 2015

This is extremely overrated.

this show sucks, and the ponies are idiots. Yours, Goatworlds.
Kid, 12 years old August 29, 2015

Adorable with Great Messages!

An adorable show great for girls or boys of all ages. The ponies are always learning lessons about friendship and every episode has a lesson that a pony says as she writes in down in a letter or book. The ponies save Equestria on multiple occasions by combining the powers of their friendship to harness the Elements of Harmony to defeat whatever comes at them. All problems are solved through uniting with other ponies to overcome challenges. Great for the younger ones, always with something to offer for the older ones too. It's adorable. Recommended any day of the week.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism

Pages